[Group] SUZUKI Bandit

Your bike very nicely done up, the orange paintwork, mirrors and the headlight change the Bandit image of a "Uncle's Bike" :thumb:

The mod of the rear shock, and the height raised is also just nice, very sporty look.

Can I check what is the head cowling you using, and also the bottle in front is it the oil catch tank?

I used to ride the Bandit, the engine never gives me problem, I have even open up the top cover to check the valve clearance.

If encounter bike cannot start, check the interlock connection(side stand switch, clutch switch etc) battery, rectifier and CDI( common known problem for the bandit).

the head cowl is the alien type i got it from yc trading and the bottle is my radiator reservoir.mine i'm not ure wts the prob.. ately if i were to ride in the rain. after sometime the bike will just dies off... it's like no supply of petrol.. still trying to find the root cause .. recently just changed my carb.. will montior further..

• Replies 8.5k

if its good i would want. but stanco oso interested right.

the ohlin one still no news? haha

wah bro.. change ur head lite liao ah?? hehehe power ah.. next is the sit???hehehe

anyone??? :pity:

bro all the gsxr400r rear shocks we can use. as for washing or servicing to some shops it's the same but some shops if u say wash they just clean it..nothing else adn yes they will definitely open up the carb. if u say service carb.. some shops will clean and replace those faulty parts in the carb itself. so please do let them know wat u really want them to do..... as for tyres u can do a window shopping and ask ard the prices of the tyres. :)

but gsxr400 also quite old liao, worth to change to their suspension? can help ask ur mech got any newer model bike suspension can just do a 1 to 1 swap?

the gsr belong to who???

the gsr is Rain from street fighter thread 1.

肥仔七åƒå·

the head cowl is the alien type i got it from yc trading and the bottle is my radiator reservoir.mine i'm not ure wts the prob.. ately if i were to ride in the rain. after sometime the bike will just dies off... it's like no supply of petrol.. still trying to find the root cause .. recently just changed my carb.. will montior further..

From your description, your spark plug rubber cap is worn, hence rain water seep into the spark plug recess hole. I encounter the same issue on my impulse, after replace with new cap rubbers and its fine. It cost $5 per cap, hence I replace all 4 of them and it can be easily replace on your own.

Just use pen knife to cut away the old rubber cap, turn the spark plug ignitor cap anti clock wise to disengage. Slot in new rubber cap, trim a little at the end of the ignitor wire and screw in the spark plug ignitor cap. Apply some grease on the new rubber cap to keep it soft (engine heat will harden and it will crack overtime if not maintained) also the grease help prevents rain water and its ready.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

but which model? Gsrx got 400, 600, 750 and 1000 leh.

Wah... I thought bridgestone is atas brand but turn out to be cheapest. :lol: so where and how much u change? And that time during our first meet up, u say yishun got 1 shop that wash the carb... Can give me the shop name and add?

Actaully almost all the suspension of the bigger suzuki bikes can fit, I have tried 1993 GSXR750 rear shock on bandit 400, 1999 Katana 750 rear shock on GSXR400 and it work. Normally I chose the better condition and affordable one on Ebay, because the shipping cost is quite expensive, be patience and you will find a good deal.

I suggest to use the latest shock (gsxr750/1000) from 2001 onwards, with the built in piggy back reservoir (what Techo21 using), just need to mod a little to shift the battery holder back to fit in. Try to avoid SV650 rear shock because they are very soft and Hayabusa as its too long (eye to eye is 320mm vs 300mm).

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

From your description, your spark plug rubber cap is worn, hence rain water seep into the spark plug recess hole. I encounter the same issue on my impulse, after replace with new cap rubbers and its fine. It cost $5 per cap, hence I replace all 4 of them and it can be easily replace on your own.

Just use pen knife to cut away the old rubber cap, turn the spark plug ignitor cap anti clock wise to disengage. Slot in new rubber cap, trim a little at the end of the ignitor wire and screw in the spark plug ignitor cap. Apply some grease on the new rubber cap to keep it soft (engine heat will harden and it will crack overtime if not maintained) also the grease help prevents rain water and its ready.

ya.. i was thinking of the same thing.. do you know where i can get a replacement?? maybe KS at jln besar might have it. or any shop have it?from wat i see u must be a very technical person too.. DIY alot on ur bike?? anyway thks for the info will give it a try.

Actaully almost all the suspension of the bigger suzuki bikes can fit, I have tried 1993 GSXR750 rear shock on bandit 400, 1999 Katana 750 rear shock on GSXR400 and it work. Normally I chose the better condition and affordable one on Ebay, because the shipping cost is quite expensive, be patience and you will find a good deal.

I suggest to use the latest shock (gsxr750/1000) from 2001 onwards, with the built in piggy back reservoir (what Techo21 using), just need to mod a little to shift the battery holder back to fit in. Try to avoid SV650 rear shock because they are very soft and Hayabusa as its too long (eye to eye is 320mm vs 300mm).

i agree wit ih...seems like s750wp has done his homework too..hehehehe

but gsxr400 also quite old liao, worth to change to their suspension? can help ask ur mech got any newer model bike suspension can just do a 1 to 1 swap?

the gsr is Rain from street fighter thread 1.

bro anything newer the price will be higher... my advise save up and i will bring u to bikelab. he can do the same setup as mine if u want to.

ebay... actually that's where i intend to shop at. but need to know what to take note of. like the 300mm thing? so bandit is 300mm?

what other things do i have to take note of?

bro anything newer the price will be higher... my advise save up and i will bring u to bikelab. he can do the same setup as mine if u want to.

how much urs cost ah?

but need to leave my bike there for 2 weeks? :giddy:

肥仔七åƒå·

yeah techno. how much urs cost?

if me n stanco do together got discount? hehe :cheeky:

Power is nothing without control

yeah techno. how much urs cost?

if me n stanco do together got discount? hehe :cheeky:

mine should be ard $450 perhaps u guys dun have to leave it for 2 weeks.. since he already have done mine .. should not be a prob for him to do the same settings ... perhaps i can check with him if i he caan do it ith out u gus leaving ur bike there.

ya.. i was thinking of the same thing.. do you know where i can get a replacement?? maybe KS at jln besar might have it. or any shop have it?from wat i see u must be a very technical person too.. DIY alot on ur bike?? anyway thks for the info will give it a try.

I bought the ignitor rubber cap from KS. I DIY most of the staffs if I have the proper tools, if not I will let the bike shop handle.

Refer to this link for my DIY

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70684&page=7

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

mine should be ard $450 perhaps u guys dun have to leave it for 2 weeks.. since he already have done mine .. should not be a prob for him to do the same settings ... perhaps i can check with him if i he caan do it ith out u gus leaving ur bike there.

I think you can purchase a GSXR750/1000 rear shock for ebay it will cost less than that inclusive of installation. I bought from ebay and installed on my own, it cost about $150.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

I bought the ignitor rubber cap from KS. I DIY most of the staffs if I have the proper tools, if not I will let the bike shop handle.

Refer to this link for my DIY

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=70684&page=7

bro.. like that i can ask u for help on doing my valve clearance.. if u dun mind lah... hehehe .. anywy will be going down to KS tomorrow to get the spark plug rubber thingy.and also the radiator hose.anywa where do u stay bro?

thanks a lot man. but ill be happy if he can just make one which is better than my current one. dont need to make till so ups. cheaper oso. hehe.

Power is nothing without control

I think you can purchase a GSXR750/1000 rear shock for ebay it will cost less than that inclusive of installation. I bought from ebay and installed on my own, it cost about $150.

will u be kind enough to help if i buy 1 off ebay since u got experience doing it? :pity:

:eek:

$450... too expensive for us liao lah. got cheaper alternative or not?

肥仔七åƒå·

bro.. like that i can ask u for help on doing my valve clearance.. if u dun mind lah... hehehe .. anywy will be going down to KS tomorrow to get the spark plug rubber thingy.and also the radiator hose.anywa where do u stay bro?

I can guide you to doing the valve clearance, but you need to purchase and standby the following. Or just pay GH $65 to do it for you. :angel:

1. Cam cover gasket $28, you can reuse, but better to change in case oil leak then you have to drain the coolant and open up the cam cover again.

2. For the side engine cover gasket, no need to change, I have reuse mine and there is no oil leak at all.

3. Coolant 2L for Bandit I think

4. High Temp RTV sealant, $5 a tube.

The tools I have and I can borrow you. Also the bike needs to fully cool down before can start the valve clearance. I am staying at Telok Blangah Cresecent.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

will u be kind enough to help if i buy 1 off ebay since u got experience doing it? :pity:

I can guide you to do it, just need two 14mm spanner that's all. However I do not have the c ring spanner to adjust the spring compression, normally the bigger cc rear shock spring is quite stiff.

If not just pay the labour fee to JB mech to install for you should be less than $30 to do it.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

thanks a lot man. but ill be happy if he can just make one which is better than my current one. dont need to make till so ups. cheaper oso. hehe.

ok.. i understand.. the only alternative is to follow wat s750wp suggest.

Just simply make a search on ebay and you can finds tons of gsxr rear shock. If not can try your luck at the scrap yard, called before heading down. Ah Ann trading 96256549, they shifted recently, but I lost his name card.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Gsxr-600-750-rear-shock-2006-06-2007-07-No-reserve-/200466879842?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item2eacc1d562

Edited by S750WP

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Hai guys... Been busy recently... If u guys want a meet up this month

pls do arrange n organise among urself k.. Its hard for me to organize this time..

If can maybe either one of u organize n update me...

I'll try to come... Got lots of things needs to settle..

Good luck guys n keep in contact...

Will be logging in once in a while to check on the update..

Cheerios Banditos..

Honda NSR150SP>> 2006 - 2008

Suzuki Bandit GSF400P>> 2008 - 2011

Suzuki GSR400 2008>> 2011 - Current

"Don't Care How Slow You Ride, As Long You Reach Your Destination Safely"

http://www.otisworldwide.com/img/d40-saferider.jpg

Ride Safe Brothers...!!!! :thumb:

Hey S750WP, so u mean any bigger GSXR cc rear shock can fit our bandit...?

Is it true...?

Honda NSR150SP>> 2006 - 2008

Suzuki Bandit GSF400P>> 2008 - 2011

Suzuki GSR400 2008>> 2011 - Current

"Don't Care How Slow You Ride, As Long You Reach Your Destination Safely"

http://www.otisworldwide.com/img/d40-saferider.jpg

Ride Safe Brothers...!!!! :thumb: