hi folks...lets meet up

Date: 13 Jan 10 (Thursday)

Venue: Kallang Madonald's

Time: 8pm onwards

1) Fishtan

2) more1978

3) resilience (TBC)

4) honda rider

5) redlavita

6) hippo (TBC)

Can bring whatever you want to DIY, I am sure someone here will know how and what to do.

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a361/lavitared/avatar/P1020874a.jpg
  • Replies 3.4k

Its the 4th day of 2011 and I am still stuck with the same old clutch cable problem from 2010.

Man... it can be tedious dealing with a mech who's trying to help you save money.

When the end-cap on my cable hose broke, I brought it to the mech who devised a temporary fix while he arranged for a new clutch cable from Honda. It will only take a couple of days for the cable to arrive, he says.

A couple of days later (on Xmas Eve), I contacted him only to find out that he did not order the cable at all, thinking the temp fix could hold on longer.

I told him that his temp fix is not holding out as I have to keep tightening the clutch cable a bit more every day. The temp fix is not going to last anything more than a week before I find myself struggling to get into Neutral. (You guys should know lah, You can't find Neutral, you cannot start the bike at all.)

2nd day of the New Year. I've already max'ed the screws on my clutch cable (the part near the clutch cable.). There's too much free play on the clutch lever. Its getting more and more difficult to change my gear. No longer able to find Neutral while the engine is running. Had to resort to shifting into 2nd and killing the engines before making that last light tap into Neutral, praying hard that you dun kick into 1st.

(Cos that's why you know you will be push-starting your 240kg bike at the end of the day for the ride home...)

Called my mech again and it turns out, he did not order the part again. Sibei WTF!!

Eh, its only farking $40 leh. Its not even two full tanks of petrol for me. Need to save until like this meh?

Now I have to wait another 1-2 days for this clutch cable again. Biangz... simple problem can be solved within 2 days, now 2 weeks already... *piak my forehead*

If I had known, I would have just gone down to the dealer and buy the darn cable myself.

Bro if you need a spare clutch cable let me know. I have a spare cable and I don ride anymore.

hi folks...lets meet up

Date: 13 Jan 10 (Thursday)

Venue: Kallang Madonald's

Time: 8pm onwards

1) Fishtan

2) more1978

3) resilience (TBC)

4) honda rider

5) redlavita

6) hippo (TBC)

7) Boner

http://picsupload.net/images/r2dk88m9fvotqqw2uxd.jpg

hi folks,

uploaded scanned copy of Honda NT700V/VA 2007 Owners Manual PDF files

http://www.easy-share.com/1913538982/Honda NT700VA Part 1.pdf

http://www.easy-share.com/1913539018/Honda NT700VA Part 2.pdf

http://www.easy-share.com/1913539027/Honda NT700VA Part 3.pdf

http://www.mediafire.com/?v0uvgrbjm66bbyo NT700VA Part 1.pdf

http://www.mediafire.com/?6wqnftpmdd405ow NT700VA Part 2.pdf

http://www.mediafire.com/?2lmlbwgf68uwf5u NT700VA Part 3.pdf

above with thanks to Honda Rider

Edited by redlavita

nice meet up again ,after cny let plan to have a night ride ............

喜愛Deauville的車主, , é§•é§›æˆç†Ÿ, 平易近人:cheeky: åŒæ™‚æ“æœ‰ä¸€å®šç¶“濟基礎,並å分ä¾è³´ :angel:它的戰車作為é‹è¼¸äº¤é€šå·¥å…·çš„人 。維 爾 骑 士

Yes, nice meet again - fun & learning - 9 of us!

Not on the listing but came - ray73 & slitter883.

Hope more and more Honda Deaville Owners come & join us! Deavillean Wannabes n Other Bike Owners are welcome too!

Edited by Resilience

Mobile 98157331

WhatsApp

It had been a fruitful meetup with all the Deauville owners ( inclusive of ray73 & slitter883 ).

Weather has been fine throughout after a few days of rain.....lol.

Location is a little bit congested compared to KFC, although still bearable.

Perhaps next meetup should be re-located at a more prominent and bigger area.

Any bros here have good suggestions? All ideas are welcome.

Happy Chinese New Year to all you guys and your family.

Yes, nice meet again - fun & learning - 9 of us!

Not on the listing but came - ray73 & slitter883.

Hope more and more Honda Deaville Owners come & join us! Deavillean Wannabes n Other Bike Owners are welcome too!

Yup and definitely a ride... Maybe a nice patrol pump and some Kulai Nasi Lemak. Then perhaps can meet somewhere in the west and then 2nd link then Kulai then return with patrol pump.

Or just a simple Nasi Lemak dinner at Changi and Tou Hua at Geylang. Or Nasi Lemak at Chong Pang and then... ok I am open to anything :)

Location is a little bit congested compared to KFC, although still bearable.

Perhaps next meetup should be re-located at a more prominent and bigger area.

Yup and definitely a ride... Maybe a nice patrol pump and some Kulai Nasi Lemak. Then perhaps can meet somewhere in the west and then 2nd link then Kulai then return with patrol pump.

Or just a simple Nasi Lemak dinner at Changi and Tou Hua at Geylang. Or Nasi Lemak at Chong Pang and then... ok I am open to anything

Yes, yes, yes!! Hippo, Honda Rider, FishTan - you 3 hit the points home! Can I summarize and share my thoughts.

1. Meeting place where there are ample lots. brightly lit for us to view our bikes and near to where we sit around

2. Meeting place should be conducive to gather in numbers and for loud talks and laughter

3. And Where there's Good Fooood, if that's one of the aim for a particular evening

4. Let there be the LURE of riding distance - to feel the rush of fresh air, to clear carbon, to get trilled by paying petrol for much less and to give in to LUST for par delicious dishes fit for the gods!

Bros, Let the ideas and where to meet roll in.....

Edited by Resilience

Mobile 98157331

WhatsApp

Any of you tried using a 100/90W headlight bulb instead of the standard 60/55W?

Really want some more light on the road, but not sure if the wireing can handle it...

Any of you tried using a 100/90W headlight bulb instead of the standard 60/55W?

Really want some more light on the road, but not sure if the wireing can handle it...

Hi nilist,

I did ever ask my bike mechanics, and they all say that it will be too hot for bike headlight. By this they meant that the made of plastic headlight parts will melt under greater than tolerable heat generated by a stronger wattage bulb. If I am not wrong, they might have spoken from their experience of seeing such "melting" or "warping".

So I did not change to a higher wattage bulb after my enquiry.

I am using Phillips Extreme headlight Bulbs 60/55W - very bright. To get the best possible brightness, I ensure my rectifier, headlight and wiring system are in tip top condition.

Hope my post helps.

Edited by Resilience

Mobile 98157331

WhatsApp

My speedo cable snapped on Monday after >50,000km and almost 9 years of use.

Took it down to Yi Yang Motor at the corner of Pasir Panjang Road and Clementi. Ah Siong, my mechanic, managed to get a replacement the next day and it was fixed in about 30 mins. He said that the original cable is >$50 but a Honda Steed cable will fit as well. He had to take out the surround on the inside of the left faring. He discovered that one the mounting point for the windscreen broke and he managed to repair with a hot glue gun.

Time for a new set of tires after I discovered a 3cm crack in my rear! It looks very clean, so I wonder where that came from?

The problem finding new ones seems to be the rear tyre, which is quite narrow compared to other bikes (150/70-17)

HKL offering Bridgstone BT020 for $360, but Unique seems to have more selection (AND prices on this forum!).

Thinking of getting the Conti Road Attack for $350, but would like to know if anyone have other suggestions?

Rear tire cut.jpg

Is yours the new 700cc or old 650cc deauville? Is $350 just for the rear or for both front and back?

I can check with my mechanic for the price. I think I paid $200+ for my rear tyres the last time I changed it.

Changing both front & rear, and the prices are for both...

Shop suggested the cheap Dunlops, saying that most NT650 users prefer them.

I guess we are all a bunch of old uncles that only want cheap-cheap :)

Is yours the new 700cc or old 650cc deauville? Is $350 just for the rear or for both front and back?

I can check with my mechanic for the price. I think I paid $200+ for my rear tyres the last time I changed it.

nilist,

he crack looks bad..

so have you changed to your new pair already?

Where and how much it cost?

Chris

Edited by redlavita

yesterday changed to new air filter and NGK iridium spark plugs,

can feel less drag, initially feel that the plugs not so willing to fire..

after a few kilometers it was smooth..

this morning felt a misfire again...

Funny man with new AirFilter and Sparkies dont feel that good..

MY FC also did not improve much.. it was ave 16.5km/l to 17km/l, now ard 18km/l

The fuel pump is giving out a louder hissing sound than before changing the new Airfilter and spark plugs

looks like may have to do what Honda Raider did, take out the fuel injector pump and clean it thoroughly

meanwhile will monitor some more

My NT700 fuel consumption was down to 17 to 17.5km and the petrol tank was producing a very sharp and long and irritating hissing sound whenever I am on the road. So had it checked and was diagnosed to be from the fuel injector pump situated inside the petrol tank. Had the whole mechanism dismantled and cleaned and air blown thoroughly. The amount of minute particles ( like very fine rust ) was enough to scare me out of it.

Well I should have taken some pics and post it here in case any bros encounter this problem. Probably this is due to the residues from the petrol station underground storage.

Anyway luckily it was not damaged, and understand it cost a few hundred dollars for a new set. Had my air filter changed at the same time, and so far no more hissing sound and my fuel consumption went back to about 21.5km with pillion.

Changing both front & rear, and the prices are for both...

Shop suggested the cheap Dunlops, saying that most NT650 users prefer them.

I guess we are all a bunch of old uncles that only want cheap-cheap :)

Bridgestone BT020 should be fine for sports touring bikes like Honda Deauville, better options is still BT021, but it won't last.

So far Michelin Pilot Road 2 is a 2 compound tyre that is hard in the middle and soft on both sides. It is good for Wet and Dry road.

Have not tried it before, but understand from bikers that it works well with sports bikes and sports tourers too.

Good reviews on these tyres too.

So far Michelin Pilot Road 2 is a 2 compound tyre that is hard in the middle and soft on both sides. It is good for Wet and Dry road.

Have not tried it before, but understand from bikers that it works well with sports bikes and sports tourers too.

Good reviews on these tyres too.

The 160/60 - lower and broader profile tyre - means to me, a safer ride. I am thinking of changing to that for my next rear tyre change. A mechanic told me that my NT700V can be fitted it.

Bros, please share you opinion on this - Thanks.

Mobile 98157331

WhatsApp