:smile: Hi all, just wana check, i wana remove my ERP unit as i seldom ride my bike into city area, Is there such a ERP UNIT which operates on battery where i can use it when i wana go inside CBD area :confused:
  • Replies 58

I tried using a 9V batt to power the IU and it turns on.

Try doing a trial test by going through those ERP operated carparks before attempting the ERP gantry.

Hmm, never heard of it but what i do is i fix something like a male/female connector to the wire running from the IU to the batt. So if not using, just d/c the wire and take out the IU la.. :smile:

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

Mine is running on 12 volt drycells.

Buy the housing for 8 x 1.5V AA size batteries, ( i think ard $1-$2), connect the wires accordingly and u'r good to go.

a portable IU.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/triprider/imgphp.jpg

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

WE SOLD OUR SOUL FOR ROCK N' ROLL

Originally posted by pencapchew@Jan 27 2006, 01:51 PM

Hmm, never heard of it but what i do is i fix something like a male/female connector to the wire running from the IU to the batt. So if not using, just d/c the wire and take out the IU la.. :smile:

:smile: Although i can do a connector but it will be troublesome for me as i gotta remove the fairing cover & connect it up. I prefer if i can keep in a bag & pass through the gantry. As I dun use it often.

Originally posted by Naz@Jan 27 2006, 02:37 PM

Mine is running on 12 volt drycells.

Buy the housing for 8 x 1.5V AA size batteries, ( i think ard $1-$2), connect the wires accordingly and u'r good to go.

a portable IU.

:smile: where can i buy the housing dude? :smile:

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 27 2006, 02:39 PM

:smile: where can i buy the housing dude? :smile:

Sim Lim Tower should have..

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

and those 1 dollar shops..

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

Originally posted by Naz@Jan 27 2006, 03:23 PM

and those 1 dollar shops..

:smile: Ok thanks dude, after chinese new year i will try it out, wana dismantle the stupid ERP unit :mad: as i seldom use it. Plus bike will look much neater when i remove it

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 27 2006, 02:38 PM

:smile: Although i can do a connector but it will be troublesome for me as i gotta remove the fairing cover & connect it up.

I have the same situation as you because don't use my bike often.

Using external battery has the only advantage of portability but everytime you want to use the IU you must have fresh batteries. This is quite troublesome, especially last minute need to pass ERP, and quite expensive.

I also found out that, after two dead IUs, if the IU has been disconnected from the power supply for a prolonged period it will die. The IU is powered by two internal batteries, if these two batteries are totally drained, you will not be able recharged them subsequently.

From my experience, and for my usage, a slip-on IU is the best. The slip-on is adapted from the mountain bike cat-eye nite lite, so it's very convenient to mount and dismount the IU quickly. The power supply is from the bike, which I fixed a connector which will mate with the IU. Now I would need less than 2mins get the IU in or out of the bike.

Word of caution, cutting the IU power-cord means you void the 5 year warranty.

Originally posted by pencapchew@Jan 27 2006, 01:51 PM

mine is using that method. Seldom go ERP area, so thinking jus disconnect the IU n damp inside the box as use as n when needed.

But not sure of ERP timing and always forget to put it back into place when going through gantry. The gantry cannot scan the unit n have to go for inspection. Went for three such inspections already, till so scare of forgetting and have mount the unit there perm liao.

Dun wanna go for another inspection. :giddy: Have to take off n everytime gives diff excuses for the IU working during inspection, till i think enough is enough, rather pay the $10.50 for forgetting to put in cash card then going for inspection again.

Some more dun think it's legal if kana ROV.

Jus my personnal experience though. :cheeky:

if u guys wanna use portable IU, please DO NOT put it under ur pillion seat.

The sensor is at the top face of the IU.

Therefore, it has to mount at a slight angle so that the top face can receive signals from the gantry.

Cannot be covered. If ur head fairing is opaque plastic, it wil not detect as infra-red cannot penetrate through so slotting the iu under the fairing will not work..

If u can, screw a 'clip' type metal piece on the four screw holes of the bottom face on the IU and clip it ONTO the fairing itself while riding.

Thats wot I did now..

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

Originally posted by Naz@Jan 29 2006, 04:39 PM

if u guys wanna use portable IU, please DO NOT put it under ur pillion seat.

The sensor is at the top face of the IU.

Therefore, it has to mount at a slight angle so that the top face can receive signals from the gantry.

Cannot be covered. If ur head fairing is opaque plastic, it wil not detect as infra-red cannot penetrate through so slotting the iu under the fairing will not work..

If u can, screw a 'clip' type metal piece on the four screw holes of the bottom face on the IU and clip it ONTO the fairing itself while riding.

Thats wot I did now..

So you are using battery housing right? Do you need to power up the IU all the time?

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

i'm using 9v batt to power up my iu whenever i need to go town. but the problem is...the IU seems to drain a lot of power...i need to change new 9V batt after using the iu for 2-3times...considering a 9v cost $3-$4...i think going to cbd is quite expensive for me..i think best is still to make a connector for the IU using ur bike's battery.

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/marzocchi84/la_LM6F3528.jpg

Supermoto Is Not A CRIME .

Originally posted by marzocchi@Jan 29 2006, 06:18 PM

i'm using 9v batt to power up my iu whenever i need to go town. but the problem is...the IU seems to drain a lot of power...i need to change new 9V batt after using the iu for 2-3times...considering a 9v cost $3-$4...i think going to cbd is quite expensive for me..i think best is still to make a connector for the IU using ur bike's battery.

But if you never connect the IU to the batt for sometime the batt inside the IU will die off right?

Past Rides

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

actually I put the IU under the pillion seat. so far so good ey! can detect everytime. of course if you're pillioning then there's a greater risk of it not working..

if you're using batteries to power the IU maybe can get those rechargeable ones? then don't have to keep buying new batteries. initial cost may be high for rechargeables, but in the long run it's better since you can use them for other purposes also.. :smile:

"You float like a feather.. In a beautiful world.."

Originally posted by .Hack@Jan 29 2006, 06:20 PM

But if you never connect the IU to the batt for sometime the batt inside the IU will die off right?

:smile: This is the question i would like to ask also. Some of u bros here say power must be constantly supply to the unit, some say battery drain off very fast. If like tat, meaning to say i dun use the unit, but i gotta regularly keep an eye on the unit power :? Cos if completely drain off, then ERP unit will have problem powering it up again. :? I'm thinking of just dump the stupid unit into some corner, when wana use it then mount it on, so that existing space can mount a GPS unit instead of the stupid ERP unit.

Cheeko > Your bike got external power point?

If not, can easily install one, plus switch and fuse, at most $5 only. Then when you need it, connect to your ERP unit, switch it on, and presto!

Can use it to charge HP and all other car accessories also. Cigg lighter sockets cost like $1.50 only.

Originally posted by .Hack@Jan 29 2006, 04:42 PM

So you are using battery housing right? Do you need to power up the IU all the time?

I don't think 9V is sufficient. Pardon me if I am wrong though but the thing is supposed to run on 12V (normal motorbike battery rating)

Therefore, I used the 8 x 1.5V AA size housing.

I only put the batteries when I know I am going through a gantry, else I won't even bother bringing it around.

Before I leave my c/park, I'd just put all the batts in, clip it onto the fairing. Once I reached destination, just plug out one of the batteries and put it in the IU cover and close the cover (hey it perfectly fits well!)

So far, I have not changed a single Energizer battery since I used this method like a year back?

Don't need to use rechargeable lah, so hardcore sial. Unless if you go through gantry regularly. But then again, if u go through gantry regularly, might as well install it permanently, dui bu dui?

About putting it under pillion seat, wo bu zhi dao man..

Some ppl can do it successfully. Me, cannot. Everytime cannot detect. I still believe that it's because the sensors cannot penetrate something so thick like opaque plastics or leather seats. Then letter come, make one stupid trip to inspection centre. Trip cost 30 mins, technician talk less than 5 mins. Go, heart pain. Never go, can kena compound summon. Toopid.

Fer everyday...

is an adventure...

when you're astride...

a green monster..

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 29 2006, 07:02 PM

Cheeko > Your bike got external power point?

If not, can easily install one, plus switch and fuse, at most $5 only. Then when you need it, connect to your ERP unit, switch it on, and presto!

Can use it to charge HP and all other car accessories also. Cigg lighter sockets cost like $1.50 only.

Mr Neo, thank u for ur suggestion, my bike do has an external connection, its under the seat, which means i have place the ERP under the seat. By the way, where can i purchase the fuse & switch?

Now problem is whether the ERP battery will drain off or not if disconnect & put away for sometime. :smile:

Originally posted by shaunz@Jan 30 2006, 11:20 AM

while u all toking bout making it portable..

i suddenly came up an idea

put the erp as arm strap. so go past use, after tat remove :cheeky:

Past Rides

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 30 2006, 11:03 AM

Mr Neo, thank u for ur suggestion, my bike do has an external connection, its under the seat, which means i have place the ERP under the seat. By the way, where can i purchase the fuse & switch?

Now problem is whether the ERP battery will drain off or not if disconnect & put away for sometime. :smile:

If yr bike has the external connection, then U dun need the fuse & switch. Just plug yr portable IU into the external connection when U need. Pls make sure yr IU connector are compatible to yr external connection.

:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

i didnt know the IU has internal battery until u guys mentioned it. What is the purpose anyway? there isnt anytime for the IU to keep track rite? how would i know whether the battery is dead or still alive?

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/marzocchi84/la_LM6F3528.jpg

Supermoto Is Not A CRIME .