Hi all

every time, i feel that TP ads keep on focusing on motorcyclists being killed until i so sick of the bloody scene. just feel that they have been ignoring on at least 4 groups of people:

1. Taxi drivers - Have you see any TP ads on them? Not that I can recall.

2. Heavy Vehicles

3. Elderly - these people think they can just flaunt the rules.

4. Foreign workers - they still think they can cross the road or cycle like in China or Bangladesh

Mr TP, can i ask you to do some ads on these people pls? especially 1 and 2. :pray:

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

• Replies 30

Ya i noticed that also.. Cos of the ads they give a misconception that bikes are very dangerous.. When all my relatives see that i bring a helmet during a family gathering, the first thing they say is, "wah bike so dangerous still wanna ride.." They will nv ask how's biking, the first thing they say it's dangerous and why wanna ride.. :giddy:

well.. if u do go and read it up, in 2007. out of the 219 fatalities on the road, almost 50% of them are contributed by mcyclist.

take a look at the stats taken from http://www.spf.gov.sg

Number of persons killed and injured in accidents

2006 2007

Killed 190 219

Seriously injured 104 92

Slightly injured 9,602 10,250

TOTAL 9,896 10,561

Number of fatalities by road user groups

Road User Groups 2006 2007

Motorcyclists & Pillion Riders 102 103

Motorcar Drivers and Passengers 18 24

Pedestrians 42 58

Pedal Cyclists 14 22

Others (including Bus Passengers/Drivers, Heavy and Light Goods Vehicles Drivers and Passengers) 14 12

TOTAL 190 219

thats the main reason why they focus on mcyclist? :giddy:

irregardless of wheather u ride or not, being on d road itself is a hazard. Its up to individual responsibility to be aware of the situation around them and minimise hazards. That's why called it accident, not on purpose mah.

the latest ad about bikers mah, thought about pedestrians. d look out for me msg

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

Agree.. indian foreign workers are the worst jaywalkers.

my GF just saw one fly at sembawang MRT a few days back.

And guess wad.. it was a taxi who rammed the indian worker.

Thats 2 of 4 group of people the thread starter mentioned.

So... YA.. the ads are focusing on the wrong grp of people.

well.. if u do go and read it up, in 2007. out of the 219 fatalities on the road, almost 50% of them are contributed by mcyclist.

2006 2007

Killed 190 219

Seriously injured 104 92

TOTAL 9,896 10,561

Pedestrians 42 58

Pedal Cyclists 14 22

Others (including Bus Passengers/Drivers, Heavy and Light Goods Vehicles Drivers and Passengers) 14 12

TOTAL 190 219

Did anyone stop and think how the accident happen? These statistics is clearly sayin "Riders are very careless/reckless"..But is that the truth? :giddy:

2006 2007

Killed 190 219

Seriously injured 104 92

TOTAL 9,896 10,561

Pedestrians 42 58

Pedal Cyclists 14 22

TOTAL 190 219

Motorcyclists are one of the most vunerable groups yes. But did they stop for a minute to think that the accident might not be caused by the motorcyclist himself/herself?

EG: Taxi nv check back/blind spot before doing U-Turn la, driver anyhow change lane without signalling la.

I really wonder how many accidents are actually caused by the motorcyclist's mistake...

I wun say they are focusing on the wrong group. I would say that they are not focusing on the other groups enough (or even NOT AT ALL).

irregardless of wheather u ride or not, being on d road itself is a hazard. Its up to individual responsibility to be aware of the situation around them and minimise hazards. That's why called it accident, not on purpose mah.

the latest ad about bikers mah, thought about pedestrians. d look out for me msg

You are right. Although some might not be really "accidents". :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Relax!

i think the foreign worker group might want to expand to show some videos for new migrants too.

just now, saw 2 pairs of new parents with their children in the prams talking AT THE MIDDLE OF THE ENTRANCE TO A CARPARK during lunch hour. this is not the first few time i saw new migrants disregarding the traffic rules. have seen them letting kids running or riding bicycle ALONE on the road, playing tennis IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. recently, a lecturer from SP also cross the road by running across not at the pedestrian crossing and was hit by a lorry. what's wrong with them, dun they know the road is a dangerous place?

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

i think the foreign worker group might want to expand to show some videos for new migrants too.

just now, saw 2 pairs of new parents with their children in the prams talking AT THE MIDDLE OF THE ENTRANCE TO A CARPARK during lunch hour. this is not the first few time i saw new migrants disregarding the traffic rules. have seen them letting kids running or riding bicycle ALONE on the road, playing tennis IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. recently, a lecturer from SP also cross the road by running across not at the pedestrian crossing and was hit by a lorry. what's wrong with them, dun they know the road is a dangerous place?

they think they from india where there is no cheng hu on the roads ma :lol:

Relax!

Agree.. indian foreign workers are the worst jaywalkers.

If you go down Orchard Road and have a look at the jaywalkers, or go down Cross Street or Robinson Road during weekday working hours, you'll realise the fallacy of your own assertion. Singaporeans and everyone else are as bad.

He who hesitates is lost!

A lot is spoken here by people who have not engaged the traffic police in discussion on these matters. If you have, and have a better understanding of how they work and their workplan, then you'd say a different story.

If you look at each year's TP commentary on the road traffic situation, you'll see that they have focused their campaigns on the elderly, the youth etc. besides motorcyclists.

There is no use taking a victim mentality "oh they're out to get us and focusing on the wrong people", or blaming everyone else for motorcyling fatalities "it's caused by others not by us".

Road safety is everyone's responsibility, including yourself. That's why TP focuses much of the campaign on motorcycle safety. What you cannot control, you cannot, but still you should care about your own safety and do what is in your control.

A lot is spoken here by people who have not engaged the traffic police in discussion on these matters. If you have, and have a better understanding of how they work and their workplan, then you'd say a different story.

If you look at each year's TP commentary on the road traffic situation, you'll see that they have focused their campaigns on the elderly, the youth etc. besides motorcyclists.

There is no use taking a victim mentality "oh they're out to get us and focusing on the wrong people", or blaming everyone else for motorcyling fatalities "it's caused by others not by us".

Road safety is everyone's responsibility, including yourself. That's why TP focuses much of the campaign on motorcycle safety. What you cannot control, you cannot, but still you should care about your own safety and do what is in your control.

if i am not wrong they did start a look out for the m/cylist, pedestrians campaign ? arr. anyway mcyclist and pedestrians/ cyclist just one of the most vulnerable groups on the roads.

mebbe i shouldn't start by talking the motorcycle accident scene. but dun u think that TP shd take a different point of view. Instead of asking ppl to LOOK OUT for motorcyclist/pedestrian etc, have they try to educate the others? this is a very unbalance approach. i mean, for those bigger vehicles, their mentality is totally different from us bikers or those on vehicle 11. dun think i nid to say anymore for this.

i would really appreciate TP to do an ad on taxi drivers. it could be something like this:

Uncle see it is 6.45pm but collection so little. start driving his taxi, saw a passenger and dash across 3 lanes without signaling to pick up. vehicle behind taxi jam brake and vehicle behind it slam into it. TP message could be something like: You could have earn $10, but what cost is another life?

Some ppl just need to be reminded for they have given all back to the driving centre. ditto for heavy vehicles and one more thing, pls advice them not to horn during traffic jam. u can horn until the cows come home and still it won't move an inch.

u tell those taxi driver to forgo the $10, at the end of the day, what matter most is their dough..

and what if the potential customer complain that the taxi nvr stop for the passenger?

and do u tink the passenger will buy the story which says " i saw a motorcyclist on my left and if i pick u up, i would have killed him"

it takes a lot of hands to clap, not juz 2.

education is key, but for how long? as soon as u r on the driver seat, u forget everything and ego takes over.

i m not good at marcomm, perhaps the professional can come up with a better tag line. the msg is to ask the taxi driver to be careful, follow the rules, signal etc., some reminders that they tend to ignore.

Let me explain.

First, do you know the TP has ZERO budget for Road Safety?

Then where does these advertisements come from, you may ask? They come from donations from sponsors. Dear TP has to depend on donations from sponsors for money. Else not even silly ads to remind you to be safe Mr Bikers.

Second, TP has to make the most of what little money they have. So it comes down down to simple maths on who to target first. There is just not enough money to go round to target several groups. You target the most vulnerable person or the single source that can yield maximum result.

Third, know your stats. Do you know that as high as 50% of the motorcycle accidents in Singapore involve...only the motorcyclist himself/herself only?

So if you don't invest to target the motorcyclist, you target who?

Taxi drivers? Yes, agree some taxi drivers disregard others when they are too focused in making ends meet. But ask yourself, how many taxi drivers do you have to target? Are taxi drivers the only dangerous ones around? What about van drivers? What about luxury car drivers? What about old-aged drivers? What about drivers who just passed? What about foreign car drivers? What about..

Every single biker on the road in singapore is surrounded by a good 6 to 9 other vehicles at any one time. To make this biker safe, you need the cooperation of ALL 6 to 9 drivers. So trying to change the behaviour of one group of road user (bikers) is already hard enough. Now you want to multiply the effort by changing the behaviour of so many other people?

It is not that there are no other contributing sources, it is just that if poor TP has money to target only one group, so why not target at those 50% single party motorcycle accidents?

It's not an accurate view that TP only targets bikers. They monitor the situation and they do know that the following are the next most vulnerable groups:

- Old folks

- Cyclists

Who says there are no TP campaigns targeted at these groups? But guess what, TP reserve all their what-little-money and spend on motorbikers, so you see the ads on bikers but not for the others.

They also know about foreign workers. But wah lau, how do you really easily and cheaply educate and change the tendencies of so many different nationalities, who come and go by the hordes of thousands every year?

For all you know, when you go to malaysia, you may have violated many of their traffic rules. It is just that you are not aware :)

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

2006 2007

Killed 190 219

Seriously injured 104 92

TOTAL 9,896 10,561

Pedestrians 42 58

Pedal Cyclists 14 22

TOTAL 190 219

While these stats show the vulnerability of the riders, I think the TP should venture deeper than to merely brush it off as the riders' problems. Have we ever considered why did the riders crash? While the riders should consider on the way they ride, I think we should also look at the reasons on accidents. Self skidded, involvement with 2nd and multiple parties. Even if it is self skidded, how did they skid? Could it be possibily due to negligent drivers that poised the rider to skid in order to avoid collision.

Also, I think the LTA and TP should start investing on speed cameras in famous venues for illegal racing rather than erecting ERP gantries.

Let me explain.

First, do you know the TP has ZERO budget for Road Safety?

Then where does these advertisements come from, you may ask? They come from donations from sponsors. Dear TP has to depend on donations from sponsors for money. Else not even silly ads to remind you to be safe Mr Bikers.

Second, TP has to make the most of what little money they have. So it comes down down to simple maths on who to target first. There is just not enough money to go round to target several groups. You target the most vulnerable person or the single source that can yield maximum result.

Third, know your stats. Do you know that as high as 50% of the motorcycle accidents in Singapore involve...only the motorcyclist himself/herself only?

So if you don't invest to target the motorcyclist, you target who?

Taxi drivers? Yes, agree some taxi drivers disregard others when they are too focused in making ends meet. But ask yourself, how many taxi drivers do you have to target? Are taxi drivers the only dangerous ones around? What about van drivers? What about luxury car drivers? What about old-aged drivers? What about drivers who just passed? What about foreign car drivers? What about..

Every single biker on the road in singapore is surrounded by a good 6 to 9 other vehicles at any one time. To make this biker safe, you need the cooperation of ALL 6 to 9 drivers. So trying to change the behaviour of one group of road user (bikers) is already hard enough. Now you want to multiply the effort by changing the behaviour of so many other people?

It is not that there are no other contributing sources, it is just that if poor TP has money to target only one group, so why not target at those 50% single party motorcycle accidents?

It's not an accurate view that TP only targets bikers. They monitor the situation and they do know that the following are the next most vulnerable groups:

- Old folks

- Cyclists

Who says there are no TP campaigns targeted at these groups? But guess what, TP reserve all their what-little-money and spend on motorbikers, so you see the ads on bikers but not for the others.

They also know about foreign workers. But wah lau, how do you really easily and cheaply educate and change the tendencies of so many different nationalities, who come and go by the hordes of thousands every year?

For all you know, when you go to malaysia, you may have violated many of their traffic rules. It is just that you are not aware :)

This boils down to the need of resources to carry out a proper campaign. Perhaps if our ministers donate their pay raise to help the TP for a better cause, it'd serve better justification on how the money is spent.

ST Sep 5, 2008

Errant truckers nabbed

TRAFFIC authorities mounted a crackdown on heavy vehicles on Thursday for speeding and other traffic offences.

It was the 10th joint operation by the Traffic Police, Land Transport Authority and Jurong Inspection Centre held since May to clamp down on the rise of errant drivers of heavy vehicles.

Drivers who got pulled over yesterday earned themselves warnings or summonses on the spot.

One of the luckier ones was cement-mixer driver, Mr Lew, who was stopped at a road block along Tampines Link, a popular road plied by heavy vehicles daily.

An LTA officer who inspected his cement mixer found its brake lights to be faulty and licence plates covered in mud.

'I'll fix it now, I'll fix it now,' he said repeatedly in Malay before being let off with a warning.

He immediately got down to fixing the problem - replacing the brake light bulbs and scrubbing down his licence plates with water - in a neighbouring heavy vehicle wash.

The 54-year-old driver, who has over 20 years of experience driving heavy vehicles, said: 'Luckily they didn't issue me with a summons.'

The Traffic Police's senior staff sergeant Mohd (subs: mohd is in his IC) Fadzil, 34, told The Straits Times: 'Drivers usually say they didn't know when we catch them for not displaying their speed limiter labels or for not carrying a breakdown sign with them.'

'But those caught for speeding usually don't say much because we clock speeds with our laser speed guns. They'll just ask for another chance,' he said.

i do see lots of dimwits rider lately. especially p-plates, if not, deliveries from some of our famous 24hr fast food, or both.

and if you are the one that always squeeze to the front on the left at a left-turn zebra crossing and you hesistate alot, you are a dimwit too.

think TP has done a good job.

in the process of getting 2B...

Dreambike: HONDA NSR150SP

I think P platers on a car are the ones causing lots of problem. Those hum qi kia are ok, at most they road hogging on the expressway only. It's those "I just got my license and I have something to prove to the world" P platers that really make me feel like they should be taught a lesson. They speed, they high beam, they act as if the road belong to them, I really want to tell them "hello, when I take my car license you still studying Sec 3 and dreaming about driving!!!"

http://i41.tinypic.com/2vj99ua.jpg

http://i243.photobucket.com/albums/ff288/jinpwnsyou/Whack_a_kitty.gif

i would really appreciate TP to do an ad on taxi drivers. it could be something like this:

Uncle see it is 6.45pm but collection so little. start driving his taxi, saw a passenger and dash across 3 lanes without signaling to pick up. vehicle behind taxi jam brake and vehicle behind it slam into it. TP message could be something like: You could have earn $10, but what cost is another life?

or something like when they bang u, they always say they got family to feed. The commercial could say something like this... "You got family to feed, so does he (shows the victim)"

u tell those taxi driver to forgo the $10, at the end of the day, what matter most is their dough..

and what if the potential customer complain that the taxi nvr stop for the passenger?

and do u tink the passenger will buy the story which says " i saw a motorcyclist on my left and if i pick u up, i would have killed him"

it takes a lot of hands to clap, not juz 2.

education is key, but for how long? as soon as u r on the driver seat, u forget everything and ego takes over.

You can never discount education. For me, i ride and drive. I always take extra care with bikers around my vehicle. Do u think that without my knowledge of riding i would care a hoot about what bikers do or how to even expect what they are gonna do yah?

Of course, in any society there would be some black sheep, but at least thats a start yah?

Relax!

An ad for bikers, from bikers.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

the stats show that bike fatalities are the highest.

BUT they do not show the cause of the accidents.

now only can the statistics truly show who's behind them.

it would oso be a wrong to judge that bikers are poor road users.

i tink bike users are generally more careful as they know

when they get on the bike,

what dangers are there and that they are in a disadvantage against others.

of course usually the bigger the vehicle the lower the fatalities.

what thing can really make them vulnerable with all that metal

and safety features 1 can enjoy in something with 4 wheels.

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

I think that they should target motorcyclists! Do you see bad taxi drivers everyday? NO. Do you see crazy heavy vehicle drivers everyday? NO. And what do you mean by elderly people? How do they flaunt the rules more than other people? Why is it more dangerous when they flaunt the rules? BUT, you can see riders riding like crazy people every single day. That's it. I think the TP got it right.

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?