[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

Bro, use a "Yeos" lemon barley bottle it won't melt. And it's see through once you rip off the plastic wrapper. :)

Thanks for the tip. Anyway dad bought a plastic see thru 10L jerry can for me. It worked fine and i identified the problem finally. Anyway after having a proper look, my tank is as rusty as that picture. :cry: Guess have to clear the gunk soon.

2B - 29 December 2010, one time pass

2A - On going...

4 May 2011 to August 2011 - Honda NSR150SP

21 July 2012 - Honda Phantom TA200

http://thrumylensontwowheels.blogspot.sg/

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

• Replies 1.8k

Hmmmm. Bike broke down and need call tow truck. Electrical issues now -____- Wanted to start bike, press start switch hear the starter motor engage with "chik" sound but engine doesnt turn. Noticed that when press starter all lights switches off together as well. Tried to start a few times then all electrical stuffs went dead. Tried to get the electronics up again but doesnt work, after some tries finally get it on. GF helped me push bike until 10km/h then push start it. Engine did start so definitely engine didnt seize. When riding halfway engine is okay but the signals went crazy, blinking at the speed of light(pun intended) then suddenly it doesnt blink at all and just light up.

2A - On going...

Nikon D5000 | AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5 - 5.6G VR | Vitacon 67mm UV Filter | Sigma EF-610 DG Super Flash | Yongnuo Speedlight YN560

Hmmmm. Bike broke down and need call tow truck. Electrical issues now -____- Wanted to start bike, press start switch hear the starter motor engage with "chik" sound but engine doesnt turn. Noticed that when press starter all lights switches off together as well. Tried to start a few times then all electrical stuffs went dead. Tried to get the electronics up again but doesnt work, after some tries finally get it on. GF helped me push bike until 10km/h then push start it. Engine did start so definitely engine didnt seize. When riding halfway engine is okay but the signals went crazy, blinking at the speed of light(pun intended) then suddenly it doesnt blink at all and just light up.

wah ur GF very strong! good! hahaha. btw all that symptoms u mentioned sounds like a serious short-circuit somewhere. hope it is just one portion. hope it isnt like ur entire wiring harness. wish ur bike all the best! give it a once over and get it done n over wif bro. i knw this period very frustrating. just hang in there. :) update us on the repairs.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

wah ur GF very strong! good! hahaha. btw all that symptoms u mentioned sounds like a serious short-circuit somewhere. hope it is just one portion. hope it isnt like ur entire wiring harness. wish ur bike all the best! give it a once over and get it done n over wif bro. i knw this period very frustrating. just hang in there. :) update us on the repairs.

Indeed she is despite her size. :) Anyway yup luckily just one portion, earth wire "broken". Not entirely broken but damaged and had cuts to its insulation. Changed it and some other old wire. Just praying hard now not another problem again.

2A - On going...

Not fuse problem?

Phantom easy to push start at few meter have to push 10km?

Hopefully everything alright after the change.

Indeed she is despite her size. :) Anyway yup luckily just one portion, earth wire "broken". Not entirely broken but damaged and had cuts to its insulation. Changed it and some other old wire. Just praying hard now not another problem again.

Phantom TA200 2012, Vara 125 2013 (Betong)

TZR 125 (HatYai) 2013 & 2018 (Tak Bai)

CB400SF PB1 (Danok, HatYai, Yala, Betong and Su-ngai Kolok) 2014

CB400SF PB1 Iron Butt SaddleSore 1600k 25th Feb 2015

NT650V Deuville (Pattani) (Solo SG-MY-TH-LS)

ST1100 Pan 3 mountain ride in 24hr , MHS 1864 2017

http://tripdrive.blogspot.sg

Not fuse problem?

Phantom easy to push start at few meter have to push 10km?

Hopefully everything alright after the change.

Nope fuse never blown. Battery also tested okay. Mechanic had cases of past customers having same prob as me, so he checked the earth cable for me, shifted it abit then all power came on and can start bike. So concluded earth is broken and possibly grounding it wrongly or maybe even short circuiting altho short circuiting would have blown the fuse i think. My GF helped me push with me pedalling for about 10-15m at speed about 10-15km/h then i let it roll abit, kick into gear 1, control clutch to start engine. I never full dump clutch cause at first gear it can be very dangerous. With the weight of the bike it can actually start the engine at low speed if done properly. :)

2A - On going...

Nope fuse never blown. Battery also tested okay. Mechanic had cases of past customers having same prob as me, so he checked the earth cable for me, shifted it abit then all power came on and can start bike. So concluded earth is broken and possibly grounding it wrongly or maybe even short circuiting altho short circuiting would have blown the fuse i think. My GF helped me push with me pedalling for about 10-15m at speed about 10-15km/h then i let it roll abit, kick into gear 1, control clutch to start engine. I never full dump clutch cause at first gear it can be very dangerous. With the weight of the bike it can actually start the engine at low speed if done properly. :)

spark u damn fierce leh.. push start in gear 1!? usually i kick to gear 3 or 4 cos i thought like that less shiong when im jogging with the bike =X

good to hear yr prob solved and hopefully its the last =DDDD

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

spark u damn fierce leh.. push start in gear 1!? usually i kick to gear 3 or 4 cos i thought like that less shiong when im jogging with the bike =X

U gotta play with the clutch. My hands are on the clutch at all times at least if engine runs fast i can clutch in and wont fly away. Cause i just use the momentum of the bike to force crank the engine. The moment hear it starts i clutch in n rev up liao.

2A - On going...

U gotta play with the clutch. My hands are on the clutch at all times at least if engine runs fast i can clutch in and wont fly away. Cause i just use the momentum of the bike to force crank the engine. The moment hear it starts i clutch in n rev up liao.

2A - On going...

lol same technique! just that i had the inkling that if start higher gear i dun hv to run so much to crank the engine!

btw, today when i was on way back when i start to use my rear brake gently suddenly the whole brake pedal go all the way down to its max! the bike suddenly lock up and stop immediately!

den when i stop to check the brake pedal pressure was normal.. which is weird.. den it happen again another time when i was about to stop before a junction near home. i think i have to change my brake fluid cos i saw its all reddish brown when i checked after the ride, but does it make sense that the brake pedal will go all the way down if the fluid is bad? my rear brake isnt dragging though so i couldnt be too sure now =x

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

lol same technique! just that i had the inkling that if start higher gear i dun hv to run so much to crank the engine!

btw, today when i was on way back when i start to use my rear brake gently suddenly the whole brake pedal go all the way down to its max! the bike suddenly lock up and stop immediately!

den when i stop to check the brake pedal pressure was normal.. which is weird.. den it happen again another time when i was about to stop before a junction near home. i think i have to change my brake fluid cos i saw its all reddish brown when i checked after the ride, but does it make sense that the brake pedal will go all the way down if the fluid is bad? my rear brake isnt dragging though so i couldnt be too sure now =x

You mean your brake pedal kena sucked from your feet, from 1/2 to max application? Sounds scary, you might risk locking your rear wheel. Check your brake pump, pad and caliper. Best bring to shop ask them for help. Brakes not funny when it goes wrong ah.

2A - On going...

You mean your brake pedal kena sucked from your feet, from 1/2 to max application? Sounds scary, you might risk locking your rear wheel. Check your brake pump, pad and caliper. Best bring to shop ask them for help. Brakes not funny when it goes wrong ah.

not say sucked but it felt like i accidentally slipped and stomped on the rear pedal? i've nvr seen my rear pedal go that far down before! even when i test the pedal free play and max travel later it didnt go that so far so it didnt make sense..

im trying to see if it happens again before i change fluid on saturday.. hoping it doesnt happen again.. my working hours make it very difficult to go a bike shop in the evening leh.. always after 7 at least then free..

Guy I push start on 1st gear coz I bigger than the bike :p

Phantom TA200 2012, Vara 125 2013 (Betong)

TZR 125 (HatYai) 2013 & 2018 (Tak Bai)

CB400SF PB1 (Danok, HatYai, Yala, Betong and Su-ngai Kolok) 2014

CB400SF PB1 Iron Butt SaddleSore 1600k 25th Feb 2015

NT650V Deuville (Pattani) (Solo SG-MY-TH-LS)

ST1100 Pan 3 mountain ride in 24hr , MHS 1864 2017

http://tripdrive.blogspot.sg

Guy I push start on 1st gear coz I bigger than the bike :p

Lol u bigger than bike?

Just now morning I crashed bcos my rear wheel skidded and I dropped the bike.. now my entire crashbar gone.. front wheel crooked and handle bar total bent.. zzz heng I still a live cos was overtaking on lane 1 when someone suddenly cut in..

Lol u bigger than bike?

Just now morning I crashed bcos my rear wheel skidded and I dropped the bike.. now my entire crashbar gone.. front wheel crooked and handle bar total bent.. zzz heng I still a live cos was overtaking on lane 1 when someone suddenly cut in..

Oh man. Dat sucks. This is the reason why if thr are issues wif d brakes, either fix it immediately or dont ride till u can do so. Its just not worth the risk. Hope u are alright though! :)

Yup I think I'm fine.. strained my thumb and light shoulder abrasions..now seeing doctor to confirm its all fine.. shouldn't hv rode out today! Now I heart pain the damages in $$$! The crash bar was new but it saved my right leg :thumbup:

Speaking of which, my side stand broke off! It broke inclusive of the black portion attached to the chrome stand! Now I'm wondering if it's possible to fix such damage..

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/10/09/ezajapa7.jpg

Speaking of which, my side stand broke off! It broke inclusive of the black portion attached to the chrome stand! Now I'm wondering if it's possible to fix such damage..

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/10/09/ezajapa7.jpg

I tink the entire mounting part is broken off? Maybe need to do some welding.

Wah welding? Like that the bike can tahan the entire weight on juz that welded joint alone? I think it was alrd flexing prior to the crash alrd..

Must weld back, that black part was part of the chassis.

If don't have that black part, there is no sprocket to bolt the new side stand to. :(

Whaaaa den I wun even noe if the welding can be strong enuff to tahan all that weight leh.. scared weld only break again.. bike how can no side stand?

Go to a bikeshop and ask hw lo. If they clean up d area well and weld properly, it shud be able to hold up. Then nw ur bike hw? Lean against wall ah?

I had it towed off to planet loh.. just now lean against the shoulder wall..

Even the weld is done proper I'm skeptical of welding joints in structural applications actually.. :sly:

Wah thank god your ok man. Altho u learnt it the hard way, now u uds the importance of good working brakes. I think like what others have said its a must to weld back, seems like it got torn off.

2A - On going...