is there any 'fair' method to value used cars?

currently, when u sell, ur used car is parf + remaining COE + body (if any)

when u wanna buy used, it's not going to be parf + reminding COE + body wor... it's usually after applying some rocket science to arrive at a figure ..

• Replies 66

who said when u sell car is definitely parf + remaining coe + body ?

then u try to sell a 1yr jazz lor.

new jazz = 55k lets say

1 yr jazz = parf 82.5% of omv 15k = 12,375

remaining coe of 12k = 10,800

body = 8,000

are u gonna sell at 31,175. u lose 23,825 a yr ? + bank penalty = nearly at least 30k a yr ?

who is gonan sell base on that ?

not all car is gonan sell at paper + body la bro

or nvm u can study some rocket science to sell ur car too

http://www.speedtest.net/result/341058511.png

dats y. i computer hero

I'm thinking of selling my 525i

OMV $61,188

COE $27,000

Reg Sep 2004

Bidded Number plate

many options

What fair price can a car dealer give?

who said when u sell car is definitely parf + remaining coe + body ?

then u try to sell a 1yr jazz lor.

new jazz = 55k lets say

1 yr jazz = parf 82.5% of omv 15k = 12,375

remaining coe of 12k = 10,800

body = 8,000

are u gonna sell at 31,175. u lose 23,825 a yr ? + bank penalty = nearly at least 30k a yr ?

who is gonan sell base on that ?

not all car is gonan sell at paper + body la bro

or nvm u can study some rocket science to sell ur car too

hw much wld a used car dealer buy the abv Jazz then?

I'm thinking of selling my 525i

OMV $61,188

COE $27,000

Reg Sep 2004

Bidded Number plate

many options

What fair price can a car dealer give?

i m not a used car dealer or a rocket scientist... :cheeky:

but my guess is value will NOT b too far fr parf + remaining coe + body.. no. plate dey will tell u to sell to any1 for any amt it can fetch :faint:

i was directing the question to our very steady car dealer forumer jiayvon

paiseh bro.. i really very lazy to type out all.. coz its a long way to explain.. LOL...

wat i can say is u can nv learn how to master 2nd hand car price, even the big 2nd hand car dealer's boss also cant master it.. so no worry.

aniway u r also not in car trade so dun really to know so much.. juz compare between market price can already wat..

dats y. i computer hero
i was directing the question to our very steady car dealer forumer jiayvon

dun like tt say ley.. i no license duno anithing one...

okok, pm mi ur ic no, car plate no, mil, price u r roughly looking at, IF u dun mind. tq

dats y. i computer hero

sell around 41k - 44k for a 1 yr old jazz lo.

if buy is around 46k - 50k depend on condition lo. of course if u wan condition to be good, low mil , 1 owner, paint sui sui , definitely have to pay more compare to high mil, 2 owner rite..

there is always a market price. there is no stupid dealer that would buy ur car above market price.

the art of a true dealer is... buy low sell high wat.. LOL

if buy high sell low.. then its not called buy-sell-car wat....

dats y. i computer hero
paiseh bro.. i really very lazy to type out all.. coz its a long way to explain.. LOL...

wat i can say is u can nv learn how to master 2nd hand car price, even the big 2nd hand car dealer's boss also cant master it.. so no worry.

aniway u r also not in car trade so dun really to know so much.. juz compare between market price can already wat..

alrite. tqs :cool:

sell around 41k - 44k for a 1 yr old jazz lo.

if buy is around 46k - 50k depend on condition lo. of course if u wan condition to be good, low mil , 1 owner, paint sui sui , definitely have to pay more compare to high mil, 2 owner rite..

there is always a market price. there is no stupid dealer that would buy ur car above market price.

the art of a true dealer is... buy low sell high wat.. LOL

if buy high sell low.. then its not called buy-sell-car wat....

icic.. :thumb:

means to say a seller can expect to get hit by a 20% loss for year 1 lor...

erm... 20% of car price onli, plus 1 yr installment wasted + loan penalty (early settlement) = around 15k - 20k at least IF u wanan sell within 1 yr for a normal salloon car..

coz normally if lets say a normal car is 50k, 1 yr later sell 45k, who would buy ? ppl would rather buy a 1st hand car rite ? so the car would onli be sold at price around 40k.. at least 10k difference away from new car price then ppl would consider 2nd hand car.. n also, 2nd hand car gota pay transfer fee to dear LTA, sum more interest higher than 1st hand car FOR SURE. so if the difference gap dun haf at least 10k, ppl would rather buy a 1st hand car rite ?

so if dealer sell at least 10k difference away from new car, how much u think dealer can take in ur car ?

take note that the difference between the price u sell to 2nd hand car dealer n the price dealer sell may not be excately their profit. coz - away commision, touch up car if needed, advertisement fee... the profit margin dun seem that much ani more.

many ppl think that wah 2nd hand car dealer earns a lot.. but ask u urself, if i ask u invest 40k to mi n ur profit may onli be around 1k - 2k.. u wan anot.. take note that ur investment capital is 40k wor.. n may take around 2-3 months effort..

n also, the bigger cc ur car is the more u lose

the faster u sell the more u lose

the more u loan the more u lose

actually i also dun really understand y ppl drive car for 1 yr then wanan sell even though they knew they gonna lose so much... maybe they not scare to lose ba. lol

dats y. i computer hero
dun like tt say ley.. i no license duno anithing one...

okok, pm mi ur ic no, car plate no, mil, price u r roughly looking at, IF u dun mind. tq

Dude, I already gave you the most important info to valuate the car.

No need Ic number lah.

Mileage is 54,000km only

I second owner.

Brushed aluminium interior

M5 comfort seats for the front

Auto roller blinds

Licence plate same as car model.

Car is fully paid.

just want to hear what a used car dealer can come up with.

Of course I know the price surely Fu@#$k up compared to selling privately.

But who knows maybe you got a car I want and we can nego for win-win.

Dude, I already gave you the most important info to valuate the car.

No need Ic number lah.

Mileage is 54,000km only

I second owner.

Brushed aluminium interior

M5 comfort seats for the front

Auto roller blinds

Licence plate same as car model.

Car is fully paid.

just want to hear what a used car dealer can come up with.

Of course I know the price surely Fu@#$k up compared to selling privately.

But who knows maybe you got a car I want and we can nego for win-win.

wat colour n wats the price u r ROUGHLY looking at bro ? can let me know for reference at least? if u r looking above 100k, very hard for mi already.

ya u gif mi a lot of very useful info but all this can be told with juz ur ic n carplate no. other than mil of course. haha.

nvm, aniway is ur ic no golden no ar ? or scare i use ur ic no do anithing ? lol..

i gt a customer's ic no is s0001000A.... power pack la .. lOL

okok la will pm u back with price. tq :p but i dun think my here gt ani car which u would like for ur taste... aniway thanx

dats y. i computer hero
wat colour n wats the price u r ROUGHLY looking at bro ? can let me know for reference at least? if u r looking above 100k, very hard for mi already.

ya u gif mi a lot of very useful info but all this can be told with juz ur ic n carplate no. other than mil of course. haha.

nvm, aniway is ur ic no golden no ar ? or scare i use ur ic no do anithing ? lol..

i gt a customer's ic no is s0001000A.... power pack la .. lOL

okok la will pm u back with price. tq :p but i dun think my here gt ani car which u would like for ur taste... aniway thanx

Thanks, .

If under $100k, no reason to sell. I'm not looking for a profit but I'm surely not looking to lose $20k for nothing too. haha no offence, I understand your position as car dealer.

I'll just drive on then, and not be so itchy backside..

no pro. no worry, ur wish ma. haha.

but there is no such thing as lose 20k for NTH, where gt nth.. as long as transfer to u then sell n transfer to other ppl, transfer count +1 more name liao, sure lose money wat... especially this kinda car, 1 owner difference n 2 owner difference, till now u wanan sell to the 3rd owner.. how can dun lose ? LOL... ya i noe u r not looking to earn, but definitely lose ma.. how can drive 525IA n dun lose money...

i thought u r very understanding.. but... where can say lose 20k for NTH ??? haiz

for cars as long as go through ur hand it will lost money, jzu a matter of lose more or less.. no such thing as buy 50k sell 50k, even though u manage to do that, u still lose on transfer fee n insurance wat . so how can say lose for NOTHING ? even though u carry on drive , paper + body + market also makes u losing everyday every hour every min wat... LOL... depreciation ma.. BO BIAN.. L L

so hows the taste of driving a 525IA dude ? shiok anot ? shiok rite...

dats y. i computer hero
no pro. no worry, ur wish ma. haha.

but there is no such thing as lose 20k for NTH, where gt nth.. as long as transfer to u then sell n transfer to other ppl, transfer count +1 more name liao, sure lose money wat... especially this kinda car, 1 owner difference n 2 owner difference, till now u wanan sell to the 3rd owner.. how can dun lose ? LOL... ya i noe u r not looking to earn, but definitely lose ma.. how can drive 525IA n dun lose money...

i thought u r very understanding.. but... where can say lose 20k for NTH ??? haiz

for cars as long as go through ur hand it will lost money, jzu a matter of lose more or less.. no such thing as buy 50k sell 50k, even though u manage to do that, u still lose on transfer fee n insurance wat .

My discussion ends here with you regarding this.

I fully agree with you in terms of losing money. you know what I mean so dont play with words, and dont be a prick please.

Over and out

huh.. wat u mean.. i really dun understand.. LOL

play with words is my professionlism ma... bobian... is my job.

prick ? no im juz a fcuking bas tard....

good luck n enjoy driving ur 525IA ~~

out n over dude

dats y. i computer hero

another thing ah...

some place gif quote for body @ $4k nia. why so huh?

how much u expect then ? 100k ar ?

depend on ur car body's condition, accessories, yr register n yr manufactured, colour, mil, n where they can export ur car to.

depending on all these they - how much they wanan earn = ur quote

4k is wat car ? u noe coe car they scrap or export onli 100-300 nia...

uncle throttle's bmw body at least gt 25k - 28k...

bro i explain to u so much, how u wann thank mi ?

dats y. i computer hero
how much u expect then ? 100k ar ?

depend on ur car body's condition, accessories, yr register n yr manufactured, colour, mil, n where they can export ur car to.

depending on all these they - how much they wanan earn = ur quote

4k is wat car ? u noe coe car they scrap or export onli 100-300 nia...

uncle throttle's bmw body at least gt 25k - 28k...

bro i explain to u so much, how u wann thank mi ?

boss, to you $8K & $4K is small chg la.. i knw i knw...

i ve dealers telling $4K w/o even having look at my car... so much for color, mil blah blah..

btw $4K for a 2L Stream wif sunroof & 2 SRS airbags. what u think??

boss, if aft i find out enuf & whats a good deal. i'll know who to deal wif :cool:

no la... 4k is very very very very big to mi liao, i nv seen 4k in my entire life ley... i one month oni earns 300 nia... everyday morning breakfast eat $3 lunch eat $3 dinner eat $3, left $1 take bus from n to work. so i think 4k can eat for 1 yr at least..

izt... offer 4k without knowing anithing ar ? good then.. maybe they already have ur vehicle's printout ?

4k ar.. duno. maybe around there lo. i also not exporter.. how i noe .. LOL.. they take in 4k then 4k lo... maybe u can ask for a few hundred more.. maybe 300 more.. can employ a worker like mi work for u 1 month liao lo.. LOL

who to deal ? who knows.. ur wish ma... lol..

aniway dun call mi boss ley.. call mi small fry can already. im juz a ka kia.......

dats y. i computer hero
no la... 4k is very very very very big to mi liao, i nv seen 4k in my entire life ley... i one month oni earns 300 nia... everyday morning breakfast eat $3 lunch eat $3 dinner eat $3, left $1 take bus from n to work. so i think 4k can eat for 1 yr at least..

izt... offer 4k without knowing anithing ar ? good then.. maybe they already have ur vehicle's printout ?

4k ar.. duno. maybe around there lo. i also not exporter.. how i noe .. LOL.. they take in 4k then 4k lo... maybe u can ask for a few hundred more.. maybe 300 more.. can employ a worker like mi work for u 1 month liao lo.. LOL

who to deal ? who knows.. ur wish ma... lol..

aniway dun call mi boss ley.. call mi small fry can already. im juz a ka kia.......

haiz! :dozed:

oh well