Which is the dream color for your RVF400??  

427 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the dream color for your RVF400??

• Rothmans design.
    • RCV211 style Repsol design.
    • White/blue Moviestar design (older version).
    • Current Blue Moviestar design.
    • Pramac design.
    • Original Is da best.
    • ELF design.
    • Rossi's Yr 2001 NSR500 Nastro Azzuro design.
    • RCV211 Yellow Camel design.
    • Others (specify accordingly).

well. anyone interested to meet demetris from motorcyclelane.com?

hes in town and he wants to meet up. ok, ken wants to organise this. we're supposed to meet them on sat evening. not sure where. please call 91646302 to ask ken what time he wants to meet.

tentatively, i think its around 7-8pm at pitstop. please call him to confirm. thanks

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

• Replies 63k

• MC28

• wait4me

• DaN zI

• lwfc

no, ntuc doesnt take in rvf. only mitsui. (the last i checked)

there ARE a few late fm plate rvfs around..

fn should not cost you more than 7k max from a shop.. private owner you can get it cheaper.. for maybe around 6+? depends on owner.. and what did he do i suppose.. why not pay abit more for a newer one? i got mine 10k from a shop 8months back.. fs plate..

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

eh ntuc still take in ,confirm..cos mine was done by a ntuc agent who is sbf forumer oso. nick 2_wheeler. sub under my father i be 2nd rider..2nd party fire n theft.

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

btw SHAY TKS MAN FOR UR TECHNIQUE!! els my stupid rvf cannot start again. i have change retifier $110, battery 70$, melted retifier plug 20$, neutral switch 20$ . spark plug 70$. and sometimes i press start, totally no sound n turn over ,so hope tt carbon brush in motor starter is the last problem. weeep :~

lasty i have this problem. if u stall in gear 1 ,u clutch in,side stand up n press start, bike will start rite ? how come mine wun ? i change clutch plate, clutch cable n biting point of clutch set to middlle. ani can help ?

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

tis is my test result

batt measured 12.3v when bike is not start

right after start is 11.8v

at rpm 5 is 12.7

rectiflier i dun really know how to check

i pull out the plug n measure the 3 yellow wires at the plug

first pair i measure 0.5

2nd pair i measure 14.5

3rd pair 15.4

i notice some exposed wire on the plug also

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Mar 19 2005, 12:45 PM

tis is my test result

batt measured 12.3v when bike is not start

right after start is 11.8v

at rpm 5 is 12.7

rectiflier i dun really know how to check

i pull out the plug n measure the 3 yellow wires at the plug

first pair i measure 0.5

2nd pair i measure 14.5

3rd pair 15.4

i notice some exposed wire on the plug also

from the results, i think your battery is a little low on the voltage side with load on (bike turned ON) at 11.8V.

Your charging results looks bad too. Even at 5000RPM, effective increase in charging voltage is only a diff of 1V!! But from what happened to me before, i learned that a lack of charging voltage do not neccessarily means that the rectifier is dead. When the battery is decaying internally, it'll simply refuse any charging voltages as the chemical process to facilitate this no longer take place.

Herez another simple way of isolating either the batt or the rect. You know the Positive wire gg into the Battery? Undo the screws and remove them 1st. Tape it down to the battery + terminal. Start the bike, remove the tape and expose the + terminal wire. Careful not to make contact with any metal at this point. Now measure the Positive Wire with respect to a good grounding point. get yr dad to rev the bike... You should see the voltage will increase uniformly as the RPM goes up to 5000. If not....iz the Rectifier or the exposed wires u mentioned.

The Yellow wires are leading out from the magnetic coil.

You did correct by measuring at plug side. But measuring each pair of yellow wires is tricky. u got to ensure a steady hand and make sure the multimter probes stay in good contact, else you will get error readings. I was struggling for awhile when i measured mine..but after i see a 1 OHM or less in each pair of yellow wires for a second or two, i know my magnetic coils are good coz magnetic coils seldom gives you trouble unless its a very old bike.

Assuming you measured them properly in OHMS..... 0.5 OHMs is good. Anything more than 1 OHM can classified as a open winding in the magnetic coil. 14 and 15 OHMs like what you said is no good. i would suspect the magnetic coil but You said u noticed exposed wires at the plugs??

Simple, measure the yellow pair that you said has 14 or 15 OHMs again. This time get your dad to FLEX the rectifier cable loom near the exposed region....does the reading fluctuate? if it does..most prob is just the cables.

do the 2 tests and let us know the result. At this point in time, i suspect you either have a bad battery or iz the exposed wires you mentioned.

:goodluck: again.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by Shay@Mar 19 2005, 01:44 PM

from the results, i think your battery is a little low on the voltage side with load on (bike turned ON) at 11.8V.

Your charging results looks bad too. Even at 5000RPM, effective increase in charging voltage is only a diff of 1V!! But from what happened to me before, i learned that a lack of charging voltage do not neccessarily means that the rectifier is dead. When the battery is decaying internally, it'll simply refuse any charging voltages as the chemical process to facilitate this no longer take place.

Herez another simple way of isolating either the batt or the rect. You know the Positive wire gg into the Battery? Undo the screws and remove them 1st. Tape it down to the battery + terminal. Start the bike, remove the tape and expose the + terminal wire. Careful not to make contact with any metal at this point. Now measure the Positive Wire with respect to a good grounding point. get yr dad to rev the bike... You should see the voltage will increase uniformly as the RPM goes up to 5000. If not....iz the Rectifier or the exposed wires u mentioned.

The Yellow wires are leading out from the magnetic coil.

You did correct by measuring at plug side. But measuring each pair of yellow wires is tricky. u got to ensure a steady hand and make sure the multimter probes stay in good contact, else you will get error readings. I was struggling for awhile when i measured mine..but after i see a 1 OHM or less in each pair of yellow wires for a second or two, i know my magnetic coils are good coz magnetic coils seldom gives you trouble unless its a very old bike.

Assuming you measured them properly in OHMS..... 0.5 OHMs is good. Anything more than 1 OHM can classified as a open winding in the magnetic coil. 14 and 15 OHMs like what you said is no good. i would suspect the magnetic coil but You said u noticed exposed wires at the plugs??

Simple, measure the yellow pair that you said has 14 or 15 OHMs again. This time get your dad to FLEX the rectifier cable loom near the exposed region....does the reading fluctuate? if it does..most prob is just the cables.

do the 2 tests and let us know the result. At this point in time, i suspect you either have a bad battery or iz the exposed wires you mentioned.

:goodluck: again.

wat do u mean by good grounding?

and flex means moving the wire?

sorry my american not v good ah

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Mar 19 2005, 02:11 PM

wat do u mean by good grounding?

and flex means moving the wire?

sorry my american not v good ah

good grounding is any metal part of the bike that has good continuity with Earth lah.

To test this, use multimeter set to resistance, meaure the Batt Negative terminal wire to any of the metal part.... i.e the recfifier screws.

Or just use the battery terminal for simplicity sake.

Yes Flex means to move.

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Mar 19 2005, 02:51 PM

so its mean tt i will use the black wire from my multimeter n place it on the negative wire den the red wire on my multimeter palce ont he rect screws?

yea..ssee if you get a 1 ohm or less (indicating good continuity) btw this 2 points. if you do, u could use either of these 2 points when measuring voltage at the 1st test i mentioned.

But i would prefer you to use a ground other than the battery's terminal lead becoz we are trying to isolate the battery completely.

guess i know wat is wrong liao....

my batt up the lorry already

tis is wat happened juz now...

i am leaving PS after meeting up wif my friend but once again cannot start..so push my bike from the 7th floor right down to the ground floor.called my dad to save me.so after charging i went to serangoon SHELL which is juz nearby n i was travelling at oni 70 the most.after refuel my bike cannot start again.so ask my dad bk to save me again.tis time round i went to my gf place which is further n i travel at around 90-100.i turn off n i manage to start it again

plus while i am travelling to my gf house every red light tt i stopped i rev till 5 rpm n my nuetral light grow brighter.

so i guess my bike charging system is still working.oni the batt cannot

store the voltage for a long time.

so guess its time for me to buy a new batt le

hope u guys understand my america...

should be the case.......what batt u changing toooooooo.

the battery installed by the prev owner on my bike.....beeps when low batt and there is an LED on the battery that lights up if it is charging. quite useful

its purple in color

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Mar 20 2005, 02:40 PM

should be the case.......what batt u changing toooooooo.

the battery installed by the prev owner on my bike.....beeps when low batt and there is an LED on the battery that lights up if it is charging. quite useful

its purple in color

my previous batt is also tt one...but was told tt yuasa batt is better so change to tis yuasa 6 months ago....now need changin le..

so anyone has any recommendation for batt?

yang ah...spoil battery might oso gave u a fake readin like a normal battery..onli by chgin it, u will noe...my bike mech told tat.it gave a fake readin but when u try to crank the bike it jus dosen't start..n btw that the mech @ jB Side that went to chg ur battery might be correct...he say ur batt spoil n the batt does nt take the chgin anymore....tat y chg so long

25 Nov 2003 - 24 Nov 2004 (FS6087P) (NSR SP)

24 Nov 2004 - 28 Feb 2006 (FJ7457X & FJ*5**) (Hurricane & Vespa PX200)

01 Mar 2006 - 04 Jul 2006 (FS9367L, FJ7457X & FJ*5**)(CBR 919 RRW, Hurricane &Vespa PX200)

04 Jul 2006 - 13 Jun 2011 (FV8507R & FJ*5**)(Suzuki K2 & Vespa PX200)

13 Jun 2011 - Till Now (X1)

15 Jan 2013 - 10 Sept 2015 (FBG9588B)(GTR1400 2013)

Originally posted by Murphy@Mar 20 2005, 03:11 PM

yang ah...spoil battery might oso gave u a fake readin like a normal battery..onli by chgin it, u will noe...my bike mech told tat.it gave a fake readin but when u try to crank the bike it jus dosen't start..n btw that the mech @ jB Side that went to chg ur battery might be correct...he say ur batt spoil n the batt does nt take the chgin anymore....tat y chg so long

ya lo the mech is should be right....but i juz dun trust him cos i juz change my batt 6 months ago....plus i dun really trust jb mech...

stupid me!!!

and sorry malaySIA

i was told wet cell lasts longer than dry cell, but need maintainance.

the maintainance is also once in a blue moon 1. actually yuasa should be ok...........most stock bikes come with yuasa

i just did a diy LED signal light to be mounted at the air snout of the head fairing. selling at 10 bucks. thats the parts price. workmanship already done

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Mar 20 2005, 06:24 PM

i just did a diy LED signal light to be mounted at the air snout of the head fairing. selling at 10 bucks. thats the parts price. workmanship already done

got pic :confused:

2003 - 2004 -->TA200 -- FW9**8Y

2004 - 2005 --> Rvf -- FQ****R

2005 - 2006 --> Cbr 954 -- Fw 3**6 B

2006 - 2007 --> Cbr 954 , Wave , Vios '07

2007 - Now --> Vios '07

If U CaN't CaTcH Up WiF Mi PlS StAy BeHiNd N EnJoY ThE ViEw

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/7070/rvfgroup5cy.jpg

today my bike fell when i am in suntec carpark...

the whole f**king floor is full of water n grease...

tot it was water so went thru it...

lucky i was slow...but funny thing is now my mirror can only be adjusted inward n not outward...now gt mirror like no mirror like tt....

wat a luck man...

Good morning Bros,

Any one of your selling off your RVFs or any recommandation please inform me can? I am currently riding a RS 125 and looking for RVF as the next bike. My number is 81133423 Kelvin.

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/86/98/6938968/12522666816462s.jpg
Guest TheSquid
Originally posted by Shark@Mar 21 2005, 12:39 AM

Has anybody ever tried 'Laser' end can? Sounds a little like Yoshi. Heard using that pipe is easy to wheelie (also easier to loose $500).

i do know ya right bout the $500 part. :D

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Mar 21 2005, 12:41 AM

today my bike fell when i am in suntec carpark...

the whole f**king floor is full of water n grease...

tot it was water so went thru it...

lucky i was slow...but funny thing is now my mirror can only be adjusted inward n not outward...now gt mirror like no mirror like tt....

wat a luck man...

the metal bracket should have dented in. use ur hand and pull. then the part u screw the mirror to could have folded. just hold the mirror and bend back in place