Originally posted by Jeffaw@Aug 24 2006, 08:23 PM

Better check everything be4 u leave.. There is alot of cases of mechanic did half way and attend to another bike. Den end up forget smthing..

this doesn't happen to JB shops, from waht i know.. and i know you too know that right, Jeff.

u come only, they ask you what u want to change, and they straight away do your bike.. neat!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
  • Replies 7.7k

:cry: Today us a bad bad day. 1st of all reach the school saw my no. tag. 17. Eee not so good if u say in chinese cause it means death date. Next instructor brief .... finally time to get on the bike. Start my bike, nothing happen at 1st but after about 1 min or so my bike engine die while idling. Saw the bike in front of me have same problem, i quickly hightlight to the instructor. He quickly change a bike for me. Thought should be ok, but when i on the signal light grr no light at all. inform instructor again, without saying much he rush to get another bike for me. This time no time for me to try n know the capabilty of the bike as it was my turn.

So move off n everything seems smoothly til i reached the 1st course ... slope.

Wanted to move-off after stopping at the slope, the engine die again.... not once but 3 times. Grr think no hope liao, so my burden seems lighter. So proceed as usual loh.

Bad things dont happen once. At the e-brake course my engine stall again whn i stop nicely b4 the stop line. :sian: look @ tester tester look at me. This time i totally give up cause engine stall so much time such got 1 the tester will give me an immediate failure. So proceed n finish the whole package n proceed back.

Saw an instructor told him my situation n he gave me the answer: 2 points, 4 points or maybe immediately failure. At this point then i realise my chance frm 0% have rise to 50% ....

Finally time for the result: I PASSED !!! :cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

Hai i am soooooo lucky, n lucky i nvr give up totally, but just lighten my heavy burden of passing. So dont give up hope even u make a small mistake cause mayb the tester may give u a chance which u nvr know

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Bajaj Pulsar 180 -----> 020906

congrats man...finally u can get ur bike...aniwae think its high time ssdc changed their bikes.or do something abt the new bikes...

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

Finity, TP test issit???Congrats on you passing!!!....

hopefully i would be able to pass tommorrow too.Prac 5 though.

And just to let you guys know, I'M AN UNCLE!!!!!woohoo!!!!!...

a new uncle!...since 0100hrs, 25th August 2006!

-= Unsure of what to get=-

oh,

and how must would i have to pay initially at the shop if I were to

(a) pay the minimum installment on the bike with 2 year installment plan

(b) taking Mitsui comprehensive insurance[i'm 21 yrs old, new rider]

hi guys u all noe where i can go mod my lightings? wanna change to blue lights on my console n put leon light at my rear wheel well?thx guys!

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

Is it better to get my motor bike accessories from Ah Boy or go to a JB shop? :confused:

Originally posted by kckerk@Aug 25 2006, 04:09 PM

Is it better to get my motor bike accessories from Ah Boy or go to a JB shop? :confused:

There's also Ah Boy in JB.. well known for waves type of bike, accessories.

and its definitely much cheaper.

:smile: tks for the luck n congratz. brader cephelix all the best to u in yr pract.5

Blind spot, wrong route n wobbling r the common mistakes ppl make. As for courses u should have a certain confident ot make u pass without pressure.

Last of all pick a bike that u r comfortable with so that u nid no use more efffort to perform some courses.:smile:

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Originally posted by Finity@Aug 26 2006, 06:47 AM

Last of all pick a bike that u r comfortable with so that u nid no use more efffort to perform some courses.:smile:

i'm sorry, mind advice is the opposite. dun be choosy on your bike, jus ride what ever bike u have. u have to learn to use any bike in the skool to go thru all the courses. Bcoz comes to test, your favourite bike might be taken by other user for the test too, and that will loose your mental confident and u have the thinking of under perform. you know what i mean.

correct me if i'm wrong. Brother Roady.. your comment on this.

Originally posted by GoofRider@Aug 26 2006, 10:19 AM

i'm sorry, mind advice is the opposite. dun be choosy on your bike, jus ride what ever bike u have. u have to learn to use any bike in the skool to go thru all the courses. Bcoz comes to test, your favourite bike might be taken by other user for the test too, and that will loose your mental confident and u have the thinking of under perform. you know what i mean.

correct me if i'm wrong. Brother Roady.. your comment on this.

Yup, I agree. No doubt u can choose the bike during lessons. But for test, u're given the bike. So if u're so used to riding a bike that's 'good' during lessons, imagine the panic when u get a bike that's not so good during test. During 1 of my lessons, this was what the instructor replied to trainees who blamed the bike when they didn't perform well: "If the bike is no good, then Honda will close shop bcos nobody would want to buy Honda bikes" (BBDC using Honda bikes)

But having said that, I wanna tell any trainee that's reading this to not worry so much abt the bike lah. Just focus on ur own ability and confidence. The driving ctr will fine-tune the bikes before each test. At BBDC, I think the mechanics do that at least 3 times. The day before the test (after the last lesson), the morning of the test, and after the warm-up session just before the test.

Or just imagine the training bike is ur own brand new Bajaj Pulsar lah. Who knows, the mere thought of it might just help u to pass! Haha :cheeky:

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif

hello braders....

back from prac 5....

failed with 12 pts....

my rear tyre fell off the plank, delayed moving off...

failing to slow down at road hazard..

engine stalled at crank course....

incorrect checking of blind spot....

well, next sat i have one more......

oh,and do any of you guys have an alarm system installed on your bike?

just wondering as i was reading the thread on this guy's bike that got stolen...

Sorry to hear about yr pract.5 outcome brader cephelix. Go for 1 or 2 more circuit revision n pratice yr mistakes. As theres a saying, pratice makes perfect. Just dont give up hope.

Ok, like to ask all brader here, as i just pass n get my licence. other than

ask:

1. How much is the machine price?

2. Does it comes with;

a) I.U.

b) Box and rack

c) crash bar (cos some of the shop remove it and sell you separately, by right it comes with it. even u dun want, jus take it, maybe can give me.. hehe)

d) any free raincoat? bike cover? helmet?

is there any other things i nid to ask when i call ? Also wat shall i look for when i go down to get my bike ... heard frm my friend some shop may cheat u by changing the original parts to a low quality parts .. etc. nid some adives n tips frm brader. Most likely i am purchasing my pulsar at amk branch: Wing Yap Motor

:help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help: :help:

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Originally posted by Finity@Aug 27 2006, 02:00 AM

Sorry to hear about yr pract.5 outcome brader cephelix. Go for 1 or 2 more circuit revision n pratice yr mistakes. As theres a saying, pratice makes perfect. Just dont give up hope.

ask:

2. Does it comes with;

a) I.U.

b) Box and rack

c) crash bar (cos some of the shop remove it and sell you separately, by right it comes with it. even u dun want, jus take it, maybe can give me.. hehe)

is there any other things i nid to ask when i call ? Also wat shall i look for when i go down to get my bike ... heard frm my friend some shop may cheat u by changing the original parts to a low quality parts .. etc. nid some adives n tips frm brader. Most likely i am purchasing my pulsar at amk branch: Wing Yap Motor

Brother, i have a 3 weeek old Givi Box+base plate, model Simply E450N with the brand new lock system. 45litre, can put two helmet. i can help u installed also. i'm helping my fren sell away. you can take a look. anyway Givi box is one of the best box in the market. no scratches coz its still new. anyway the price outsit, brand new is $150 (box + base plate) will sell it off much cheaper lah. jus PM me. cheers.

anyway the normal rack can get it for $40-$50...

ask:

2. Does it comes with;

a) I.U.

b) Box and rack

- GST

- Road Tax

- Insurance

- Transfer Fee (if COE bid under shop name)

To make it short and sweet, u can also just ask for nett price or OTR (on-the-road) price.

Note: Shops won't be so keen to entertain customers who call to make enquiries (esp when they're busy) as compared to customers who walk in.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif

wah brader paiseh post just to say pulsar rox eh?? hehehe

anyway how does projection headlight with angel eyes look like??

BAJAJ Pulsar 180(apr06)-(nov07)

HONDA NSR 150 sp(nov07)-(mar09)

HONDA specIII(mar09)-(dec10)

HONDA wave125(dec10)-(nov12)

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

top speed: TBC

mileage: miles away

Quote: not the fastest bike but the faster rider...

**if iam wrong please correct me, iam only new to this**

wah brader paiseh post just to say pulsar rox eh?? hehehe

anyway how does projection headlight with angel eyes look like??

projection headlights w/ angel eyes??how does it look like???

:weep: Like mention b4 i am a newbie so trying to find some of my friends to accompany me to the bike shop to help me check with the bike. But when i mention the name, brand n cost, they advise me to buy other bike.

Reason:

1. Its a new brand in Spore, so not sure will it be able to last long

2. With the limited bike motorshops, will they have the avaliable spare parts or have to wait for a few months b4 they transfer the parts frm india

3. Assume the nett price/otr with insurance = $6k they think i able to get bikes that can run faster on the road.

4. Cause i buying bike just for work, n my distance to n fro = about 20km so no nid for me to consider fc bike.

Hmmm after wat they said, my heart start to shake abit especially on point 1 n 2

So question now is: :confused:

1. any brader knows do the motorshop really have spare parts available if my bike so unlucky got hit badly ?

2. is it true that petrol store in the fuel tank is not consume @ a certain period will vaporise ?

3. if i dont top my the fuel tank full/ or onli fill up 1/2 full everytime is it bad for the fuel tank ?

:sweat: haha mention to my friends b4 a long time ago no1 give any comment, now almost goin to buy then they start give comment. Wont blame them cause i nvr do much research n they want me to purchase something worth the money. :thumb:

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

ok let me have a shot at answering yr qns brader finity...

alot of opinion is good.. especially if its from people who are seasoned with bikes in spore. but in the end its up to you who will buy and finally put yr own back side on it and yr hard earn cash on it.

the let down of buying a 1st hand bike is brader finity, u will suffer financial lost if u trade it in early for another bike.

some riders wan to get bigger bike after 2b, dats y they buy cheap 2b bike den trade it in for bigger bike later... so if you are thinking of changing bike i suggest u dont get a pulsar.

but if you are thinking of riding the same ol pulsar for more than 3 years go ahead.

ans to some of yr qns:

1. yes pulsar is a new brand of bike, the problem with new bikes is its new... it still need a few years before problems start to appear.

2. bajaj is pretty much a basic bike, u can use original parts or get creative and mix with oder bikes spare parts.

3. its true brader, with 6k otr u can get better known brand like honda or yamaha.. something more faster. but the problem is they are not fuel efficient. yamaha and honda dont have bikes with 18 litre tanks that can do 700-800 km... but i caution u, with fuel efficiency come the lack of top speed. dont be surprise if yr fren left u in the dust, but in the end you will reach the same place just a matter of who comes 1st.

i suggest u do some more thinking more research... i dont wan you to buy bajaj pulsar and regret in the future.

BAJAJ Pulsar 180(apr06)-(nov07)

HONDA NSR 150 sp(nov07)-(mar09)

HONDA specIII(mar09)-(dec10)

HONDA wave125(dec10)-(nov12)

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

top speed: TBC

mileage: miles away

Quote: not the fastest bike but the faster rider...

**if iam wrong please correct me, iam only new to this**

ask:

2. Does it comes with;

a) I.U.

b) Box and rack

Mine came with IU, box and rack, crash bar, helmet (cheap type). I had to negotiate for the free box and rack. I regret not asking for free bike cover and raincoat. :sian: I paid $20 for a bike cover.

:bounce: Cool sia projection headlight with angel eyes on bike.

Dont worry, i will keep doing my research b4 i buy a bike.

Friends keep asking y i choose pulsar n not other bikes with the amount of otr, my reply always the same --- fc

At 1st bikes in my choice:

1. kawasaki kips

ps/: think parts easy to spoil but also easy to get

2. GILERA RUNNER

thnk got some problems. read it in one of the thread here but forgot wat problem

3. HONDA NSR 150 SP

no more production if not wrong onli have 2nd hand

4. PIAGGIO X8-200/PIAGGIO X9-180

not sure why i drop this bike ... think maybe i saw the pulsar so decided not to choose this bike. Sort of ride on this bike b4 when i am in vietnam, but diff brand.

5. phantom

decide to drop as turning n u-turn is diff frm normal bike

6. honda wave

think can have same fc as pulsar but fuel tank not as big as pulsar, so nid to pump petrol freq. :smile: lol some more dont like the design

7. vespa

also another fc bike, but dont like the look.

So is it really true that:

1. petrol store in the fuel tank is not consume @ a certain period will vaporise ?

2. if i dont top my the fuel tank full/ or onli fill up 1/2 full everytime is bad for the fuel tank ?

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike