mine is taught by someone riding a ZX12.. anyway i just do it nia..

and im still not that zhai yet so to me running in is good.. initially i just need to run it up to 100km/h which is 6k rpm... then next is 160km/h which is about 10k rpm.. then after that which is too fast i din dare go a lot so is as much as i can loh.. haiz..

dun forget im a gal leh.. how fast would i dare to go.. maybe next trip i try to clear meter lah.. :sian:

Originally posted by GSR600@April 21, 2007 09:53 am

bibi, is that u i n the pic. look garang lah.

ya thats me.. garang meh.. that time was hot, and sweaty and damn agitated.. just want a place to bath and sleep nia..

Originally posted by skateboy@April 21, 2007 09:56 am

so did u read ur instruction manual?? :D

how i read lor... u think Suzuki got send me to Japan for study their instruction manual meh? i can see abit only... u can borrow those GSR600 instruction manual cause only 600cc is international manual.

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg

if 6k rpm is 100km/h, then running in is no prob cos cruising at that speed to work with or without heavy traffic oso can... ha...

anyway, later ask southern n c wat they say then i update again.

Originally posted by DenverDino@April 21, 2007 10:00 am

how i read lor... u think Suzuki got send me to Japan for study their instruction manual meh? i can see abit only... u can borrow those GSR600 instruction manual cause only 600cc is international manual.

mayb can ask those riding 600cc one bring theri manual n let us take a look?? but of cos certain aspect is different from the 400cc ones...

Originally posted by Gal_SG^Rider@April 21, 2007 09:57 am

and im still not that zhai yet so to me running in is good.. initially i just need to run it up to 100km/h which is 6k rpm... then next is 160km/h which is about 10k rpm.. then after that which is too fast i din dare go a lot so is as much as i can loh.. haiz..

dun forget im a gal leh.. how fast would i dare to go.. maybe next trip i try to clear meter lah.. :sian:

bibi u get your bike for how many month le? i guess u finish ur run in? so tonite are you going to KFC?

Originally posted by Gal_SG^Rider@April 21, 2007 09:57 am

ok let quote from the GSR600 OWNER MANUAL:

initial 800km below 7krpm.

upto 1600km below 10.5krpm.

over 1600km below 14krpm.

it is written in pg 4-2

Originally posted by DenverDino@April 21, 2007 10:03 am

bibi u get your bike for how many month le? i guess u finish ur run in?

i got it in jan.. ya finish run in long ago.. a trip to muar and a trip to KL did the trip now my mileage already 6k++ liao.. need to change my sparkplugs liao..

Originally posted by GSR600@April 21, 2007 10:05 am

ok let quote from the GSR600 OWNER MANUAL:

initial 800km below 7krpm.

upto 1600km below 10.5krpm.

over 1600km below 14krpm.

it is written in pg 4-2

something like that lah.. for me i only get to change oil when its 1 k.. went muar and back then over shot.. so when 2nd oil change dunno go where end up over shot oso then change at 2k.. heheeh then the 3rd oil change worse ahahah went KL oso over shot eheheh..

anyway cannot exactly one lah.. its all estimation.. and my style was taught by someone so i just follow loh..

i know nuts about running in... i just got my cl2A so just listen to ppl loh..

Originally posted by Gal_SG^Rider@April 21, 2007 10:12 am

something like that lah.. for me i only get to change oil when its 1 k.. went muar and back then over shot.. so when 2nd oil change dunno go where end up over shot oso then change at 2k.. heheeh then the 3rd oil change worse ahahah went KL oso over shot eheheh..

anyway cannot exactly one lah.. its all estimation.. and my style was taught by someone so i just follow loh..

b4 that what bike are you riding?

Originally posted by Gal_SG^Rider@April 21, 2007 10:18 am

had been riding a katana.. its a cub kia from suzuki.. and am still riding that during weekdays now..

no wonder that day i ask you want to go 2nd link for petrol u say no need. then your riding should be very steady mah. den tonite u got meet those guys?

Originally posted by Gal_SG^Rider@April 21, 2007 10:12 am

normally we'll roughly estimate, slightly b4 the mileage reach, will change the oil so wun overshot. actually, which class of bike is the same... just the speed difference... or those 2b bikers, they r too happy getting their licence so just whack... :lol:

Originally posted by skateboy@April 21, 2007 10:36 am

normally we'll roughly estimate, slightly b4 the mileage reach, will change the oil so wun overshot. actually, which class of bike is the same... just the speed difference... or those 2b bikers, they r too happy getting their licence so just whack... :lol:

i know your bike what colour liao... if im not wrong is either red or blue but mostly was blue. cause i see at southern last few week ago. AM I RIGHT?

ehhh.... can specially order the colour i want wat... i want yellow they oso have to give me... :D

Originally posted by skateboy@April 21, 2007 10:42 am

ehhh.... can specially order the colour i want wat... i want yellow they oso have to give me... :D

i dont believe u getting yellow colour lor... u think S4 meh. dont care see you tonite at KFC... :cheer:

i just quote example lor... even they do spraying, oso not so fast.

i just get my bike, wun go for outing so fast, will do up something b4 the outing. :D

there are a few reasons for running in:

1) remove the leftovers from machining at the factory

2) seat the piston & piston rings nicely within the engine block

and some other stuff..

and there are 2 common methods also:

1) soft, like what many above have described, keep the engine below 5k rpm, change

at 500, 1000, 2000, 3000 kms or so

2) hard, run through the whole range of revs in the engine.

Running in

FORGET ALL THAT nonsense about sticking to rev limits for a certain number of miles, just ride normally, allowing the engine to rev freely (but not redlining) and never let it labour. Go up and down the gearbox and up and down the revs. Dont't sit on a motorway for hours hoping to speed up the process - it doesn't work.

Engine tuner Dave Setphenson, who's run in hundreds of bikes, has two tips:

"Find a long downhill stretch, get in top at about 50mph (80kph) and wait till the bike's pulling ahead of the engine, then whack the throttle open. When it starts to pull, shut it again. That causes a vacuum in the crankcase, pushes the piston rings against the cylinder walls and helps them bed in."

The second tip is not to use synthetic oil for running in. "It won't just slow the running in process, it ruins it - do 20 miles (32km) for new on synthetic and the engine'll need stripping." the bores and bearing surfaces end up polished and unable to hold a film of oil. the same thing happens when you run engines in too carefully

this is the best source i can get for hard running in: hard run-in

take your time reading through it, but you will need to understand if you're after the

hard run-in method.

at the end of the day, it's up to you to choose. personally, i'd do the hard way, but

you have to make sure you do it right & follow the procedure to the letter.

about maxima extra, it's working fine on my bike, though pricey. but in any case,

only use mineral oil for running in. change to synthetic only after that.

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

Originally posted by Gal_SG^Rider@April 21, 2007 10:08 am

i got it in jan.. ya finish run in long ago.. a trip to muar and a trip to KL did the trip now my mileage already 6k++ liao.. need to change my sparkplugs liao..

mine almost 10k already..mus change spark plugs ah? not every 2 years change?

See my siggy.

If you read it carefully, its actually a guide to running in the bike using both the hard & tech manual method.

First 37km is using the Mototune method. After which the remaining kilometres is done following the owner's manual, with oil & filter changes at every stage.

The common misconception about hard run-in is that it involves whacking the bike like nobody's business the very first time you switch it on. Thus leading to one of SBF's most famous flaming threads.

It's not. Its not about whacking madly and such.

Read the website and the instructions. Its actually a methodical & procedural manner backed by many safety & precautionary actions. Those attempting are strongly adviced by me to spend a few days reading the instructions over several times until you really get it.

There is really a clear logic behind the theory. Try reading your owner's manual (English version). Suzuki clearly states there to rev freely within the recommended rev range during running in.

One advice is to bunny-hop your engine. Meaning while moving, rev from minumum RPM to max allowed RPM then let it decelerate afterwhich repeat again as you travel.

Also, during my running-in, I notice one thing. On the second "stage", recommended max RPM is 10K. At 9000 RPM at 6th gear, I'm already at 150 km/h on the NSH. So is Suzuki telling me to do soft running-in?

Originally posted by sikonesis@April 21, 2007 10:58 am

there are a few reasons for running in:

1) remove the leftovers from machining at the factory

2) seat the piston & piston rings nicely within the engine block

and some other stuff..

and there are 2 common methods also:

1) soft, like what many above have described, keep the engine below 5k rpm, change

at 500, 1000, 2000, 3000 kms or so

2) hard, run through the whole range of revs in the engine.

this is the best source i can get for hard running in: hard run-in

take your time reading through it, but you will need to understand if you're after the

hard run-in method.

at the end of the day, it's up to you to choose. personally, i'd do the hard way, but

you have to make sure you do it right & follow the procedure to the letter.

about maxima extra, it's working fine on my bike, though pricey. but in any case,

only use mineral oil for running in. change to synthetic only after that.

tot running-in is just to get rid of the wax on the tyres??? hee...

Originally posted by kaozie@April 21, 2007 01:41 pm

tot running-in is just to get rid of the wax on the tyres??? hee...

both need to run in....tyre v fast run in finish de ma...juz tt engine need a longer time...anyway i juz follow the manual and run in below 4k rpm for 1k km...den i change to fully syn oil liao....

Originally posted by Lao_yang@April 21, 2007 03:27 pm

both need to run in....tyre v fast run in finish de ma...juz tt engine need a longer time...anyway i juz follow the manual and run in below 4k rpm for 1k km...den i change to fully syn oil liao....

use Knife Brand oil lah... hahaha!!!

Short trip Ride to Melaka from 28th April to 29th April...

one night stay in Melaka plus Breakfast, rate est abt 100.00 SGD per room (for 2)

tentative members going:-

1. Sia117 (Trip Leader)

2. Bibi

3. acesiew

4. ah gui (Rear Marker)

5. wait4me (Beyond the screen) R6

6. Friend of wait4me

7. Dixion (S4)

8. Benson (S4)

-sat (21st April 2007)

-Kallang KFC @ 9.30pm

*Discussion on Hotel Arrangement*

after tat rounding in sg or Second Link Petrol n Supper...

coming:-

1. acesiew

2. AhGui

3. sia117

Who what where when?