Radiator - Problem Encountered

redname

u mean repair @ URS is $180.... hmmm anyway u can custom make a new complete one @ ard 200++???

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

• Replies 240

Originally posted by lindavw@Aug 26 2005, 10:40 PM

u mean repair @ URS is $180.... hmmm anyway u can custom make a new complete one @ ard 200++???

Nope I sent your old radiator to URS, they will settle everything and return it back to me.

It will look exactly the same, because the housing for mounting they will use back, they only weld the new cooling passage(fins).

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

I shouldn't say repair, probably you thought they only patch up the leak.

It should be a custom job radiator, only the mounting housing will use back old one. Cooling passage with fins brand new. Do you feel more at ease now.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Hi mamba, I am riding a ver S too and a friend of mine (Ver S) have this problem too.

He is also going to motor shop very soon and he hope that the mechanic will tell him.. :

" Orrh this one ar! I screw tight can already!! No neeed to charge lar !!"

After he see mechanic i will tell u if thats the case.

they change the whole block to a new ones. i already gone to many shop asking wat can be done. all of them said tat one is internal leaking.

repair can cost up to $1000. my one $1200 included they change EO spark plug and oil filter. now i still owe the shop $350 :cry:

March 2002 - Nov 2002 - Aprillia 125

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 - Honda SP

Nov 2004 - Aug 2006 - Honda Super 4 Ver.S

Aug 2006 till now - Suzuki Hayabusa

u go urs, u still have to make effort dismantle urself, take transport there, 2 -3 days later, go there take, go ack still have to spend some effort doing the thing, flush ur own coolant, sian leh.

i rather go motordiam ask them do, i jus did mine, $220, jus put my bike there for 1 day but i was heng lah, the bikesho jus happen to have a new custom made radiator, so i jus jump que, if not have to wait 3 - 4 days like tht

Originally posted by S750WP@Aug 26 2005, 10:55 PM

I shouldn't say repair, probably you thought they only patch up the leak.

It should be a custom job radiator, only the mounting housing will use back old one. Cooling passage with fins brand new. Do you feel more at ease now.

yah, everyting is new except the shell outside. veri significant change in my bike temp. ytd went to m'sia, i normally need to splash water on my bike @ the petrol stn in order to cool my bike down then will have smoke screen but ytd only a bit of smoke only

Originally posted by redname@Aug 29 2005, 12:13 PM

u go urs, u still have to make effort dismantle urself, take transport there, 2 -3 days later, go there take, go ack still have to spend some effort doing the thing, flush ur own coolant, sian leh.

i rather go motordiam ask them do, i jus did mine, $220, jus put my bike there for 1 day but i was heng lah, the bikesho jus happen to have a new custom made radiator, so i jus jump que, if not have to wait 3 - 4 days like tht

If his radiator is leaking badly, like my case, then need to stop every 20 mins to lift fuel tank and top up the radiator in order to make it to the bikeshop.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

THanks all for the advice.... My bike now park at shop... my fren is helping me source for a vtec one n change the mounting cos diff from VER S.

Anyway it depends on luck la. my one actually i think still can put in the coolant sealant... cos the leak is still considered to me like very minimum....

Life Is Never Fair.

Originally posted by S750WP@Aug 29 2005, 04:02 PM

If his radiator is leaking badly, like my case, then need to stop every 20 mins to lift fuel tank and top up the radiator in order to make it to the bikeshop.

dnt need to cause the tubes inside still got water, so can survive. mine was so bad tht the water was gashing out, like u flash toliet like tht

Originally posted by redname@Aug 29 2005, 05:04 PM

dnt need to cause the tubes inside still got water, so can survive. mine was so bad tht the water was gashing out, like u flash toliet like tht

If the leak is very bad, the amount of coolant in the tube will not be sufficient to move around the cooling system removing heat from the engine, and when it gets too hot you will risk blowing gasket and seals in the engine.

Topping up the coolant in between the journey reduce this risk.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Aug 29 2005, 06:18 PM

If the leak is very bad, the amount of coolant in the tube will not be sufficient to move around the cooling system removing heat from the engine, and when it gets too hot you will risk blowing gasket and seals in the engine.

Topping up the coolant in between the journey reduce this risk.

of cus lah but i'm jus saying its still possible, not tht u r wrg

maybe i will be trying to do 1 using air con copper pipes... but no fins can anot huh??? will be 1 main pipe in then ard 10 small pipes to let the coolant cool down then to 1 big pipe out again.

Life Is Never Fair.

Originally posted by lindavw@Aug 30 2005, 01:17 AM

maybe i will be trying to do 1 using air con copper pipes... but no fins can anot huh??? will be 1 main pipe in then ard 10 small pipes to let the coolant cool down then to 1 big pipe out again.

no fins can. but i dun think ur radiator design can cool down the coolant sufficiently/quickly.

the many many tiny fins = bigger surface area than 10 small pipes

and i learn in science that bigger surface area = more cooling surface = greater heat transfer, ie. more heat lost. so i doubt the 10 small pipes have the same effect.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Hi bros, got into an accident about 1 1/2 weeks ago and my S4 got some damages. Now in the midst of claiming and heard that it will take very long. So i decided to repair my bike to a minimal whereby I can ride it. 1 of the most impt part that is damaged it the radiator...... my bikeshop quote to me S$550! I dunno what brand is that.. but i made a check at our components list and found out the following..

Everbright $480

HKL $360

Planet Motor $220 (1/2 e price of org)

Im shocked to see the bid difference in pricing... is it the brand difference? anyone can give me any advice on this pls? Really need to get my baby repaired.....

also tried to look for any 2nd hand ones but to no avail too.... :weep:

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/9578/image7zr0.gif. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"It's much easier to turn a friendship into love, than love into friendship."

Originally posted by VteCfreaKVI@Oct 20 2005, 08:42 PM

Hi bros, got into an accident about 1 1/2 weeks ago and my S4 got some damages. Now in the midst of claiming and heard that it will take very long. So i decided to repair my bike to a minimal whereby I can ride it. 1 of the most impt part that is damaged it the radiator...... my bikeshop quote to me S$550! I dunno what brand is that.. but i made a check at our components list and found out the following..

Everbright $480

HKL $360

Planet Motor $220 (1/2 e price of org)

Im shocked to see the bid difference in pricing... is it the brand difference? anyone can give me any advice on this pls? Really need to get my baby repaired.....

also tried to look for any 2nd hand ones but to no avail too.... :weep:

I suggest that u rebuilt ur radiator 1st since u waiting for the claim...rebuilt is as good as a good ones..go ubi do..its ard 150-170 :thumb:.There's a thread about radiator being rebuilt.

thx bro... already found the post... now really looking forward to repairing my baby..

btw, any brothers had got their radiator repaired or custom made? does it serve its purpose as good as original ones?

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/9578/image7zr0.gif. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

yeah, third party claim very long one... my last time is around 1.5 years already.. still outstanding...

personally will advice you to not repair on your own, cos if you do that, later making claim that time will be difficult...

i know there are bike shops out there that is willing to do the repair and third party claim on your behalf... they will come out with the repair cost first (so you dun have to pay upfront) and when your claim is over, you then pay their repair cost...

it is a win-win situation since they get the business to repair and you dun have to come out with the money... of course their repair cost is on the higher side believe you will understand why...

but that is only when you have a strong case... cos if you loose the case, you will be paying alot... (repair cost + lawyer fee)

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

yep what you say is true... but I can't leave my bike at the shop.. stressing me out. Really need to get her repaired....

maybe checking out Planet and also HKL...

Originally posted by raven77@Oct 22 2005, 09:58 PM

my friend bought from planet the $220 one it not orginal but still very good serve it purpose.

No need orginal one... pay so much for the same thing...

if me i will buy the 220 one will do..

how long he buy already? still in good condition?