Hello everybody: Being a regular visitor to our neighbour just up north (having relatives makes it even more often), I have encountered many times checkpoint jams on both sides of the countries and whether it is on bikes, cars or even buses. The strange thing is everytime I encountered a jam, I promised myself I would never go again at that time of jam for example Saturday 5-6pm (Tuas) but somehow a few months later I still got sandwiched the same place and almost the same time. Its not like I have urgent matters to go to the other side but somehow I just forgot my promise. I hope we can table down which time and day we should try not enter over there or come back here. So let me start off. Ps : These are just approximation. If you still get stuck, my apologies.oH These are for bikes only(unless ortherwise stated). GP = Gelang Patah (PLEASE FEEL FREE TO ADD )

DONT GO ::

ATUAS B)WOODLANDS

A) SATURDAY 430PM TO 700PM (APPROXIMATE)(to GP) B)SATURDAY 1PM TO 3PM

A) SUNDAY 5PM TO 630PM To GP B)SATURDAY 7AM TO 10AM BY CAR

A) SATURDAY 2PM TO 4PM BY CAR THEN JAM ALSO AT GP

Edited by MR BIKER
  • Replies 21

Have you seen the cameras?? the cameras will only show certain points of the area. Certain areas of bikes you will see clear but when you travel some more ahead, suddenly jam man. i know. anyway this is just a guideline to show basically the peak period is certain times which falls on the time the many Malaysian going home after their shift is over. if say they go home at 5pm, you will get checkpoint suddenly packed almost around 515. it shows how fast they really ride to get there to avoid jam.

Yup, of coz I've seen. It's just a guideline. There were times I go at odd hours without checking the camera but I see jam at the checkpoints :sian:

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b7/ki113r/Mobile%20Uploads/20150407_203245_zpsvojubra6.jpg

2004 - 2005 FR1284A ~ NSR150SP (FILA Paintwork)

2012 - 2013 FS7810L ~ NSR150SP (Pure White)

2013 - 2015 FBE9955K ~ Spec 3 (Pearl White)

2015 - ???? Quit riding

sorry for hijacking this thread, but being a regular rider across the Woodlands Causeway, I have only 2 things to say abt the so-called traffic police there - under staffed, wrongly placed.

there is practically nobody before the viaduct, where a lot of numbskull cagers doing last minute queue jumping, drifting etc. seen a few accidents happen there. where were the police to catch those stupid cagers?

then leading to the bike queues, some officers will open here close there like playing mouse and cat game, some sheepish Malaysian kubkia will wait for them to open the gate to the shorter queue, end up piling up the traffic behind. the same go for entry side. sometime, looking at those arrogant looks makes my blood boiled.

Edited by ThePole

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

• 9 months later...

I normally head in 1st link at around 930pm for my petrol leh. So far so good. No jam in.. Just avoid 5-9pm lahh. I was stuck for half an hour halfway on the bridge when I decided to go in at 830pm. BIG mistake.

July 18 2013 - Class 2B (1st time pass)

Dec 03 2014 - Class 2A (2nd attempt :mad:)

Feb 2 2016 - Class 2 (1st attempt)

July 26 2013 - Yamaha FZ16ST

Feb 2 2016 - ZX-12R A1 Model

• 8 months later...

We should all write in to ICA and request for separate lanes for Singapore registered bikes. So wont jam together with the msian plates.

Also write in to complain about the gross inefficiency of the checkpoint staff..causing massive jams round the clock.

This has seriously affected our touring plans or supper runs.

the following link to feedback to ICA:

http://www.ica.gov.sg/feedback.aspx

1995 Rd135 (3months);1995-1997 Kawa K100 97-00 Honda Steed cool black;00-02 Suzuki Swift

02-05 Ford Focus;05-07 Nissan Sucky

07- Camry;jan 08 -feb 08 KRR ;feb 08-apr08 -- Cbr400 J model ;

mar08 - sept 08 Cbr400 R model ; may08 -oct08 KTM200; oct 08 - feb09 XR4 ; feb09-apr10 gixxer 750 Apr09 -June10 DR650;apr10-aug 10 Africa Twin; sep 10- current fazer 1k....Jan-13 FortyEight

i wrote in b4. guess it is still being transited somewhere...

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

i dun think they would make it easier for u to ride in for petrol and cigg and makan

its not only the ciggies or mkn

- petrol

- housings ownership

remember this is afterall Singapore

where the will invite foreigners, give them pr n education

will hold singaporeans in "jail" making hard for us to cross borders to ease our burdens

We should all write in to ICA and request for separate lanes for Singapore registered bikes. So wont jam together with the msian plates.

Also write in to complain about the gross inefficiency of the checkpoint staff..causing massive jams round the clock.

Instead of that, they make it worst...

Last time only SGrean and PR can use the biometric lane, now they apparently open it up to ALL riders... Even this small exclusivity also no more

:pray::pray:

As much as I would like to write to them, I feel like they just dont care. in the last few days, i see the jam at both checkpoint were so horribly terribly bad. Now, whenever i see some of those terrible Malaysian riders riding in and out at traffic and feel like cursing them, when i see the jam , my heartfelt sympathy goes out to them. Is this how our government treat the people who come to help out with the economy. i wonder if not for the money and good exchange rate, would they really want to line up like that. if the authority say , ohhh it the school holiday, then obviously they are not looking at Malaysian side. No much jam what!!!!!

My point of view..... ICA should open a lane for singapore cars and bike only....

all these jam started becos of the "super HERO" dashing thru the checkpoint... then make everyone suffer..

blame who??

i support the bio metric lane for SG and PR onli , but even if they do thaat , the bottom neck leading up to the bio metric lane also can faint

You guys are aware quite a few Malaysian workers ride Singapore bikes in to work so they don't have to pay the VEP toll right? If MY plate and SG plate are separated at the Causeway and the SG plate line is significantly shorter, I honestly do believe that many more Malaysians will start buying SG plate bikes, and causing COE prices to rise again. And then after that it will still be equally jammed because suddenly there are many many more SG plate bikes. So please don't start a long term issue from a short term "solution".

You are right until the part on causing Coe prices to rise.

The high Coe is mainly Singaporean driven.

Most Malaysians who commute daily into singapore would ride a cheap bike so do you think they want to bid such high price?

It's typically those who are buying bikes costing above $17k would submit high bid to ensure that they are among the first to ride a new model

The problem with the jam is the checkpoint just cannot cater for the traffic. when I was a kid, the causeway was that capacity. Now, it is still THAT capacity. Look at how the Malaysian side has re and re-renovated their Causeway. What the fxxk is it with the gahmen that cant even improvise the gateway to Singapore??? Is Singapore so damn poor?

Further, the officers are all fxxked up. See the gatecrash incidents and you know what **** that was employed.

You are right until the part on causing Coe prices to rise.

The high Coe is mainly Singaporean driven.

Most Malaysians who commute daily into singapore would ride a cheap bike so do you think they want to bid such high price?

It's typically those who are buying bikes costing above $17k would submit high bid to ensure that they are among the first to ride a new model

They buy used. You can see for yourself at woodlands checkpoint. Used sparks and waves. If they come in everyday its $5 a day VEP. $5x250x10years =$12500. Thats a lot more than even current COE price.

The problem with the jam is the checkpoint just cannot cater for the traffic. when I was a kid, the causeway was that capacity. Now, it is still THAT capacity. Look at how the Malaysian side has re and re-renovated their Causeway. What the fxxk is it with the gahmen that cant even improvise the gateway to Singapore??? Is Singapore so damn poor?

Further, the officers are all fxxked up. See the gatecrash incidents and you know what **** that was employed.

Because why would Singapore pay money for you to go spend money in Malaysia and not here? Think about it. Who's gonna complain? Certainly not the Malaysians coming to work here from Malaysia because they earn 2.5x more by just working here. It's not like they can vote anyway right. Citizens complain? Too bad la spend your money here. No ones forcing you to go. All the rich influential people don't go Malaysia anyway.

wait they put toll on motobike also .

SGD 4 dollar

then malsyia bike up from SGD 5 to 10 dollar