Originally posted by Finity+Sep 29 2006, 08:58 PM-->
QUOTE (Finity @ Sep 29 2006, 08:58 PM)
eh road runner nvr come in to post ah[/b]

I'm back!

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
  • Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by cephelix@Sep 29 2006, 01:38 AM

what engine oil do you guys use during running in?

is it true that during running in better to use mineral oil as that will make the pistons etc wear out nicely n give it a tight seal?

also, what tyre sizes do you guys use for your bikes?

what is the biggest size possible??

any other mods??

is installing a c.d.i. on a pulsar of any use?

When u collect ur new Pulsar, it's probably filled with mineral EO. Anyway, from 1st EO change, I've been using fully syn E.O. Not sure abt the effect of using mineral EO, but one of the reasons some people prefer to use that instead of semi or fully syn is because u need to change EO at shorter intervals during running-in, so they feel no need to use semi or fully syn which are more expensive.

My tyres: 110/80 rear; 90/80 front.

The Pulsar comes with digital CDI unit.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by myword@Sep 29 2006, 02:40 AM

By the way, I'm going to bring the bike for its second servicing next week (going to hit 1600km soon) anything I shld ask the mechanic to look into/check?

If u're doing it at Universal, their mech will probable check everything that needs to be checked without u asking them to. Just make sure they check ur chain for slack and tighten it accordingly. And tyre pressure too.

Originally posted by myword@Sep 29 2006, 05:29 AM

If you're seriously considering getting a Pulsar I recommend getting it from Albert motors. When I was at the Bajaj/Universal workshop servicing my bike I met another Pulsar rider and he told me they offer the best price. Too bad I had already purchased my Pulsar by then!!!!

When buying a bike, I think one shouldn't just look at the sale price. U should also consider the after-sale support and services. Remember D_midtriy's probs after paying for his bike? Even the fella who bought his Pulsar from Albert Motors went to Universal for servicing. Food for thought, dun u think?

Yes, Universal's price can be higher than some other shops, but not by a lot lah. I'd rather pay a bit more in return for that secure feeling of having bought my Pulsar from the agent itself, esp since I'm a newbie.

Originally posted by cephelix+Sep 29 2006, 06:54 AM-->
QUOTE (cephelix @ Sep 29 2006, 06:54 AM)
dunno what exactly to look out for or if i kana chop....[/b]

At each shop, just ask for OTR (on the road) price. Then ask what's included in the OTR price. Next, ask what freebies are given. U may also wanna ask the waiting period for collecting bike. Finally, ask "ANYTHING ELSE IN THE SALES PACKAGE?" List everything down. Then, compare which shop offers the best overall package.

Originally posted by MERCENARY+Sep 29 2006, 11:46 PM-->
QUOTE (MERCENARY @ Sep 29 2006, 11:46 PM)
hi there to all,i am currently looking for a second hand pulsar or anybody knows of a super good price and deal for a new pulsar,cause i am riding a RXZ now and i am amused by the fuel consumption so people out there please:help: me out here can pm me also thanks to all:smile:[/b]

Bro, welcome to our Pulsar thread. I see that u're changing ur transport bike from RXZ to Pulsar. And still riding ur Hayabusa too? :smile:

Originally posted by cephelix@Sep 30 2006, 12:18 AM

2nd hand..

very hard to find....

so far, i've only seen 1 guy sell his pulsar through the classifieds in this forum.

What cephelix said is true. Hardly any 2nd-hand Pulsar cos it's a relatively new bike in SG market; and Pulsar owners are happy or at least satisfied with their ride. The fella who wanted to sell his Pulsar couldn't get used to the Pulsar's riding posture cos he's been riding cruisers. By the way, the bike's sold. Anyway, I've PM u a list of shops that sell Pulsar. Hope that helps.

thanx for all the info bro roadrunner...

nolah, the mods i am into....

but not going to do most if not all of them.

i just ask to see what can or cannot be done and to see what anybody else has done.

at most i only put rim stickers and do small cosmetic mods.

if the price really doesn't differ that much etc..

then yeah, i'd also rather buy from the agent itself.

safer....

oh, yeah, it would look weird if a built guy rides a cub. my cousin 1.9m, last time ride scooter....very weird looking.

:giddy: very tired........

-= Unsure of what to get=-

:smile: Wow roadrunner u superby siah comebck then post sooooo many posts lol

Grrr i hate limited space n speed. Think my engine will stall the many when i corss the border lol.

So we really goin into jb today ah or some other times with more brader joining ?

and also do we meet if its raining ?

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Bajaj Pulsar 180 -----> 020906

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 30 2006, 08:21 AM

confused: btw wat does cdi stands for ?

CDI stands for Capacitive Discharge Ignition. It is a type of electronic ignition system that's being used for most of today's motorcycle and other automotive engines.

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Sep 30 2006, 11:35 AM

CDI stands for Capacitive Discharge Ignition. It is a type of electronic ignition system that's being used for most of motorcycle and other automotive engines.

all hail roadrunner!!!!!!

the all knowing about motorcycles.....

upz lah......

i still blur sotong about bikes....

Originally posted by Z^^kia@Sep 29 2006, 12:54 PM

ok Guys, lets hav a "Mass Orgy" of Bajaj on this coming

SAT 30 Sep 2006

at Yishun Dam.

(2200hrs, 10pm)

Please kindly leave down ur Confirmation !!!!!!!!!

Confirm :

1: Z^^Kia @JW

2: Finity @AMK

3: kckerk @toa payoh (can ask ur friend to come along)

4:

5:

1: waadee @CCK

2: D_midtriy @JW (can meet me 1st at JW)

3: Outspoken ( Update on friday Night)

P/S: Please take note no1 is responsible for the Style u ride, pls ride Safe!

After Dam, we will go for Makan and ROunding cause most of us need run in

Map to Go!!!!

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel...level=4?199,348

Sorry for the late respond guys,anyway dun think can make it tonite cos got some guest staying over at my place.should be able to make it after fasting month is over.

Btw enjoy the outing.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n74/outspoken_69/newsignature2.jpg

I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Sep 30 2006, 02:13 AM

If u're doing it at Universal, their mech will probable check everything that needs to be checked without u asking them to. Just make sure they check ur chain for slack and tighten it accordingly. And tyre pressure too.

Thanks for the tip dude.

I agree with you on the fact that cheap doesn't always mean best. That's one reason I purchased my bike from Universal. Since I paid in full for the bike there's no real after-sales support besides the regular servicing but it still puts my mind to rest that a mechanic trained in dealing with Pulsar bikes is handling my ride.

I've heard stories of riders going to other shops for servicing and end up with problems like leaks. Rather avoid that.

Nobody has posted their mobile number or pm'd it to me. I might be able to attend the meeting tonight but will only be able to inform you folks around 9+. As I'll be out by then it would help having your number. I'm very paiseh to just show up at the dam and hunt pulsar bikes. Lol.

"You wrote that the world doesn't need a saviour but everyday I hear people crying for one."

- Superman Returns

Originally posted by Finity@Sep 30 2006, 08:19 AM

:smile: Wow roadrunner u superby siah comebck then post sooooo many posts lol

Grrr i hate limited space n speed. Think my engine will stall the many when i corss the border lol.

So we really goin into jb today ah or some other times with more brader joining ?

and also do we meet if its raining ?

Hey guys sorry for late reply,

We Will CANCEL the eveny if the rain doesnt STOP at 8pm....

Hope to Seeya guys tonight.

Will not going JB cause maybe u guys haven get use to ur Bike. Safety come 1st!!! :cheer:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Sep 30 2006, 03:31 AM

Bro, welcome to our Pulsar thread. I see that u're changing ur transport bike from RXZ to Pulsar. And still riding ur Hayabusa too? :smile:

What cephelix said is true. Hardly any 2nd-hand Pulsar cos it's a relatively new bike in SG market; and Pulsar owners are happy or at least satisfied with their ride. The fella who wanted to sell his Pulsar couldn't get used to the Pulsar's riding posture cos he's been riding cruisers. By the way, the bike's sold. Anyway, I've PM u a list of shops that sell Pulsar. Hope that helps.

Bro, for ur info, MERCENARY owns a Hayabusa as well as an RXZ as a transport bike. I think he prefers another naked bike like the Pulsar to replace his RXZ. Morever, he's quite a well-built fella, so a kup would probably be too small for him. :cheeky:

Anyway, it's comforting to know that a seasoned biker like him who owns a Hayabusa intends to get a Pulsar :bouncefire:

hi there,u seem to know me quite well do we know each other by the way?Anyway yes what u say is true cause of its fuel efficiency it amazes me and i am the 1 who ask my best friend to buy the pulsar instead of sparkz X-1 and in the end he listen to me and he got damn lucky he got a 2nd hand 1yr plus bike in black and hes happy with it lucky *PHEW*.I am still surveying on the bike cause its new,i dont want to rush into things:cheeky:Yes i am still riding my hayabusa.

Yes i would rather get a naked bike cause of its fairing is ex and stuff anyway its just for transport what i am looking for is reliabiltiy,ample spart parts and reasonable price,not much of a problem especially electrical thats the worst that will cause a MIGRAINE haha.Yes i cant imagine riding a kup i did try on it before although its F.C its also quite good but fuel tank too small,not that stable and big vehicles wont be able to spot u that easily.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg
Originally posted by MERCENARY@Sep 30 2006, 03:41 PM

hi there,u seem to know me quite well do we know each other by the way?

Aiya bro. I was the one who sold u my HJC CL14 and Mfizz Evolution II helmets at Bt Batok abt 4-5 mths ago. At that time I was still taking my 2B course and was considering whether to buy the Honda CBR150 after getting my licence. U advised me against getting 2B sportsbikes and told me to get a 2nd-hand RXZ instead, ride it for 1 yr, get a 2A licence, sell off the RXZ and then upgrade to the Super Four Spec II or III. U also told me to consider the Pulsar. In the end I got the Pulsar and glad to say no regrets so far. :thumb:

hey Guys, the meet up is

CANCELL

Cause the Weather doesnt seem good... don wan u guys ride in the rain, maybe after 1 month later. More Pulsar are free to come up :sweat:

My latest Update is 43.75km pre litre ( sometime i did go up to 80 to 100km/hr) :cheeky:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Originally posted by Z^^kia@Sep 30 2006, 05:28 PM

hey Guys, the meet up is

CANCELL

Cause the Weather doesnt seem good... don wan u guys ride in the rain, maybe after 1 month later. More Pulsar are free to come up :sweat:

My latest Update is 43.75km pre litre ( sometime i did go up to 80 to 100km/hr) :cheeky:

sad to hear it's cancelled..

hopefully it goes through the next time round....

i think i'll get my pulsar by next yr.......

hey peeps i'm going to get a pulsar in nov.. will the new ver 3 be out by then or how long must i wait? i really really love the new stuffs they upgraded.. anybody care to tell me when ?

Pride & Care

:sian: Hai meeting cancel ... well maybe the next one will have more braders joining ... but next 2or 3 months will be raining season if not wrong so maybe got to look for a fine weather maybe harder too ... Well dont think so much will decide when again by then ...

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

:smile: For me i dont really know when its coming to b in Spore maybe u can cek with the sales reps when u when for go asking the price.

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Sep 30 2006, 04:05 PM

Aiya bro. I was the one who sold u my HJC CL14 and Mfizz Evolution II helmets at Bt Batok abt 4-5 mths ago. At that time I was still taking my 2B course and was considering whether to buy the Honda CBR150 after getting my licence. U advised me against getting 2B sportsbikes and told me to get a 2nd-hand RXZ instead, ride it for 1 yr, get a 2A licence, sell off the RXZ and then upgrade to the Super Four Spec II or III. U also told me to consider the Pulsar. In the end I got the Pulsar and glad to say no regrets so far. :thumb:

oh i see ok now i remember luckily u hear my advice if not u may be riding a brand new CBR 150cc.I am glad that u r happy with that bike,i also enjoy doing business with u,nice knowing you too:thumb:

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg
Originally posted by cusster@Sep 30 2006, 06:17 PM

hey peeps i'm going to get a pulsar in nov.. will the new ver 3 be out by then or how long must i wait? i really really love the new stuffs they upgraded.. anybody care to tell me when ?

The one and only who can answer ur query is Universal Motors itself. But then, even they may not know when the new Pulsar is coming to town. So, if the agent itself doesn't know, no one else will. :mad:

still considering pulsar. but can i juz buy the bike at machine price ask the shop to settle the rd tax for me n i get ntuc insurance myself???? i think like that will be lesser than 5.6k leh...

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.