Originally posted by wadafark@Aug 18 2006, 03:26 PM

I'll be using the bike mostly for commuting to work (serving NS) and i don't go for speed much. Safety is paramount.

well from that sentence is clearyl state you should get a Pulsar. One very good reason is the fuel consumption and the other important points its a brand new bike, you dun have to worry(if u buy 2nd phatom) what the previous owner has done to the bike and if there's a problem to the bike, u have have no clue coz u dun know the habit the previous rider had. you know wat i mean. its always good to get a brand new stuff, if u can afford it.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
  • Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by wadafark@Aug 18 2006, 03:26 PM

Hi people,

I'll be taking my TP test on the 23rd Aug and i'm wondering what bike should buy after that. I have been eyeing the Phantom TA200 for a while, but also lean towards the Bajaj Pulsar because of the fuel consumption. I have $2400 full cash for which i can either buy an old Phantom and pay fully for it, or buy a new Bajaj Pulsar and use that $2400 for the downpayment.

How much would the monthly instalments be then?

Pros and cons of both bikes? Any previous TA200 owners who changed to the Pulsar willing to share their experience?

I'll be using the bike mostly for commuting to work (serving NS) and i don't go for speed much. Safety is paramount.

The Pulsar is my 1st ever bike, so I can't contrast it with the Phantom. Anyway, I'm not going to do that cos I'll probably have some fanatical Phantom rider screwing me up for posting negative comments abt the Phantom.

As the Pulsar is a naked bike, just like the driving ctr training bike, the transition should be easier as compared to other types of bikes like a cruiser (ooops!).

Just like u, I was looking for a commuting bike that's easy to handle, with low fuel consumption, low maintenance. Speed was not on my agenda. The Pulsar meets my criteria. Plus it has sporty looks for a naked bike. Not to mention its big fuel tank.

Possible cons of the Pulsar? I can think of only 2 at the moment.

(1) Its reliability in the long run

(2) Availability / cost of spare parts

At the end of the day, I'm happy with my ride so far. But that's just me. U, and only u, gotta decide for yourself what bike u gonna get cos u're the 1 who's gonna ride it and pay for it.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by GoofRider@Aug 17 2006, 09:47 PM

well brother, they sure can spray on the spot, but if u wanna do that, must go during daylight, so at least the sunny sun can dry the belly fast.

well u saw Wadee's belly? that color alright what, saqme as your body.

ok...any chance ur going there in the day?...dun think i want to go to unfamiliar places alone...later kena chop...btw i only free the later part of the week cos dats my off days.

Yup most prob i getting like bro waadee former belly pan cos im looking for the colour that match my tank.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n74/outspoken_69/newsignature2.jpg

I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.

Is the pulsar steady at high speeds of 70 to 90 kmh? Does it vibrate much?

Originally posted by outspoken@Aug 18 2006, 05:05 PM

ok...any chance ur going there in the day?...dun think i want to go to unfamiliar places alone...later kena chop...btw i only free the later part of the week cos dats my off days.

Yup most prob i getting like bro waadee former belly pan cos im looking for the colour that match my tank.

brother how about Monday at noon or something?

hi guys, i managed to do an independent hazard light switch. no need for me to left or right signal first. process is sort of complicated to explain here.

first u need to tap power from the live wire AFTER the blinker. den connect to a DPST switch. need to connect to both the live wire of the hazard light. done :cheer:

thanx braders for helping me out with all my questions...

still far away from TP test though.....

but planning to get a pulsar when i do pass......

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Originally posted by paiseh@Aug 19 2006, 12:00 AM

hi guys, i managed to do an independent hazard light switch. no need for me to left or right signal first. process is sort of complicated to explain here.

first u need to tap power from the live wire AFTER the blinker. den connect to a DPST switch. need to connect to both the live wire of the hazard light. done :cheer:

DPST switch is a relay :smile:

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg
Originally posted by GoofRider@Aug 18 2006, 09:11 PM

brother how about Monday at noon or something?

Bro,im def cant make it on every sun,mon,tue and alternate wed...this wed onwards im free..

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n74/outspoken_69/newsignature2.jpg

I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.

Originally posted by paiseh@Aug 19 2006, 12:00 AM

YESSS !!!! Sounds like another DIY session coming up. Another oppurtunity 4 new guys 2 meetup.

SO when r we gonna do this. Do we need a 3 pin switch or 2 pin?

Originally posted by Arivar@Aug 19 2006, 03:46 PM

YESSS !!!! Sounds like another DIY session coming up. Another oppurtunity 4 new guys 2 meetup.

2 pin switch.

Best if a push button switch is used.

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg

zod is a DIY expert. if u guys dunno anything, ask ZOD.

he is getting his pulsar soon. nice no. plate too :D

Bros Paiseh and Zod, I've done up the hazard lights at the same shop where Bro Ray did his. Need to activate both turn signal switch and hazard light switch. Find it quite troublesome. U guys think the wiring can be redone so only the hazard light switch needs to be activated? Thanks.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by cephelix@Aug 19 2006, 11:43 PM

just wondering, could the IU be placed on the underside of the windscreen??

if not, then where do you guys place the IU?

If buy from Universal Motors, that's where the IU is placed. If buy from Albert Motors, the IU is placed on the handlebar (looks awful to me). Not sure abt other shops

Could you request for them to reinstall the IU to the windscreen if it was on the handlebar? Any extra charges??

And for insurance, where to buy?do we buy insurance at where we buy the bike or somewhere else??

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Originally posted by Arivar@Aug 19 2006, 03:46 PM

brother, finally got to see you.. MIA ape.. hah!

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Aug 19 2006, 10:00 PM

Bros Paiseh and Zod, I've done up the hazard lights at the same shop where Bro Ray did his. Need to activate both turn signal switch and hazard light switch. Find it quite troublesome. U guys think the wiring can be redone so only the hazard light switch needs to be activated? Thanks.

need to add some wires. connect to the blinker or flasher. change the switch.

this switch is a DPST (Double Pole Single Throw) switch. u need such a switch becoz it can connect the 2 signals together while u activate the power.

its a 4 pin switch, 2 connected to signal and 2 wires coming from the flasher (the 2 wires are splitted into 2 from 1 live wire)

Originally posted by outspoken@Aug 12 2006, 11:48 PM

Bro Mamat,just to add in to ur enquires..

Spark Plug x2 = $18 (Every 10,000km)

Engine Oil = $20 Esso Gold (Every 2500km)

Service Carb = $20 (Every 10,000km)

These services are done at the place i bought my bike Southern Motors at Bukit Merah

Most places can do the normal service but if major i guess we still have to go to universal.Different places have different prices..

i do recommend to use better engine oil rather than those normal $8 engine oil futhermore u only need 1 bottle.u can try use Bro paiseh Chem Lub,most pple like it and only costing $15

thank you to mr waadee, outspoken and goof rider for all the enlightenment u have given me. i determined to go for it now....

I`ll check the price again tomorrow, if it`s still 5.3k as quoted be4 the coe increase, i take it. If the price increase, i guess i`ll wait for a while for it to dip be4 grabbing it, at the mean time, i`ll make full use of my S4.....

once again thanks guys for all the wonderful input.....

Originally posted by cephelix@Aug 20 2006, 05:28 AM

Could you request for them to reinstall the IU to the windscreen if it was on the handlebar? Any extra charges??

And for insurance, where to buy?do we buy insurance at where we buy the bike or somewhere else??

Yeah jus wondering if i were to get the bike on full cash from the bike shop, can i choose to get my own insurance from NTUC as i have been using them for years and the rebate kindda attractive .....i`m sure the seasoned riders will agree on this.....

So must i request for the bike shop to liase with NTUC or can i jus do it on my own.....(once i have got the road tax and log book in my hands i guess?)

Not very sure about all this documentation stuffs.....but i`m sure there r some experienced riders tat can share his experience with novice like me, thanks.:bouncefire:

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Aug 19 2006, 10:00 PM

Wow Bro Paised And Bro Zod.....u guys seems very knowledgeable on the technical aspects of the bike huh......you guys are mechanics or wat! At least now i know i can always turn to this forum for expert advice abt the Pulsar stuffs....

Btw just wondering wats up with the hazards lights.....? why need mod?

Also is there any switch install for the healdight for pulsar or do we need to DIY it @ the bikeshop?? i would prefer to have switch for the headlight.....jus like my S4 and prev RXZ.....:thumb:

Originally posted by cephelix@Aug 20 2006, 05:28 AM

It's not a question of whether u can ask for the IU to be placed at ur preferred location. It's a question of whether the shop has the suitable bracket required to hold the IU in place at where u want it to be.

Actually, u can source for ur own insurance. But y go thru the hassle? Most, if not all, bikers just let the motordiams include the insurance as part of the sales package. Anyway, u still get to choose the type of insurance (1st, 2nd or 3rd party; usually at least 2nd party if paying by instalments) and the insurance co. (NTUC, Mitsui, AIG, etc.)