Hi to all bros!

Need some help to clarify some questions n citeria set by LTA inspection centres.

Yesterday my friend went to renew his road tax for his 2000 R6. The test status indicated that he failed the following tests.

1. Different color bulb(white for hi-beam) & (yellow for low-beam) for headlights.

2. The air n fuel mixture ratio (one part of air to two part of fuel)too muz monoxide

3. The rear undertray (not stock) claim that class 5 vehicle not able to see the signal light from d driver position.

I felt quite pai sei as i recommand my friend to purchase d R6. Please advice.

My 600F4i also did not come with a stock tail.

Do anyone know where to get a used undertray for R6 n F4?

FYI: a bike that is fitted with a third party steering damper is also consider an illegal mod too.

Thanxs in advance

• Replies 35

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Dec 7 2005, 01:43 PM

Hi to all bros!

Need some help to clarify some questions n citeria set by LTA inspection centres.

Yesterday my friend went to renew his road tax for his 2000 R6. The test status indicated that he failed the following tests.

1. Different color bulb(white for hi-beam) & (yellow for low-beam) for headlights.

2. The air n fuel mixture ratio (one part of air to two part of fuel)too muz monoxide

3. The rear undertray (not stock) claim that class 5 vehicle not able to see the signal light from d driver position.

FYI: a bike that is fitted with a third party steering damper is also consider an illegal mod too.

Thanxs in advance

pay more n get it to bike shop n they will help u settle ur problem liao lor....duni headache :smile:

As long as its not OEMs, its consider...

Originally posted by 7george8@Dec 7 2005, 06:16 PM

even brands of tyres??wat abt spark plugs?

might as well you say EO...

Originally posted by MiCmAsTa@Dec 7 2005, 06:19 PM

might as well you say EO...

keke nt to the extend la lolx...the most is grease on the chain nia whahaha :p

Originally posted by 7george8@Dec 7 2005, 07:03 PM

keke nt to the extend la lolx...the most is grease on the chain nia whahaha :p

But you know.. Sometimes they will close one eye one... Heng or Sway only...

Originally posted by MiCmAsTa@Dec 7 2005, 07:10 PM

But you know.. Sometimes they will close one eye one... Heng or Sway only...

at times they may even closed both eyes lolx....hear n they noe u fail liao whahaha :p

pai seh ar,im juz another joker online...only online meaning im normal in person keke....u noe y??

coz when online i felt like im in Moscow circus...so ve to entertain the ppl whahhaa....

Inspection time is really like a lottery. Sometimes can pass with tons of illegal stuff, sometimes the inspector can be a real pain in the arse.

My ex-KTM 620 passed inspection with super loud shorty exhaust, straight through end cap, knobby tires, 1 mirror, front number plate on headlight.

My very legal XR250 nearly failed because of a non-working rear number plate light.

Go figure.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

for exhaust system, if full system is illegal but the endcan is legal, in this situation how do they rate?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

Hi to all bros!

Thanxs in advance

let see

1. most of the time always fail. not a problem here

2. from my exp, they will ask u to come back for a re-test after u fix the prob. u dun have to bother to do anything. go back 1/2 hour later and u will pass

3. see heng suay. sometimes u MIGHT get a conditional pass

Originally posted by ProjectD@Dec 7 2005, 11:06 PM

for exhaust system, if full system is illegal but the endcan is legal, in this situation how do they rate?

Header itself will be very difficult to see ....

Need very experience inspectors to determine or worse, they ask mechanic to strip your exhaustand header :lol: :lol: :lol:

What say u :angel:

With my previous GSXR400N, I failed because my number plate in front was the sticker kind. The inspector told me to change it to the metal plate kind and passed me once I returned back an hour later. With my previous GSXR400R, I failed cos my rear registration plate's suffix fell off and I liquid paper the alphabet on my plate. Had to go fix a new alphabet and the guy passed me when I came back, also an hour later. Both of these incidences happened at VICOM Kaki Bukit Centre. :sweat:

Another time, when I send my bike to VICOM Yishun, the inspector failed me for smoky exhaust. Went back home and send my bike to JIC Ang Mo Kio the next day without doing anything to my so-called smoky exhaust. Passed with flying colours. Go figure too... :confused:

Depends on the inspector in short....i alwaz bring my bike to bike shop n let them handle....duni worry so much n save all troubles.....juz pay a little more nia mah.....bt if ur bike is total stock,then go ahead n bring the bike to the center n had it inspected...

Thanks to all bros for d feedback :smile:

Juz visited the inspection center! The inpection officers really friendly lah!Hahaha... i totally agreed with all your feedback.

I understand from the testing officers. To pass a test is not difficult (if u know wat i mean). On paper yes, but as some bro mentioned....suay suay......a ROV stop beside u during a red light...then a diff story liao.

Me & my friend brought the bike due to unawareness of the previous mod. For instance, a diff undertray from the original will cost u $70 in fine n earn u a re-entry ticket to the inspection centre.

Also learn that, shop will usually replace a third party undertray if the orginal is damage due to its cheaper cost, reason for LTA to do that is becos: upon impact, the rubberized tray(orginal) will just crack whereas, the fiber or plastic(OEM) will smash up into pieces!

As for the steering damper, it must come with the bike as a package for eg. CBR1000RR which comes with a electronic steering damper when u purchase it.

For CBR600RR which is not design with a damper in mind, if u install one it is illegal!

For pipes i not too sure, did not ask em.

On Monday i was riding my Ducati 748 from Jalan Kayu to Expo with my wife driving behind me, a ROV27 was on my blind spot for 2mins, damn stress. Pipe is loud n the dry clutch is noisy...i thought tis time siao liao...waited for him to signal mi to the shoulder...but he overtake mi & stare at mi from his mirror....then he throtttle off. Phew, balls in the throat

Pls help if any bros know where to get used (orginal) undertray for R6 & F4i.

Apperciate ya help

FYI : A bike without a Chain Guard will earn u a compound fine of $1000

Bros outta there pls note

Originally posted by ProjectD@Dec 7 2005, 11:06 PM

Sorry bro, my message box like popin out lots of error msg. Can pls PM mi again sorry for the trouble. Thanxs again :cheeky:

Originally posted by 7george8@Dec 8 2005, 01:42 AM

Depends on the inspector in short....i alwaz bring my bike to bike shop n let them handle....duni worry so much n save all troubles.....juz pay a little more nia mah.....bt if ur bike is total stock,then go ahead n bring the bike to the center n had it inspected...

My bike shop told me that there was ever a 01 R1 who went to VICOM for inspection, fully stock, but still fail :giddy: :giddy:

Cause the reason was the mudguard is not long enough ...... :faint:

Must be something like choppers, fully covered till nearly touching the ground :mad:

What say u :angel:

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Dec 8 2005, 08:25 AM

As for the steering damper, it must come with the bike as a package for eg. CBR1000RR which comes with a electronic steering damper when u purchase it.

For CBR600RR which is not design with a damper in mind, if u install one it is illegal!

That's strange. When I bought my modified R1, my bike did not have any problem passing at the inspection centre with it's Ohlins steering damper which was fixed by its previous owner. The bikeshop send it for inspection first before renewing its road tax. I had my doubts before I bought the bike because I wouldn't want to send it for inspection in the future and fail due to illegal modifications but my mechanic assured me that the bike is street legal and sure enough when it came back from the inspection centre, passed... :cheer:

By the way, your bike damn chun lah, bro... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by alj@Dec 8 2005, 12:44 PM

But i do agree that the inspecter contributes 99% to the passing rate :nono:

Some inspectors are nice and friendly. Even though your exhaust smoky, he won't rev your bike too much so that you can pass. Some inspectors don't like your face only, will start to find faults with your bike and that is the last time you'll ever visit that inspection centre. :nono:

Originally posted by Aie@Dec 8 2005, 10:50 AM

That's strange. When I bought my modified R1, my bike did not have any problem passing at the inspection centre with it's Ohlins steering damper which was fixed by its previous owner. The bikeshop send it for inspection first before renewing its road tax. I had my doubts before I bought the bike because I wouldn't want to send it for inspection in the future and fail due to illegal modifications but my mechanic assured me that the bike is street legal and sure enough when it came back from the inspection centre, passed... :cheer:

By the way, your bike damn chun lah, bro... :lovestruck:

Thanks Aie hahaha... :cheeky:

The inspector plays a real great part in the pass/fail section.

After all the testing procedure is juz a job to em lah... one of em i know of is

also a bike lover like us. He is using a K5. Nice chap.

He did mention it is not difficult to pass d test, but if infront of a ROV he will

need to do his job lah.

All bike shops have their way to pass d test for u as long as service charge is being paid. Yup about the damper, most of the time they will let it pass, as tis instrument promote safety n stability! But, then again as wat bros had mentioned,

if they dun like your look or the decal on ya bike.....bet he will put down 1 to 100 first, then take his time to fill in the list!

Jus came back from JB after installing the BITUBO damper on my F4i. There is some kinda water filled barricade before the left turn to Caltex n check point. The traffic police seem to be aiming at the "F" plates. Bro out there beware, if u have not pay ya summons.... hahaha..They tried to stop mi, but i act blur no see....

Thanks for all ya feed back bros. I m still trying to make my ride more passable for furture inspections....

there r some rov or tp oso ride bikes.. they understand our situation... perhaps gib chance for twin lovers?? cant get more wz the tumble of the twin man.. :thumb:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by ayuluv@Dec 11 2005, 02:22 PM

there r some rov or tp oso ride bikes.. they understand our situation... perhaps gib chance for twin lovers?? cant get more wz the tumble of the twin man.. :thumb:

totally agreed! Bet they feel the same way too before they are being assigned as a ROV or TP. :smile:

singapore TP and ROV sometimes abit too much ..

abit also cannot..:mad:

(Mar05) Honda SP 150 FR9470B

(Nov05) Kawasaki KRR 150 FU8637D

(Sep06) Suzuki GSX400 FK7652

(Nov06) Yamaha Sparks135 FBB511H

(Mar07) Honda RVF400 FN4991T

(07-10) Yamaha YZF R6 FBA7370G

(08-09) Suzuki DRZ 400 FBC4821G