All about Atom

Sev

• Replies 398

phew.

finally finished reading all 9 pages of this thread.

you guys have some nice stuff in your atom...

juz got my device on monday. 2nd day while upgrading e ROM it gave up on me.

cannot reset, cannot off.. haha

bring to bugis hospital. it stayed there one night.

hopefully they upgraded all e available softwares.

now i'm still getting use to a pda phone, having used conventional phones all along.

how do you guys use your own ringing tones as sms tones and alarm tones? mine cannot leh, only the incoming call alert can.

i like all your today screens... how to get them?

Drink. Ride. Bloody Idiot.

RedSTer #5025

Originally posted by kobane@Apr 1 2006, 10:50 PM

phew.

finally finished reading all 9 pages of this thread.

you guys have some nice stuff in your atom...

juz got my device on monday. 2nd day while upgrading e ROM it gave up on me.

cannot reset, cannot off.. haha

bring to bugis hospital. it stayed there one night.

hopefully they upgraded all e available softwares.

now i'm still getting use to a pda phone, having used conventional phones all along.

how do you guys use your own ringing tones as sms tones and alarm tones? mine cannot leh, only the incoming call alert can.

i like all your today screens... how to get them?

welcome to Atom thread...

I'm using O2 plus today plugin, freeware from O2, get it download through your O2 connect.

Lollypop is using SPB Plus today plugin, gotta pay for that, get it at http://www.handango.com or http://www.handango.com.

get dome freeware here http://www.freewareppc.com

If you got your Atom on Monday, it should came with latest ROM, why you flash it again?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

kobane,

i think i'll be at there tml, come talk to mi when u come collect yr phone.

tat's if i'm outside at e counters.

if yrs come with 060123B1, or if u requested for a s/w upgrade at e centre.

it'll come back with 060105B1.

ok for ring tones wise, u go to e MP3/WAV file, tap & hold, a menu will appear.

choose 'set as ringtone'

beware, dun ever try to use e WHOLE MP3 as yr ringtone.

if u got those audio programs tat can cut part of e song out, it'll be best.

if not u betta stick to e defaults tones.

reason is: u use whole MP3, e device won't be able to take it.

result = ppl call, it'll take ages for e tone to start up, e caller will hear e calling tone, & by e time it load up e song, it's like 5-8 secs had passed.

& usually e starting of e MP3 is kinda soft, & u'll even notice e sound.

for dail-tone is max 1 min, after tat either disconnect or voice mail.

but over yr side, u'll not receive any 'recieved calls/no missed calls.'

tat's 1 of e common problems for pda.

when ppl start to complain tat their friends try to call them , but e phone dun rings!

-.-

for sms tones wise:

use a short one (somewhere ard 3-5 secs.)

& it must be a WAV file.

for tis, u've to do it MANUALLY.

go 'copy' e sms tone, & paste it in 'MY DEVICE -> WINDOWS'

note: paste it in windows root folder.

once u done e above steps, go to 'START -> SETTINGS -> SOUNDS & NOTIF.' & select yr sms tone there.

e reason for not using any 10-30secs sms tone is, i tried b4.

guess wat, it'll continue playing e tone til it stop.

meaning if u used a 1 min sms tone, u'll have to wait for 1 min for e tone to end, b4 u can veiw e sms.

try reading e sms during e tone & it hang on mi.

你期望你所è¦å¾—, 但å´æ²¡æœ‰å‘现到你所真正ç惜的

currently, testing out e new dopod 585 (xiao bai), dopod 577W (xiao hei).

E new 2 smartphones.

pic is taken using 818pro.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j22/StevenAng/PDA%20phones/XiaoBaiandXiaoHei.jpg

here's e screen shot of my 818pro.

& of cos, with all the app i install.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j22/StevenAng/PDA%20phones/818pro.jpg

here's my 818pro & 838...

pic taken using 577W (Xiao Hei), using night mode.

& it kinda sux~!!!

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j22/StevenAng/PDA%20phones/818and838.jpg

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 2 2006, 09:01 PM

welcome to Atom thread...

I'm using O2 plus today plugin, freeware from O2, get it download through your O2 connect.

Lollypop is using SPB Plus today plugin, gotta pay for that, get it at http://www.handango.com or http://www.handango.com.

get dome freeware here http://www.freewareppc.com

If you got your Atom on Monday, it should came with latest ROM, why you flash it again?

ohh... i got mine off ebay. previous owner claims it's a gift, and he only used for less than half a day, then too chim for him, so decide to sell :smile:

checked my ROM, and compared to the one available on the O2 site, confirmed mine's an older version. so did an upgrade lor...

maybe i can either you or lollypop, then u 2 can teach me how to use this hi-tech phone.

i branja kopi :cheeky:

RedSTer #5025

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Apr 2 2006, 11:03 PM

kobane,

i think i'll be at there tml, come talk to mi when u come collect yr phone.

tat's if i'm outside at e counters.

if yrs come with 060123B1, or if u requested for a s/w upgrade at e centre.

it'll come back with 060105B1.

ok for ring tones wise, u go to e MP3/WAV file, tap & hold, a menu will appear.

choose 'set as ringtone'

beware, dun ever try to use e WHOLE MP3 as yr ringtone.

if u got those audio programs tat can cut part of e song out, it'll be best.

if not u betta stick to e defaults tones.

reason is: u use whole MP3, e device won't be able to take it.

result = ppl call, it'll take ages for e tone to start up, e caller will hear e calling tone, & by e time it load up e song, it's like 5-8 secs had passed.

& usually e starting of e MP3 is kinda soft, & u'll even notice e sound.

for dail-tone is max 1 min, after tat either disconnect or voice mail.

but over yr side, u'll not receive any 'recieved calls/no missed calls.'

tat's 1 of e common problems for pda.

when ppl start to complain tat their friends try to call them , but e phone dun rings!

-.-

for sms tones wise:

use a short one (somewhere ard 3-5 secs.)

& it must be a WAV file.

for tis, u've to do it MANUALLY.

go 'copy' e sms tone, & paste it in 'MY DEVICE -> WINDOWS'

note: paste it in windows root folder.

once u done e above steps, go to 'START -> SETTINGS -> SOUNDS & NOTIF.' & select yr sms tone there.

e reason for not using any 10-30secs sms tone is, i tried b4.

guess wat, it'll continue playing e tone til it stop.

meaning if u used a 1 min sms tone, u'll have to wait for 1 min for e tone to end, b4 u can veiw e sms.

try reading e sms during e tone & it hang on mi.

hey bro,

paiseh, have oradi collected my phone on 31st mar... juz one day after i sent it in. my ROM says 060105B1 now.

wow. guess software problems are easier to fix. initially was told it would take 3-5 working days.

thanx. managed to get my sms tone done...

i presume you are a atom guru, so now i have a few more questions...

- can i get my own alarm tone the same way as the sms tone? the normal alarm, not the one from the O2 media plus... the normal alarm very soft, almost non existant...

- i found a lot of files under the windows folder. can i remove them?

- when i listen to my chosen ring tone on SOUNDS AND NOTIF, it was quite okie. but when i tried to call my number, the sound i got has a lot of background noise. after i hang up, the ring tone continues on my atom, but the background noise is gone. why? also, occasionally, the tone gets cut up ie like playing the tone is continuous "play/pause/play/pause"... not nice at all.

- the tones i use all got a "speaker crack/pop" sound at the start and at the end of the tone. can i remove it?

- even now after the upgrade, occasionally i tap the screen, a few seconds later then it responds. can i get rid of the lag?

- i tried to configure my TODAY screen, but it always turn out something wrong. i wanna insert the shortcuts (or similar stuff) but after i clicked "done" or "ok" that portion on the screen goes blank.

pardon me, i still have a lot to learn on pda phones. by now, you should realize that you are facing a complete newbie. maybe i can meet you or SEV and you 2 can teach me a thing or two on gettin the best outa my atom.

same thing i told SEV, kopi on me :cheeky:

RedSTer #5025

Kobane>> sorry, i'm working day time and study night time 4 days week, dont think got time to meet up with you cos my exam starting this month also... :giddy: :giddy:

>you cannot use MP3 as alarm tone, only .wav file can be used. you can download those alarm software that can use mp3 as alarm ring tone, by default cannot.

>it is not avisible to remove folder under windows folder as it is your system folder, you may delete some important file and your atom will hang...

>the pause/play effect is same as what lollypop describe, use shorter ring tone, it will be alright. my atom do not have this problem btw...

> the lag is due to hardware limitation, it takes awhile to 'warm up' before it will run smoothly. you should try O2 mini or 818pro then you will know atom is a lot faster...

>i got the blank icon when i create shortcut for some 3rd party software like Ismap, may be not compatible with WM5 i guess, the rest of my shortcuts are ok (you can see from my screen shot few pages ago.)

SaintDuDu> MapKing is very good, 3D map with sound. no so useful in singapore such small conutry, but going to Malaysia is good... :thumb:

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Apr 2 2006, 11:53 PM

here's e screen shot of my 818pro.

& of cos, with all the app i install.

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j22/StevenAng/PDA%20phones/818pro.jpg

wah, bro, always got chance to test new phone! :thumb:

eh, your today screen very gay, haha...

today screen looks good with just icon, but i got to show my schedule, so looks abit cramp....

i got no problem updating my SPB weather, using my office wireless network to update, active sync sometimes unable to connect to internet, dunno why also...

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@Apr 4 2006, 08:12 AM

guys... any gps software to share?

i have.... i have....

even e resigter keys & pass, but too bad it's onli licnsed to mi onli.

but i do have e SG map.

i still prefer e http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg version

i tell u, it's kinda of tiring to use on a 2.8" screen.

i rather use e book.

but i tested it on e dopod 900, u'll really see e difference in e 3.5" TFT screen.

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 4 2006, 09:37 AM

wah, bro, always got chance to test new phone! :thumb:

eh, your today screen very gay, haha...

today screen looks good with just icon, but i got to show my schedule, so looks abit cramp....

i got no problem updating my SPB weather, using my office wireless network to update, active sync sometimes unable to connect to internet, dunno why also...

i give up on e weather forecast.

but it's a good add-on.

aiyo, for mi, all e dopod models i have now are engieering samples.

receive some 'inside' info tat dopod will be launching their s300 (not sure if i got e name rite.) but it's kinda look alike to v3, just tat running on WM5.

they're going real hard into e smartphone areas.

anyway, i'm quiting my job at e service centre soon.

thursday last day liao, mood oreadi start to come 2day.

no mood to work, sch starting soon.

but will still keep e dopod side-job.

i like my 818pro home screen.

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Apr 4 2006, 11:51 PM

i have.... i have....

even e resigter keys & pass, but too bad it's onli licnsed to mi onli.

but i do have e SG map.

i still prefer e http://www.streetdirectory.com.sg version

i tell u, it's kinda of tiring to use on a 2.8" screen.

i rather use e book.

but i tested it on e dopod 900, u'll really see e difference in e 3.5" TFT screen.

share wif mi ley.... i just gotten myself a BT gps sirf III.. :p :sweat:

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

what is BT gps sirf III?

i'm using MapKing, very detail and routing very fast too, but i dont have GPS receiver.... got a little bit of JB map also...

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/9202/mk18mn.pngRoad searching screen

http://img115.imageshack.us/img115/8417/mk24fb.pngMy work plase, with building

http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/1060/mk31pk.pngrouting screen, got shown how many km traveled, good info

http://img376.imageshack.us/img376/9296/mk41dw.pngJB map, good for explorer who go there alone...

i saw tis at service centre.

it's a prototype from Qaunta...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j22/StevenAng/PDA%20phones/Atomwhite.jpg

Originally posted by Sev@Apr 5 2006, 09:29 AM

what is BT gps sirf III?

i'm using MapKing, very detail and routing very fast too, but i dont have GPS receiver.... got a little bit of JB map also...

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/9202/mk18mn.pngRoad searching screen

http://img115.imageshack.us/img115/8417/mk24fb.pngMy work plase, with building

http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/1060/mk31pk.pngrouting screen, got shown how many km traveled, good info

http://img376.imageshack.us/img376/9296/mk41dw.pngJB map, good for explorer who go there alone...

how much u paid for ur mapking?

bluetooth SiRF III gps reciever

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

Originally posted by LollyPoP@Apr 5 2006, 10:26 PM

i saw tis at service centre.

it's a prototype from Qaunta...

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j22/StevenAng/PDA%20phones/Atomwhite.jpg

white color Atom, sui!

Need some asistances here. My resco explorer just expire today.A passcode is required.Can anyone help?

There are too many coincidences in life,

Sometimes even a pair of parallel lines meet.

Guest *Garnet*
Originally posted by Sev@Apr 9 2006, 09:45 AM

i got free ISmap of Singapore.

gimmi you email, i send to you. it is about 2.23mb.

you got mail!!

ok, sent.

just send my Atom to repair.

it was still alright last night, but today when i received call, the ring tone has very bad 'buzzing' sound.

the speaker has bad cracking sound even the volumn is kept minimum. was told the repair is 3-5 days..

now using my old nokia phone... :(