• Replies 19.4k

Reviews of CBR1000RR owner from other country.

Between 8-11k, this fuggin bike is like riding a bull who has just had his nuts chopped off. It's very fast, the motor is so smooth doing it, the speed just creeps up. Leaned over, this bike is just as stable as the RC51 or at least close, and that is saying heaps, Honda has done their homework again. The bike simply puts the power to the ground, I wasn't getting wheelspin today at all. The BT014s grip well, they don't stick like the M1s, but they are grippy, predictable, and phenomenal tires, a definitive step up from the BT010s that I once used. With the RC, I can (comparison sake here) lean it over on the edge of the tire at will once the tires are somewhat heated. I can hang off of it, whatever, I was close to doing that today on stock suspension. My RC has full ohlins all the way around.

What else... The damper you don't even think about it. I felt it actually once today, because I hit the throttle on a crest and the front wheel got a few inches off the ground and started skipping, I could feel the pull of that damper somehow.. I kept leaning it over, and whacking the throttle with a gradual motion from slow to fast, not WFO all at once, a nice smooth roll...

The bike just stuck to the ground and tookoff, no light front end, no nothing, solid stability. I'm in awe of how stable this thing really is, with a Ohlins in the back and DK forks, Omgoodness, I might be going to jail if caught

It's really frikkin hard to upset the suspension, between the chassis and shock/forks, the damn thing just soaks it up.

The ergos will take a little getting used to. Feels a lot like the RC when it was stock (no Sato Clip Ons), semi rack. It is comfortable enough for 100-150 miles, longer days (We rode a little over 300 today), my upper back was sore. I'll definitely be looking forward to Mr. Satosan making some bars for this one The seat didn't really bother me much today, I just move around a lot so that helps, Corbin couldn't hurt.

This is the best stock bike I've ever ridden. That whole bike or whole package sh*t that Honda has advertised isn't just marketing, it's the truth. The bike as a package is unlike anything I've ridden (stock), when you are riding it, the bike just feels solid, and like each part was made perfectly to go with the other perfect part if that makes any sense. I think the press and many others have underestimated this bike. If all the magz hated it, I'd still laugh at them. Some (MO, Cyclenews, and the Europress) are hailing it. Trackho saying he wants 2 of them should speak heaps. You've never ridden a bike like this. The bike just sticks to the turns.

Last thing I can think of is the sound and exhaust when you get in the upper RPM range, it sounds nice, very growly instead of that high whine that I associate with a Yosh piped Gixxer (sorry Chain ).

Whatever they are charging for it, is a steal.

Edit: Forgot to mention the flick and the stick.

It flicks as easy at the 929/954.

The stick. These brakes are fuggin incredible. The feel is as good as the stopping power, they are progressive. I lofted the rear a couple of times (inches not feet). Following Holeshot today, he and I both overshot some turns (fargin no riding winter ) and I had to get on the brakes while leaned over, let's just say they are very forgiving, and the bike in a whole is forgiving. With stainless lines (from the master cylinder to the Y, is rubber, I think the rest is stainless/kevlar) and HRC pads, you'd be hard pressed to find a better braking system anywhere, including some racebikes.

Here's the link.

http://www.fireblades.org/forums/showthread.php?t=15326

Sounds a lot like what Jo from Sporting Motor told me. On track, the 04R1 and ZX-10R isn't as composed as the RR4. Coming out of corners, it's not very stable. Don't flame me, I was told.

They've ordered a HRC RR4 from Japan which is coming. Produces a whopping 200hp. Jo will probably blueprint that HRC model, and make available the mods for the street version.

Ken, care to post your dyno for all to see? Finally you can sleep well.

There will be a makan trip tonight at JB. Meeting @ GP Esso @ 9:45pm to 10pm. All are welcome.

Testing Of HESD

For those of you who think you might be having problems with the Honda Electronic Steering Damper , Honda has provided a quick self-test for comparing minimum and maximum damping, without riding the bike.

Test procedure is as follows..

Raise and support the front of the bike. Move the steering back and forth several times to get a "feel" for minimum damping.

1. Lower the side stand

2. Shift tranny into a gear other than neutral.

3. Open the throttle fully ( WFO ).

4. Turn the ignition switch on while maintaining steps 1-3.

The HESD icon on the LCD display should start blinking ( If not, start over ).

For the next 10 seconds, the ECM will set the HESD to maximum damping ( full-stiff ). Compare this to minimum damping. If there is no change, replace the HESD unit.

NOTE: This test will not work if the Malfunction Indicator Lamp has indicated a problem exists in the PGM-DSFI ( MIL is flashing ).

Also note: Some moto-mags have implied that the HESD provides no damping when it's "off". This is not true! Unless the HESD unit is damaged ( IE-no oil, etc ), it always provides a small amount of damping, even with the key off.

Now you can see just how much damping the HESD provides, check to see if yours is working, or just impress your friends with your knowledge of Honda PGM-DSFI's self diagnostics.

Originally posted by Ken@Jul 2 2004, 05:40 PM

Testing Of HESD

For those of you who think you might be having problems with the Honda Electronic Steering Damper , Honda has provided a quick self-test for comparing minimum and maximum damping, without riding the bike.

Test procedure is as follows..

Raise and support the front of the bike. Move the steering back and forth several times to get a "feel" for minimum damping.

1. Lower the side stand

2. Shift tranny into a gear other than neutral.

3. Open the throttle fully ( WFO ).

4. Turn the ignition switch on while maintaining steps 1-3.

The HESD icon on the LCD display should start blinking ( If not, start over ).

For the next 10 seconds, the ECM will set the HESD to maximum damping ( full-stiff ). Compare this to minimum damping. If there is no change, replace the HESD unit.

NOTE: This test will not work if the Malfunction Indicator Lamp has indicated a problem exists in the PGM-DSFI ( MIL is flashing ).

Also note: Some moto-mags have implied that the HESD provides no damping when it's "off". This is not true! Unless the HESD unit is damaged ( IE-no oil, etc ), it always provides a small amount of damping, even with the key off.

Now you can see just how much damping the HESD provides, check to see if yours is working, or just impress your friends with your knowledge of Honda PGM-DSFI's self diagnostics.

:thumb: Good info.

Originally posted by Ken@Jul 2 2004, 05:33 PM

haiz... got scanner but no software... format the pc once but misplaced the software... cant post.

show to u when we meet.

Wow, your dyno figures if compared to the MotorCycleUSA one will put the RR4 at the top for torque @ 80.41.

Your HP @ 152.65 is only second to ZX10R, which is 155.6.

But your friend's K4 is producing 160HP, which again tops the chart. How much torque?

Looi's dyno must be very well oiled.

so many ppl trading in there 929/954 for CBr1000?

got 2nd hand 1 intro me ,me need cls2 bike (929/954) best! :offtopic:

http://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_kanan.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_katagiri.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_ringo.gifhttp://www.tactics.ne.jp/~baseson/koihime/image/staff_yuukisan.gif
Originally posted by Tashi@Jul 3 2004, 10:48 AM

Wow, your dyno figures if compared to the MotorCycleUSA one will put the RR4 at the top for torque @ 80.41.

Your HP @ 152.65 is only second to ZX10R, which is 155.6.

But your friend's K4 is producing 160HP, which again tops the chart. How much torque?

Looi's dyno must be very well oiled.

his torque if didn't remembered wrongly is 82.XX

bth, the hp cannot use magazine to magazine compare cos different machine n other factors.

However meng tong did mention that my figures isn't accurate cos i didnt take out the emission thingy which he keep asking me to take out, which could increase the bike acceleration by 40%.

About the hp n torque gains, he said that he dynoed a 04R1 which had gain hp from 140 something to 150 something before and after he took out the emmission thingy.

But the exhuast will sound a bit more loud.

So dun think will wanna take out the emmission thingy for the gains as i m happy with the current figures and most importantly, i love my current exhuast notes.

It's so smooth and solid~~

but might install pc in future to get a better a/f ratio as think all japanese bike is more rich in the fuel ratio...

Originally posted by Ken@Jul 14 2004, 09:46 PM

er...........................................................................................................................

wat............................ :slapforehead:

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Ken, you're a regular Petronas user. Did you realise that the petrol has an oily film? On a full tank, I don't see that oil film on top when I pump other petrols.

How much is that surgery Meng Tong talks about?

er, dun get what u mean by the oil film?

care to elaborate more?

how much ah, if didn't remembered wrongly is below $100.

but is not Loois do themselves, they sent to another shop i think call what kwang.... this shop seems to be specialized in custom made bracket, think is located at sin ming...

why, wanna take out the restriction liao huh.

hehehehe.

Originally posted by Ken@Jul 18 2004, 04:04 AM

er, dun get what u mean by the oil film?

care to elaborate more?

how much ah, if didn't remembered wrongly is below $100.

but is not Loois do themselves, they sent to another shop i think call what kwang.... this shop seems to be specialized in custom made bracket, think is located at sin ming...

why, wanna take out the restriction liao huh.

hehehehe.

Like oil floating on top of water cos they don't mix. Next time when you pump full tank @ petronas, you can see a layer of oil on top. :giddy:

Just thinking about it.

Checked, wont be able to see the oil, but can see the shadows of the oil film.

Another friend who went with me, pumped the esso, also got the shadows of the oil film...

haiz...

Since we had been pumping for so long and still okie...

I just bought a RR4. Waiting for collection this coming wednesday. by the way i bought the black blade.

To those interested, the machine price cost $23500 without insurance.

i'm 25, 2nd party insurance costs me about $1500.

1st part costs about $3500! This is quoted from NTUC.

of course, i took a 2nd party insurance. So $23500+$1500=$25000

Thats OTR price.

For minimal downpayment, i need to pay 20% of 25k which is 5k. So, i down 5k. actually i trade in my cbr400rrr for $4200 and just pay the difference for the downpayment.

Meaning I loan 20k. this 20k if loan for 4 years, the interest is 4.5% per year.

If you drag till 5 years, the interest is 5% per year. i chose 5 years.

so, 20k + (20k x 5 years x 5%) / 60 months = $417 (per year interest is 1k!)

my monthly installment is $417.

by the way, the bike is from boon siew and not parallel import.

above quoted from ASPHOON. U will get the same result if u go to looi. the reason i chose asphoon is because they accept my cbr400 trade in. :-)

hope the above info helps if u 1 2 get a RR4!

2B - Yamaha TZM150, Kawasaki KRR ZX150

2A - Honda CBR400RR FireBlade

2 - Honda CBR1000RR FireBlade

3 - Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6(M)(Sports)

http://www.marketiva.com/images/banners/ENG_marketiva_468x60_1.gif

You may want to try the high rev run in method.

The RR4 dynoed by mags produces 145-147 hp. Ken and my RR4 was broken into using high rev method. His dyno results gave 152 hp.

Check out this link.

High Rev Run In

There're lots of discussion on this somewhere in this forum, probably in this thread as well, just do a search.

Of course, do so @ your own risk. This involves pushing your bike to 11,000rpm on 2nd and 3rd gear. You may want to do it on a dyno @ Looi's.

If you're jumping from 400cc to 1000cc, I don't recommend you to do it on public roads. :help:

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 2 2004, 11:26 PM

You may want to try the high rev run in method.

The RR4 dynoed by mags produces 145-147 hp. Ken and my RR4 was broken into using high rev method. His dyno results gave 152 hp.

Check out this link.

High Rev Run In

There're lots of discussion on this somewhere in this forum, probably in this thread as well, just do a search.

Of course, do so @ your own risk. This involves pushing your bike to 11,000rpm on 2nd and 3rd gear. You may want to do it on a dyno @ Looi's.

If you're jumping from 400cc to 1000cc, I don't recommend you to do it on public roads. :help:

i guess i leave it to loois dyno to break in my engine. by the way, how u break in ur engine? on the street, track or dyno?

1 more thing, how much does it cost to dyno run at looi?

2B - Yamaha TZM150, Kawasaki KRR ZX150

2A - Honda CBR400RR FireBlade

2 - Honda CBR1000RR FireBlade

3 - Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6(M)(Sports)

http://www.marketiva.com/images/banners/ENG_marketiva_468x60_1.gif

Originally posted by Tashi@Aug 2 2004, 11:26 PM

opps~~:sweat:

loois dyno run in is er... not what like the motoune run in method.

it is high rev, but, u might wanna tell meng tong how u wanna run it in.

be more specific with ur own desired run in method, if not he will ''run in'' his own way.