Bike Trip in Viet (2006) -Special thanx FB666Y

YZFx

Originally posted by doulian@Jun 16 2006, 01:06 PM

ooo...backpacking is fun as we get to meet lotsa different pple on the way and we get to plan our own schedule. but i guess its a totally different kind of fun when it comes to road trip. At least on a road trip, u can decide your own timing on where to go and dun have to worry about missing the train :smile: .

Next time if you wanna go Vietnam backpack can ask me loh and the same for me if im going to do a road trip there too ya? :cheeky:

Anyway kudos to the adventurous spirit! :thumb:

No problem dude... i will most prob go back again.. i wanna go see the nice waterfalls....

Keep in touch...

• Replies 87

Originally posted by Embrace@Jun 16 2006, 11:43 PM

Cool Pics.... :thumb: it is so cheap to pay $9 for the damage to the bikes hahaha i was amazed....n tat hair line crack on the ribs...it is a gift...take care bro of the crack.

Yup, cause the standard of living there is lower so it will be cheaper to us... Thanx Bro, my friend is better already... haha

great pics!

great trip!

loved your thread!

so are there a lot of bike rental shops in Vietnam?

i just don't have enough middle fingers....

- someone from SAF

Nov 2003 - May 2005 RxZ '93

May 2005 - Nov 2006 Daelim Magma '02

Nov 2006 - Oct 2009 S4 V-tech II '00

Oct 2009 - Aug 2010 W124 E200 '93

Aug 2010 - Date Getz 1.4 '06

Thumb upz for u YZF...:thumb: . I believe u have really enjoy d trip. Hw I wish I was there wif U... Nvm jio me go, next time got this kind of trip, remember to jio me go hor...:smile:

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by PaLmEr@Jun 24 2006, 10:12 AM

beautiful pics. its nice to see great pics of the travels of our forumers

thanx... your nice is quite familiar... r u the one who when backpacking alone in china and posted alot pic here online? sorry if i remember wrongly...

great trip!

loved your thread!

so are there a lot of bike rental shops in Vietnam?

robokp>>> should be quite a number of bike shops.... maybe u can check out with the old birds.... i am quite new into touring... heehee....

YZFx>> got ur new AT already...can go to cambodia , laos n too bad vietnam doesn't allow big cc bike to enter...how abt planning a trip to cambodia end of this year.

Atiwn>> i would love to do that... thats if someone is willing to go with me lah... and i got to see if i can make it... due to leave,... army abit mafan la... why not u plan and let me know the dates... haha...

Thumb upz for u YZF.... I believe u have really enjoy d trip. Hw I wish I was there wif U... Nvm jio me go, next time got this kind of trip, remember to jio me go hor...

Yoz... long time never see u liao... went MIA ah? still got go malaysia with Wangwang they all? haha... still speeding and doing wheelies??

Originally posted by YZFx@Jun 25 2006, 01:41 PM

Yoz... long time never see u liao... went MIA ah? still got go malaysia with Wangwang they all? haha... still speeding and doing wheelies??

No went MIA... Been busy working oversea always... Currently at Korea more than 1mth liao. Tat Y for d past few mth, u nvm see me online or done much posting at SBF. Anything u need from Korea, I can help u bring back except Girls....

BTW, I sold off my Busa last Nov cos of my working scedule n seldom in S'pore. :smile: So no more wheelie n speeding... Only a S4 Spec 3, wat can this bike do?:giddy:

Originally posted by YZFx@Jun 17 2006, 07:51 PM

yup yup... haha... btw bro, ur nick is quite familiar, did we met b4?

got meh ?? we meet before??

i dunno

dun think so ba

unless u seen my bike before.. same as my avatar

xin chao

Originally posted by kata_killer@Jun 25 2006, 07:27 PM

No went MIA... Been busy working oversea always... Currently at Korea more than 1mth liao. Tat Y for d past few mth, u nvm see me online or done much posting at SBF. Anything u need from Korea, I can help u bring back except Girls....

BTW, I sold off my Busa last Nov cos of my working scedule n seldom in S'pore. :smile: So no more wheelie n speeding... Only a S4 Spec 3, wat can this bike do?:giddy:

really? so u have been there for quite sometime liao la... haha... got ride there or not? btw, do u know that i lost my 04R1 last dec? u work there as what?

hmmmm...... there got Hard rock cafe or not?? if have can help me buuy something? when u coming back?

No... I didn't ride any bike here. Quite busy everyday, but I went to few bike shop tio visit. Stupid things is tat bikes cannot go up expressway riding. Over here, very pop in Cbr929.

Ya, I know u lost ure R1 in malaysia in Perling rite last year? Up to nw, i have not gone to hard rock cafe but if I got time, I will go....

Originally posted by kata_killer@Jun 26 2006, 06:31 PM

No... I didn't ride any bike here. Quite busy everyday, but I went to few bike shop tio visit. Stupid things is tat bikes cannot go up expressway riding. Over here, very pop in Cbr929.

Ya, I know u lost ure R1 in malaysia in Perling rite last year? Up to nw, i have not gone to hard rock cafe but if I got time, I will go....

ya i know bike cannot go up expressway... but iu see any interesting places to rent bike and ride? like the silk road or something?? i interested in that...haha..

got go tell me leh... help me buy things... haha

nice pics taken and gd experience shared... :)

2005-2006: RXZ

2007: Y125Z & RVF400

2008: RVF400 & African Twin

2009: African Twin, GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2010: GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2011: GSX1300RK2

2012-2013: GSX1300RK2, Proton Savvy(A)

2014: Proton Savvy(A), Super 4(S1)

Present: Super 4(S1)

Guest pipika

Juz info for backpackers who might be interested to rent bikes while travelling... cambodia's siem reap(ang kor wat) does not allow foreigners to rent bikes....unless you have been working there..official reason is scared tourists crash due to unfamiliar roads... (Personally i think its to promote jobs for the locals) other parts of cambodia is supposed to be ok for bike renting.

Gas is Laos and Cambodia are about the same price as in Singapore. (price quote in USD) Its hard to get a petrol station, so one have to rely on the local homerun petrol shop.. or even roadside stall where people store gas in the house and sell them in PET bottles... so cant guarantee the quality....

Big bikes can enter laos..... saw a beemer in Luang Prabang.... didnt see bike shops renting bikes in Laos though....bicycles though, are easily available for rent.

Vietnam sounds nice...... kiv for future trip..... then decide travel format.

How much is the airport departure tax? Can do credit/debit card payment? Laos airport require cash. Cambodia's phnoem pehn airport can pay by card.

cambodia's siem reap(ang kor wat) does not allow foreigners to rent bikes >> Rent from Phnom Penh a Honda 250cc dirtbike costs Max USD 10/day Ride to Siem Reap is less than a day.

Big bikes can enter laos >> Yes just not via friendship bridge from Nong Khai(Thailand)

To avoid expensive ferries enter to Pakse(Laos) via ChongMek/Vang Tao border near the NEastern Thai City of Ubon Ratchathani

Ferry across the Mekong costs BHT500 from Huay Xai Laos to Chiang Khong Thailand and USD60 from Pak Beng in Laos upriver to Huay Xai(full day ride on ferry) inclusive of bike

Bike Rental of Honda Bajas are available in Vientiane Not sure abt d cost though.

Petrol stations are available easily along main roads from petrol kiosks in Cambodia and Laos

Do not take the plastic bottles reliable sources in Phhnom Penh have informed me that its a mixture of petrol and alcohol

As long as your bike has a fuel range of abt 150Km No problem finding a petrol kiosk in both counties

At the beach for Loy Krathong

Originally posted by paithorn@Aug 18 2006, 10:38 AM

wow, reading this topic really makes me drool man!!

may I join in this kinda trips again?

Bro... i am not the pro man.... take a look at FB666Y..... HE DID IT AGAIN!!!! RESPECT!!!! HE IS DA MAN!!!!

Originally posted by YZFx@Aug 22 2006, 11:51 PM

Bro... i am not the pro man.... take a look at FB666Y..... HE DID IT AGAIN!!!! RESPECT!!!! HE IS DA MAN!!!!

you guys damn pro.... i am actually thinking of joining a bike tour in chiangmai-golden traingle ride...cost abt BBP650 for 7 days ride.... anyone went before? think the rest of group will are europeans...

Originally posted by paithorn@Aug 23 2006, 09:14 AM

you guys damn pro.... i am actually thinking of joining a bike tour in chiangmai-golden traingle ride...cost abt BBP650 for 7 days ride.... anyone went before? think the rest of group will are europeans...

how much is tt in sing dollars? but u still have to find ur own flight there etc nevertheless, it will surely be a very good and enjoyable trip. it is the experience that counts

enjoy

Originally posted by pipika@Aug 13 2006, 02:08 AM

Juz info for backpackers who might be interested to rent bikes while travelling... cambodia's siem reap(ang kor wat) does not allow foreigners to rent bikes....unless you have been working there..official reason is scared tourists crash due to unfamiliar roads... (Personally i think its to promote jobs for the locals) other parts of cambodia is supposed to be ok for bike renting.

Gas is Laos and Cambodia are about the same price as in Singapore. (price quote in USD) Its hard to get a petrol station, so one have to rely on the local homerun petrol shop.. or even roadside stall where people store gas in the house and sell them in PET bottles... so cant guarantee the quality....

Big bikes can enter laos..... saw a beemer in Luang Prabang.... didnt see bike shops renting bikes in Laos though....bicycles though, are easily available for rent.

Vietnam sounds nice...... kiv for future trip..... then decide travel format.

How much is the airport departure tax? Can do credit/debit card payment? Laos airport require cash. Cambodia's phnoem pehn airport can pay by card.

Sorry but i cannot remember how much is the airport tax for viet airport.

yes... credit card is widely accepted in all major stores and most hotels. But some of them prefer to use USD instead of vietnam dongs. It is gd to have both. For USD, please have small notes as they do not give u back change for USD.

Originally posted by YZFx@Aug 23 2006, 10:32 PM

Sorry but i cannot remember how much is the airport tax for viet airport.

yes... credit card is widely accepted in all major stores and most hotels. But some of them prefer to use USD instead of vietnam dongs. It is gd to have both. For USD, please have small notes as they do not give u back change for USD.

The airport tax in Vietnam: 14 $US for international flights.

At the airport, U can exchange US$ to Vietnam dong to use.

I live in Hanoi (Vietnam), i can share experience to all of u. :goodluck:

Thanks YZFx for your nice pics! :thumb:

..:: Honda CB400 Super Four '94 ::..