located @ Lavender Street (before SG Ducati)

here's wat i encounter!

a friend of mine (M) told mi tat he saw a FX plate XR4 in this shop & was quoted 4.5k w/o insurance & agreement fee, interest rate @ 5% per yr.

so i make a trip down since it's near my work place.

the guy quoted mi 4.8k w/o insurance & agreement fee.

ok, i look like a carrot head.

M felt tat he was given a good deal (as compared to mine), so he went ahead & decided to get it.

just before he sign on the paper!

he was told:

machine 4.5k

insurance 444

IU 153

agreement fee 250

transfer fee 93

interest 6% (instead of 5%)

tat's not all!!!! he try to add GST on the total amt above!

M walk away...

end of story! black shop!

a little notice to all new (soon-to-be) riders:

GST will onli apply to BRAND NEW bikes, machine price (bike only).

GST do not apply on 2nd hand goods/products.

• Replies 21

oh.. a little add-on on the XR4.

it's a FX plate (FX3811J)

COE 25/02/2002, end 24/02/2012

shop cfm tat it's a TRUE FX XR4, but the newest XR (expect the new SM) i saw on road is FU.

correct mi if i'm wrong.

But not the full 7%. If i be not mistaken, thier only able to charge 3.5%

August 2006 - April 2008 = White Stallion V 1.0

April 2008 - Present = White Stallion V 2.0 :thumb:

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v317/70/77/501577230/n501577230_1096539_3132.jpg

Saddlebags be cool!

GST can be charged on 2nd-hand products.

But not the full 7%. If i be not mistaken, thier only able to charge 3.5%

okie. my mistake, i'm sry!

but it should be on machine only, & not the OTR pricing.

Nvr understand the rationale of asking for machine price and especially when the machine is not new....

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

didnt i read somewhere that u cannot charge GST on second-hand products cos u'll be double charging GST?

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

u not scared kena lawsuit from them?

dude u need to cover ur backside also..need to have receipt or quotation paper then u be safe. :slapforehead:

GST is at 7% regardless of anthing...as long as the shop is a GST registered...not 3.5% as stated earlier..

Past rides:-

Cagiva Mito, Hexagon 150, KTM 125EXC,

Shadow 400, Ducati Monster 400, CBR 400RL,

Yamaha R1, Honda Goldwing1500

Present ride:-

Honda Deauville NT700

:gun: :bouncefire:

Too many misconceptions about GST!

No wonder the shops can take advantage of riders out there!

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page03.aspx?id=2302

Agreement fee or kopi money?

I agree to take up the loan so you charge me for it?

That doesnt make sense any which way you look at it.

Am I not paying interest on the loan?

A lot of shops are very smart - they rider sees the bike and signs on the line. I have read - in this same forum - of amazing calculations done by bike shops and riders paying exorbitant sums every month.

http://www.fb666y.com/images/web/fb666y_signature.jpg

Ride Reports, Pictures & Plenty More at www.fb666y.com

GST only on machine price. not the total inclusive. have to exclude road tax, arf and coe.

anyway should always ask got any hidden cost before commiting as its the same as buying other electronic products , those guys very smart one tell you without gst price first then commit already will start to take the calculator start to whack all the colours out liao

live is short , play hard ...... :gun: :help:

located @ Lavender Street (before SG Ducati)

here's wat i encounter!

a friend of mine (M) told mi tat he saw a FX plate XR4 in this shop & was quoted 4.5k w/o insurance & agreement fee, interest rate @ 5% per yr.

so i make a trip down since it's near my work place.

the guy quoted mi 4.8k w/o insurance & agreement fee.

ok, i look like a carrot head.

M felt tat he was given a good deal (as compared to mine), so he went ahead & decided to get it.

just before he sign on the paper!

he was told:

machine 4.5k

insurance 444

IU 153

agreement fee 250

transfer fee 93

interest 6% (instead of 5%)

tat's not all!!!! he try to add GST on the total amt above!

M walk away...

end of story! black shop!

a little notice to all new (soon-to-be) riders:

GST will onli apply to BRAND NEW bikes, machine price (bike only).

GST do not apply on 2nd hand goods/products.

Every bike shop in Spore is out to chop "walk in customers "at any given opportunity. I mean, let's be realistic they are out to make profit to exist. Remember they don't know "walk in customers". They are taking risk in selling bikes to new customers. For me when I shop for bike , i ask one simple question how much is the OTR price, if the price appeals to me I ask the next question are there any hidden cost? then follow by interest rate and how many instalments allow and so on...

As a customer, as long you practice a buyer's beware attitude you won't get chop.

anyway, i miss wildcard.

just one of his insensate followers...

My view on this, at least the shop bothers to list down all these details to the potential buyer before he/she sign the dotted line. The shop can lists down a thousand of irrational charges and items. Ultimately, you can always walk away if you don’t agree.

Also, verbal quotation on sales price is bull shxt. Never take any figure/promises seriously unless it is a written one from the shop :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg
The best is buy from private dealer and better is to buy full cash.

Most of the times, it hard to come out with huge amt of cash..

thats why people approach bike shops with their neck reached out....

Dishonest shops are aplenty, just beware of what they say and hopefully you can ask them to break down on paper...(which they usually do not allow you to bring out of the shop, fear?? or friendly competition?? you decide)

black and white contract, make sure you read up to 2X before signing.

clauses in the contracts may be your worst nightmare.

work out what you are supposed to pay upfront before going down to the shop, anxiety to collect the bike might make a person pay more than expected, esp. P-plates.....

upon collecting the bike, let it warm up and run for 5mins before moving off..

check for parts wear and tear...

(anyone ever wondered why some bike shops refused to let the bike warm up during veiwing? or the "no revving" poilcy??)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67030&d=1214533391

Phantom TA150 ----- Gone

CB400 Spec2---------Gone

Yamaha X-1----------Gone

CB400 Spec1.||| -------- Gone

Honda Silverwing 400 - FOR SALE

the FU xr otr is a converted xr..

FX..isit motard??