ya i think its luck sometimes... they made a mistake still u have to pay more... tats too much... if i were u i wont pay a single cent... cus push the bike all the way back... still must pay somemore... GAIKING... did u when back to confront them bout the tyre pressure? i think once u leave the shop u wont just travel all the way up again the next day just to complain liao... rite?... especially ppl like me who stay hougang etc.... its so far lor... i dont mind the distant if they really did do a good job... but twice i when... twice they made mistakes... who knows the next time i go service my bike what will happen... i might ride until CTE then breakdown... then how? siao liao lor... call towing? then i have to pay for repair and towing fees? wtf?

• Replies 83

I just came back from there. Having my bike doing dyno at Unity. Need a good coolant like Engine Ice. Previously I bought in Motorworld at 35bucks per btl. Now? 42!! Buy 2 btl of coolant at 84bucks!! Faintz.. I had no choice but to LL get from them. Now island wide no stock. Even the agent Sporting dun havem. Sigh... Dont think will go back there again. :nono:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e54/quincy77/MONSTERENERGY.jpg

It is when power is wedded to chronic fear that it becomes formidable.

the prev tyre change i had was a pretty bad experience. the idiot didnt fix the valve properly so guess what happened. the air leaked out. and i went 312c that night. kudos lah HKL. losing me oredi.

I am The Great Cornholio!

And a Gringo...

I have no Bunghole...

there is always some bad apple in everywhere. but doenst mean the place selling apple are all bad. Sometime it take luck to find a good apple.

Thus, takes time to know more thing and know where u like most.

lesson learn....have to stand beside them to watch their every move..even if the ask u to relx and left the job to them...haha...one thing u can learn abit here and there, and also to remind tham if and thing not put back in ur bike..

let luck always be wit us...:goodluck: :goodluck:

A rider is not only responsible for riding his bike but making sure tat his equipments are safe and adequate. Yes the mechs mite have been careless but u're also to be blamed for ur carelessness.. shouldn't u do a glance or feel chk b4 even leaving the workshop juz to ensure tat all parts have been placed back n tightened?

Well, learn frm ur experience so u wun make the same mistakes again!

Originally posted by kelvin_luffs@Jul 8 2006, 06:05 PM

A rider is not only responsible for riding his bike but making sure tat his equipments are safe and adequate. Yes the mechs mite have been careless but u're also to be blamed for ur carelessness.. shouldn't u do a glance or feel chk b4 even leaving the workshop juz to ensure tat all parts have been placed back n tightened?

I dont think everybody will go and use the tools in the workshop after the mechanic fix the rim for you and go and test whether if he tighten it or not. This show disrespect to the mechanic, they are professional. So if a mechanic wan pple to respect them they muz do a gd job and they cannot be careless at all on important parts. No offence dude but this is how i feel. :cheer:

Thai Amulets do not produce instant miracles. Wear it with faiths and a good heart. Eventually you will see the effect.

Im letting go some of my thai amulets which I had collected throughout the years when I go to Thailand. Do PM me if you are looking for something which u cant find in my post, I might have it. Thanks :)

Guest yanani18&27

yups....that true 13randon.....i feel like that 2

Safest bet is to go a few rounds near to the bikeshop just to ensure that your bike is okie dokie. If it is, can go off. If not, can ride back to the shop... :thumb:

Originally posted by Bloodangel1985@Jul 8 2006, 03:53 PM

lesson learn....have to stand beside them to watch their every move..even if the ask u to relx and left the job to them...haha...one thing u can learn abit here and there, and also to remind tham if and thing not put back in ur bike..

let luck always be wit us...:goodluck: :goodluck:

your ang mo too chin......

Originally posted by 13randon@Jul 8 2006, 08:42 PM

I dont think everybody will go and use the tools in the workshop after the mechanic fix the rim for you and go and test whether if he tighten it or not. This show disrespect to the mechanic, they are professional. So if a mechanic wan pple to respect them they muz do a gd job and they cannot be careless at all on important parts. No offence dude but this is how i feel. :cheer:

bro, i believe kelvin is saying: do a visual check before moving off to see whether anything is amiss or out of place..

it's best to make this a habit; visual check plus use our hands to feel whether any parts are not fitted properly or loose..

would you compromise your safety to how the mechanics feel about their professionalism?

to err is human

but safety cannot be compromised..

even the best mechs makes mistakes; nobody's perfect..

we, the riders, at the end holds the responsibility for our lives, others(pillions, other road users, pedestrians etc) and machine should anything untowards happen..

ride safe ppl.. (even at high speed)

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

Originally posted by kambing@Jul 9 2006, 04:06 AM

bro, i believe kelvin is saying: do a visual check before moving off to see whether anything is amiss or out of place..

it's best to make this a habit; visual check plus use our hands to feel whether any parts are not fitted properly or loose..

would you compromise your safety to how the mechanics feel about their professionalism?

to err is human

we, the riders, at the end holds the responsibility for our lives, others(pillions, other road users, pedestrians etc) and machine should anything untowards happen..

Well said, bro. Wheelie safe also... :cheeky:

Originally posted by kambing@Jul 9 2006, 04:06 AM

to err is human

by using hands to feel if the nuts are tight or not is nv accurate. sometime the nut u cant use yr finger to turn but its not tighten mayb its the thread spoilt or too rusty u need to use a tools then u will know its really tighten or not. I think the safest method is stand beside the mechanic look at wad he is doing and see him tightening the nut with yr own eyes muz see his hand vain all come out that kind means tighten liao haha :sweat: this way u wun hurt the mechanic pride and u wun hurt yrself too :cheeky: :cheer:

Thai Amulets do not produce instant miracles. Wear it with faiths and a good heart. Eventually you will see the effect.

Im letting go some of my thai amulets which I had collected throughout the years when I go to Thailand. Do PM me if you are looking for something which u cant find in my post, I might have it. Thanks :)

I tink dis is goin nowhere. haiz...

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg
Originally posted by JJboi@Jul 9 2006, 06:39 PM

CLOSE THE THREAD LA

You report to moderator lah... :sweat:

Originally posted by johnson86@Jul 8 2006, 01:06 PM

ya i think its luck sometimes... they made a mistake still u have to pay more... tats too much... if i were u i wont pay a single cent... cus push the bike all the way back... still must pay somemore... GAIKING... did u when back to confront them bout the tyre pressure? i think once u leave the shop u wont just travel all the way up again the next day just to complain liao... rite?... especially ppl like me who stay hougang etc.... its so far lor... i dont mind the distant if they really did do a good job... but twice i when... twice they made mistakes... who knows the next time i go service my bike what will happen... i might ride until CTE then breakdown... then how? siao liao lor... call towing? then i have to pay for repair and towing fees? wtf?

i oso like to share my exp in HKL. actually they r all along ok since their bikeshop at telok blangah b4 queensway but aft they shift n start 2 earn big $, they treat u like dirt. especially the tau geh(u shld kw who).

3 yrs ago when i got a cbr400 from HKL, i went bck the 2nd day n told them thr's problem wif the starter. the mechanic tested it n tell me its ok. another 5 days ltr i encounter the same prob n i go bck again n they tell me the same thing. 2 weeks ltr i go bck wif the same prob n again i rcv the same reply. juz less thn a week aft the 1 mth wty, the bike died on ECP. aft tow the bike bck to the shop, the 'tau geh' ask the mech 2 chk n they tell me magnet coil burned, rectifier n batt spoiled.

com'on man. magnet coil where got burn so easy 1? thn i start 2 quarrel wif the 'tau geh'. he kp saying its my own problem n the wty is over. but the fact is i went bck for the batt prob 3 times b4 the wty n aft dat giv me dis kind of reason. i'm dam fed up n i wan them 2 assemble everything bck n i push to as phoon. changing the 3 items cost me arnd $460.

gathering all other my exp, my conclusion is; if u dun spend $ thr or owe them $, they will treat u like dirt or even worse then dat.

History :angel: --> Cagiva Mito3, Yamaha RX100, Yamaha TZRR125, Yamaha RXK135, Honda 150SP, Honda CBR400RR, Honda Wave 125R, Honda CBR900RR, Yamaha R6 '05, Subaru Imprezza I 1.6M, Honda Silverwing SW-T400, Honda Super 4 Version S, Yamaha Spark 135 RX

Present :thumb: --> Yamaha Tmax 530 Iron Max, Perodua Viva 1.0L

let's say i've just pass n got my license a few days ago.... know nothing abt bikes..

buy a bike 2 days ago riding 1/2 way bike jerk here n there..

ride to bikeshop n tell mech the prob(jerky) mech say maybe timming chain or carb. or etc...

have to check... den tell u gotta take out top n change timming chain which u know not a sh*t abt what it is....

mech says ok liao n u pay $ .... which u dun know realli for what coz u knows a sh*t abt bikes (all u know is change timming chain n have to take out top)

u ride out n 2 corner n a straight later u buang......

push bike back..... found out a small little screw got stuck at the timming chain n engine jammed....

???? how to check ?????

can someone tell me ?

what will the mech says ???? ( or u buang that's why the screw came loose)

coz u dun know that u skidded due to wheel lock coz engine jammed....

n therefore u pay for more repairs....

whoes fault ??? mine ??? my life was endangered n it's my fault i din check n was conned 2nd time for the buang repairs...

my fault at being a 1st time bike owner n new rider n know naughts abt bike ?

i born out know how to check liao har ?

so i think B4 u tell them to check this n that.... why dun u put urself in their shoes 1st ?

as a complete new rider.... DO U KNOW WHAT TO CHECK... when u know sh*t abt bikes....

my 2 cents worth to checkers....

u can only check after u gain knowledge n experiences from a certain amt of riding....

Originally posted by kelvin_luffs@Jul 8 2006, 06:05 PM

think again when u r a complete newbie u know what to check ? do u even know if the bike is sounding right ?...... even after ride a few round the shop u think u know it's ok ?.......

we r talking abt a newbie.....

just 2 cents worth...

Originally posted by firenace@Jul 20 2006, 06:43 PM

i oso like to share my exp in HKL. actually they r all along ok since their bikeshop at telok blangah b4 queensway but aft they shift n start 2 earn big $, they treat u like dirt. especially the tau geh(u shld kw who).

3 yrs ago when i got a cbr400 from HKL, i went bck the 2nd day n told them thr's problem wif the starter. the mechanic tested it n tell me its ok. another 5 days ltr i encounter the same prob n i go bck again n they tell me the same thing. 2 weeks ltr i go bck wif the same prob n again i rcv the same reply. juz less thn a week aft the 1 mth wty, the bike died on ECP. aft tow the bike bck to the shop, the 'tau geh' ask the mech 2 chk n they tell me magnet coil burned, rectifier n batt spoiled.

com'on man. magnet coil where got burn so easy 1? thn i start 2 quarrel wif the 'tau geh'. he kp saying its my own problem n the wty is over. but the fact is i went bck for the batt prob 3 times b4 the wty n aft dat giv me dis kind of reason. i'm dam fed up n i wan them 2 assemble everything bck n i push to as phoon. changing the 3 items cost me arnd $460.

gathering all other my exp, my conclusion is; if u dun spend $ thr or owe them $, they will treat u like dirt or even worse then dat.

magnetic coil very seldom will spoil or burnt off easily. As bikers we have to be careful, best is you are on the spot. u will never know what happens behind ur back bcoz exchanging a burnt coil onto ur bike is easy. But changing a new coil is not cheap, cost u a bomb. haizz its their ricebowl, they earn themselves a working coil and sell out a new coil... Above is what my own bike mechanic told me based on his own experience. i thought thru about it, i guess maybe he's right after all bcoz humans can be cunning when it comes to greed over $ or u working for someone else, bobian lo its ur ricebowl leh.

Went to that shop once. Not much bad experience. Changed of tyres, sprockets, chain & steering cone. From 11am till 3pm+.

Sat & squat by my bike throughout the whole servicing/changing process. When the mech go n have his lunch, i was still there looking after my bike though my stomach is groaning. This is the way i ensure.

http://i73.photobucket.com/albums/i214/wantanmee07/bikes/FE3.jpg

When something funny happens to your bike, you should first check with friends, other bikers, and even the Internet... before you panic and go running to a bike shop. Of course, if you have a trusted mechanic, life is easier... but not everybody got this luck.

I once had a prob with my bike. Didn't run to mechanic straightaway. Checked with friends riding similar bike. Then I went to an Internet discussion group. Finally I checked with my regular mechanic (who's honest BTW, but I just wanted more feedback from elsewhere to verify), and they all said the same thing. I fixed the problem with the help of a forummer here.

So just fish around for information first before you run crying to an unknown bikeshop. If your problem is not serious, it won't hurt to do some research first. Otherwise, take the bus for a couple of days. Better than being chopped to bits.

Honestly, I feel that quite a number of local bike shops are just waiting to chop you to little pieces. Probably due to the high competition here. They're trying to earn every little penny they can get off their customers.

A lot of them believe in squeezing every customer that comes their way. Nevermind if that customer never ever comes back after a bad experience. No need for regular customers wat...

.... After all, there's always the next newbie 2B rider that just passed to chop.

Singapore culture? ;)

When i go there or any other shop i will stand next to the mechanic

and see everything he do....

As repect i will tell the mechanic that i will like to see because i can learn from him

I will ask everything he do is for wat....

1st i learn more about bike

2nd i will know whether he doing the right thing

even when change type i will follow him to see wat he do....

ask wat is the number on the type he going to change for me mean wat ?

if date too old i will ask again...

whether can don change to that anot

but normally at HKL very hard to find old type as i think they sell it too fast...

i will stand there see that the balance is "0R0L"

than see him pump the type pressure...

and follow him back to the bike make sure the chain and other thing is

fix back as wat it is to be....

i will demand for standard....

if they don do as wat is to be done i will go find ah keong

and ask him to do for me....

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

Dunno how u look @ them, but if u 1 i can recommend u @ caltex along braddell road of the junction towards bishan, there is a small bike workshop inside... dun look it is small workshop, he handles coustomer include CBR1000 Black Bird RVF Super 4 and many... but only sad things is parts are rare, so gotta need to call before u go, or pls come back another day...

vrooooom, another round, never slow down

Knock'em down in .01 seconds

Let's leave our mark here and disappear to the next group

The loser's left crawling on the ground in a cloud of dust

The wannabes are all talk, They just get in the way so let's ignore'em

We takes off, beyond the street

Only den they'll know!

http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/9288/04vs082gb4.png