use a long-nose pliers to turn the rubber socket unless you have the fingers of a lady... hee...

kaozie ,what sort of paint u use to spray those balancer? Automotive paint?

Hi guys, juz bought a new GSR400, any kind souls willing to pass me sofy copy of english version manual? Me staying in west area....

PM Dino for it :thumb:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Thanks...Will PM him. Btw, anyone know where got sell radiator cover other than motoworld. Juz went yesterday and was told no stock, need to wait.... Sighz..

saw 2 gsr at tamp mscp 700+ there...power...home of gsr...hhahaha

http://i46.tinypic.com/34hf9ya.jpg

Past:- Honda Sp

Yamaha Spark 135

Suzuki GSR 4

Suzuki Swift Sports

Present:- Honda VFR800

just a note about T10s.

some of them have issues with polarity. meaning, the +ve on the bulb needs to

connect to the -ve on the bike & vice versa.

so test the bulbs by turning on the ignition after you install the new bulbs but

before you put it into the headlight assembly. if it doesn't light up, most

probably a 180° change in orientation will do the trick.

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

have to access from the back...

1: remove the 2 side covers beside the headlight

2: remove the 4 screws holding the headlights

3: at the back of where the pole light is there are 2 rubber holders. twist the rubber and pull it out.

4: change the bulb and replace the rubber by slotting it back and twisting it to lock it in place

Thanks for the guide. I did read the GSR Service Manual, it didn't actually mention step-by-step... anyway, thanks again bro.

Bro, sounds good for D.i.y... where can buy the t10?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137010

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143547

use a long-nose pliers to turn the rubber socket unless you have the fingers of a lady... hee...

Noted. thanks for the head-up.

just a note about T10s.

some of them have issues with polarity. meaning, the +ve on the bulb needs to

connect to the -ve on the bike & vice versa.

so test the bulbs by turning on the ignition after you install the new bulbs but

before you put it into the headlight assembly. if it doesn't light up, most

probably a 180° change in orientation will do the trick.

Noted. thanks for the head-up.

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/4762/dsc1012of3.jpg http://img250.imageshack.us/img250/67/dsc00196ave3.jpg

"Damn, who die and make him the leader?!?!?"

Thanks...Will PM him. Btw, anyone know where got sell radiator cover other than motoworld. Juz went yesterday and was told no stock, need to wait.... Sighz..

i ordered mine online - dunno how much Motoworld is selling but mine was abt 173 SGD inclusive of shipping. or u can try Ah Boy's REGINA. last i went they oni got stock for Fazer ones. told me they ordering but that was like 2 months back

anyone know what type are our signal bulbs and if the rear ones are the same

as the front?

thinking of changing them to the clear LED type.

any place to recommend?

mods done:

powerplant device, fuel injector venturis,

underseat cylindrical air filter, bassy stock cans,

super-sensitive in-built gyroscope, inertia-based accelerometer,

streamlined panniers (zero drag),

taped up wires, exposed grounding wires,

TBC mounted, custom tire pressures.

litre bikes watch out! :gun:

In a run in, their primary purpose to to "scrub" the walls and seal ring in extreme harsh conditions so both sides to "match" each other in focus to have a good seal between your seal rings & piston walls. A very important result of a run-in as this will enable good sealing and sustain our high compression ratio 2 wheelers as compared to cars. It also reduces chances of "burn" EO.

Yo AR2... Since u seems to be quite experienced...

May I ask, on ur personal preference, which is a better run-in?

A hard run-in or a soft run-in?

lol.. kevonz... still asking about running in arh.. haaa...

Friday Night any1 free go for Kopi? :cheeky:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Kallang KFC.

I'll be there again.

8pm onwards...

with who? :cheeky:

Kevonz, we all learn as we ride, share, think and analyse though. There has been a relatively huge argument/debate/sharing in SBF for sometime on hard & soft run-ins. ---> Sensitive issue if the posts go in the "wrong" direction.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Which is better? To the user to DECIDE:-

It has always been MAJORITY (OEM run-in spec) vs minority (moto-man recommendations) issue on run-ins. Theoretically, if 2 same bikes (same care, type of use, with like maybe 100,000km mileage which equally ridden as harsh & hard, same EO etcetc.. but too many variables) were to be torn apart right to the valves and conrods at the same time, that would probably be a best bet to which is better. But... we can't achieve that, unless someone does the above mentioned on 2 spanking new bikes and run all day & night long, and does some good analysis/testing.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The final result everyone is look for:

But back to the books/basics/engineering. The ultimate reason for run-in is to keep a motorcycle's compression ratio optimal by having a good seal between your multiple piston rings and cylinder walls. In a more rider's general view/comprehension, is to keep your machine going strong with years of use.

Simplified explaination of ring seal:-

To many common consensuous, piston rings actually don't seal the combustion pressure by spring tension. "Scraping" of EO to prevent it from entering the combustion chamber is what the ring tensions' primary job.

If a ring of about 5-10 lbs of spring tension is pushing on cylinder wall, it is not logically & technically for it withstand a motorcycle's combustion pressure in units of PSI? What seals is basically the actual combustion gas pressure itself, forcing it outward against the cylinder wall.

What "run-in" actually does:-

Brand new rings are not optimal to perform a good seal, thus a need to "run-in" to ensure good seal all the way around the bore (cylinder walls). If sufficient combustion pressure is strong enough during "run-in", the entire ring will wear into the cylinder surface, to seal the combustion pressure as well.

How is the engine designed for any run-ins:-

A new cylinder wall is rough/crosshatched/honed, thus will wear the rings down. So matter you hard or soft run-in, the optimal roughness is be gone (that is why metal bits are obvious in the first oil change). So if the rings aren't forced against the walls soon enough, they'll use up the roughness before they fully seat. Once that happens there is no solution but to re-hone/re-hatch the cylinders, install new rings and start over again.

I have witness also:-

1. An 03R6 (like you i was curious on "hard" run-ins.. so there you go.. a guinea pig back then) with "hard" run-in via ROAD, and still going as strong as its was out from the showroom despite having almost 50,000km mileage of hard riding.

2. Brand new K5 1000s on "hard" run-ins via DYNO, when compared with another with "soft" run-in, the dyno figures were healthier (dynoed within 5000km..)

With ALL the above in mind:-

I took chance to try "hard" run-in a new R6 (only at 18,000km now.. still as strong & hitting 276~286kmh well, but not enough mileage for any outstanding reviews.), after a "soft" run-in with a previous VFR (at 40,000km it really feels a bit nuah and never hit 255kmh as well as before).

But a bad bad run-in method is to stay at 1 constant rpm all the way, coz you don't get good "loading" between your rings n walls, be it with a "soft" or "hard" run-in method.

All in all, we are not saying which is better. But just sharing out the logic behind the need for an effective run-in.

With the logical and technical information in hand, I myself decided for "hard" run-in the effort also to find out myself which is better.

If your worry is the engine gonna blow in the first 500kmh of hard riding, it would have blown during the QC stage of 1 lot.

DISCLAIMER:-

The above mentioned in terms of bike results are solely individual experience and encounters. We are not liable for any mishaps occurred in view of our results.

Thank You.

AR2 Performance

http://www.raceshield.com/images/raceshieldmotorbikekits.jpg

RACEshield URL - > http://www.raceshield.com

RACEshield FACEbook - > http://www.facebook.com/pages/RACEshield/119281238033

http://www.facebook.com/badge.php?id=119281238033&bid=5427&key=171556654&format=png&z=1394638

Kevonz, we all learn as we ride, share, think and analyse though. There has been a relatively huge argument/debate/sharing in SBF for sometime on hard & soft run-ins. ---> Sensitive issue if the posts go in the "wrong" direction.

By any chance, was your nick HamsterZ?

I must highlight one point to everyone that you raised and its on the matter of choice.

I agree that ultimately, its up to each rider to decide upon which run-in method he/she wants, to research the background on each properly before acting upon anything & to bear the risks themselves.

A closer inspection of my siggy will reveal which method I chose.

"By any chance, was your nick HamsterZ? :)"

Yes. It was & still is. I drawn a clear line b/w work and leisure.

how did you know... the VFR siggie??

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I must highlight one point to everyone that you raised and its on the matter of choice."

Yes we agree to that. Many times I have DIY'ed in various areas. Some terribly wrong (yes and i learn it the hard way), some absolutely perfect by general standards.

"....before acting upon anything & to bear the risks themselves."

Truely agree. Almost never had a chance to ride ever after thumb hitting/tries screechin tank slap at 220kmh. At a feathery 55kg, & not doing homework (setup) before testing the high compression suspension.... deadly.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By the way.. are WILDcard on a BusA?

If you are... greetings!!!! Its been sometime how r u?

By any chance, was your nick HamsterZ?

I must highlight one point to everyone that you raised and its on the matter of choice.

I agree that ultimately, its up to each rider to decide upon which run-in method he/she wants, to research the background on each properly before acting upon anything & to bear the risks themselves.

A closer inspection of my siggy will reveal which method I chose.

Thank You.

AR2 Performance

http://www.raceshield.com/images/raceshieldmotorbikekits.jpg

RACEshield URL - > http://www.raceshield.com

RACEshield FACEbook - > http://www.facebook.com/pages/RACEshield/119281238033

http://www.facebook.com/badge.php?id=119281238033&bid=5427&key=171556654&format=png&z=1394638

"By any chance, was your nick HamsterZ? :)"

Yes. It was & still is. I drawn a clear line b/w work and leisure.

how did you know... the VFR siggie??

"I must highlight one point to everyone that you raised and its on the matter of choice."

Yes we agree to that. Many times I have DIY'ed in various areas. Some terribly wrong (yes and i learn it the hard way), some absolutely perfect by general standards.

"....before acting upon anything & to bear the risks themselves."

Truely agree. Almost never had a chance to ride ever after thumb hitting/tries screechin tank slap at 220kmh. At a feathery 55kg, & not doing homework (setup) before testing the high compression suspension.... deadly.

By the way.. are WILDcard on a BusA?

If you are... greetings!!!! Its been sometime how r u?

Yes, but not a Busa. It does look like a Busa at first glance, but alas its only a humble Suzuki TL1000R V-twin supersports.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10975/normal_PICT0398.JPG

Yeah, your VFR gave you away. I remember there was only 1 guy either dumb enuff or bold enuff to do a high-speed wheelie at the NSH on a VFR800. Ahahahaha! Joking, yeah?

So, how's life? That trip to Mersing is still stuck on my mind.

Ahahaha!

puffer says:

Be original.

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y55/faizalhashim/DSC03421.jpg

BTW i've already replaced with the ORIGINAL one from Guan Hoe.

Wildcard, friday i'll try to be there. bring a copy of the cd can? or pass me urs i'll burn and give you back. remember, u still owe me $1. hahaha just kidding bro

puffer says:

Be original.

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y55/faizalhashim/DSC03421.jpg

BTW i've already replaced with the ORIGINAL one from Guan Hoe.

Wildcard, friday i'll try to be there. bring a copy of the cd can? or pass me urs i'll burn and give you back. remember, u still owe me $1. hahaha just kidding bro

K k.

For you nvm, I deliver on a silver CD holder FOC.

AHAHAHAHAHA!

"Yes, but not a Busa"

eh.. tot i saw you with a maroon/black Busa sometime last year?

"I remember there was only 1 guy either dumb enuff or bold enuff to do..."

I should be the former instead of the latter....

"So, how's life? That trip to Mersing is still stuck on my mind."

Well busy with work as usual. Mersing's still my favourite.. I prefer B-roads to track though. So hitting mersing once in a while, sometimes bringing riders up to expose them to B-road riding. Still i miss my VFR...

Yes, but not a Busa. It does look like a Busa at first glance, but alas its only a humble Suzuki TL1000R V-twin supersports.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10975/normal_PICT0398.JPG

Yeah, your VFR gave you away. I remember there was only 1 guy either dumb enuff or bold enuff to do a high-speed wheelie at the NSH on a VFR800. Ahahahaha! Joking, yeah?

So, how's life? That trip to Mersing is still stuck on my mind.

Ahahaha!

Ride hard & safe...

really? thanks alot bro! then i can write off that $1 debt. hahahaha

see ya friday! i do hope i can squeeze some time.

"Yes, but not a Busa"

eh.. tot i saw you with a maroon/black Busa sometime last year?

"I remember there was only 1 guy either dumb enuff or bold enuff to do..."

I should be the former instead of the latter....

"So, how's life? That trip to Mersing is still stuck on my mind."

Well busy with work as usual. Mersing's still my favourite.. I prefer B-roads to track though. So hitting mersing once in a while, sometimes bringing riders up to expose them to B-road riding.

Dun think's that me.

Last year, the only other bike I rode on is my trusty spare Phantom 150

Ahahaha!

Ok lah.

I be seeing you around. Maybe I'll drop down your place and check this RaceShield out.

Suzuki GSR Club

PLS kindly us share your update info. Malaysia GSR Riders are Welcomed as well.

Your Nick or Name, Bike colour and CC(400 or 600)

Mount Faber Rider:

1) kaozie(Tech Specialist) (Matt Black 400)

North Side Rider:

1) Ej (Matt Black 400)

2) acesiew (Matt Black 400)

3) A-Style (Matt Black 400)

4) dickchingus (Red 400)

5) tough (Blue 400)

6) royston15 (White 400)

East Side Rider:

1) sia117 (Grey 600)

2) Misbs7 (Matt Black 600) (So far only one with YOSHIMURA TRI OVAL)

3) AhGui (Matt Black 400)

4) skateboy (Red 400)

5) khuboy (Red 400)

6) sikonesis (Matt Black 400)

7) Kevonz (White 400) (The very first White horse in our Club GSR.)

8) Frank y (Yellow GSX 1200 Inazuma)

9) aku_eminem (Matt Black 400)

11)

West Side Rider:

1) Z^^kia (Matt Black 600)

2) Ivan (Matt Black 600)

3) DenverDino (Matt Black 400)

4) sikonesis (Matt Black 400)

5) levin (Matt Black 400)

6) Mr Atlantic (Matt Black 400)

7) Gal_SG^Rider (Blue 400)

8) Murinus (Matt Black 400)

9) realdean (Red 400)

10) Arzme (Matt Black 400)

11) Dzal (RED 600) The only red 600 i guess...

12)

13)

Central Side Rider:

1) takangle (Matt Black 400)

2) supersonic (Blue 400)

South Side Rider:

Malaysia Rider:

1) GSR600 (Blue 600)

P.S: Do not give out any info about others. I will deleted any info if don't belong to you. Respect others... DO IT ON YOUR OWN WILL. Or you can PM DenverDino to update your info.

Thanks for sharing us your info. We will alway keep in touch....

This Post i will update every now and then - DenverDino

"éšä»”,è¦åŽ»å—Ž"("Handsome, want to go")?!!! wahahaha....

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z51/DenverDino/CRW_4732-1-1.jpg