Good evening to one and all of SBT,

I am in dilemma and skeptical of a Pulsar 200 2008 model and was quoted 2.8k machine price from one of the shops here. Reason because i surveyed around and a 2009 model cost 4.2k.Didn't get to start the engine as didn't cross my mind a that moment, thinking of the "cheap" and best deal of the bike. I need some good advise whether the price is too good to be true as I suspect that something is a miss. Could anyone enlighten this soul here?

tyga-performance.com

I am in dilemma and skeptical of a Pulsar 200 2008 model and was quoted 2.8k machine price from one of the shops here. Reason because i surveyed around and a 2009 model cost 4.2k.Didn't get to start the engine as didn't cross my mind a that moment, thinking of the "cheap" and best deal of the bike. I need some good advise whether the price is too good to be true as I suspect that something is a miss. Could anyone enlighten this soul here?

The price is really cheap. But just because it is cheap you cannot suspect that there is a problem. Just try riding it and see if you can spot any issue with the engine or anything. Anyways when you get the bike cheap, you have the comfort zone of spending some amount in case of any issues later. It doesn't cost too much to fix minor issue unless its like an engine overhaul which could cost like 200$-1k$ depending upon what the problem is. That is the worst case scenario though.

May '10 - Jun '11 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG2

Jul '11 - Jan '12 : Honda Phantom TA200

Feb '12 - Jul '12 : Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTSi UG3

Aug '12 - Current : Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTSi

how is the condition of the bike?

basic outlook?

quoted 2.8k machine price means there are other cost need to be added

what are these cost?

why not you head down to UM to check out the 2nd hand ones there

might be slightly more ex but they will do up properly for you before you take over the bike...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

so many things to settle n i had to run all over the place :(

so that bike is really yours right...

how are you?

ok?

can make it for Sun A&W trip?

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

alvin..i got a reply from the supplier alrdy..as u noe on the tank mount got 5 holes rite..2 on each side n 1 on the top side..hence..the bottom 2 side the length is 8.5cm..the next 2 is 6.9 cm. the top hole height to the bracket to hold the camera is 3.6cm. i did some measurements n i found out dat the the 4 holes on each side are quite close to each other..not equally spaced out wif the top hole as well..i hope im makin sense..when we meet i'll try to explain

hmm...

a bit confusing

if possible pictures will be best

ps got no time to do the measurements on my bike yet

will do so 2ml

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

how are you?

ok?

this sun got a&w trip? damn..i got weddin to attend...sian

understandably u may not know how to listen to the engine but a good reference point to choose btwn the 2 would be mileage. the higher the mileage, the higher the chances of damage or wear and tear.

hmm...

a bit confusing

will do so 2ml

ok..i'll try to get pics

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
alvin..i got a reply from the supplier alrdy..as u noe on the tank mount got 5 holes rite..2 on each side n 1 on the top side..hence..the bottom 2 side the length is 8.5cm..the next 2 is 6.9 cm. the top hole height to the bracket to hold the camera is 3.6cm. i did some measurements n i found out dat the the 4 holes on each side are quite close to each other..not equally spaced out wif the top hole as well..i hope im makin sense..when we meet i'll try to explain

hmm...

a bit confusing

will do so 2ml

i tink i get what fredd means.. haha.. i try draw the picture.. haha.. see if i'm right..

measurements.JPG

tink shld be able to fit.. our tank has six holes no? but the circumference and size.. haha.. nt sure already.. but i'm hoping it'll work out.. if it does, we can do away with ugly DIY pipe/bicycle camera mounts.. lol..

how are you?

ok?

arthur too busy to reply/spam us nw.. haha.. but lately arthur into alot of these things.. could it be arthur's inner speed devil causing the trouble? or maybe the legendary bike is protesting against it long lifespan? :angel:

and what sunday A&W trip? when say one? i must have missed alot of tings.. lol..

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10752;417/st/20140315/e/Ride+Up+To+Meleka%21/dt/12/k/4d9a/event.png

Bajaj "Firefly" Pulsar 180 > Dec 2008 - present :cool:

this sun got a&w trip? damn..i got weddin to attend...sian

ok..i'll try to get pics

Huh, tot it was last WE the wedding? Tats why vote this coming sun?

Can the mount fit S4?

Better to be Late then Never....

It's Your Choice : LATE / NEVER

Class 2A - 01 Dec 2009

eh! u so clever!!! dats wad i've been tryin to get through to u guys..hehehe..i thought my engrish damn lousy alrdy..so is e layout of e holes e same as pulsar? coz this is e kawai mount. for yammy mount the holes are all equally apart..dats according to my fazer of coz :D

i tink i get what fredd means.. haha.. i try draw the picture.. haha.. see if i'm right..

[ATTACH]200336[/ATTACH]

tink shld be able to fit.. our tank has six holes no? but the circumference and size.. haha.. nt sure already.. but i'm hoping it'll work out.. if it does, we can do away with ugly DIY pipe/bicycle camera mounts.. lol..

arthur too busy to reply/spam us nw.. haha.. but lately arthur into alot of these things.. could it be arthur's inner speed devil causing the trouble? or maybe the legendary bike is protesting against it long lifespan? :angel:

and what sunday A&W trip? when say one? i must have missed alot of tings.. lol..

eh! u so clever!!! dats wad i've been tryin to get through to u guys..hehehe..i thought my engrish damn lousy alrdy..so is e layout of e holes e same as pulsar? coz this is e kawai mount. for yammy mount the holes are all equally apart..dats according to my fazer of coz :D

will do the measurement 2ml

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Change your Honda badge to Bajaj Pulsar, Theives wont come near it :cheeky:

Lol!

After watching Long Way Round, I feel like riding my Pulsar to China. LOL.

Wah harumonia so inspired sia, so let's aim for KL, Penang or even Thailand.

Haha..reali inspiring rite..feel like gettin a bmw 1200r. Bt i tink gaban will agree wif me..when u go tourin..u will reali enjoy it like u wana go every wk..good way to destress seein the scenery. I enjoy gettin lost coz its all part of e adventure n e thrill if ridin at 200km/h constantly..priceless

Hmmm.... is the Trip interest still on. Heard in Jun from 24th to 26th there's a BikeWeek in Penang. Not sure cos unable to find it on google. Saw it here :

[Ride] 4D3N Penang : 8 - 11 June 2011

Better to be Late then Never....

It's Your Choice : LATE / NEVER

Class 2A - 01 Dec 2009

will do the measurement 2ml

tink the kawaiiiiii mount is about the same.. haha.. let's see wad alvin say after he do the measurement.. haha..

Lol!

Wah harumonia so inspired sia, so let's aim for KL, Penang or even Thailand.

Hmmm.... is the Trip interest still on. Heard in Jun from 24th to 26th there's a BikeWeek in Penang. Not sure cos unable to find it on google. Saw it here :

[Ride] 4D3N Penang : 8 - 11 June 2011

i wun be ard then.. haha.. so you guys enjoy! lol.. in any case.. i'm still interested in the long trip up north if you all wana do so! haha.. it'll be really exciting..

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10752;417/st/20140315/e/Ride+Up+To+Meleka%21/dt/12/k/4d9a/event.png

Bajaj "Firefly" Pulsar 180 > Dec 2008 - present :cool:

Yeah, I'll post something tomorrow about the A&W trip - date will be sunday , likely morning, ride a bit , come back to JB A&W for lunch and head back to SG afterward so people have most of their afternoon to be with family/friends and do whatever they need to do on a sunday.

@Fredd, if you're smart enough to gear up when "touring", surely you're gonna figure out a way to gear up aal the time :D There is no difference between falling in SG and falling somewhere else, and don't even mention "leycheh" ! C'mon guys, if you can gear up to go to JB, you can certainly gear up whenever you ride. Try it, bit by bit, you'll see. It's like riding with gloves, until you try it you're not convinced. As soon as you use gloves, you can't imagine riding without them !

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

"leycheh"

hehehehhehe .. "leycheh"... kakakakkaa

wed btwo we wanna want to hear the morroccon / english slang again ..... "hey aku tak bodoh" and "tak leycheh" .... and why I don't get the free treat since I'm also wearing safety gears what? ... wah "ïni tak adil" (not fair) ... kekekeekekekekekkekekkek

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

how are you?

ok?

hehehehhehe .. "leycheh"... kakakakkaa

wed btwo we wanna want to hear the morroccon / english slang again ..... "hey aku tak bodoh" and "tak leycheh" .... and why I don't get the free treat since I'm also wearing safety gears what? ... wah "ïni tak adil" (not fair) ... kekekeekekekekekkekekkek

all the trips cannot go :cry:

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

The price is really cheap. But just because it is cheap you cannot suspect that there is a problem. Just try riding it and see if you can spot any issue with the engine or anything. Anyways when you get the bike cheap, you have the comfort zone of spending some amount in case of any issues later. It doesn't cost too much to fix minor issue unless its like an engine overhaul which could cost like 200$-1k$ depending upon what the problem is. That is the worst case scenario though.

But don't you suspect the price is ridiculously cheap? With the average current market value of 2008 cost about 3.7k, perhaps? Could be 900-1k cheaper is beyond repair? E.g dented frame alignment, major overhaul? Minor issues are fine. Will go down again and check out the mileage. Meantime will be surveying other shops as well...thanks!

tyga-performance.com

how is the condition of the bike?

basic outlook?

quoted 2.8k machine price means there are other cost need to be added

what are these cost?

why not you head down to UM to check out the 2nd hand ones there

might be slightly more ex but they will do up properly for you before you take over the bike...

Outook Condition of bike I would rate 7 upon 10 but internally I've yet to test. If you are referring to the other administrative cost, there is none. If you are referring to replacement parts cost, frankly I do not know. Maybe there is. I headed down to UM yesterday, quite interested with the pulsar and satisfied but the offer of 2.8k is still in my mind. :p

tyga-performance.com

But don't you suspect the price is ridiculously cheap? With the average current market value of 2008 cost about 3.7k, perhaps? Could be 900-1k cheaper is beyond repair? E.g dented frame alignment, major overhaul? Minor issues are fine. Will go down again and check out the mileage. Meantime will be surveying other shops as well...thanks!

do try to find out the history of the bike test ride the bike to see if it is smooth

try to find out if the previos owner service his bike at UM

if it is at UM can find out what was done on the bike before even if don't have all the service reciepts

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

understandably u may not know how to listen to the engine but a good reference point to choose btwn the 2 would be mileage. the higher the mileage, the higher the chances of damage or wear and tear.

Yup, agree. Will compare the mileage again when I go down.

tyga-performance.com

http://i55.tinypic.com/246p751.jpg

light in your favour?

how are you?

any injuries?

how bad is your bike damaged?

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

exact same scenario like my bike accident..juz dat i didnt escape unscathed..i flew i rolled i broke a leg..hehehe..if its u..u r lucky u didnt break any bones

http://i55.tinypic.com/246p751.jpg
Outook Condition of bike I would rate 7 upon 10 but internally I've yet to test. If you are referring to the other administrative cost, there is none. If you are referring to replacement parts cost, frankly I do not know. Maybe there is. I headed down to UM yesterday, quite interested with the pulsar and satisfied but the offer of 2.8k is still in my mind. :p

actually if you want can get the 2.8k bike and send to UM for full check and if need be overhual

overhual is not always bad

overhual is to change new stuff and have your bike last longer

the total cost might still come up to about 3k+ 4k+ after adding in your insurance and road tax etc...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE