Jialat, my Burg-er suddenly went 'siao' crazy.... the idling keep dropping periodically and engine like want to die off.... checked a few things but nothing seems to be wrong. :weep:

Interim solution: I've raised the idling by 200~300 rpms, hopefully that will resolve the problem for now....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

• Replies 1.2k

Jialat, my Burg-er suddenly went 'siao' crazy.... the idling keep dropping periodically and engine like want to die off.... checked a few things but nothing seems to be wrong. :weep:

Interim solution: I've raised the idling by 200~300 rpms, hopefully that will resolve the problem for now....

Solution : Lut the Burger ah! Haha....... No lah... mabbe its your plug or something....

Hahahaha thanks! I took out the plug just now, took a look... can't say I can tell if anything is wrong with it....

Maybe I'll go get another one see if it solves the problem also. If not I'll try the 'lut' solution... hahaha

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Heard from the burgmanusa forum that 650 do use up a bit of EO. It seems to be true when I changed by EO after my Thailand trip. For 4000km mileage, 2.5l of EO was left when I changed nearly 2.7l EO on the prev oil change.

Seems like the above statement made is a fact. Went another trip up north to Thai customs (aprox.820km) within 9 hrs n back. Oil level drop to level at the min level mark on the engine sight glass. Top up around 300ml of EO to fill it to the max marking.

Mileage since last oil change: 3000km

Cruising speed: 130-160km/h

EO used: Maxima Extra 15w/50

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778
Seems like the above statement made is a fact. Went another trip up north to Thai customs (aprox.820km) within 9 hrs n back. Oil level drop to level at the min level mark on the engine sight glass. Top up around 300ml of EO to fill it to the max marking.

Mileage since last oil change: 3000km

Cruising speed: 130-160km/h

EO used: Maxima Extra 15w/50

Its been a fact that the 400 takes ups engine oil so i'm not surprised that the 650 consumes engine oil as well......

Still trying to figure out a way to solve the problem.... difficult part is getting a container customized. No place i know can actually do the customization. Even seng kwang couldn't do it.

By the way, i'm planning to get a custom race shield installed for my headlights. Anyone interested? mabbe can get a cheaper rate. :cheeky:

From my own sportbike experience, filling up the oil level to the max marking results in accelerated oil loss. This is likely due to frothing resulting in oil mist that goes into the airbox via the breather. If you see alot of oil in your airbox during servicing, you know where the oil is disappearing to. I always do middle of the 2 markings. You guys are suffering the same problem, so why keep filling the oil to the max level?

Also, a very tiny leak in the engine can lead to significant loss in volume. My bike has never consumed significant level of oil in 5k intervals, with the level staying extremely consistent.

Lately the squashed O ring at the filler cap has lead to a tiny bit of weeping leakage from the oil being flung at it from the rotating clutch. It loss 300+ml of oil by the 3.5k mark! There are no oily stains anywhere except that little bit, and no oil on the floor. Some food for thought when you next inspect your bike.

From my own sportbike experience, filling up the oil level to the max marking results in accelerated oil loss. This is likely due to frothing resulting in oil mist that goes into the airbox via the breather. If you see alot of oil in your airbox during servicing, you know where the oil is disappearing to. I always do middle of the 2 markings. You guys are suffering the same problem, so why keep filling the oil to the max level?

Also, a very tiny leak in the engine can lead to significant loss in volume. My bike has never consumed significant level of oil in 5k intervals, with the level staying extremely consistent.

Lately the squashed O ring at the filler cap has lead to a tiny bit of weeping leakage from the oil being flung at it from the rotating clutch. It loss 300+ml of oil by the 3.5k mark! There are no oily stains anywhere except that little bit, and no oil on the floor. Some food for thought when you next inspect your bike.

Well yeah thats true. I've had an overhaul on my engine so i don't expect any oil to be leaking from the gaskets. I did have a problem with one of the screws on the casing having a leak. Didn't seem to be a hell of alot of oil coming out but when i changed oil at the 4.5K mark, i drained only about less than a bottle when previously 1.9l of oil was poured in.

Didn't have time to check the air box area as my air filter is pretty snug and i didn't have the tools to extract it to take a look..... did that at night so the lighting wasn't really optimal. I'll do a check on my next scheduled 10K servicing coming up.

Ordered the oil catch tank from ebay..... will get it fixed up and update when i do.

Aiyah bro, never jiuo? Anyway which one did you order?

ANR Impex: I did try the middle level topping up as you mentioned, it did not help solve the problem...

Same problem pops up quite often for other users in the overseas forum for Burgman, so it could be a design flaw?

I did fill up to the mid level during the 1st 2 oil change when i bought the bike. but the oil loss only become serious when I go for long trips and cruising at >130km/h. Otherwise, the oil level will only drop by a bit. When I had my YP400, I do not see any significant oil consumption. If I still rem properly, i tink one of the forumer at burgmanusa even derive to a formula on calculating oil loss.

Will try to get a peek at the air filter if i got the tool to extract it out. thanks 4 ur advice.

http://images.adrickloh.multiply.com/image/10/photos/18/500x500/15/DSC02203.JPG?et=kGUgEqN3OSljqAOX7c3ZqA&nmid=114339778

It could be a 'design flaw' (maybe spec too much oil?) if so many of you are having the same problem despite playing with the oil level. Still, more oil = more oil misting and subsequent oil loss, you can't run away from that.

What I can think of is to monitor the oil loss and look for the optimum level where the oil level stabalizes at. Subsequently fill it at that level and monitor oil consumption. As long as the oil level stays above the min mark, there will be no problem with sufficient oil in the engine.

Haha....

I just opened my airbox last nite..... there were traces of oil at the bottom but nothing amazing to make me think that there is excessive oil loss through the pcv. Puzzling......

But i couldn't look at the transparent tube to see if there is oil in it, if any.

I did fill up to the mid level during the 1st 2 oil change when i bought the bike. but the oil loss only become serious when I go for long trips and cruising at >130km/h. Otherwise, the oil level will only drop by a bit. When I had my YP400, I do not see any significant oil consumption. If I still rem properly, i tink one of the forumer at burgmanusa even derive to a formula on calculating oil loss.

Will try to get a peek at the air filter if i got the tool to extract it out. thanks 4 ur advice.

Air filter need tool to extract? If it's the same through out the model range, just need to pull it out after removing 4 screws on the left hand side of the glove compartment.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Air filter need tool to extract? If it's the same through out the model range, just need to pull it out after removing 4 screws on the left hand side of the glove compartment.

Thought air filter is under the front part of the seat.

Thks, i no the location. just tat the filter is quite tight in the compartment n i dun hav a right size plier to do that. of course pliers are commonly avail out there jus tat i lazy to go buy....

So do u hav the same oil loss prob wen u went thai?? care to share.

Thks, i no the location. just tat the filter is quite tight in the compartment n i dun hav a right size plier to do that. of course pliers are commonly avail out there jus tat i lazy to go buy....

So do u hav the same oil loss prob wen u went thai?? care to share.

Taking out the old filter wasn't a problem but putting in the new one was a

b!tch :help:

So far didn't see any significant loss as I've been changing the oil at 3000km intervals or less. All the while window still shows mid level or higher... :p

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Haha....

I just opened my airbox last nite..... there were traces of oil at the bottom but nothing amazing to make me think that there is excessive oil loss through the pcv. Puzzling......

But i couldn't look at the transparent tube to see if there is oil in it, if any.

I did take a look when trying to remove my spark plug, both short and long transparent tubes are full of oil for mine.

Haha....

One note, the oil that comes out thru the PCV is in a mist form. Some may 'condense' on the surface to become oil again, but alot just gets sucked in during induction and burnt away with the fuel. If you see a coating of oil in the airbox, it is already sign that there's quite alot of oil misting. My own experience is that my airbox can be wonderfully oil free with the right oil level.

Hmmm... tats interesting.... cos like i mentioned.... on my last oil change, i had less than a bottle of oil coming out of the bike.... not a very nice sight so somehow it didn't really work? the right level may be hard to find..... if you check at different locations, the results are always different....

:confused: Don't really have problem taking consistent reading, as long as there is flat ground. A leak is a leak, won't help much regardless of oil level, you will run dry pretty quickly. Checking the oil level every 1k isn't too much trouble isn't it?

Well, you won't know whether its really flat ground unless you use instruments to measure rite? I'm saying that at different locations, you will get different readings and they may differ by alot.

One may give you full readings while another may show no oil on the dipstick. So which is the accurate one? So what i'm saying is you can never get consistent readings unless you always use a certain spot to check you oil level and it has to be exactly the same spot.

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

Clear signal light cover nice right!! Too bad my K3 is orange wan..

http://www.burgman400.it/docs/galleriafoto/personali/Ube/mini/burghi009.jpg

Oh ya, I saw a black K7 OTR at Yishun.. Uncle riding.. Nice!!

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

This is very useful, I've already got half the solution installed (the long PVC pipe), now all I need is the brass/metal piece to cool the vapours or maybe use a metal container instead. :thumb: