[Group] SUZUKI Bandit

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 6 2004, 07:53 PM

After summarising the list Kenneth dig out, Here is the conclusion of parts I'm going to get for my next servicing.

Total semi-syn engine oil $4.70 per bot, 3 bot $14.10

Denso spark plugs $4 ea, 4 plugs $16

elo frenz....look like ur bike u don alot of D.I.Y....really save $$$$......dun mind where u stayin.....may one day can drop by....me saty at ubi....kekeke :thumb:

OnLy ThE StRoNg SuRvIvE..!!!!

• Replies 8.5k

Originally posted by steng_z@Oct 6 2004, 08:19 PM

elo frenz....look like ur bike u don alot of D.I.Y....really save $$$$......dun mind where u stayin.....may one day can drop by....me saty at ubi....kekeke :thumb:

No problem DIY bike together la, la kopi or JB pump petrol also can. Me stay telok blangah.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 6 2004, 07:46 PM

I interested to find out how much is it to mount a maxia top box on the bandit400

or something similar to the picture below.

http://i8.ac.yahoo.com/users/8/1/1/1/beehongtang-img600x450-1096990504p1000049.jpg

Thts a givi J rack...will help u ask the bike shop in malacca la..or u can go ask chiap lee :)

next diy let me know.i oso time to change oil :) n tyres hahahah

BTW our bike can put fuel filter? thinking of buying a 2nd tank, enlarge it, then treat it with whtever anti rust leh...any lubang?

Kenneth

Kenneth ;)

Leisure riding...explore riding... but not FREE RIDING

Telur sebiji, riuh sekampung! - (Direct translation) Lay one egg, tell whole village

Originally posted by chee_teck@Oct 6 2004, 09:51 PM

Thts a givi J rack...will help u ask the bike shop in malacca la..or u can go ask chiap lee :)

next diy let me know.i oso time to change oil :) n tyres hahahah

BTW our bike can put fuel filter? thinking of buying a 2nd tank, enlarge it, then treat it with whtever anti rust leh...any lubang?

Kenneth

Try putting fuel filter on my 750 before, but bike choke and die. Because our bike are not using fuel pump, gravity fed only, unless cam find some fuel filter that allow fuel to flow through quickly but efficient enough to filter out the rust.

For now I will clean my carb every time together with the engine oil change, since the carb cleaner I can get for $3.

Alternative there is a product from US, abt US$100++ for treating rust in the fuel tank, a ex forumer bought the stuff and try it, very effective. I will try to make a search for the name of the product.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 6 2004, 10:13 PM

Try putting fuel filter on my 750 before, but bike choke and die. Because our bike are not using fuel pump, gravity fed only, unless cam find some fuel filter that allow fuel to flow through quickly but efficient enough to filter out the rust.

For now I will clean my carb every time together with the engine oil change, since the carb cleaner I can get for $3.

Alternative there is a product from US, abt US$100++ for treating rust in the fuel tank, a ex forumer bought the stuff and try it, very effective. I will try to make a search for the name of the product.

OK found the product name, its called POR-15

Por-15

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by chee_teck@Oct 6 2004, 09:32 AM

XiaoP and everyone,

I will be going to malacca this weekend to install Wing Rack for RM480. If u think its a steal, do come along with me and we "mass install" there to get a even better price :p

Will be leaving Sat (bout noon time) or Fri night bout 11pm

So far i know xiaoP had shown interest la, but dunno hsi timing can or not. If u wan to stay over ntie in Mlk i can help u arrange accomodation.

Kenneth

I need to refuel my bike, maybe will meet up with you then.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

XioP,

Sorry i accidentally deleted ur sms canu msg me ur number again?

BTW tomolo morning 6amGP too early la.i leaving bout 3pm leh.got tution..sms me again we work something out. Gary wana pump petrol n escort us hehehe

Kenneth 93897446

Kenneth ;)

Telur sebiji, riuh sekampung! - (Direct translation) Lay one egg, tell whole village

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 6 2004, 11:48 PM

OK found the product name, its called POR-15

Por-15

Yah is saw tht thread...very messy leh... :) anymore lubang?maybe when i bring the tank to enlarge the workshop ppl got ways to antirust it?will keep everyone posted :)

BTW just changed BT020 today. Too early to comment...but o far ok la :)

Kenneth

Kenneth ;)

s750wp,

check withyou, do you know how to fine tune a gsx750 rear suspension with canister?

i just fixed one and it seems the settings are a bit stiff, althought ALOT more better than my stock 6-yrs old suspension.

I dont know how to 'feel' and set the compression & rebound damping. And for the spring, which way is softer & harder? no numbers only lots of threads.

Could be the stiff suspension and height that cost me to drop my bike during a u turn after just fixing the suspension (made me realise how huge my bike is while lying across 1 lane :giddy: ) gonna change right rear footpeg, and rear brake heel plate+footpeg. Break the heel plate when i tried to straighten the footpeg. Luckily i changed to rxz signal lights for the front if not my half fairing sure cracked, and luckily i happened to do a u turn at a minor road with no vehicles coming, if main road....:giddy:

I just realised something.

Life is not difficult. Its the people around who makes life seems difficult. :|

chee_teck & steng_z

I bought the tank bra at ebay and the seat cowl in the internet.

I tried to find one here but couldnt. Later on I found out the there's

one shop at ubi that makes seat cowls but at that time I bought

my seat cowl already.

Skybono hope you dun mind I post your bike pic here.

S750WP

no problem man but a bit paiseh lah.:sweat:

Since you are meeting up with some of the bandit brothers to DIY,

I think it will be a good idea to ask the other guys if they want to come.

RG had this idea last time. I'm not sure what happen to it.

SILVER

bummer ha but glad to hear you are ok. Cant help you though

with your suspension problem. It looks like s750wp is very knowledgeable

about bikes. For sure he can help you. But if you need a shoulder to

cry on, I got two big ones.:smile:

http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/2872/dsc004871dk6.jpg

Don't think too hard about it. You don't need a reason.

JUST RIDE.

Originally posted by skybono@Oct 9 2004, 11:33 AM

S750WP

no problem man but a bit paiseh lah.:sweat:

Since you are meeting up with some of the bandit brothers to DIY,

I think it will be a good idea to ask the other guys if they want to come.

RG had this idea last time. I'm not sure what happen to it.

er...eventually everyone was too busy to meet up at a common time.

Originally posted by silver@Oct 9 2004, 09:33 AM

s750wp,

check withyou, do you know how to fine tune a gsx750 rear suspension with canister?

i just fixed one and it seems the settings are a bit stiff, althought ALOT more better than my stock 6-yrs old suspension.

I dont know how to 'feel' and set the compression & rebound damping. And for the spring, which way is softer & harder? no numbers only lots of threads.

Could be the stiff suspension and height that cost me to drop my bike during a u turn after just fixing the suspension (made me realise how huge my bike is while lying across 1 lane :giddy: ) gonna change right rear footpeg, and rear brake heel plate+footpeg. Break the heel plate when i tried to straighten the footpeg. Luckily i changed to rxz signal lights for the front if not my half fairing sure cracked, and luckily i happened to do a u turn at a minor road with no vehicles coming, if main road....:giddy:

Silver,

Sorry to hear about the fall, I have no idea how to tweak the suspension, because I given the manual to the owner when I sold off my bike.

I guess you must have alter the bike geometry by changing to a gsxr rear shock, did you measure your old rear shock centre hole to centre hole and compare to the new rear shock, is the new rear shock longer??

A longer rear shock, 1 inch difference, will jack up your rear quite substantially, the front is diving too much, same effect of lowering the fork tubes and makes cornering very unstable. You need to compensate by modifying the dog bones shorter/longer(can't rem which one)

I hope this link can help you set up your rear suspension properly.

Suspension tuning

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by RG@Oct 9 2004, 05:45 PM

er...eventually everyone was too busy to meet up at a common time.

Kenneth wants to fix his leaking valve cover, maybe check valve clerance too, will wait for him to come back from malcaca fist than arrange time to DIY then whoever wans to come, just join lor.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 10 2004, 09:53 PM

Kenneth wants to fix his leaking valve cover, maybe check valve clerance too, will wait for him to come back from malcaca fist than arrange time to DIY then whoever wans to come, just join lor.

Getting a venue was a problem too.

Too many bikes gather at a void deck can attract unwanted attention, especially from the police.

We din have anyone staying in a pvt estate at tat time.

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 10 2004, 07:42 PM

Silver,

Sorry to hear about the fall, I have no idea how to tweak the suspension, because I given the manual to the owner when I sold off my bike.

I guess you must have alter the bike geometry by changing to a gsxr rear shock, did you measure your old rear shock centre hole to centre hole and compare to the new rear shock, is the new rear shock longer??

A longer rear shock, 1 inch difference, will jack up your rear quite substantially, the front is diving too much, same effect of lowering the fork tubes and makes cornering very unstable. You need to compensate by modifying the dog bones shorter/longer(can't rem which one)

I hope this link can help you set up your rear suspension properly.

Suspension tuning

oh, actually i got the manual for tuning but it only tells me the compression & rebound damping, not the spring one. last time old shock got numbers so i know how to tune but forget which way is which. but i dont know how to judge as to tune the compression & rebound rate. When I go past a hump fast, the suspension throw back the force at me. i go slow, the suspension is stable.

The shock is longer. when i corner, the rear move like 1 piece of wood cos the suspension very stiff, jump on it also didnt move much. a bit unstable too, so didnt really play too hard at my usual corners..heehee... :cheeky:

I just realised something.

Life is not difficult. Its the people around who makes life seems difficult. :|

Originally posted by RG@Oct 11 2004, 12:29 AM

Getting a venue was a problem too.

Too many bikes gather at a void deck can attract unwanted attention, especially from the police.

We din have anyone staying in a pvt estate at tat time.

I normally DIY at the multi story car park, highest level not much vehicles( 1 or 2 car at most), and mostly the units opp the carpark are vacant. There was once I work from 3am to 6am there w/o a single soul.

Occasionally there are police partolling the area, normally they will leave me alone, probably no one complains and I make a habit to clear all my stuffs, except once I was stopped and questioned by a 'green horn' policeman, asking me why am I not wearing helmet when riding in the car park.

I told him I was repairng my bike but he refuse to take that for answer, until I admit I was wrong and I will bring a helmet the next time when repairing bike.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by silver@Oct 11 2004, 01:03 AM

oh, actually i got the manual for tuning but it only tells me the compression & rebound damping, not the spring one. last time old shock got numbers so i know how to tune but forget which way is which. but i dont know how to judge as to tune the compression & rebound rate. When I go past a hump fast, the suspension throw back the force at me. i go slow, the suspension is stable.

The shock is longer. when i corner, the rear move like 1 piece of wood cos the suspension very stiff, jump on it also didnt move much. a bit unstable too, so didnt really play too hard at my usual corners..heehee... :cheeky:

Probably you would like to bring your bike to Bikelab, suspension specialist, and get them to set up the bike propely for ya?. Did you change the shock yourself?

Spring Sag

Free sag

Mine bike although sit low but when I pillion my wife, surprising it did not scrape the exhaust like what my 750 do.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

my rear suspension is a little too soft... always feel a bump when i go over a hump. feel as if somthing hit under the seat. anyone know how to make it stiffer?

Originally posted by S750WP@Oct 10 2004, 09:53 PM

hi Gary,

I am oredi back with my WING rack. Took me from 10am till 6pm to get it fixed :(

Cost in total including workmanship and brackets n rods: RM560

Ur givi Maxia box itself oredi Rm400...(hope i didnt remember wrongly,XIAOP can u correct this figure if its wrong?)

Gary: U wana try DIY in carpark in NTU? hiak hiak hiak...i on :)

Kenneth

Kenneth ;)

Originally posted by chee_teck@Oct 12 2004, 08:12 AM

hi Gary,

I am oredi back with my WING rack. Took me from 10am till 6pm to get it fixed :(

Cost in total including workmanship and brackets n rods: RM560

Ur givi Maxia box itself oredi Rm400...(hope i didnt remember wrongly,XIAOP can u correct this figure if its wrong?)

Gary: U wana try DIY in carpark in NTU? hiak hiak hiak...i on :)

Kenneth

morning frenz...dun mind post the pic of ur bike with the rack.....must B nice ah...:lovestruck:

OnLy ThE StRoNg SuRvIvE..!!!!

Originally posted by steng_z@Oct 12 2004, 09:13 AM

morning frenz...dun mind post the pic of ur bike with the rack.....must B nice ah...:lovestruck:

K, will do once i get hold of a digi cam.

Kenneth

Kenneth ;)

Hi bros...am thinking of getting a bandit v...just like to get some opinions on the bike (common problems etc.)...also, I'm more used to riding single cylinders (scrams) so would appreciate if anyone can list a breakdown of the regular servicing needed...carbs sync and others etc. (how often) and the average costs.....Thanks guys :smile:

Originally posted by gRidLock@Oct 12 2004, 02:35 PM

Hi bros...am thinking of getting a bandit v...just like to get some opinions on the bike (common problems etc.)...also, I'm more used to riding single cylinders (scrams) so would appreciate if anyone can list a breakdown of the regular servicing needed...carbs sync and others etc. (how often) and the average costs.....Thanks guys :smile:

Take some time n effort, look thru the previous posts in this thread.

Yur answers are all here. :goodluck:

well I actually spent about 45 min looking thru...read the articles on the cdi (think they talking abt the older model).....couldn't find more (or maybe the topics are way further back), that's why i posted here....was hoping someone experienced could answer here or pm me....cheers..:smile:

Originally posted by gRidLock@Oct 12 2004, 02:35 PM

Bike servicing very similar to the P Model.

VV Model u may ask chinjoon for common wear n tear problems. If i never remember wrongly he changed timing chain, coolant pump or seal and a few other parts. Spark plug cap i heard he changed 6 times :faint: dunno if the workshop he go never fix properly or its common problem with vv model.

Other servicing very similar to any in line for engines la.Just tht vv model also bout 8 years old liow, so expect common wearing parts such as oil seals, engine oil hose, leaking radiator,hose,seal etc.

Not many of us ride a vv here now :D but from all i gather its a powerful bike with higher fuel consumption of course hehehe....so cant provide much infor for u. Hope the others here can provide u more info la

U aiming for the bike in the garage sales?

Kenneth :goodluck:

Dun forget to approach our helpful and friendly chinjoon

Kenneth ;)