Which is the dream color for your RVF400??  

427 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the dream color for your RVF400??

• Rothmans design.
    • RCV211 style Repsol design.
    • White/blue Moviestar design (older version).
    • Current Blue Moviestar design.
    • Pramac design.
    • Original Is da best.
    • ELF design.
    • Rossi's Yr 2001 NSR500 Nastro Azzuro design.
    • RCV211 Yellow Camel design.
    • Others (specify accordingly).

• Replies 63k

• MC28

• wait4me

• DaN zI

• lwfc

Guest wee02

hey folks, jus a quick question, how long in terms of mileage does ur petrol last u?

Originally posted by PauLaBuSa@Apr 29 2004, 10:49 AM

hey anyone knows where can i get a single seater for my rvf and roughly cost about how much?

single seater (whole tailboard) --> can use PGM or go biketech to buy.. not cheap

single seater(same as ur pillon seat) --> jus a white plastic covering it.. cost ard $140 at motoworld

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by wee02@May 4 2004, 04:50 PM

hey folks, jus a quick question, how long in terms of mileage does ur petrol last u?

mine 220km

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

single seater (whole tailboard) --> can use PGM or go biketech to buy.. not cheap

single seater(same as ur pillon seat) --> jus a white plastic covering it.. cost ard $140 at motoworld

nice one ! but the second 1...single seater , can the white plastic change back to pillion seat in case got ppl wan pillion ?

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@May 4 2004, 09:55 PM

har? sure not Buzz?

that time remember i went with you, i ask the mechanic there, he said it cost $280 for a brand new seat cowl leh! $140 maybe a used one.

wee02

Posted on May 4 2004, 04:50 PM

ours are generally 225-230 KM. yr reserve can tahan at least 30 More KM. i tried it!

:cheeky: but if u are really running low, dun try beyond 40 km after reserve....RVF very heavy to push leh. can die.

BTW..i know you guys are in the RIGGHT section but the majority of the RVfians gather here http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=32544

that is why sometimes this thread appears cold and unanswering. but we try our best to look into here once in awhile.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

:thumb: shay

hey guys juz wondering .. since all 2nd sp ride till a certain rpm ,lets say 5.5 ..will start to have a feeling of uable to drag up or going down. like stuck then have to drag over then smooth. Does rvf 2nd hand bike rpm have such problems ? :sweat:

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

Originally posted by Shay@May 5 2004, 02:18 AM

BTW..i know you guys are in the RIGGHT section but the majority of the RVfians gather here http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=32544

that is why sometimes this thread appears cold and unanswering. but we try our best to look into here once in awhile.

yup, but i think there's quite alot of general chats over there, might abit hard to search back for technical info. Maybe can have this thread for technical Q&A? :smile: Somemore how can we dun have a thread on our lovely rvf under this SportsBikes section rite? :cheeky:

Originally posted by acidhurt@May 5 2004, 03:12 PM

yup, but i think there's quite alot of general chats over there, might abit hard to search back for technical info. Maybe can have this thread for technical Q&A? :smile: Somemore how can we dun have a thread on our lovely rvf under this SportsBikes section rite? :cheeky:

Whether it was intially intended for technical stuff or not, it will turn out to have crap talk like what we have on the other thread.

Having to go to 2 threads for the same purpose is very troublesome.

Its best we have just one thread.

Either here or there.

mine's 275

http://alpha.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1115.jpg

why get a 1 when you can have a perfect 10 ?

mine is 260 -270km b4 reserve

GhostRider3 Is Out For more info or a copy can PM me.

hey erm anyone change modify a k&N air filter to be fitted on a rvf??? if so any problems???? and cost how much?

Live to Ride , Ride to Live

May 2001 - Dec 2003 Kawasaki KRR150

Dec 2003 - Aug 2005 Honda RVF400

Aug 2005 - Jan 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 2003

Feb 2007 - ?????????? Hyper Vtec Spec III

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s96/paulabusa/DSCF0028_edited-1.jpg

Originally posted by PauLaBuSa@May 5 2004, 06:54 PM

hey erm anyone change modify a k&N air filter to be fitted on a rvf??? if so any problems???? and cost how much?

was quoted $80 but were told not to mess with the original air box unless u got ur jetting and exhaust changed to higher performance one. :smile:

Originally posted by PauLaBuSa@May 5 2004, 06:54 PM

Im using one... throttle respone is much smoother...

can ask e other who tried my bike b4 like Shay,

but some feel tat it lacks of power ...

but as acidhurt say, if u wan e best results, have to do jetting etc etc

Originally posted by Shay@May 5 2004, 02:18 AM

har? sure not Buzz?

that time remember i went with you, i ask the mechanic there, he said it cost $280 for a brand new seat cowl leh! $140 maybe a used one.

ours are generally 225-230 KM. yr reserve can tahan at least 30 More KM. i tried it!

:cheeky: but if u are really running low, dun try beyond 40 km after reserve....RVF very heavy to push leh. can die.

$140 la.. but its look 2nd hand to me...

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@May 5 2004, 08:50 PM

Im using one... throttle respone is much smoother...

can ask e other who tried my bike b4 like Shay,

but some feel tat it lacks of power ...

but as acidhurt say, if u wan e best results, have to do jetting etc etc

huh? what thing? i got say that meh?

didnt i tell you it felt like sh*t? hahahahaha....... just kidding!!!!

well...to those who wana do this mod. make sure the mech do a GOOD SOLID JOB!

herez a story of K&N...

Once upon a time, K&N used to make foam filters for RVF 400s. their competetive pricing with Honda's OEM paper filters ensured that profit margins was acceptable.

Then one day, Honda decided to lower the pricing of thier paper filters. and so, K&N reckoned it could no longer profit from this particular market and stop making the specialised filters for RVFs.

NOW....if u still wan foam filters, it is still possible. of coz we do not doubt the quality of a K&N but there are other available brands of Foam filters in the market too.

Foam filters offers $$ savings in the long run as they claim to last the lifetime of yr bike. no replacements neccessary. all the maintenance it needs is the ocassional wash and soaking in specialised foam filter oil.

its oso claimed to be more unrestrictive to airflow but more effective in trapping dirt.

wow right? wana do it? make sure the mech does a good job though. coz since K&N dun make for rvfs liao, the mechs have to mod yr filter to accept the foam filters. in this mod, the proper way is to do a clean cutout of the oem paper element. then cut the foam filter (watever brand u chose) to the fitting size in place of the removed paper element.

u'll have to ensure it is a tight fit too.... coz a small hole here n there can mean big trouble for yr carburettion.

now that u have ur foam filter cut out nicely, u;ll need a High Temperature RTV or sealant to seal the edges of the foam filter to the use-to-be paper element adapter. it has to be high temperature sealant and a good one too. becoz the airfilter operates just above the engine block which is bloody hot, any poor-@ass glue u use will melt or peel with time and these peelings oso not very frenly to yr bike carburetion.

basically its a job best to DIY as standard mechs wont bother with such precautions or use a good sealant for you, unless u are as lucky as that bugger called Buzzbeam whoz bike is "throttle response smoother" maybe u can ask him where he did it.

oh yea...coupled with the need to do a proper rejetting/tuning of yr carbs after the mod to accomodate for the increased airflow of the foam filter, u can see why this is troublesome.

either u are oredy scared shitless reading all this or just another lazy @ss like me, keep it stock!! the paper ones last a year anyway!

Originally posted by jungleboy111@May 5 2004, 04:58 PM

Whether it was intially intended for technical stuff or not, it will turn out to have crap talk like what we have on the other thread.

Having to go to 2 threads for the same purpose is very troublesome.

Its best we have just one thread.

Either here or there.

hey Jungle...how abt we treat this thread as a techincal forum? and the old one for pricing of stuff, outlook of bike stuff and organising of outings and the ocaasional tok coking??

like the 400 greybike forum's RVF section which is divided into tech stuff, genereal discussion and graphics stuff? much cleaner this way too.

wadda ya all think?

To 400cc riders:Hope this were help.Regardin the 2 best tyres for 250-400cc bike

Dunlop GPR70 SP.

Currently, They rate the GPR 70 as the best performance road tyre for the road/track day motard rider. The tyre has been used by club supersport 400 racers for the last two seasons, so it already has quite a pedigree. The sizes available limit the fitment to the 120/60-17 front (rather than 120/70-17) and the rear to the 150/60-17 (than 160). These sizes tend to produce a faster turning bike. They are also the cheapest quality brand option currently on the market

Depending on the riding, you can expect up to 4000km

BT 090 (Bridgestone)

The BT 090 has recently replaced the BT96. They had continued success with this tyre from a motard perspective. Bikes have ranged from the formidable CR500 to the CRM250. The tyres seem to provide almost the best grip available in addition to some degree of longevity. N yet to have any complaints about performance except possibly a prelonged warm up time compared to some other brands and their very strong wax layer when just purchased.

They can be used in any conditions, however, muddy or shingle covered lanes will pose problems due to the lack of a dispersing tread pattern.

Depending on the riding, you can expect up to 4800km and down to approximately 2880km.

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by IceZ@May 7 2004, 12:17 AM

To 400cc riders:Hope this were help.Regardin the 2 best tyres for 250-400cc bike

Dunlop GPR70 SP.

Currently, They rate the GPR 70 as the best performance road tyre for the road/track day motard rider. The tyre has been used by club supersport 400 racers for the last two seasons, so it already has quite a pedigree. The sizes available limit the fitment to the 120/60-17 front (rather than 120/70-17) and the rear to the 150/60-17 (than 160). These sizes tend to produce a faster turning bike. They are also the cheapest quality brand option currently on the market

Depending on the riding, you can expect up to 4000km

BT 090 (Bridgestone)

The BT 090 has recently replaced the BT96. They had continued success with this tyre from a motard perspective. Bikes have ranged from the formidable CR500 to the CRM250. The tyres seem to provide almost the best grip available in addition to some degree of longevity. N yet to have any complaints about performance except possibly a prelonged warm up time compared to some other brands and their very strong wax layer when just purchased.

They can be used in any conditions, however, muddy or shingle covered lanes will pose problems due to the lack of a dispersing tread pattern.

Depending on the riding, you can expect up to 4800km and down to approximately 2880km.

ah! another 250/400 cc lover!!

thx for the info man!

Guest rvf7972
Originally posted by jinjin@May 7 2004, 01:08 PM

can i ask ard... to get a RVF for 8000+ isit ex or resaonable..??

seroulsy depnds on lots of things,

eg:-

condition of the bike,

yr of reg,

mods done on the bike,

insurence & coe expirey,

paint work, etc etc..

u r new dream bike ah??

:faint: :faint:

Originally posted by Shay@May 6 2004, 01:32 AM

huh? what thing? i got say that meh?

didnt i tell you it felt like sh*t? hahahahaha....... just kidding!!!!

well...to those who wana do this mod. make sure the mech do a GOOD SOLID JOB!

herez a story of K&N...

Once upon a time, K&N used to make foam filters for RVF 400s. their competetive pricing with Honda's OEM paper filters ensured that profit margins was acceptable.

Then one day, Honda decided to lower the pricing of thier paper filters. and so, K&N reckoned it could no longer profit from this particular market and stop making the specialised filters for RVFs.

NOW....if u still wan foam filters, it is still possible. of coz we do not doubt the quality of a K&N but there are other available brands of Foam filters in the market too.

Foam filters offers $$ savings in the long run as they claim to last the lifetime of yr bike. no replacements neccessary. all the maintenance it needs is the ocassional wash and soaking in specialised foam filter oil.

its oso claimed to be more unrestrictive to airflow but more effective in trapping dirt.

wow right? wana do it? make sure the mech does a good job though. coz since K&N dun make for rvfs liao, the mechs have to mod yr filter to accept the foam filters. in this mod, the proper way is to do a clean cutout of the oem paper element. then cut the foam filter (watever brand u chose) to the fitting size in place of the removed paper element.

u'll have to ensure it is a tight fit too.... coz a small hole here n there can mean big trouble for yr carburettion.

now that u have ur foam filter cut out nicely, u;ll need a High Temperature RTV or sealant to seal the edges of the foam filter to the use-to-be paper element adapter. it has to be high temperature sealant and a good one too. becoz the airfilter operates just above the engine block which is bloody hot, any poor-@ass glue u use will melt or peel with time and these peelings oso not very frenly to yr bike carburetion.

basically its a job best to DIY as standard mechs wont bother with such precautions or use a good sealant for you, unless u are as lucky as that bugger called Buzzbeam whoz bike is "throttle response smoother" maybe u can ask him where he did it.

oh yea...coupled with the need to do a proper rejetting/tuning of yr carbs after the mod to accomodate for the increased airflow of the foam filter, u can see why this is troublesome.

either u are oredy scared shitless reading all this or just another lazy @ss like me, keep it stock!! the paper ones last a year anyway!

so shay, if i am the lazy type and i wan the air filter and carb to be jus fine, i should remain using the stock filters??

oh yes i am using the BT090, alot of ppl tell me its no good leh, any comments?

Live to Ride , Ride to Live

May 2001 - Dec 2003 Kawasaki KRR150

Dec 2003 - Aug 2005 Honda RVF400

Aug 2005 - Jan 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 2003

Feb 2007 - ?????????? Hyper Vtec Spec III

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s96/paulabusa/DSCF0028_edited-1.jpg

Originally posted by PauLaBuSa@May 7 2004, 01:49 PM

oh yes i am using the BT090, alot of ppl tell me its no good leh, any comments?

alot of ppl said BT090 not so good cos its very slippery during rain and its doesn't grip well in dry too. GPR70 would be recommended by most cos it grips well in wet and dry and its cheap too. Me currently using Pirelli MTR Dragons, quite ex but very good in dry and wet still all rite. Pirelli dragon wears faster cos the tyre pressure always need to maintain. Metzeler MEZ1s' grips as good as pirelli but it last longer. :smile:

anyone using sportec M1? heard its very sticky but wears very fast. :confused: Does it have 150 for rear? Cos my pirelli is 160...