So do you know the market price now? for 2nd hand....

If 2 years wave 110cc for $2300 that include road tax, and other, but no include insurance and transfer fee for $35. So do you think worth?

Another i found out 1 shop that sell 1 year for 125cc only cos me $2300 not include insurance...

but i scare the bike is not good... like what we say.. cheap thing no good....right? Cos other shop sell $2500.

so any ppl know how to check the bike is good or not? for example the bike had accident b4?

Maybe some 1 can tell me which 1 is better?

• Replies 3.9k

1. check if engine sound gd or not...

2. run smooth or not...

3. tyre thread deep nuff or not (meaning no bald tires)

4. check front alignment the wheel n the mud guard straight or not...

5. check for any scratches obviously left behind after an accident or not...

6. check if the engine is responsive

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Sep 7 2004, 11:56 PM

hey guys albert got a FX red colour wave for sale leh...the guy say onli ard 2.5k otr leh....but the mileage freaking high! 23k liao....wonder if can consider or not...how to check if wave got problem? btw if wanna respray wave go where to do ah? how long must i wait for the spray to be done?

like i told the rest... wave is a high wear and tear bike... so basically the importance is to pay attention to mileage... age doesnt matter as long as mileage is reasonable... as a rough gauge, at abt 60000 u should be doing the 1st overhaul... so that fx plate i'd advise u against it... furthermore... its from albert :slapforehead:

jason... i'm sure u've heard all the stories abt albert... really dun want u to kenna chop by them... at 1st when i bought my wave also i tot... "wave nia, lousy shop and good shop wat diff sia?" then i got mine at DX... now really regret... if u want me to recommend a good shop to get? 3 words for u... Teo Spray Painting... its at blk 6 defu lane... since u wanna respray as well, why not get urs from TSP and get them to spray for u? their spray job pretty decent but price... hehe well good things never come cheap...

Originally posted by jackiewai@Sep 8 2004, 07:27 AM

So do you know the market price now? for 2nd hand....

If 2 years wave 110cc for $2300 that include road tax, and other, but no include insurance and transfer fee for $35. So do you think worth?

Another i found out 1 shop that sell 1 year for 125cc only cos me $2300 not include insurance...

but i scare the bike is not good... like what we say.. cheap thing no good....right? Cos other shop sell $2500.

so any ppl know how to check the bike is good or not? for example the bike had accident b4?

Maybe some 1 can tell me which 1 is better?

rule of thumb... as long as the bike is good cond. and within ur budget, get it... so just sit down and think abt how much u wanna pay for ur wave... from there go search for ur ride and see the condition according to tyrian's list above...

but honestly, accident wave VERY hard to see one... the parts to replace in an accident is so affordable and the bike's pretty much indestructable... so its a go-by-feeling thing when getting a 2nd hand wave...

Originally posted by Dracon@Sep 8 2004, 08:55 AM

but honestly, accident wave VERY hard to see one... the parts to replace in an accident is so affordable and the bike's pretty much indestructable... so its a go-by-feeling thing when getting a 2nd hand wave...

mine mine!!!! 100% accident free to date.

anyone interested?

haahaa

hei pauche, how much you selling?

how old the bike?

how much the millege?

what colour?

please give me detail info.

if got the pic please send to me.. thnaks...

not really selling unless the price is irresistable.

- reg in April 2003

- red colour

- mileage 16,000km+

- keihin 28mm flatslide carb

- racing clutch plates

- k&n air filter

- racing CDI

- posh powerjet II

- denso iridium plugs

- yoko blue rims

- stainless steel spokes

- michelin pilot sporty tyres

- tinted blue headlight cover

- givi rack & kappa 42ltr box

- posh accessories (balancers, footpegs, gear lever, brake lever)

Originally posted by Pauche@Sep 9 2004, 12:41 AM

not really selling unless the price is irresistable.

- reg in April 2003

- red colour

- mileage 16,000km+

- keihin 28mm flatslide carb

- racing clutch plates

- k&n air filter

- racing CDI

- posh powerjet II

- denso iridium plugs

- yoko blue rims

- stainless steel spokes

- michelin pilot sporty tyres

- tinted blue headlight cover

- givi rack & kappa 42ltr box

- posh accessories (balancers, footpegs, gear lever, brake lever)

hahaz

wah~~ :giddy:

highly modified~

Originally posted by Pauche@Sep 9 2004, 04:01 PM

can get at HKL or LAB

about $50

K&N manufacture dis juz for Wave or actually itz for some other bikes and we need to modify it to fix in?

Originally posted by Xiaozhu@Sep 10 2004, 10:11 PM

K&N manufacture dis juz for Wave or actually itz for some other bikes and we need to modify it to fix in?

its a general air filter to be fitted directly to the carb, it is not a replacement for the air filter inside the wave air box. this k&n can be used for other bikes as well.

Originally posted by Pauche@Sep 8 2004, 10:34 AM

mine mine!!!! 100% accident free to date.

anyone interested?

haahaa

dun say this kind of things got veri suay one leh....touch wood lah

thinking getting a new wave for my job...should i juz wack it or run in?some say juz wack it while some say run in.. :sweat: :confused:

hi i been using my 2nd hand blue wave125s for coming 5 months liao all stock parts but up to now i still got a hard time to push it hard..the fuel consumption also went up say first usin can travel up to 160+ km full tank now drop to 140++ or less..somemore i travel between 70-100km/hr only mostly 80km/hr and everytime i go change oil the mechanic will tune my idling and air flow..up to now still don know wats wrong inside..just changed spark plugs and serviced carb about 2 months ago...how far must i push at gear3 to get more power at 4 cos i always change to 4 at 60 mark and my gear 4 always no power one..and where is the airbox located...can manually clean the air filter??is it the air filter too dirty tats why all this happen?please guide me thanks..and once my tank go empty but when i push go top up i can only fill up to 3.6litre max..its slow when moving side by side wit any other waves out there man...:cry: :cry:

Originally posted by kona@Sep 12 2004, 11:52 PM

hi i been using my 2nd hand blue wave125s for coming 5 months liao all stock parts but up to now i still got a hard time to push it hard..the fuel consumption also went up say first usin can travel up to 160+ km full tank now drop to 140++ or less..somemore i travel between 70-100km/hr only mostly 80km/hr and everytime i go change oil the mechanic will tune my idling and air flow..up to now still don know wats wrong inside..just changed spark plugs and serviced carb about 2 months ago...how far must i push at gear3 to get more power at 4 cos i always change to 4 at 60 mark and my gear 4 always no power one..and where is the airbox located...can manually clean the air filter??is it the air filter too dirty tats why all this happen?please guide me thanks..and once my tank go empty but when i push go top up i can only fill up to 3.6litre max..its slow when moving side by side wit any other waves out there man...:cry: :cry:

1st of all

waves are not meant to play pickup or anything marh

it's juz a normal bike meant for normal road travelling

so i dont really see what's the point of pushing it so hard??

i believe bikes when they 1st come....condition still new etc...so should offer better milage initially...the mileage will drop abit as wear and tear etc catch up w/ the bike's engine...

anyway...perhaps u can consider giving that 125cc 4stroke engine a break and perhaps invest in a scrambler or smth to satisfy yr pickup desires

Originally posted by who_noe@Sep 12 2004, 11:46 PM

thinking getting a new wave for my job...should i juz wack it or run in?some say juz wack it while some say run in.. :sweat: :confused:

hahaz

and that's what the bros here have to offer for u as well

some say whack and do run-in using the hard breaking in method some prefer to do it the gentle way

apparently both way works! :cheeky:

Originally posted by who_noe@Sep 12 2004, 11:48 PM

its been discussed over here b4... just do a search in the web on motoman's break in technique and read his article and decide from there... in fact i have alot of frens that use both techniques... the slow run-in and the hard run-in... results on similar new bikes (gsxr1000) is that the hard run-in bike had better fuel consumption, higher hp produced after a dyno-run and feels alot more powerful... after u read the article u'll understand the logic why ur bike performs better after a hard run-in

oh sorry maybe i type wrongly...i not talking about pick up..i use it for daily transport to skool and work..wat i mean is it felt slow compare to other waves around..kinda no power at gear 4...don know why..and i not pushing it hard...just don know how u ppl here use the bike in terms of changing gear at the right speed..maybe my timing is wrong.

Originally posted by kona@Sep 13 2004, 11:00 AM

oh sorry maybe i type wrongly...i not talking about pick up..i use it for daily transport to skool and work..wat i mean is it felt slow compare to other waves around..kinda no power at gear 4...don know why..and i not pushing it hard...just don know how u ppl here use the bike in terms of changing gear at the right speed..maybe my timing is wrong.

for ur info, gear 4 is just for cruising... the only purpose is to ease ur engine rev and let u use less fuel... ur gear 3 already can hit ur top speed... gear 4 is just for the relax ride...