Can i know what is the function of this volt meter? to monitor the voltage and check the battery is working fine? why is it so important to know that?

Paiseh for asking stupid question, new to 2A, haha...

No need to paiseh bro, and no question is a stupid qns, we are all here to learn.

From wat i know, voltmeter is to check the condition of your coil, rectifier and battery.

If everything is working fine, your voltmeter should read between 11.5-12v when u switch your ignition on without running ur engine.

When u start your engine and rev it up, the rectifier should charge your battery and the voltmeter should read 13V++.

Why i say should, is because if there is any fault with your rectifier, your rectifier will not charge the battery and u may end up with a flat batt.

Without a voltmeter, u might never know if the battery is charging cos the engine could still run.

Then again, your rectifier could still be working fine, but your battery may be outta shape and it can no longer hold the charge.

Simply put, the function of the voltmeter is a diagnostic tool to troubleshoot any electronic woes and also as preventative indicator of any electronic chaos to come.

If i'm wrong, any seniors pls correct me.

This is what i gathered after reading through the many2 posts on this thread and also based on my personal experience.

Anyway, some questions can be found using the search button bro.

I've helped u narrow down to one particular page for useful reading.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=6349255&highlight=voltmeter#post6349255

Specifically post #36115

Hope this helps! :D

http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/3699/ref1.jpg

hi bro i went to check on the price today being quote 11k for a fbc plate and the bike shop told me this is a gd model with abs and is written on the mud guard of the front tyre is it cheap to get ..... thanks ............ wat i know from the preivous page is that the first gen they brought 12k for a 1st hand .... pls advice

Guest motofreak
Thank you again to all you guys for the adviced.

Surprisingly a lesson I learned was:

Went to MW for to change EO, Oil-Filter & Coolant. They had a promotion (package): 3 bttls Maxima 15w50 (Red) + Oil-Filter ($73). to me it was a good deal. Had it changed. Plus flushing my coolant and changed to Motul blue-color coolant.

Thats when I encounter the problem along the PIE. After all those to & fro to my regular bike shop, change of fuse & double-check all those wiring/cabling, and checking the battery connection again & again, last adviced from my mech was - it could be the Oil-Filter. What did an oil-filter got to do with my display panel gone blank...??

Obviously the Oil-Filter I got for the package was not compatible with my GSR.....some unknown brand (to me) "Powerflow" - Japanese made.

The EO did not had a proper flow/feed thru the OF used. So when the sensor detect the irregular or insufficient flow of EO throughout the engine, the panel went blank. How this thing works.... beats me... I guess the bike just knows when u use "low quality" products on them...

Got the OF change to Genuine Suzuki parts and viola.... my display panel is ALIIIIIVEEE.... just had to fork-out $18 bucks for the change.... and a peace of mind.

So guys, the experience I learned was - some "package-deal" looks attractive, but not all deals are of good quality....

Yes, I had installed a voltmeter - Dynamyx - got from SBF garage sale.. $35.. and I had the bike grounded too, from my regular bike shop.

When the incident happened, my voltmeter didn't shows any fluctuation of power.. it still showed 13.5..13.

Did u say 3bottles? Did u add on another bottle? Cos u would need more than jus 3 bottles if u remove your oil filter as well. Approximately around 3.2litres in fact.

As for the speedo going off issue. I doubt it is related to he EO being low. If its low, most prob u would see the warning indicator blinking and not shut off the whole speedo and lightings. If your bike is still able to move and rev normally after the speedo and lightings go off, my best bet is the fuse box or some shorted groundings. That mech had probably spotted the issue and con u out of the $18 oil filter. (mind telling me the shopname)

Doubtful about loose connections to the battery as well as there was no mention of power loss or stutterring or wat the mat mat say "motor bo bok".

Things to note:

1, 3bottles aint enuff. (3.2litres with oil filter change. 3.5 if drop engine)

2, 3 bottles and some unknown brand added in would serve to be pointless. (imagine paying top dollar for quality engine oil but the remaining 0.2litre is some cheap EO. It would just spoil the properties of the expensive oil)

3. It is advisable that next oil change u stand by the mech and monitor at all time no matter how reputable the bikeshop may be. (some very itchy fingers)

Guest motofreak
hi bro i went to check on the price today being quote 11k for a fbc plate and the bike shop told me this is a gd model with abs and is written on the mud guard of the front tyre is it cheap to get ..... thanks ............ wat i know from the preivous page is that the first gen they brought 12k for a 1st hand .... pls advice

Which shop is this? Well ABS being good or bad is subjective.(personal liking)

Pro:

Better traction when breaking on wet weather or sandy patches

Cons:

Cost a bomb to change to aftermarket brake hoses as its more than jus 3 hoses that u have to change.

Neway back to pricing. 11k on the road or just machine price? I'd suggest u look elsewhere as well cos i believe another shop that was mentioned before has several GSR for sale there. Pricewise more friendly and condition wise looks presentable. We din bother starting the bike since we not looking for more GSR anyway.

Word of advise to all.

1. Dont fall for shop tactics and them pressuring u. Take your time and explore else u would end up smacking yourself across the head when u find cheaper options.

2. A shop that has more than 1 GSR for sale would most likely be more flexible in pricing. They cant put an FBA plate and FBB plate priced closely together.

Which shop is this? Well ABS being good or bad is subjective.(personal liking)

Pro:

Better traction when breaking on wet weather or sandy patches

Cons:

Cost a bomb to change to aftermarket brake hoses as its more than jus 3 hoses that u have to change.

Neway back to pricing. 11k on the road or just machine price? I'd suggest u look elsewhere as well cos i believe another shop that was mentioned before has several GSR for sale there. Pricewise more friendly and condition wise looks presentable. We din bother starting the bike since we not looking for more GSR anyway.

Word of advise to all.

1. Dont fall for shop tactics and them pressuring u. Take your time and explore else u would end up smacking yourself across the head when u find cheaper options.

2. A shop that has more than 1 GSR for sale would most likely be more flexible in pricing. They cant put an FBA plate and FBB plate priced closely together.

ok noted thanks for yr help....

Hi Bro,

3 bttls were the package-offered. I had half-bttl left from my previous purchased, so I ask them to top-up the balance required. I know, our bike needs at least 3-half bttle EO.

Regards to the shop-name....naaahh...I wont named or bad-mouth them. I'm happy with their service & I would still go to them for any minor service.

By-the-way...thanks for all replies...... much appreciated, guys.

is 11k OTR just does not include the interest rate only.... dont really see much gsr on the road nowadays and not many bike shop have gsr 2nd hand.....

Saw a few at loois, quoted, 12k otr, fbc plate

WR200"SM" Rockstar, X1R "BumbleBee", R "Lek Chek" 135, "Ah Pee La" RS 125

http://i1217.photobucket.com/albums/dd397/Mandonut/ff514f46.jpg

Dropping by in a long while to say hi!

Nice to see so many new discussions along with new GSR forumers!

Great day ahead!

http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2010/4/26/129167583988157915.gif

Suzuki Saoirse - "Freedom"

"My biggest error? Something that is to happen yet."

Ayrton Senna

hi all i would like to hear some personal opinions. i know some people feel gsr with top box is not pleasant looking while others love the convenience it provides.

so i would like to hear from you your opinions regarding gsr with top box. what are your reasons for installing or not installing a top box. love it or hate it it's a personal choice so pls respect others' views.

on a side note, a gsr can install side boxes right? can those with side box give me your opinions on them as well? do they affect the weight balance and handling?

thank you for reading.

Guest motofreak
hi all i would like to hear some personal opinions. i know some people feel gsr with top box is not pleasant looking while others love the convenience it provides.

so i would like to hear from you your opinions regarding gsr with top box. what are your reasons for installing or not installing a top box. love it or hate it it's a personal choice so pls respect others' views.

on a side note, a gsr can install side boxes right? can those with side box give me your opinions on them as well? do they affect the weight balance and handling?

thank you for reading.

Actually in the initial part, most of us senior riders hated the ideas of top boxes. But slowly leaned into the idea as its much easier for long rides during road trips..

Side panniers are readily available as long as u have the $$$ to spend. The rack and panniers could run up to over 1K depending on size of boxes.

i have a top box. Yes, it may look weird a bit at first. but its too convenient for me to take it out anyway. i have no experience with side box, so cant comment.

Anyway, with top box and pillion, should i adjust my suspension? i am not quite sure how to adjust the springs though. Any one can advise?

Current ride - Gilera ST200 (April 2011-present)

Previous rides - Suzuki GSR 400 (31 March 2008 - 2011)

Assumption is mother of all all ****-ups! :cheers :-P

Actually in the initial part, most of us senior riders hated the ideas of top boxes. But slowly leaned into the idea as its much easier for long rides during road trips..

Side panniers are readily available as long as u have the $$$ to spend. The rack and panniers could run up to over 1K depending on size of boxes.

i DuN HaTe Lei :angel: i'M uSinG 3 BoXeS SuMoRe :lol:

169383_451657501512609_265105153_o.jpg?dl=1

Can i know where do you guys normally go for road trips? The engine seems very hot after i ride for around 20km, if we ride for around 120km/hour, how far can we go before stopping?

One more thing, how much does a voltmeter cost? I am thinking to get one.

By the way, just got my bike last night, hooray!!!

Can i know where do you guys normally go for road trips? The engine seems very hot after i ride for around 20km, if we ride for around 120km/hour, how far can we go before stopping?

oh nice, did u get a used one or new bike? i want to get a new one but it seems it's difficult

haha, thanks!

I got a used bike, 3 years old. ya, seems like a bit difficult to get a new one now. If u are interested to get a used one, you can try Loois, i think they still have around 2-3 on hand.

thank you for reading.

Juz had my H&B panniers installed yesterday.... abit of getting used to but sure beats the idea of not having any storage space at all.....

dun feel that the panniers is giving the bike extra weight but hey it gives the other road users a more visibility of my bike! :D

1st bike : Phantom TA150

2nd bike : Varadero 125

3rd bike : X9 180

4th bike : GSR 400

5th bike : Super Tenere XT1200Z

6th bike : R1200 GSA LC

7th bike : TmaxDx

8th bike : Softtail Fat Bob

RoaD TriP DePENd On wHo OrGaNiSe..eNGiNe HoT iS NorMaL asLoNg UR TeMp ReaD beLoW 97..aBv tHeN THt FaN wiLL aCtiVAtEd..

mY rIdE sO fAr sO gOOd :D VoLtMeTeR CoSt BoUt $45/- :angel: WeLcoMe to GsReaN & EnJoY Ur RiDe :cheer:

Juz had my H&B panniers installed yesterday.... abit of getting used to but sure beats the idea of not having any storage space at all.....

dun feel that the panniers is giving the bike extra weight but hey it gives the other road users a more visibility of my bike! :D

:bounce: :bounce: Now PaNNieRs PoPuLar LiaO :cheeky:

hello gang... i'm not holding a poll but generally what is the preferred Air Fuel Ratio Controller use by u guys here for those who ardy install ur beloved & expensive aft market exhaust system? if ya don't mind. (Exhaust - AFRC)

hi bro do u mind to share how much u bought yr bike so as i will not be a big carrot to be chop..... at least i know the market value .... thanks in advance

ya have been to quite a number of bike shop..... it seems to be all selling at the 10-12k so i think have to see the best condition on the bike and can get some free gift with it........