Port Dickson & Malacca Day Trip On 3rd March 2007

Meet GP Esso at 8am & depart 8.30am. We will depart punctually.

Travel Plan

We'll be going to Port Dickson exiting NS Highway via Seremban exit. The exact distance is 289 km between GP Esso & PD. I believe we should reach Port Dickson Town within 2.5+ hrs with average speed of 140 - 160km/hr .

After reaching the town, we'll ride slowly along the beaches & coastal roads towards malacca town which is 86km southward. We'll also stop by at any 5 star beach resorts for see see & coffee & pic taking etc. When reaching Malacca town , we'll roam the town for sightseeing & also try the Chicken rice there & other famous food. There'll be lots of pic taking in Port Dickson & Malacca attractions too. We have 5-6 hours to do all these between Port Dickson & Malacca.

By 6pm, we would have eaten our dinner & depart from Malacca Town towards GP Esso. The distance is 217 km as shown on my GPS. Time taken should be 1.5 hr to return.

Total distance covered will be 592 km to & fro.

Those interested can put their names here below. Entries will be closed on friday 9pm. At 10pm, there'll be a posting reminder here of the usual touring stuff & do's & don'ts probably.

Preparations:

1.Please bring rain gears (important).

2.Check your tire pressure & coolant level one day before.

3.Have enough sleep, otherwise cannot concentrate.

4.Bring ear plugs? Coz at >120km/hr, the noise level is >85dB & can cause permanent damage.

5.Enough malaysian dollars for 600km of petrol & breakfast/lunch/dinner.

6.Enable your hp roaming in Malaysia. Always use +65 XXXXXXXX when dialing or sending SMS in malaysia - in case one of us got "lost".

7.Lube your chain

8.Bring camera snap your pretty/handsome face for all to see.

9.Passport!!! Don't forget!!! you're not going to pulau ubin or sentosa!!!

10. Distance between Tuas Custom to GP esso

*** Feel free to add anything I missed :smile:

PM me yr HP or you can put below by Friday nite.

Names confirmed

1. tt6389 (hp: 94882527 )

2. Ones_co

3. Pauche + 1

4.^FOXY^

5. Ck-

6. khookahkiat (Got VFR rider tagging along !!! ) (hp: 97517580)

Names Pending

1. Smyles (Hornet 600; FY8435Z) - will confirm by Thursday

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
  • Replies 5.7k

Originally posted by tt6389@February 28, 2007 09:09 am

any S4 or boldors changed their coolant recently? I did & was told after few days , the reservoir level will drop & must top up. Mechanic says its normal. So I am inspecting reservoir level every 2 days.

Any one experienced this?

that is because your mech is not doing a good job...

normally after flushing of coolant, the mech have to patiently top up;

1. have to turn on the engine to the coolant circulate into the whole radiator,

2. turn off engine to top up again...

3. reply step 1 and 2 till the level do not drop anymore...

there was once when i go flush my coolant... apparently the mech was not doing a good job... after i ride home, the whole 'reserve' was gone and the overheat light was even on... have to top up the whole reserve...

the last change i had was done by a very patient and dedicated mech... no such problem for this change! :thumb:

another thing, his way of changing the coolant is really 'flushing'... put a running hose at the radiator cap while leaving the engine on so that the water will go flush thru the whole radiator till the water become clear...

most mech just drain the old coolant and straight away top up... :nono:

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by tt6389@February 28, 2007 06:56 pm

Mine also 5 degree hotter than normal during cruising. I know coz I have temp gauge unlike most S4 bikers. But what bothers me most is my S4 coolant capacity is 2.2liter (according to manual) , but I only top up 1.89liter of maxima coolaide pre-mixed - and my reservoir is still almost full ; even after 1 day of riding.

Actually, a good flushing job will certainly not have the effect of raising the temperature, unless you change from the a good brand to lousy one...

i believe the raising temperature is another sign of not a job well done...

usually it is not possible to have top up the entire amount that is within specification as there will be some residue amount in the radiator even if you flush properly...

but concern is that amount within the radiator is flushed clean water that is capture when you flush your entire cooling system or still the old trap coolant?

All Must Work Hard!

Meet GP Esso at 8am & depart 8.30am.

Preparations:

4.Bring ear plugs? Coz at >120km/hr, the noise level is >85dB & can cause permanent damage.

6.Enable your hp roaming in Malaysia. Always use +65 XXXXXXXX when dialing or sending SMS in malaysia - in case one of us got "lost".

7.Lube your chain

*** Feel free to add anything I missed

NOTE:

1. PM me yr HP or you can put below by Friday nite.

2. Unless there's a very heavy downpour rain, we'll depart punctually

3. I forgot to asked everyone to state their bike models - but I hope all the bikes below can handle 160km/hr max.

Names confirmed

2. Ones_co

3. Pauche + 1

4.^FOXY^(hp;93622377)sms only

5. Ck-

7. Smyles (hp: 9689 3542)

Names Pending

1. None

2. 3ddy

3. Nah

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Originally posted by Ones_Co+March 01, 2007 03:46 pm-->
QUOTE (Ones_Co @ March 01, 2007 03:46 pm)
no i did not ask them there.....

they will only say R1 is hot...

but i don think so.... cause i try it myself

travel at 50km/h my temp is about 93 - 98 deg C.

and it is about the same as ur super 4... (refer to tim super 4 temp meter)

so u think R1 is hotter than super 4 ??

wat i think is because of the frame for R1 that conduct the heat to our leg

unlike super 4 which do not have the big frame near our leg

which is the reason why i feel the R1 is hotter than my old super 4

but infact it is about the same temp....

and luckly thing is that u have the temp meter to show me ur bike temp....

i ask dealer....

he say it is normal so i also don know wat to say...

he say for performance coolant heat up faster....[/b]

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by khookahkiat@March 01, 2007 10:42 pm

what shld my tire pressure be at before embarking on the malacca trip?

I think i never pump my tire for quite some time already... recent being a few months ago... so it shld be just nice rite? :sweat: i mean the tire will expand due to prolonged riding... hehehe...

the recommend pressure for your S4 is for normal city riding.

for touring, it is better that you lower the air pressure slightly (for me usually by 10) before you go, cos for prolong riding, your tyre will generate alot of heat to keep your tyres inflated to the right pressure.

if you already well-inflate or over-inflate, it will not be good cos it will further over-inflate the tyres

(for track use, riders usually much under inflate and do a few rounds of 'warm-up' to get the good tyre pressure before the actual race)

the reverse is not good also, too much under inflate will result in over heating of tyres due to too much of friction

i am sure you seen alot of 'exploded' truck typres on the NHSW... as truck travelled very low distance, their tyres get uninflated and it generates so much heat (because of their weight and big tyre surface) that the tyres explode...

All Must Work Hard!

Stop beside a Black Bol'dor with box and Micron endcan yesterday night at Woodlands checkpoint...nice bike...shine is maintain.....by chance happen to by anyone from here??? :smile:

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k74/waklabib/esso.jpg

I just broke my record for JB-KL timing

Originally posted by kennethy@March 02, 2007 09:22 am

there was once when i go flush my coolant... apparently the mech was not doing a good job...

another thing, his way of changing the coolant is really 'flushing'... put a running hose at the radiator cap while leaving the engine on so that the water will go flush thru the whole radiator till the water become clear...

Thanks for trying to help with such details & explanation. Really appreciate :smile:

My flushing was done with water hose connect below the radiator drain cap & water overflowing from radiator cap opening while engine is running. In fact the petrol was used up. Its used up coz S4 petrol tank needs to be removed when changing coolant.

So when no more petrol, step 1,2,3 wasn't done. When topping up coolant, the engine wasn't started at all. Maybe its a hassle to put back the petrol tank, so mechanic didn't top up coolant with engine running.

Just now I checked, the reservoir had dropped by maybe 1 quarter of the reservoir after 4 days of riding. During lunch time, I rode all the way to the mechanic at Alexandra village to see him. While riding at about 90-100km/hr, I noticed my installed temp indicator still showing 92degC. My stock coolant before flushing was always 87degC during cruising.

There the mechanic top up about 0.2 liter directly into the radiator cap while engine running continously. Didn't stop engine to top up. Dun think there's a difference. It was a very small amount only. On the way back to office (20km) on AYE to Jurong island, I noticed the temp still remains 92degC during cruising at 90km/hr.

My suspicision is either there are still some air pockets still trapped in my radiator cooling system or the pre-mixed Cool Aide 's water content ratio too little. Maybe I got to wait a few days to see resevoir level still drops & top up. By then maybe temp will improves.

I understand from the shop there's 2 type of Cool Aide - 1.89liter pre-mixed bottle & the type mixed at the Workshop. Did you used the other type of maxima cool aide mixed at the work shop or the pre-mixed bottle one? Maybe the mixed at workshop is better than the pre-mixed?

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Originally posted by khookahkiat@March 01, 2007 01:43 am

Meet GP Esso at 8am & depart 8.30am

Travel Plan

We'll be going to Port Dickson exiting NS Highway via Seremban exit. The exact distance is 289 km between GP Esso & PD. I believe we should reach Port Dickson Town within 2.5+ hrs with average speed of 140 - 160km/hr .

After reaching the town, we'll ride slowly along the beaches & coastal roads towards malacca town which is 86km southward. We'll also stop by at any 5 star beach resorts for see see & coffee & pic taking etc. When reaching Malacca town , we'll roam the town for sightseeing & also try the Chicken rice there & other famous food. There'll be lots of pic taking in Port Dickson & Malacca attractions too. We have 5-6 hours to do all these between Port Dickson & Malacca.

By 6pm, we would have eaten our dinner & depart from Malacca Town towards GP Esso. The distance is 217 km as shown on my GPS. Time taken should be 1.5 hr to return.

Total distance covered will be 592 km to & fro.

Those interested can put their names here below. Entries will be closed on friday 9pm. At 10pm, there'll be a posting reminder here of the usual touring stuff & do's & don'ts probably.

Preparations:

7.Lube your chain

*** Feel free to add anything I missed :smile:

PM me yr HP or you can put below by Friday nite.

Names confirmed

2. Ones_co

3. Pauche + 1

4.^FOXY^

5. Ck-

7. Smyles (Hornet 600). Hp: 9689 3542

Names Pending

1. None

2. 3ddy

3. Nah

I'm not sure I'm adding my name in the correct way - hope you guys see me in the list below.

Myles: Hornet 600, hp: 9689 3542

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference

Originally posted by tt6389@March 02, 2007 03:16 pm

Thanks for trying to help with such details & explanation. Really appreciate :smile:

My flushing was done with water hose connect below the radiator drain cap & water overflowing from radiator cap opening while engine is running. In fact the petrol was used up. Its used up coz S4 petrol tank needs to be removed when changing coolant.

So when no more petrol, step 1,2,3 wasn't done. When topping up coolant, the engine wasn't started at all. Maybe its a hassle to put back the petrol tank, so mechanic didn't top up coolant with engine running.

Just now I checked, the reservoir had dropped by maybe 1 quarter of the reservoir after 4 days of riding. During lunch time, I rode all the way to the mechanic at Alexandra village to see him. While riding at about 90-100km/hr, I noticed my installed temp indicator still showing 92degC. My stock coolant before flushing was always 87degC during cruising.

There the mechanic top up about 0.2 liter directly into the radiator cap while engine running continously. Didn't stop engine to top up. Dun think there's a difference. It was a very small amount only. On the way back to office (20km) on AYE to Jurong island, I noticed the temp still remains 92degC during cruising at 90km/hr.

My suspicision is either there are still some air pockets still trapped in my radiator cooling system or the pre-mixed Cool Aide 's water content ratio too little. Maybe I got to wait a few days to see resevoir level still drops & top up. By then maybe temp will improves.

I understand from the shop there's 2 type of Cool Aide - 1.89liter pre-mixed bottle & the type mixed at the Workshop. Did you used the other type of maxima cool aide mixed at the work shop or the pre-mixed bottle one? Maybe the mixed at workshop is better than the pre-mixed?

no sure if there is ready-to-use cool aide...

presently in the market, the real good stuffs are

1. engine ice (ready to use)

2. cool aide (pre-mix)

3. waterwetter (pre-mix)

you refering to engine ice?

hearing from what you say, i believe it is still a half-f#$k job... i know for S4, you have to dismantle the fuel tank, but they can always get a 'dipper' sort to feed the engine... i mean when you wash carb already, retuning also need to let the engine run and tune... so does it means that they tune till the fuel runs out then stop?

it takes a bit of riding for the air to clear once the radiator starts circulating... in fact, i would say if just let the dun need a few days, you will noticed it by the time you ride home from the workshop...

if your coolant level keeps dropping even after days... then you might like to change the radiator cap if they have tighten properly or is the cap spoil (coolant keeps evapourating off)

there was once i change coolant, on the way back, the hi-temp light and i had to make a few stops just to get home (dun want to risk over heating)... went home, found that even the reserve reservior was dried up...

top up the reserve myself and after that no issue again...

you can join the CCK DIY group to flush the coolant... i tell you, DIY still the best... :thumb:

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by mnemonic@March 02, 2007 12:16 pm

Stop beside a Black Bol'dor with box and Micron endcan yesterday night at Woodlands checkpoint...nice bike...shine is maintain.....by chance happen to by anyone from here??? :smile:

Am I rite the number plat is 1011? Ya.. he from here.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1293/803949831_3325244f73.jpg
Guest bornfree

Preparations:

7.Lube your chain

NOTE:

3. I forgot to asked everyone to state their bike models - but I hope all the bikes below can handle 160km/hr max.

Names confirmed

2. Ones_co

3. Pauche + 1

5. Ck-

8. bornfree

Names Pending

1. None

2. 3ddy

3. Nah

Preparations:

7.Lube your chain

NOTE:

Names confirmed

2. Ones_co

3. Pauche + 1

5. Ck-

8. bornfree

Names Pending

1. Nah

kennethy : tot of jio u go play ATV on desert safari on sunday but u only flying bk on sunday itself....hmm nvm i try to go in June when am going Dubai again hehe

______

wow look at e new hornets 600s :lovestruck:

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a352/Motrax33/Germany%20InterMOT%20Koln%202006/hornet600a.jpghttp://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a352/Motrax33/Germany%20InterMOT%20Koln%202006/hornet600b.jpg

good weather to all going for the trip!:cheer:

Any bro here heard of advancer to improve performance? Also, any legal horn to recommend for installation?

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b51/confuzsuzie/avatar1702.gifhttp://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b51/confuzsuzie/laughingbart.gifMy Webpage
Originally posted by kennethy@March 02, 2007 06:22 pm

no sure if there is ready-to-use cool aide...

presently in the market, the real good stuffs are

2. cool aide (pre-mix)

3. waterwetter (pre-mix)

you refering to engine ice?

hearing from what you say, i believe it is still a half-f#$k job... i know for S4, you have to dismantle the fuel tank, but they can always get a 'dipper' sort to feed the engine... i mean when you wash carb already, retuning also need to let the engine run and tune... so does it means that they tune till the fuel runs out then stop?

it takes a bit of riding for the air to clear once the radiator starts circulating... in fact, i would say if just let the dun need a few days, you will noticed it by the time you ride home from the workshop...

if your coolant level keeps dropping even after days... then you might like to change the radiator cap if they have tighten properly or is the cap spoil (coolant keeps evapourating off)

there was once i change coolant, on the way back, the hi-temp light and i had to make a few stops just to get home (dun want to risk over heating)... went home, found that even the reserve reservior was dried up...

top up the reserve myself and after that no issue again...

you can join the CCK DIY group to flush the coolant... i tell you, DIY still the best... :thumb:

2. cool aide (pre-mix)

3. waterwetter (pre-mix)

for the below 3 different type of coolant

do they work the same....

if so.. i'm think of changing back to the normal coolant !!

cause after yesterday trip the bike really heat up alot....

travel at 130 km/h the bike is even hotter

than in singapre when i only travel at 90km/h

and i can feel the heat wave from the engine and the radiator.

i still don understand why the temp go up higher mean cooler engine

but i feel the engine is much hotter when i place my hand near the engine.

maybe i'm wrong but this is how i feel for yesterday trip.

the whole bike is like a heater....

even my pillon also feel the heat wave from the front during the travel

and before i change coolant it is not like that....

and from what i hear from Tim

he also have feel about the same as me....

his super 4 with temp gauge show him that his bike is temp also when up

compared to before he change coolant..

and the faster he go the higher the temp is...

so i think travel at 90km/h in singapore

should be the best cruising speed for lowest temp....

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by kennethy@March 02, 2007 09:22 am

there was once when i go flush my coolant... apparently the mech was not doing a good job... after i ride home, the whole 'reserve' was gone and the overheat light was even on... have to top up the whole reserve...

the last change i had was done by a very patient and dedicated mech... no such problem for this change! :thumb:

most mech just drain the old coolant and straight away top up... :nono:

saying me?? :p

Port Dickson & Malacca Trip on 3rd March Saturday

Thank God it was a wonderful weather throughout except for a short drizzle on the return journey at nite. This is inspite of the weather forecast of thunderstorm in the afternoon for jb, malacca & PD.

The trip was again fun & interesting. We had lunch in Ayer Keroh A&W. Now I know what it looks like liao. POrt Dickson hasn't changed after so many years. Still got all the condos & 5 star resorts lining the nice sandy beaches. Cape Rocardo wasn't a disappointment - the view on top the hill was nice.

Malacca did changed alot after not going there for at many years. The Jonker street night market was very interesting. The ball shaped Chicken rice was tried & tested - no difference from the normal chicken rice. In the end we just go for the normal type.

Last of all , the bikers who came along was really fun & there was so many jokes & laughters & common stuff to chat about. I really enjoy this trip.

btw , here's the link to Bornfree (James) 's pics for thr trip.

Enjoy the pics ->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson001.jpg

POrt dickson -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson002.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson005.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson006.jpg

Cape Rocardo -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson007.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson008.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson009.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson010.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson015.jpg

Malacca Coastal Road -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson016.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson017.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson018.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson019.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson020.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson021.jpg

Malacca town -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson022.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson023.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson024.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson025.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson026.jpg

Jonker street pasar malam -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson027.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson028.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson029.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson030.jpg

Chicken Rice dinner in Jonker street -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson031.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson032.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson033.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson034.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson035.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson036.jpg

One of them is a durian chendol -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/POrt%20Dickson%203rdMarch2007/PortDickson037.jpg

super fun trip except for the raining part !!!

hope to do it again lor

pls plan trip 3 or 4 week in advance !!

need to plan off day

Originally posted by Ones_Co@March 04, 2007 10:26 pm

2. cool aide (pre-mix)

3. waterwetter (pre-mix)

for the below 3 different type of coolant

do they work the same....

if so.. i'm think of changing back to the normal coolant !!

cause after yesterday trip the bike really heat up alot....

travel at 130 km/h the bike is even hotter

than in singapre when i only travel at 90km/h

and i can feel the heat wave from the engine and the radiator.

i still don understand why the temp go up higher mean cooler engine

but i feel the engine is much hotter when i place my hand near the engine.

maybe i'm wrong but this is how i feel for yesterday trip.

the whole bike is like a heater....

even my pillon also feel the heat wave from the front during the travel

and before i change coolant it is not like that....

and from what i hear from Tim

he also have feel about the same as me....

his super 4 with temp gauge show him that his bike is temp also when up

compared to before he change coolant..

and the faster he go the higher the temp is...

so i think travel at 90km/h in singapore

should be the best cruising speed for lowest temp....

You got to get your cooling system checked. No way, guarantee + chop, your bike will be even hotter at 130degC with Cool Aide. Suspect coolant cap spoil, this is a common problem.

Originally posted by ^FOXY^@March 05, 2007 02:23 am

super fun trip except for the raining part !!!

hope to do it again lor

pls plan trip 3 or 4 week in advance !!

need to plan off day

ya its was fun.

Sorry I wasn't able to catch up with all of you in spite of going 160km/hr most of the journey. So I wasn't aware you all exit by skudai toll side, while I exit by perling toll. :cheeky:

actually we kinda feel so bad we nv waited for u . :cry: