The oil isn't so much vaporized with heat, more like a fine mist from agitation. Foam with the large internal surface area will help to trap it. Cotton fabric like those in K&N filter also works. Hope this helps.

• Replies 1.2k

Great tip..... but i was looking more to collecting back the mist before it reaches the air box so that i can route back the collected oil back to the engine oil area. Good to collect the oil back before it gets routed back to the airbox but you'll still lose the oil if its collected on a foam as you can't route it back to the engine.

Actually I think the foam will still work, cos once it is saturated with oil, the oil should be able to gather and flow back into crankcase via the breather tube.

Of course have to set it up so that the container for the oil is located higher for the oil to flow back.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Yah... but for the foam to soak up it might already take up alot of the oil... and foam that is completely soaked would probably not allow air to flow that freely.....

Hmmm think the air will still be able to flow out and escape and speed of airflow is not that important compared to the air intake. If not then use do a simple kind like the italian website design, an empty container.

Intially I kept thinking of ways to route the gases back to the airbox, minus the oil. After seeing the website, I realised it's not really necessary, just seal up the airbox opening for the breather tube and provide a place for the gases to escape.

Think I'll pop down to FS to check out their oil 'breather' tank soon.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

if the breather tube goes back to the airbox den the air should be able to flow..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

Need sidecar for wedding photoshoot? PM me

Hmmm think the air will still be able to flow out and escape and speed of airflow is not that important compared to the air intake. If not then use do a simple kind like the italian website design, an empty container.

Intially I kept thinking of ways to route the gases back to the airbox, minus the oil. After seeing the website, I realised it's not really necessary, just seal up the airbox opening for the breather tube and provide a place for the gases to escape.

Think I'll pop down to FS to check out their oil 'breather' tank soon.

Well, if you route it out a portion of the mist would escape to the environment which i extremely polluting, not to mention it will dirty your bike... imagine your bike becoming a 2 stroke krr with 2t all over...... :angry:

If using foam, imagine your kitchen sink... if you put alot of rubbish and turn on the tap, the rubbish gets stuck at the sink hole and in turn the water takes a long time to flow. This in turn means a pressure build up on the crankcase vent which is not very good either.

hmmm then how to solve....? :help:

I was thinking one of the reason for the excessive oil consumption could also be the airbox is 'sucking' the vapours... due to the air intake and all...

hmmm then how to solve....? :help:

I was thinking one of the reason for the excessive oil consumption could also be the airbox is 'sucking' the vapours... due to the air intake and all...

Well, to me the idea scenario would be to have something cool the mist and collect it before its able to go back to the airbox. That would mean having a bottle which is of a lower temp enough to condense the mist and collect them. So its either you have a fan blowing to cool it or have multiple fins like the radiator to get rid of heat.

Still waiting for my test bottle to arrive though....

Then inside you need something that does not absorb the oil. Something like a metal filter or like steel wool. It can trap oil and not absorb it. Hence air can still flow but the oil will be trapped and drip to the bottom of the bottle.

That's why the first solution that William posted use a fuel filter.. Can get those car fuel filter..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/02ba5dfd.jpghttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k273/Riotbike/SimonsSideCarBike-1.jpg

What do they look like? i've never seen them before...

Clear signal light cover nice right!! Too bad my K3 is orange wan..

http://www.burgman400.it/docs/galleriafoto/personali/Ube/mini/burghi009.jpg

Oh ya, I saw a black K7 OTR at Yishun.. Uncle riding.. Nice!!

ya its nice lor..mine is orange oso..haiz...future scootering say need to inmport the white onesif i need it

if u change maybe I could buy ur orange ones.. mine a bit crack inside.. see how la..Cos thinking of moulding the head fairing with the signal covers together, den put some LED turn signals.. Need to ask how much first..

Riot-Bike Co.

if u change maybe I could buy ur orange ones.. mine a bit crack inside.. see how la..Cos thinking of moulding the head fairing with the signal covers together, den put some LED turn signals.. Need to ask how much first..

i wanted to full mod oso..bt need a quation fm future:cry:

Err.. No la.. more like this

http://webhost1.inspire.net.nz/~alphaspr/MIVEC/gallery/intake_fuel_filter.jpg

You can get those at LAB.. But I read in car forums that Proton Wira's filter works really well for DIY oil catch tank.. But I never see b4..

Here's wat u might find at LAB

http://www.speeding.co.uk/acatalog/PU_FUELFILTERSSMALL.JPG

Riot-Bike Co.

Just switched to the Denso Iridium, initial impression is not much performance gain (in terms of acceleration)

Will continue to monitor and see how.

Sorry can info where u get it cos mine uneven liao...n $168 seems reasonable compared to $200+ I was quoted.

Try Chong Aik...they are the dunlop agents...but whoever is gonna do the tyre change...be prepared for a long wait as there's a one whole load of things to dismantle to reach the tyre... :faint:

You might wanna consider changing the wheel bearings and oil seal at the same time... :giddy:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Err.. No la.. more like this

http://webhost1.inspire.net.nz/~alphaspr/MIVEC/gallery/intake_fuel_filter.jpg

You can get those at LAB.. But I read in car forums that Proton Wira's filter works really well for DIY oil catch tank.. But I never see b4..

That looks like a great plug and play solution :thumb:

Yup, can consider....

now the only question is: Where can I find a good range of fuel filters? Autobacs? :sweat:

Yup, can consider....

now the only question is: Where can I find a good range of fuel filters? Autobacs? :sweat:

Let me know if you find it, i know a great place to put it.....

You will feel 5 years younger with a short windscreen.... :cheeky:

5 years younger but eat 5x more stones.....

Nah, Autobacs sell useless accessories only..

Try

Min Ghee Auto Pte Ltd

8, Jln Lembah Kallang

#01-01, Min Ghee Bldg

Singapore 339564

Phone : (65-) 62983888 Fax : (65-) 62999617

They got a few brunches, one of them is near Serangoon.. give them a call first..

Riot-Bike Co.

http://www.dansontrikes.com/images/trike_pages/burg5.jpg

Riot-Bike Co.