I am keen to get ARAI raincoat which is the thick material... Anyone brought it recently??? Can list down the place u buy and how much?

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

Class 2B 21/05/2008 (BBDC)

Class 2A 18/08/2009 (BBDC)

Yamaha RXZ 135 FS xxxx D since 04/06/2008 till 12/06/2010

Honda Vtec 1 FS xxxx K since 29/12/2009

• Replies 34

RS Taichi raincoat r much better than Arai. heres the price for the Arai raincoat n can b bought at any bikeshop. Price $70. as for RS Taichi $110 at MotoWorld.

Life is like a shooting star, it don't matter who you are,

If you only run for cover, it's just a waste of time.. :thumb:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s271/warriorconp/MyRide2.jpg

that nylon jacket is pretty useful. could double as a riding jacket of sorts since its so thick, well after it looses its water repelling abilities.

as for the RS Taichi Drymaster, its would serve better worn above a riding jacket. its really friggin thin! i wore it over nothing more than a tshirt, and i felt as though i was wet when the material got heavy with rain. and since its thin, being hit with the rain hurt. taking it off, i realize i was actually quite dry. the only proof that it was raining was the angry red welts on my arm, when the rain drops fell.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

can consider army goretex jacket. A membrane will definitely outlast a layer of coating. Pants just settle at Giant or Carrefour.

if you don't mind the colour. its really affordable from forummers. Excellent for wet days of chiong sua, what can be worse?

can consider army goretex jacket. A membrane will definitely outlast a layer of coating. Pants just settle at Giant or Carrefour.

if you don't mind the colour. its really affordable from forummers. Excellent for wet days of chiong sua, what can be worse?

its not suitable for riding. Water will seep in via the zipper. its good for chiong sua, yes, but thats because rain will fall down on you from the sky. use it for bike, and rain will hit your front. hard. and the front of the jacket will allow rainwater to seep in. the way to get past this is to wear it backwards. which isnt very comfortable.

that, and the hood will cause some discomfort. its thick, and also causes some storage issues. its huge!

that said, i would like to purchase an S sized goretex for myself. i lost mine. :|

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

i dun know about the thick ones but i saw ah boy selling them for $65? might be the thin ones. i dun know how to tell.

ya goretex jacket will seep through best is wear it opposite

or wear another jacket inside which is ver hot

its not suitable for riding. Water will seep in via the zipper. its good for chiong sua, yes, but thats because rain will fall down on you from the sky. use it for bike, and rain will hit your front. hard. and the front of the jacket will allow rainwater to seep in. the way to get past this is to wear it backwards. which isnt very comfortable.

that, and the hood will cause some discomfort. its thick, and also causes some storage issues. its huge!

that said, i would like to purchase an S sized goretex for myself. i lost mine. :|

During crazy storms, every raincoat i had sure have rain getting through the zip, so to me its nothing to complain about. :cheeky: my biggest criteria is for it to last and last. My last reality check, i have never heard of anyone's raincoat (including Taichi) keep water out properly over 6 months. just my personal opinion.

go beach road, ask the uncle/aunty to sew long thick strip of velcro for you lor. i still support the goretex :thumb:

This is great info and input by everyone here... Thanks... I still thinking of what to get now????

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

raincoat use for 2 years , it seem to sip water into. is it normal?

goretex or others? if Goretex, search "gore" in yellow pages. call them up and KPKB. supposed to be "lifetime" warranty.

raincoat use for 2 years , it seem to sip water into. is it normal?

you placed it under sunlight? possible ;)

I'd prefer OGK over Arai :thumb:

During crazy storms, every raincoat i had sure have rain getting through the zip, so to me its nothing to complain about. :cheeky: my biggest criteria is for it to last and last. My last reality check, i have never heard of anyone's raincoat (including Taichi) keep water out properly over 6 months. just my personal opinion.

go beach road, ask the uncle/aunty to sew long thick strip of velcro for you lor. i still support the goretex :thumb:

dont be too surprised, but im using my cheap ass "free" raincoat for a year and a half now. its still going strong and good. water only goes in from the front of the sleeves and the neck area. zipper area still good, provided i zip and velcro properly.

how you store your raincoats plays a huge part. keep squeezing the raincoat into a ball and the water proof layer will wear out fast. its a good practice to fold the jacket the same way each time you store your jacket. that, and never ever put your raincoat in the washing machine. some people do that. -_-

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Use northface la bros

I have the hyvent and the goretex ones

can purchase at the planet travellers or at the outdoor shop at novena square. Or the boutique at suntec city

Just look for northface. Original one of course.

Tested at extreme conditions guaranteed dry. Price wise abit steep.

Singapore

Suntec City Mall

#01-023 Suntec City Mall,

3 Temasek Boulevard,

Singapore 038983

65 6334 1568

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

you placed it under sunlight? possible ;)

I'd prefer OGK over Arai :thumb:

How much u buy ur and at where???

im using arai raincoat..

nice and good..

How much u buy ur and at where???

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

arai the best.. but some1 kapo my top part..

the current arai ones that LAB hav nt tat gd..

the older grey/black better

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o3/d3an_cain/FZ-1S/385677_10150750269527550_501922549_9854539_2138314152_n-1.jpg

http://images.redop2.multiply.com/image/b8SD0QJnMUnxGv+Dp320mg/photos/1M/300x300/2590/RedopII-logo.jpg?et=kJJjj8slm46j7tujy58%2Byg&nmid=0

[/center]

my 1 years+ Arai(Thick) still can resist heavy rain BUT, the pant especially the backside, water seem to escape to my butt area, so now that part always wet..Sianz. the coat still good only the pant

so guy, any one can recommend good raincoat?

water wont get through.

thick one!

wear and feel comfortable.

as now coming towards raining season, need something to protect in order not to wet myself :D

A SMILES IN YOUR FACE IS ALL YOU NEED FOR THE DAY . :p

http://i42.tinypic.com/fcriu.jpg

my 1 years+ Arai(Thick) still can resist heavy rain BUT, the pant especially the backside, water seem to escape to my butt area, so now that part always wet..Sianz. the coat still good only the pant

so guy, any one can recommend good raincoat?

water wont get through.

thick one!

wear and feel comfortable.

as now coming towards raining season, need something to protect in order not to wet myself :D

I think ogk is good =)

Its because the part where the sewing meets at the middle, there is no water proof seal =) ogk have. Ogk is rather hot and not comfortable to be used for street riding or highway crusing =(

hi there jst my 5 cents worth...i hve been using OGK for the past 5yrs.its still goin strong i must say.but its tym to change due to wear n tear.not sure of the model.probably they don hve it nw already.once my collegue wore a RS Taichi which he bought recently n i wore my OGK. was heavy rain.

wen reach destination his tshirt was wet.well mine was still dry besides the normal water goin in thru the neck...

hope tis helps...

hi there jst my 5 cents worth...i hve been using OGK for the past 5yrs.its still goin strong i must say.but its tym to change due to wear n tear.not sure of the model.probably they don hve it nw already.once my collegue wore a RS Taichi which he bought recently n i wore my OGK. was heavy rain.

wen reach destination his tshirt was wet.well mine was still dry besides the normal water goin in thru the neck...

hope tis helps...

Thanks Dude~!! its really assuring and informative! :)