NightPhantom -

valve clearance should take something like 4 or 5 days. it tends to vary depending on the workshop u go to. theoretically, it can b done in 1. but i guess the bike has to b stripped, clearances checked, shims ordered, then checked again, put bike back together. probably it's the ordering part dat takes time. mine needed two shims, odo at 35000 km. the bike needs valve clearance every 25000km according to the manual.

usually some other work is done, u might replace the cam chain, its tensioner or any other part dat appears to need replacement... here ur relationship wif ur workshop plays a great part i think. i mean, dis could b an opportunity to milk u.

Valve clearance is best done if you leave the bike in the shopp for a couple of days. It is a tedious process as I can see my mechanic done it. So its best dun rush him, one time do swee-swee, bike come out will steady one...

• Replies 19.4k

hi guys, got a question to ask regarding front brakes.....when u guys normally use the front brake rite, is there any sound emitting out from there???? The sound is more like hissing sound and its not those screeching sound towards metal.

coz mine have it when i tap the front brake, i just bought this bike not long ago and the seller had did a maintenence service with boon siew not long ago and from wat i see in the invoice, the front pads are changed as well as the front brake fluid......and the sound will be more obvious when the disc brake are getting hot. I've tried cleaning the disc brake thinking that it might be due to the dirt but there isn't any use.

1 of my fren who rode a cbr also had the same sound when braking.....so i was just wondering is this normal???

thx for any help or advice....:)

hi guys, got a question to ask regarding front brakes.....when u guys normally use the front brake rite, is there any sound emitting out from there???? The sound is more like hissing sound and its not those screeching sound towards metal.

coz mine have it when i tap the front brake, i just bought this bike not long ago and the seller had did a maintenence service with boon siew not long ago and from wat i see in the invoice, the front pads are changed as well as the front brake fluid......and the sound will be more obvious when the disc brake are getting hot. I've tried cleaning the disc brake thinking that it might be due to the dirt but there isn't any use.

1 of my fren who rode a cbr also had the same sound when braking.....so i was just wondering is this normal???

Bro... u bought from Peter rite? I had a few conversations with him via PM regarding the sale as I'm riding a 06 model as well and also due to a few morons making negative comments abt his sale of the bike...... My front brakes has a hissing sound as well and i'm trying to find the cause of it.... Think should be the accumulated brake dust or the brake disc is slightly rubbing against the brake pads... I'm not too sure...

As for the FC, mine will be 220 km then hit reserve.... mine is rather stock except for K & N air filter and PC 3.... no dyno tunning yet as would like to change exhaust and then go for dyno.... yours shd be using Leo Vince exhaust rite? might affect the FC slightly if not properly tuned...Think u will see the difference in FC if tuning is done.......

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

http://i242.photobucket.com/albums/ff190/aceboles/Girls%20and%20Bikes/pic31.jpg

Straight roads differentiate the rich and the poor

Corners differentiate the boys and the men

It could be normal... since I'm using EBCs and I get that all the time... But yours if change from Boon Siew it shud be OEM pads... Hmnn... thats a thought

I'm using OEMs as well....... same sound......

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

yah, i'm the 1 who bought form peter.....it was well kept by him.....i'm rather concerned about the sound emitting, and i've make a call to boon siew. The mech said that its normal as the brake disc outer edge is thicker than the inner and with the change of the new brake pads, the sound would be there.....and he also added that the performance in braking wouldn't be affected.

however he say that if want to eliminate the sound, they can do a sanding of the disc. hhmmm, was wondering whether to leave it as it is or to go for a sanding which he say that would cost $30-$40..... :sian:

anyway, even though with the leo vince, for this latest full tank that i had, now i've achieved 220.6km and the reserve light is still not yet on.....i'm rather happy about it!!

yah, i'm the 1 who bought form peter.....it was well kept by him.....i'm rather concerned about the sound emitting, and i've make a call to boon siew. The mech said that its normal as the brake disc outer edge is thicker than the inner and with the change of the new brake pads, the sound would be there.....and he also added that the performance in braking wouldn't be affected.

however he say that if want to eliminate the sound, they can do a sanding of the disc. hhmmm, was wondering whether to leave it as it is or to go for a sanding which he say that would cost $30-$40.....

I think you better leave it as it is since it is normal. If you sand/ skim the disc, you might damage it

alrite i'll just leave it as its original form.....btw for the current full tank i had, i've achieved a 234km exactly b4 the reserve light came on......was kinda nice to see this figure....

however he say that if want to eliminate the sound, they can do a sanding of the disc. hhmmm, was wondering whether to leave it as it is or to go for a sanding which he say that would cost $30-$40..... :sian:

anyway, even though with the leo vince, for this latest full tank that i had, now i've achieved 220.6km and the reserve light is still not yet on.....i'm rather happy about it!!

I recommend not to do anything to the discs just as bro Skark has suggested as well..... It is pretty normal and happens to mine as well....

As for your FC, I have only seen mine highest once at 240km b4 reserve and tat's when i just changed the air filter...... other than tat, it always hangers ard 220 -225km....... if u manager to hit 230km b4 reserve, i would think it is pretty good......

"去哪兒???" ("Go where???")

It is perfectly normal. The brake pad is always in contact with the rotor. The actual design of the brake dun cater for the piston at the brake caliper to retract.

Heard u buy already har?? :angel:

Hi guys.. Just wondering.. Anyone knows the price range of the '08 fireblade..?? Got the sudden itch to crossover to honda.. From the reviews in the magazine and internet, the '08 model seems to be a cut above the rest..

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/ee289/SingaporeBikes/Siggy/CrossOver.jpg

|| YAMAHA || HONDA || YAMAHA || YAMAHA ||

Yamaha runs in the blood

Not yet. But starting to buy accessories liao. Will be getting the bike next month!!!!

Upx...Hannspree race farring?? I waiting for my brembo rcs..

Hi guys.. Just wondering.. Anyone knows the price range of the '08 fireblade..?? Got the sudden itch to crossover to honda.. From the reviews in the magazine and internet, the '08 model seems to be a cut above the rest..

Why not wait a few months more for the 09 Yamaha?

Between the 08 Blade and the 09 R1... they're both definitely UGLIER than their predecessors. :lol:

So you can size both of them up based on technology.... :D

How bout 09 ZX10???

Seems alot nicer compared to the previous version but the front signals... :slapforehead:

Why not wait a few months more for the 09 Yamaha?

Between the 08 Blade and the 09 R1... they're both definitely UGLIER than their predecessors. :lol:

So you can size both of them up based on technology.... :D

Haha.. I have to agree that the 09 R1 is awkwardly design.. Initially the blade gave me the same impression.. But after seeing it more and more especially with the aftermarket exhaust.. Its rather appealing..

Yamaha runs in the blood

Damn... all the 08/09 bikes are really really that damned butt ugly aren't they...

Exhaust probably gonna do with the stricter euro emission standard..

For the rest of the appearance, no comments... :lol:

Well I guess they are trying hard to incorporate the motogp looks and technology together.. So far, the 600 series are able to make it..

Yamaha runs in the blood

Around 23k for an agent bike.