Coolant Comparisan  

353 members have voted

1. 1. Coolant Comparisan

EG: You and another bike beside you who has the same version and same exhaust at the traffic light. But surprisingly, when the light turns green, your bike picks up speed very easily than the other and also your bike will feel very light. Your bike's valve will open up more faster than the bike beside you. Not many people know about it and not many mech doing this.

Hmm. i dont think it works for my version then. Cos non-vtecs valves have all the 16 valves opened all the way.

When I feel sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story. Hehe :thumb:

• Replies 814

EG: You and another bike beside you who has the same version and same exhaust at the traffic light. But surprisingly, when the light turns green, your bike picks up speed very easily than the other and also your bike will feel very light. Your bike's valve will open up more faster than the bike beside you. Not many people know about it and not many mech doing this.

Bro iPanema's quote.

When I feel sad, I stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story. Hehe :thumb:

Yah whats that intrested to kno also.. Advancer sounds garang

Garang?...wear and tear and bike life span reliabilty oso garang finish faster...ha...x3! Anyway..the choice is yours..good if u are a racer.

For those who are curious what its all about..read the following for knowledge info..not my words but extract fro the pros..

Not to be confused with ignition timing advance, advancing a camshaft will change the timing of the valve events in relation to where the crankshaft is positioned. Advancing ignition timing causes the spark plug to fire earlier whereas an advanced camshaft will cause the intake and/or exhaust valves to open and close earlier in the engine cycle. Changing either affects engine performance, but a camshaft that is properly installed in an advanced position can noticeably improve performance.

• Four-Stroke Valve Events

• Four-cycle engines perform an intake, compression, power and exhaust stroke in each cycle. Each cycle requires two complete crankshaft revolutions. The camshaft, which controls the action of the valves, rotates at half the crankshaft speed. The camshaft controls the movement of the engine valves. The intake and exhaust valves are precisely timed to open and close based on the camshaft's influence and each has it respective actions.

Intake Event

• The intake valve opens slightly before the piston is at the top of the cylinder. As the piston moves down, air and fuel are drawn in. Shortly after the piston begins rising again, the intake valve closes for the compression cycle. Ignition takes place when the piston nears the top of the cylinder bore (TDC--or top dead center).

Exhaust Event

• Once the air/fuel mixture has been ignited, the piston is forced down on the power stroke. Shortly before the bottom of piston travel (BDC), the exhaust valve begins to open. As the piston returns to TDC, the exhaust is forced past the open exhaust valve and the cycle repeats.

Effects of Cam Advance

• Advancing a camshaft from its original position causes all of these valve events to happen earlier in the cycle. A camshaft advance of 4 degrees will cause each opening and closing event to occur four degrees sooner than before, changing the ability of the cylinder to build pressure. For example, if the intake closing event is designed to happen at 55 degrees after bottom dead center (ABDC) it will now close at 51 degrees ABDC, or 4 degrees earlier. The same is true of the exhaust events--they will happen 4 degrees earlier, even though they don't happen until after top dead center (ATDC) of piston travel.

Effects on Cylinder Pressure

• Although all valve events occur earlier, the greatest impact of an advanced cam is to close the intake valve sooner in the compression stroke. This means that a greater volume of air and fuel gets trapped and compressed before being ignited and has the effect of creating more torque and power. However, if too much pressure builds up, extreme heat can cause pinging (detonation). Advancing cam timing can require the use of higher octane fuels in order to avoid this.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Its not many ppl don't know about it..its ppl who knows about it that do not want to do it...go figure.

I'm using a GPR exhaust. There's no full system for GPR yet for S4. So the effect of GPR on a V-tec is not so powerful. Thats the reason I'm using the advancer. Its not ppl who knew and didn't do it but its ppl who didn't face the same problem as mine to do it.

Eh bro, why not change to a 4-1 header? Can make it into a "full system".

Garang?...wear and tear and bike life span reliabilty oso garang finish faster...ha...x3! Anyway..the choice is yours..good if u are a racer.

For those who are curious what its all about..read the following for knowledge info..not my words but extract fro the pros..

Not to be confused with ignition timing advance, advancing a camshaft will change the timing of the valve events in relation to where the crankshaft is positioned. Advancing ignition timing causes the spark plug to fire earlier whereas an advanced camshaft will cause the intake and/or exhaust valves to open and close earlier in the engine cycle. Changing either affects engine performance, but a camshaft that is properly installed in an advanced position can noticeably improve performance.

• Four-Stroke Valve Events

• Four-cycle engines perform an intake, compression, power and exhaust stroke in each cycle. Each cycle requires two complete crankshaft revolutions. The camshaft, which controls the action of the valves, rotates at half the crankshaft speed. The camshaft controls the movement of the engine valves. The intake and exhaust valves are precisely timed to open and close based on the camshaft's influence and each has it respective actions.

Intake Event

• The intake valve opens slightly before the piston is at the top of the cylinder. As the piston moves down, air and fuel are drawn in. Shortly after the piston begins rising again, the intake valve closes for the compression cycle. Ignition takes place when the piston nears the top of the cylinder bore (TDC--or top dead center).

Exhaust Event

• Once the air/fuel mixture has been ignited, the piston is forced down on the power stroke. Shortly before the bottom of piston travel (BDC), the exhaust valve begins to open. As the piston returns to TDC, the exhaust is forced past the open exhaust valve and the cycle repeats.

Effects of Cam Advance

• Advancing a camshaft from its original position causes all of these valve events to happen earlier in the cycle. A camshaft advance of 4 degrees will cause each opening and closing event to occur four degrees sooner than before, changing the ability of the cylinder to build pressure. For example, if the intake closing event is designed to happen at 55 degrees after bottom dead center (ABDC) it will now close at 51 degrees ABDC, or 4 degrees earlier. The same is true of the exhaust events--they will happen 4 degrees earlier, even though they don't happen until after top dead center (ATDC) of piston travel.

Effects on Cylinder Pressure

• Although all valve events occur earlier, the greatest impact of an advanced cam is to close the intake valve sooner in the compression stroke. This means that a greater volume of air and fuel gets trapped and compressed before being ignited and has the effect of creating more torque and power. However, if too much pressure builds up, extreme heat can cause pinging (detonation). Advancing cam timing can require the use of higher octane fuels in order to avoid this.

Hmm. Sounds jialet liao if i install. Will think abt it...

"Bikes don't leak oil, they mark their territory"...

Hmm. Sounds jialet liao if i install. Will think abt it...

I was just wondering if this installation will be permanent, or can be removed and fixed back again. I think this is good for those who play track. Can put to play track and take out for normal riding.

Do a "Retard" lor..but retard and advance, retard and advance, retard and advance...oso koyat...ha....x3! Aiyah..want fast bike go buy Class 2 lah.

LOL! yup. I agree. If want the bike to go extremely fast, just do a 20k modification.

hmm... my elder bro did a cam advance to his prev super4 vtec 3 the same time he did his valve clearance... yep... it flies on straight roads like nobodys business... but then again... with the rise in petrol costs these days, it doesn't seem logical to me. get a class 2 to go fast lor.

Thrash? Don't mind if i do.

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/126/59442677.gif

Help i'm riding a spec 3 going to 5yr old milage around 130k

recently found that my coolent dry off very fast less dan milage 2k..

daily will travel 70km only unless I go for trip..

anybody can help me with that?

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3289/2897927692_ac77f2b443_o.jpg

You mean inside rust?

can it be save?

Take out the radiator and try running high pressure water from the inlet. Should be able to take most but not all out. Rusts, Debris, etc.. Go put a wire mesh to protect your radiator afterwards.

Check your fan and see if its working. Any leaks found? Are your coolant hoses hardened? Is your radiator cap gasket still in good condition? Do a flush, replace radiator cap and hoses if necessary..

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Check your fan and see if its working. Any leaks found? Are your coolant hoses hardened? Is your radiator cap gasket still in good condition? Do a flush, replace radiator cap and hoses if necessary..

How to check izzit hardened? Crack?

Take out the radiator and try running high pressure water from the inlet. Should be able to take most but not all out. Rusts, Debris, etc.. Go put a wire mesh to protect your radiator afterwards.

Take out the radiator need to change coolent? Just flash coolent less dan 2mth ago..

How to check izzit hardened? Crack?

Press2 the hose and see if its very hard like plastic or isit stil flexible like rubber lor... :)

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Press2 the hose and see if its very hard like plastic or isit stil flexible like rubber lor... :)

Like rubber lo.. Later going down to UM see wat they say.. Hope nothing serious.

BRO! If you see this, go to @Ah Pek first. My coolant issues was saved by him at a very lost cost.

Yes. I trust my s4 to ahpek. No words can describe how thankful i am to him for servicing my bike

Thrash? Don't mind if i do.

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/126/59442677.gif