[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

hi guys, i got a ta 200, can i check, if ur engine oil is too much, meaning more than the "xxx" marking on the dipstick, will it give out smoke at exhaust? thanks guys. :)

Too much of good things will be bad, but in this case it won't lead to black/white smoke emitting from exhaust. Too much would cost you a leaking gasket if I didn't remember wrongly. White smoke is because of EO + petrol, which also means piston ring area leaked it in.

• Replies 1.8k

Dun know the name - The crew cut guy, quite tanned, look like in his 40s one...

Yeah, i went back to ah chong again today.

Been there 3 times this week, Mon + Tues + Today... :sian:

One of his mechanic tell me, "hey, how come i everyday see you here ?" :giddy:

(i was thinking, "of course bike got problem lor. if not what, think i got a crush on Ah Chong ah ? everyday come here and stalk him....":dot: )

anyways, got Ah Chong to test again. Re-describe the problem to him, turns out he was hearing a different sound from me when he told me it was a chain issue...

I was talking about a cluck-cluck knocking sound from the engine/front area, while he was hearing a tick-tick sound from the chain.

told him have to wack the engine harder to hear the sound...

so Chong went out and wack my phantom till 100+.

Now he tell me its my front suspension casing knocking against the fork. (previous owner installed a steel plating/casing around the front suspension.)

I kind of believe him... Maybe because when i wack the engine hard, there is more vibration, so the sound come out.

any other bro got similar steel casing around the front fork ?

any such problem ?

Ah chong say can remove the casing for $20 fee... but i kinda reluctant to remove, cos it looks so nice and shiny....

Any other solution ?

does it spoil anything to leave it there? if yes, change. of no dun change lor. ask ah chong if it will spoil anything.

Too much of good things will be bad, but in this case it won't lead to black/white smoke emitting from exhaust. Too much would cost you a leaking gasket if I didn't remember wrongly. White smoke is because of EO + petrol, which also means piston ring area leaked it in.

icic. so even with extra EO, there wont be white smoke ya? only if got a gasket or piston problem then will have white smoke ya?

in this case, i think mine got a piston problem, cause got a weird sound at the front of engine. think nd to overhaul and change it. thanks bro. really appreciate it. :)

anyone knows the price of just changing piston and whats the fastest time it will take to finish repair? thanks guys. :)

your gasket spoil, you'll see leaking EO I think, on the left side of bike. Piston problem maybe, let planet motors diagnose and give you the best quotation. Find the pricing in the thread Typical Pricing for something something lol.. Happy CNY ;)

this thread very useful... can self let a noob like me self-diagnose abit.

My TA200 suddenly having problem going faster than 100km/h.

Usually very easily can hit 110km/h on expressway,

but this few days, I throttle hard on 6th gear, engine rev high & loud, but speed like stuck at 90+ only. What's more, I've been finding it hard to kick some gears.

So, i guess the problem is this....

Problem 5: Cant go more den 80 km/h

Reason: Clutch may have been worn off (Engine reving very high but no power to go any faster)

Solution: Bike shop chance clutch.

Problem 13: My exhaust gives have a loud bang regularly. (Backfire)

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich or too lean.

Solution: Retune the carb..

how much would retuning the carb be??

my ta200 once in awhile got minor 'bang'

sometimes BIG BIG 'bang' until both my pillion and i will jump

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

this thread very useful... can self let a noob like me self-diagnose abit.

So, i guess the problem is this....

:lol: thats the purpose of me creating this thread dude :cheeky: Glad that it helped you in a way or another.

Problem 13: My exhaust gives have a loud bang regularly. (Backfire)

Reason: Air fuel mixture too rich or too lean.

Solution: Retune the carb..

how much would retuning the carb be??

my ta200 once in awhile got minor 'bang'

sometimes BIG BIG 'bang' until both my pillion and i will jump

Some places are FOC when you buy or do something with them :thumb: Some don't even need anything to do it for you:angel:

Hi guys.. Recently i encounter a problem and hope to hear from all of you. I have difficult changing gear. especially when just finish washing my bike. it's like so rough and i need to use lot of strength to kick up the gear, ok in another word it means not smooth. what could be the solution?

It's Just A Matter of Want it or Need It?

Hi guys.. Recently i encounter a problem and hope to hear from all of you. I have difficult changing gear. especially when just finish washing my bike. it's like so rough and i need to use lot of strength to kick up the gear, ok in another word it means not smooth. what could be the solution?

its either it's time to change your engine oil or maybe you can juz spray some lub onto the linkage of the gear lever. if the prob still there, then maybe the clutch plate gotto be replace.

"Respect All Others Until They Disrespect You."

Hi, I am ta150 rider. Recently, I had this problem:

Morning when going to work, still dark, my bike was OK.

But afternoon (3pm-6pm) when comming back from work, my bike will stall after riding for about 30min. This happen when slowing down at traffic light, just before stopping. Then after that cannot start, have to wait about 15min before can carry on home, bike will stall after 1km, then have to wait again.(normal trip-40min, now 1hr+ to reach home). At night or morning, bike can star with 1 kick.Have been having this problem for 1 week already. Anyone got this problem before? Kindly advice please...........

Just change plug 1 week ago.

But afternoon (3pm-6pm) when comming back from work, my bike will stall after riding for about 30min. This happen when slowing down at traffic light, just before stopping. Then after that cannot start, have to wait about 15min before can carry on home, bike will stall after 1km, then have to wait again.(normal trip-40min, now 1hr+ to reach home). At night or morning, bike can star with 1 kick.Have been having this problem for 1 week already. Anyone got this problem before? Kindly advice please...........

suggest that you get your bike checked.

check for spark....remove spark plug from engine..connect plug to your plug cap..place spark plug against engine and kick start engine..u should see spark jumping across the electrodes..(this is to confirm u have a good plug or reuse your old plug to confirm plug bad /good.)

but if engine keeps on cutting off...CDI could be the culprit..IMHO..

if it is..the engine cut off will be more frequent..

bad petrol could also an issue...drain your petrol to look out for water/sediments etc.

the

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Fuel mixture too lean? get mech to check and tune carburetor air fuel ratio screw.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

check for spark....remove spark plug from engine..connect plug to your plug cap..place spark plug against engine and kick start engine..u should see spark jumping across the electrodes..(this is to confirm u have a good plug or reuse your old plug to confirm plug bad /good.)

but if engine keeps on cutting off...CDI could be the culprit..IMHO..

if it is..the engine cut off will be more frequent..

bad petrol could also an issue...drain your petrol to look out for water/sediments etc.

the

Thks, mepkoh. Will try to drain petrol this weekend, just in case have to take bus to work on monday!!!!

I (with friend's help) tried taking out the carb but seem ok(shining and no scratches). I also spraied some oil(like WD40) into carb.

By the way, what is CDI? Where is this CDI, may be I can take it out to see any problem.

One more thing, do you know what is the container for?(under rider seat, between battery housing & chain, in front of rear wheel) It seem to be empty with some tubes(looks like liquid tubing) connected to it. It is white in colour (just like 2T container type of plastic).

Fuel mixture too lean? get mech to check and tune carburetor air fuel ratio screw.

Thks SNapEl, but I tried to increase the engine rev by turing the knot cloclwise (1 round). The engine seems roaring very loud then I open chok then the rev seems to come down. I thought this may be too much then adjust back (1 round) to where it was, then increase slightly 1/4 turn clockwise. Manage to get further (1 time of stalling to reach home) this time.

.... bro are you tuning the idle speed knob on the right side of the bike? the air fuel ratio screw will require a screw driver to tune. Did you use that? its on the left side of the bike

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Thks, mepkoh. Will try to drain petrol this weekend, just in case have to take bus to work on monday!!!!

I (with friend's help) tried taking out the carb but seem ok(shining and no scratches). I also spraied some oil(like WD40) into carb.

By the way, what is CDI? Where is this CDI, may be I can take it out to see any problem.

One more thing, do you know what is the container for?(under rider seat, between battery housing & chain, in front of rear wheel) It seem to be empty with some tubes(looks like liquid tubing) connected to it. It is white in colour (just like 2T container type of plastic).

please do not ever put wd40 into carb....this carb is very sensitive to fluids with low evaporating volatility...there is such stuff as carb cleaner.suggest u reclean the carb..

the container with an outlet cap..reach it via removing the plastic chrome cover on the right of the seat..is the overflow tub for the radiator fluid..

CDI=condensor discharge ignition ...this is the electronics that control the spark discharge (after a pulse from the alternator is received)..at the moment have no idea how to test it...understand there is no easy way to test. unfortunately not sure where is it located...i suppose if u trace the pulse cable u will able to find it..this is most likely a black box with 2 connectors...sorry. the cdi is not cheap..maybe more than $100...

Edited by mepkoh

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Thks SNapEl, but I tried to increase the engine rev by turing the knot cloclwise (1 round). The engine seems roaring very loud then I open chok then the rev seems to come down. I thought this may be too much then adjust back (1 round) to where it was, then increase slightly 1/4 turn clockwise. Manage to get further (1 time of stalling to reach home) this time.

if u experience stalling of engine when engine is hot..and stall while idling ..like at traffic lights.junction etc...thses are signs of lean mix...

causes fuel mixture too lean..

leakages of air into the combustion chamber via leaking vlaves, carburettor ,joints etc..

symptoms: bike stalling when engine is hot, spark plug electrodes will be whitish and very dry..

normal coloour is brown..

if black and wet looking this i either too rich or from EO contamination..

if after adjusting the fuel mix jets and the problem still occurs..it is time for a check and repair at the mech..

if u experience stalling of engine when engine is hot..and stall while idling ..like at traffic lights.junction etc...thses are signs of lean mix...

causes fuel mixture too lean..

leakages of air into the combustion chamber via leaking vlaves, carburettor ,joints etc..

symptoms: bike stalling when engine is hot, spark plug electrodes will be whitish and very dry..

normal coloour is brown..

if black and wet looking this i either too rich or from EO contamination..

if after adjusting the fuel mix jets and the problem still occurs..it is time for a check and repair at the mech..

hi mepkoh, the fuel mix jets you mentioned, is next to idling speed adjustable knot right? It is like bronze in colour right? Which way am I suppose to turn? Is it Clockwise for richer mix & anti-clockwise for leaner mix right?

Anyway, just got oil change, battery change, bearing change today but still have to stop once before reaching home. The mech told me it is the CDI that is giving me prob. If need to change will cost $200. Any recommendation about the price or good mech for the CDI? So far had spent about $150 these few days already.

Going to eat grass liao!!!!!

hai!!!!!!! hopefully will have better luck after this!!!!!!!!

You head down to Planet Motorcycles in Ubi, you ask them to diagnose. They say change what, you change, they don't say, you don't change. Darn hard to spend unnecessary down there dude ;)

hi, sorry ah. my friend engine spoil how?

Gilera Runner 06` 04/07 - 11/07

Toyota Axio- 11/07 - 02/08

Mitsubishi Lancer Ex - Current to ??/??

Honda Cb400 Vtec 1 06/08 - 02/09

CBR600RR '08 12/09 to ????