Originally posted by paiseh@Oct 17 2006, 03:44 PM

guys, for the next DIY session, we will be doing hazard lights :lovestruck: :cheer:

for those who are interested in the grounding and LED pole lights, i will try to get them for u.

but one thing for sure, an independent hazard light switch is a muz :D

About time...I've been waiting for this for a long time. At last a hazard light of my own. Now ppl will know I'm a road hazard.... :gun: WAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by paiseh@Oct 17 2006, 03:41 PM

haha, quite simple. lift up the tank, ground 1 point to each spark plugs. that is already 2 points

annother one which is the most crucial is the magneto. ground one point from that to -ve part of batt. the casing itself is the 'grounding point' which is not good enough.

actually, fact is the bike itself is already grounded. the plugs also already grounded. but the groundings in the bike take a long route to reach the end point.

adding grounding cables will provide a direct short route instead. as a matter of fact, normal wires can be used to ground the points already. but since im quite a poser :D , i use those nice grounding wires u see runing thru car engines :cheeky:

what u have mention is also true,so any difference after putting the grounding wires,cause if the grounding is correct,you will be able to see immediate effect example the headlight will be brighter?But i am interested in the hazard light diy please let me know when and where i have the switch already thanks:cheeky:

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

DIY session.. Awesome!

where do u get the switch? wat other stuff do we need?

Public Transport (1982 -2003):rolleyes:

WR200-FN5943B (2003-2006)

Pulsar180- FBA9440A (2006-2009)

Super 4 Vtec II - FX3xxx (2009-current)

Originally posted by rithnin@Oct 17 2006, 06:08 PM

DIY session.. Awesome!

where do u get the switch? wat other stuff do we need?

you can get the switch at SIM LIM TOWER,its cheaper there.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

not much difference after grounding. just that the meter light is brighter. headlight im not sure if its brighter. smoother ride at high speeds after grounding.

but maybe its all illusions :sweat:

after so many searches here and there, sad to say sim lim tower isnt the cheapest. switches are not cheap, cable lugs are VERY ex, grounding cable average.. clips n everything all VERY EX.

but i still go to sim lim tower. coz i get everything there, no need for me to run here n there since they have all kinds of things there. so.. yup :smile:

Bro Alex,make sure the switch is same like urs and ur brother cos so much better than others...got orange light somemore.:lovestruck:

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n74/outspoken_69/newsignature2.jpg

I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.

Originally posted by paiseh+Oct 17 2006, 03:41 PM-->
QUOTE (paiseh @ Oct 17 2006, 03:41 PM)
since im quite a poser, i use those nice grounding wires u see runing thru car engines[/b]

Even nicer is the fact that the red grounding wires r a perfect match for my red Pulsar! :cheers:

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by paiseh@Oct 17 2006, 09:24 PM

after so many searches here and there, sad to say sim lim tower isnt the cheapest. switches are not cheap, cable lugs are VERY ex, grounding cable average.. clips n everything all VERY EX.

but i still go to sim lim tower. coz i get everything there, no need for me to run here n there since they have all kinds of things there. so.. yup :smile:

so can we fix a date? :cheeky:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

:smile: hmmm hope meeting can b4 nov 17 as i be going overseas ... hope earlier better cause joining bck shift work after nov 2nd ... think goin to miss the gathering again :cry: i am very keen about the angle eyes ... but the rest of the diy i also interested

Licence

2B ------> 240806

3 ------> 200307

Bike

Bajaj Pulsar 180 -----> 020906

Im smelling a DIY coming up. ahakz...cool cool. but im still blur about what all this grounding is all about...i mean what the main purpose?? can some one enlighten me??

Btw Bro Z^^kia, yup you can get the crash bars from universal...i was told by the mec there that it will not take long to fix.

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/anastasiana/spirits.jpg

bro finity, wah you goin overseas for NS purposes issit??? i mean if you are going for some time do ask someone to jaga ur baby pulsar ya. one of my men, when he got back from taiwan, his bike is stolen, gone, poof, just like that. sad sia i hear. :giddy:

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@Oct 16 2006, 11:32 PM

Talking abt mirrors, just wondering whether the Pulsar can be fixed with mirrors on the headlight fairing, like those on sportsbikes. That would be awesome!

Just like the Pulsar 220 DTS-Fi as pictured below

http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/4990/dtsfi25sd5.jpg

http://img378.imageshack.us/img378/9703/dtsfi24zx3.jpg

http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/5143/dtsfi15uz0.jpg

http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/1038/dtsfi20js2.jpg

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by D_midtriy+Oct 17 2006, 11:33 PM-->
QUOTE (D_midtriy @ Oct 17 2006, 11:33 PM)
im still blur about what all this grounding is all about...i mean what the main purpose?? can some one enlighten me??[/b]

thanks bro roadrunner. wah u actually get the post as far back as july. you really got the infos in ur fingertips ya. hee.

just a thought, if put the mirrors on the head cowl, will it means it restrict the views on the mirror. i mean for the current one, pun on the handle at least can turn2 thehandle to see see. but if its on the cowl will be quite difficult right. i dont know cos never ride bikes with mirrors on the fairing. :confused:

outspoken: the hazard light switch dun haf light one. cant seem to find a small DPDT (double pole double throw) switch with light. if u wan light, the switch will be very big as it has 6 poles! 4 is the DPDT, the other 2 is to connect to ground (for the light bulb/led in the switch to light up).

all pulsar riders: a DIY session will be soon! after my exams!! :cheer: end of nov :sweat:

the more i look at it; i tink the Pulsar 220's design over did it. it is trying to make a road bike sporty yet keeping its primary design. hence its neither here nor there.

i fancy the digital speedo though :D other den that... i love my current pulsar 180!

pumped ron 92 last week. vibration and sound at top speed was like hell! this week i changed back to ron 95. oh man its like riding an electronic engine :lol: just so sweet

Originally posted by D_midtriy@Oct 18 2006, 07:28 AM

just a thought, if put the mirrors on the head cowl, will it means it restrict the views on the mirror. i mean for the current one, pun on the handle at least can turn2 thehandle to see see. but if its on the cowl will be quite difficult right. i dont know cos never ride bikes with mirrors on the fairing.

Bro, if u turn the Pulsar's handlebar, the headlight fairing will turn as well mah - so mirrors on the headlight fairing will turn accordingly too. Unlike sportsbikes' fairing and headlight which are fixed and independent from handlebar and steering.

Originally posted by paiseh@Oct 18 2006, 03:50 PM

pumped ron 92 last week. vibration and sound at top speed was like hell! this week i changed back to ron 95. oh man its like riding an electronic engine :lol: just so sweet

I downgraded from V-Power to Shell 98 (both S'pore ones). Dunno whether it's just my feeling, but somehow, my ride seems smoother and quieter.

Comments, anyone?

As for me, my bike use any petrol still de same. BUt wen use 92 feel abit powerless. My bike Vpower or 98 like no diff leh.. How about u guys.

My previous rides: A Pulsar Rider (27/4/2006), A S4 Vtec III Bolder Rider (12/6/2007), SYM GTS 200 (/12/2013),

iam currently using ron 92... did some monitoring and i found that there is minimal difference when i pump high quality ron 98 or v power against lower ron levels like ron 92.

i went to surf in xbhp.com which is a forum base in india. down there they use ron 91 for their pulsars, which i tink is working fine for em.

i tink brader roadrunner downgraded fuel type due to the fact that his mech said v power is eating into some rubber parts of his pulsar.. im i right brader??

so in the end its up to you to chose.. if u tink higher quality fuel givs u that extra 'pow' then fine by me... i still get 600km for every 15 litres of wadever fuel iam using. personally i cant feel any great difference except that on ron 92 and 95 my engine runs smoother.

BAJAJ Pulsar 180(apr06)-(nov07)

HONDA NSR 150 sp(nov07)-(mar09)

HONDA specIII(mar09)-(dec10)

HONDA wave125(dec10)-(nov12)

YAMAHA rxz135(nov12)-

top speed: TBC

mileage: miles away

Quote: not the fastest bike but the faster rider...

**if iam wrong please correct me, iam only new to this**

ron 92 and ron 95, mileage around 43km/litre.

ron 98 39km/litre

ron 98 and ron 95 feeling almost the same though for ron98, i can feel the bike lighter. but price diff i rather go for ron 95

ron 95 is more expensive den ron 92 by by a few cents.

so conclusion, 95 rules :D

hmm...my last pump was caltex platinum got around 43km/l too..

yesterday just pumped caltex gold (ron98) duno will get a big difference in fc anot..but can feel the difference in power thou...

bro paiseh, my hazard lights i think same as roadrunner, tapped from the signal lights..if i wana join the diy will need alot of modifications? i wonder if i can use back the bracket holding the current switch anot..u got any idea?

oh ya i forgot to ask u guys something...any1 got idea what is the smallest possible size/litre top box if i wana put 2 open faced m size helmet?

haha i know very hard to imagine so just wana try asking see if anybody got experience with it..

i saw a givi flow (35L)..like the size and should like nice on pulsar...but not sure if it fits 2 helmet...coz the givi simply (45L) like abit too big for me..

Originally posted by MERCENARY@Oct 16 2006, 05:59 PM

i am also running i hope i can get the same mileage as yours:cheeky:

hey guys i clocked like 65km\l at maximum speed of 65km\h. Mostly i maintain my bike in the green zone.whether at top gear or in between. i have already done 1000Km. let me see whats the mileage from now on as i will be going max of 75km\hr according to the manual.....and just to tell everyone out here that i will be to INdia next month end on a official trip so i will try to buy the new Pulsar 220 isde mirror and see if i can fix it on my Pulsar 180....will try to find any other modifications that can be handy.

Sam_singapore