seriously...im interested to see all e pics of ur bikes...

anyone keen on starting e ball rolling by posting ur bike pics here..??

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1312.jpg

After 18 months of disqualification,I'm not like before...

Dun compromise safety...

Always expect the unexpected...

Remember..traffic policemen are the guardian angels of the road...

• Replies 3.9k

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Apr 25 2004, 02:41 PM

NGK B8E? U really or not? Wave standard spark plug is CPR6EA-9(NGK). For DENSO plugs can use U20EPR9.

lolz

really leh

last time when i went over JB tell uncle change oil + spark plug for me

he put in the plug liao den i c the box

NGK b8e

so far working well leh

Originally posted by hilfiger@Apr 25 2004, 05:20 PM

Why what's wrong with NGK B8E?

I got my wave already...

Was playing w the gears n i noticed something...

I can't change gear from 4th to neutral while moving(by stepping the front lever). It's only when i stop completely then can change. Is this normal? or safety precaution?

But i can change from neutral to 4th gear while moving(by stepping on the back lever).

Do u guys use both the front n back lever to chnage gears? or just one?

Pls advise....

Any tips for more effective riding on wave are welsome! :cheeky: cos i new rider....

hrmz

normal

but for mi usually i dont waitfor bike to cometo compelte stop then kick frm gear 4 to neutral

i prefer to kick down the conventional way before coming to a stop

cause leg come down liao then lazy to change gear liaoz :cheeky:

Originally posted by d0n^@Apr 26 2004, 11:05 PM

hrmz

normal

but for mi usually i dont waitfor bike to cometo compelte stop then kick frm gear 4 to neutral

i prefer to kick down the conventional way before coming to a stop

cause leg come down liao then lazy to change gear liaoz :cheeky:

I find when coming to a stop, when i down the gears say from 4th to 3rd to 2nd to 1st, the engine brake effect v strong, always cause my body to be thrown forward..not smooth one the way i slow down....

Only when i really v v slow, then down gears then i find the engine brake effect not so great. Wonder how u guys do it when slowing down??

Originally posted by hilfiger@Apr 27 2004, 12:16 AM

I find when coming to a stop, when i down the gears say from 4th to 3rd to 2nd to 1st, the engine brake effect v strong, always cause my body to be thrown forward..not smooth one the way i slow down....

Only when i really v v slow, then down gears then i find the engine brake effect not so great. Wonder how u guys do it when slowing down??

for that, u hav to get used to the timing when to kick the gear correct...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/gp02lkh/VTEC_Warning.jpg

not necessary...

wave doesn't have the convectional clutch where u can release it slowly with your hands to reduce the engine brake...

for wave, when u down gear n dun realease, it is actually clutching in... so when u release, the clutch oso release...

the bad point is that, it is very difficult to control the "clutch" with your leg... i always from 4th gear down to 3rd gear dun release until going to reach a complete stop den i down to 2nd, n den 1st... usually no problem with me..

Originally posted by hilfiger@Apr 27 2004, 01:21 AM

Any tips? is it u wait really slow then down gear?

I also notice this problem when I 1st got my Wave. I've also developed my own technique to overcome this problem. U might wanna give it a try.

U'll change yur gears when u reach the speed that u desire for that particular gear.

Eg. Changing from 3rd to 4th after attaining the speed of 60kph.

So when u have to slow down to a speed which is lower than 60kph, I'll close throttle, drop gear, hold it there, open throttle a little bit n release the gear lever.

It'll help to make yur trip more smooth but u'll need a bit of practice to know how much throttle to open during that process or u'll end up like throwing clutch.

That's my suggestions. Hope someone can post a fool-proof method cos so far I think that's the way I've found workable.

Call 96583162 for kopi sessions.

Real men ride bikes!!! (Quoted from Jamez)

guys just wanna ask u a question.....which fork is stronger???:confused: :confused:

are our original or the gold fork at modpedz stronger?cos our OEM forks like super weak like tat....small pothole the compression like super big hole....and any of u using the inverted fork?hows it like?and tips for ppl whom wanna change their forks...

saw a wave last nite at jb with the fork brace.....(those figure 8 metal bar tat u put on your fork)when i ask the bike shop they say cannot fix ah cos our front mudguard is attached 2gether with the fork or something...so anyone using tat?cos at least with tat the bike wont shake so much when travellin at 100km/h onwards......:confused: :confused:

A BuTTerFlY is A LovE nOte FolDeD into 2..............

I mAy Be ThE sLoWeSt BuT aT lEaSt I mAdE hErE dIdN't I :angel:

God heLp Me get thRough thE pAin anD soRrows oF liFe...

how come no pics de???:cry:

Dun compromise safety...

Originally posted by d0n^@Apr 26 2004, 11:03 PM

lolz

really leh

last time when i went over JB tell uncle change oil + spark plug for me

he put in the plug liao den i c the box

NGK b8e

so far working well leh

My RXZ use (NGK)B8ES. The plug diameter is kind of big. Don't think can fit wave. I think for wave is CR8ES.

Originally posted by pOtatO_BrEaD@Apr 27 2004, 01:18 PM

yoz! ray.. so how? sun 9th may u working bo? going kallang?

eh mai hao lian put pics lah....

hahhaa

u very free huh?

INSURED BY MAFIA

YOU HIT ME, WE HIT YOU!

wah loa..dun like dat say him mahz...he beri weida to start e ball rolling liao...lol...anyway...ur front n rear shocks is ohlins one ah??or u bought from modpeds??

Dun compromise safety...

Originally posted by Tyrian@Apr 27 2004, 01:34 AM

not necessary...

wave doesn't have the convectional clutch where u can release it slowly with your hands to reduce the engine brake...

for wave, when u down gear n dun realease, it is actually clutching in... so when u release, the clutch oso release...

the bad point is that, it is very difficult to control the "clutch" with your leg... i always from 4th gear down to 3rd gear dun release until going to reach a complete stop den i down to 2nd, n den 1st... usually no problem with me..

this is the best one... very easy to master.... if you wan u can straight away down to neutral also.... sometimes i do it but mostly until quite slow only do it for safety purpose...

Originally posted by oscar22sg@Apr 27 2004, 01:48 AM

I also notice this problem when I 1st got my Wave. I've also developed my own technique to overcome this problem. U might wanna give it a try.

U'll change yur gears when u reach the speed that u desire for that particular gear.

Eg. Changing from 3rd to 4th after attaining the speed of 60kph.

So when u have to slow down to a speed which is lower than 60kph, I'll close throttle, drop gear, hold it there, open throttle a little bit n release the gear lever.

It'll help to make yur trip more smooth but u'll need a bit of practice to know how much throttle to open during that process or u'll end up like throwing clutch.

That's my suggestions. Hope someone can post a fool-proof method cos so far I think that's the way I've found workable.

ur way a bit hard to master loh... cos of the throttle...

got 2 ways

either u get used to kicking down gear when the bike is really really very slow

OR

u can try blipping

i read this blipping thing some time back in some thread

means to throttle abit before kicking down gear

this can be achieved by

1. stepping the rear part of the gear lever (or hooking up the front part of the lever...whichever is more comfortable for u)

so u step or hook the lever all the way and dont release...it will become a kind of a neutral gear or clutch in effect...

2. throttle abit

3. then close throttle

4. den slowly release the gear lever...

this blipping thing can somehow help u reduce the engine brake effect...

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Apr 27 2004, 02:48 AM

My RXZ use (NGK)B8ES. The plug diameter is kind of big. Don't think can fit wave. I think for wave is CR8ES.

oh no

dont tell me the uncle anyhow squeeze in the slightly bigger plug?? :sian:

hrmz

maybe will go find out for myself this coming wkend or what when i have time...

Actually not very hard.....or maybe i'm used to it already. u just need to master at wat RPM to down gear. Must use feeling cos there's no RPM meter.

From 4th to 3rd gear is not really difficult. Must coordinate with brakes too. Just down the gear when u brake till u feel The RPM is very low liao, still holding brake, down to 3rd gear.

From 3rd to 2nd gear abit harder to master. By the time u feel that RPm is very low on the 3rd gear, ur speed would be very slow already. if i'm not wrong, should be 30km or so.....step down at this point, engine brake effect wun be so strong liao.

From 2nd to 1st is the hardest. Step down to 1st gear JUST before u going to put down ur leg. Meaning just 1 second before come to a stop.

I think the most headache problem is most of us are afraid that the traffic light will turn green just before we stop n we r not in the right gear. So move off will not have power. The way i do it is, maintain at 3rd gear if u r not sure if the traffic light is going to turn green before u stop. if RPM very low already, drop to 2nd gear and and as above. If the light turn green when u r at 3rd gear n u know ur bike would not have power, simply step down to 2nd gear n immediately release n give the throttle a full twist.....thus u wun have any engine brake that make u look stupid n yet have power to move off.

Hope these helps n yet not too long winded n also u guys understand wat i saying!! :goodluck:

Originally posted by fazli_jepun@Apr 27 2004, 01:58 AM

guys just wanna ask u a question.....which fork is stronger???:confused: :confused:

are our original or the gold fork at modpedz stronger?cos our OEM forks like super weak like tat....small pothole the compression like super big hole....and any of u using the inverted fork?hows it like?and tips for ppl whom wanna change their forks...

saw a wave last nite at jb with the fork brace.....(those figure 8 metal bar tat u put on your fork)when i ask the bike shop they say cannot fix ah cos our front mudguard is attached 2gether with the fork or something...so anyone using tat?cos at least with tat the bike wont shake so much when travellin at 100km/h onwards......:confused: :confused:

Unless its the inverted fork, basically, the just change the gold part of the fork only. We still use back the original shaft. So depend on which type u going to change.....if inverted, i cannot help u liao cos i dunno anything about it. If changing to the conventional 1s like potato's , simply tell them to add oil to ur fork to make it harder. But make sure its too hard untill u cannot press down the fork. :thumb:

About bike shaking at 100km/hr, its just a matter of getting use to ur bike. So after awhile of riding, u will notice u wun wobble at high speed liao. :goodluck:

Originally posted by pOtatO_BrEaD@Apr 27 2004, 01:18 PM

yoz! ray.. so how? sun 9th may u working bo? going kallang?

yah lor...si beh hao lian!!! lol But no choice.......he leader mah. must start the ball rolling!!

Aiyah.......got work lah. If no work i would be pestering u guys to go liao.

I help u post bigger pic of ur bike lah....wan to show ppl but post so small image.......haiz :sian: