Lol, imagine having a bike and still need to go take public with girlfriend, just because you're a p-plater. Haha, that sure gotta suck.

• Replies 47

than got car also no use cannot have passenger but i think is abit too........ already than must well take licence after a yaer later than buy bike or car but tt make everything back to the same point because they have not yet had enough rd exp

well.. i think its a fair enuf law.. look around.. no offence but i see alot of

p-platers with pillions that ride with no regards for their own lives..

seriously, I've seen one too many whereby, p-plate riders speeding off,

brushing other vehicles closely.. the sad part is the pillion's life (most prolly

their gf) at the back is heavily compromised for their reckless actions..

im sure we'd think the other way if our own relatives n frens met with an

accident in the account of recklessness of a inexperienced rider. and we've

heard so many stories like this.

Exactly, I do think that it is reasonable to impose this law to prohibit pillioning for new rider. Written in ST article, many youth are having this invincible attitude taken to the road. Well I dun blame them, because I do have this attitiude when I am young. Many overestimate themselves or otherwise have a big PRIDE, It is only after an accident then many will realise that they are not as good as they perceive themselves to be. I believe many older folks would agree.

As a driver and bikers, I always feel that drivers have been always looking out for bikers as they are more vulnerable, however many times we fail because drivers are still humans, we do little mistakes which is inevitable. On another hand bikers often take for granted the awareness and thoughts given to them as if we owed them "their safely"

Spare a thought for the pillion, which mostly knows nuts abt danger.

Lol, imagine having a bike and still need to go take public with girlfriend, just because you're a p-plater. Haha, that sure gotta suck.
Lucky I no gf..:cheeky:

I guess we'll see more single seater bikes then? :cheeky:

Exactly, I do think that it is reasonable to impose this law to prohibit pillioning for new rider. Written in ST article, many youth are having this invincible attitude taken to the road. Well I dun blame them, because I do have this attitiude when I am young. Many overestimate themselves or otherwise have a big PRIDE, It is only after an accident then many will realise that they are not as good as they perceive themselves to be. I believe many older folks would agree.

As a driver and bikers, I always feel that drivers have been always looking out for bikers as they are more vulnerable, however many times we fail because drivers are still humans, we do little mistakes which is inevitable. On another hand bikers often take for granted the awareness and thoughts given to them as if we owed them "their safely"

True to a certain extent..I've encountered countless times..When taxi drivers (mostly) and some car/lorry/bus drivers cut into my lane w/out signallin even when I'm on the most left lane..They will simply just cut you with no care..Its as if you're invisible..Not even once after being horned do they show a gesture of "sorry" even when we're side by side..They simply "make dunno" and just look ahead..So drivers have not always been lookin out for riders..Unless that the driver also rides a bike..Otherwise you can just see it for yourself in your day to day ride/drive..:cheeky:

Pillion should have known the danger and risk they will be facin before they get on the bike..Afterall no one is forcin them to be pillioned by the rider..They can always go public if they have no confidence in the rider..:cheeky:

it sucks more when u hav been riding close to 2 yrs and yet guys feel paiseh to sit behind a gal so have to take public everytime wan go out.. :cheeky:

i just got back from work this afternoon and had to wait more than 5 minutes for this freshly out of the driving center oven p-plater trying to park his toyota alphard. he kept going forward and back. i couldnt squeeze past him as it's a very narrow carpark and with my 40L side panniers, i'm sure to hit his "van".

and i thought those alphards should come with all those parking gizmos to help the driver's life easier.

Bro you could have parked your bike at the road side, light a cigarette, sit down and relax while waiting...haha:cheeky:

i just got back from work this afternoon and had to wait more than 5 minutes for this freshly out of the driving center oven p-plater trying to park his toyota alphard. he kept going forward and back. i couldnt squeeze past him as it's a very narrow carpark and with my 40L side panniers, i'm sure to hit his "van".

and i thought those alphards should come with all those parking gizmos to help the driver's life easier.

I thought this rule is quite sensible consider that P-platers are not familar with roads... I mean pillion-ing is such a big responsibilty, the rider should be confident & able to handle any unexpected harzards occur on roads. :faint:

Current bike : Wave R From Feb '07..

Maybe they should put it that the first month of passing cannot pillion. Cos if p-plater cannot pillion for a full year like a bit funny. Then why would they bother having a class 2b bike.

I thought this rule is quite sensible consider that P-platers are not familar with roads... I mean pillion-ing is such a big responsibilty, the rider should be confident & able to handle any unexpected harzards occur on roads. :faint:

no... its not sensible. You are familar with the road, but with a pillon on its different

Bro you could have parked your bike at the road side, light a cigarette, sit down and relax while waiting...haha:cheeky:

i dont smoke bro.

saw him about 200m away from the estate carpark just now. quickly overtook and enter before i get stuck behind him again.

i dont smoke bro.

saw him about 200m away from the estate carpark just now. quickly overtook and enter before i get stuck behind him again.

I would get off and offer to help him/her park. :lol:

Relax!

if its a her, i wouldnt mind :lol:

but then again, i only have class 3, 4 and 5 millitary license. dont want to get caught for nothing.

Agree to this.

When I first passed my 2B license, I voluntarily did not pillion anyone for more than 6 months.

We need road experience and better skills before putting clueless pillion at risk. On top of that, adding a pillion's weight to a 150kg 2B bike will be at least a 30% increase in handling weight (assuming your pillion is a nice and slim lady of 50kg). Note that this is different from a car. A car handles almost the same with or without passengers.

Even until now, I would not pillion anyone if I'm on a new bike until I clock in 1000km (run-in mileage). That is to make sure that I know how the bike behave in most situation before I carry a life behind me.

It's also not fair to assume it's the pillion's choice. When you hold that license in your hand, clueless people have no idea of your actual skills or experience. Ask yourself this, are you really that good on the road right after you pass?

I would definitely support mandatory ban for new riders having pillion.

Of course, the suggestion on no box for new riders is over the top.

1992: Suzuki GN125

1995: Suzuki Intruder 400

2000: BMW R1100R

2006: Harley Davidson Sportster 1200 Low

2008: BMW F800ST

2011: BMW R1200R Classic (still riding)

2015: Harley Davidson Low Rider

siao 1 la... got 1 accident with p-plater means must change rule...

den the nus construction got accident den need to stop all the construction in singapore onot?

i mean this is pure stupidity... once see an accident happen wan to change rule to cover the backside... i feel it will be stupid to implement these rules of no pillion while probation... esp class 3... den the driving instructor also shouldnt sit beside when teaching them driving la... cuz will more likely to have accident when u havent pass than when u pass wad....

Waa Like This All P-plater Must Make Their Bike 1-seater:cheeky:

http://i155.photobucket.com/albums/s301/hussy44/motul-logo.gif

Suzuki GN 125 - 24 Jan 2008 - 15 Feb 2008

Yamaha RD 125 - 15 Feb 2008 - 21 October 2008

Yamaha Spark 135 - 3 November 2008 - 12 May 2009

Licence Revoked On 12 May :(

Think out of the box,mate. If accidents do occurred, who knows no life is to be spared.

different leh

passenger seat got seat belt and sometimes airbag

but no pillion

lame rule .. like my GF lidat pass class3 more den 1yr no pplate liao . but she SELDOM drive cos she always lazy call me drive. when i sit in her car i also scare. yet she no nid put p plate . LOL sia

i dun agree to no pillon rule although i oso no gf. :cheeky: cos worse if they go 2a then start pillon. my 2 cents is maybe no pillon in the nite cos think less traffic, oso less bright therefore higher likelihood of accident. read quite a number of accidents in the night.

seriously, TP shd look at how to deal with sheepish car driver who follow evry damn rules and instructions, when pass can become demon on the road. that's a better way to deal with accidents. tell me, how many motorcycles COE is there compare to car? maybe car drivers shd pass psychological test before they can drive.

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51