Originally posted by leosh@Jan 9 2006, 01:09 AM

Is it possible to ride w/o a license in sgp?? Heard tat if i am e sub-rider den i can b able to ride w/o licenses...

n does all bike shops sell bike to those wif license oni??

Pls advice!!! Tks:confused: :confused:

answers to your qns.

1 Yes, you can ride without a licence if it is within private property as house with big compound, private island etc.

2 also Yes

• Replies 95

Actually not really true lehz..... you do not have bike licence can still own the bike what... just that you have got to lay up your bike... i friend own a bike... got the LTA letter and the letter stating he lay up the bike.....

Can own a bike, but cannot ride, considered laying up of the vehicle. And honestly, that was the dumbest advice I heard in my life! I think your friend is saboing u!

Cheers...

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

No licence, don't ride motorbike. Plain and simple. Go and ride a mountain bike. That one no need licence... :cheeky:

Just a qn. Am curious.

What if a qualified rider rides a bike that doesn't list him as the main or sub rider?

Even the most precious of memories fade with the passage of time

Originally posted by miss@May 20 2006, 01:40 PM

Just a qn. Am curious.

What if a qualified rider rides a bike that doesn't list him as the main or sub rider?

Bikes in Singapore are registered and are "pegged" to the rider. He/she can add sub-riders if he or she so pleases. Insurance matters too; that gets pegged to the bike as well -- that's where the terms "main" and "sub-rider" comes into play.

In your case, let's put this in another perspective:

If Person A buys a brand new bike, that bike is essentially under his name. If he lets his licensed friend, Person B, ride the bike, then whatever Person B does to his bike is under A's responsibility, including speeding, accidents, riding without valid insurance, and any other offences that B might encounter. Both A and B will kana fine even though B is the one riding at the time.

In a nutshell, it's not entirely impossible in your case, just that it's very risky; if you are willing to go the "do anything, don't get caught" idea, then good luck to you.

Originally posted by redbeacon@May 20 2006, 02:24 PM

Bikes in Singapore are registered and are "pegged" to the rider. He/she can add sub-riders if he or she so pleases. Insurance matters too; that gets pegged to the bike as well -- that's where the terms "main" and "sub-rider" comes into play.

In your case, let's put this in another perspective:

If Person A buys a brand new bike, that bike is essentially under his name. If he lets his licensed friend, Person B, ride the bike, then whatever Person B does to his bike is under A's responsibility, including speeding, accidents, riding without valid insurance, and any other offences that B might encounter. Both A and B will kana fine even though B is the one riding at the time.

In a nutshell, it's not entirely impossible in your case, just that it's very risky; if you are willing to go the "do anything, don't get caught" idea, then good luck to you.

i see...

Why did they have to do away with the any rider insurance scheme... Makes multiple riders difficult....

This is sillypore, silly...

It's easier for the government to "nanny" all of us, including bikers and our "toys" that belong to us.

Sometimes it's annoying they set every little detail. including size,color distance of number plate from ground right down to the PSB sticker on the helmet (read somewhere in the forum that TP was checking the helmet for the sticker.)

What to do...

wat is the outcome of riding a lay out bike and without license? i'm scare now... seriously not worth it at all... regreted... wat can help me now? plus i got probation now. pls help...

Barred from all classes for at least 1 year, heavy fine, bike confiscated, possible jail term or at least extension of your previous probation.

NO LIcense who say cannot ride ... dun get caught lor or ride in driving center lor :cheeky:

Please stop giving "funny advices". There are newbies who are genuinely confused. If you have a conscience, stop confusing them anymore.

:mad: Some people just don't know when to stop.

Originally posted by rhema83@Dec 6 2006, 03:28 AM

Please stop giving "funny advices". There are newbies who are genuinely confused. If you have a conscience, stop confusing them anymore.

:mad: Some people just don't know when to stop.

Well said bro

(1)NSR SP 150(FT5726E) (2)RXZ(FP8543S) (3)KRR 150(FU2121P) (4)R6 '05(FY6651D) (5)Getz 1.4A(SGJ575Y) (6)Gilera VXR 200 (FBC4201X) (7)FZ6 S2 (FBD2275R) (8)X1-R (FBB6401C) (9)FZ16 (FBF2411D) (10)FZS1000 (FZ2591P) (11)MT-09

Loves a Yammie... It always touches my heart!!!

Originally posted by illusion@Dec 5 2006, 02:47 PM

wat is the outcome of riding a lay out bike and without license? i'm scare now... seriously not worth it at all... regreted... wat can help me now? plus i got probation now. pls help...

agree with fid07

somemore if you riding your friends bike while you dun have a liccence your friend also wil be fine too , worst still you get fine or double offence and your friend licence will be revoke too

:dozed: :dozed:

i got questions.. no license and not 18 can own a bike? the bike ownership can it be me but lidat i need to haf a subrider for the bike right then insurance also need to add the subrider name right?? insurance my friend told me there's something call non-riding insurance.. but issit possible for me to be the owner of the bike with non-riding insurance but not riding.. just owning it.. w/o any subrider ownership/insurance..? pls tell me more thx.. hee

Originally posted by kurarensu@Dec 6 2006, 08:59 AM

i got questions.. no license and not 18 can own a bike? the bike ownership can it be me but lidat i need to haf a subrider for the bike right then insurance also need to add the subrider name right?? insurance my friend told me there's something call non-riding insurance.. but issit possible for me to be the owner of the bike with non-riding insurance but not riding.. just owning it.. w/o any subrider ownership/insurance..? pls tell me more thx.. hee

yes.. u can be a owner of a bike with insurance except insurance states as (non riding).

u hav to get sumone with license to help u ride hm to be sub rider...

and u definitely hab to get a motorbike insurance, not ant aia or great eastern ones...

but pls la, dun try it if got no license... u onli get ur sub rider in hot soup if u hiong the bike w/o valid license and insurance...

:sian: :sian: :sian:

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/MetalSlug1.gif http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/2505572364771cf7370558.gif

One life ~~ One love ~~ One United.

ε(â—̃•̃)з Ù©(à¹à¹)Û¶ Ù©(â—̃•̃)Û¶

Originally posted by kOpi_jaC@Dec 6 2006, 10:28 AM

yes.. u can be a owner of a bike with insurance except insurance states as (non riding).

u hav to get sumone with license to help u ride hm to be sub rider...

and u definitely hab to get a motorbike insurance, not ant aia or great eastern ones...

but pls la, dun try it if got no license... u onli get ur sub rider in hot soup if u hiong the bike w/o valid license and insurance...

:sian: :sian: :sian:

so if i buy, i owner, my fren sub rider, insurance: i(non riding insurance), my fren(sub rider for my insurance?)

if like that how much does non-riding insurance cost and the cost of adding a sub rider for insurance? btw i buy the bike i won't ride w/o license.. jus to startup/run the bike only..

nonriding insurance is same as riding insurance .. just that they put additional clausse saying you are non-rider .... then when u want to be the rider ... you pay 30++ to remove the clause..... simple .... add subrider no need money ......u nid a licensed rider to be your subrider if u as a owner is a non rider

~~~~~Class 3 :: 31 Oct 2002~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2B :: 21 Aug 2006~~~~~

~~~~~Class 2A :: 16 Oct 2006~~~~~

I like how this informative thread goes out to those who want to "try" motorcycling -- unlicensed.

The problem is, we need more mentors to advise those unlicensed under-18s, L-platers, as well as people riding other people's bikes against flouting of road laws and regulations.

Guys, just be patient, your turn would be next...

btw i check with mitsui before.... the lady told me that the subrider has no responsibility to the vehicle .... and will not get into trouble if the non-rider wants to hiong ..... but then it is her words ..

Originally posted by gorgonitz82@Dec 7 2006, 12:01 AM

btw i check with mitsui before.... the lady told me that the subrider has no responsibility to the vehicle .... and will not get into trouble if the non-rider wants to hiong ..... but then it is her words ..

maybe she trying to hiong u to sign with them then she earn comission?

hmm.......

Originally posted by leosh@Jan 9 2006, 12:57 AM

Is it possible to ride w/o a license in sgp?? Heard tat if i am e sub-rider den i can b able to ride w/o licenses...

n does all bike shops sell bike to those wif license oni??

Pls advice!!! Tks:confused: :confused:

huh???? since when izzit inside the progress pakage gov are giving????

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n198/projectd_01/untitled.jpg
Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Dec 7 2006, 12:12 AM

maybe she trying to hiong u to sign with them then she earn comission?

hmm.......

maybe .... but then tt is no longer my issue ... :cheer: ... btw those who want to get bike before license .... i advise is no matter how good the deal is ... there will always be a better somewhere down the road ... so no hurry .... patience is the key ...