• Replies 9.9k

Ok kopi time. I suggest Sunday morning breakfeast at GP.

good suggestion...

so 2nd, 9th or 16th ?

i'm working on the 2nd...

but then...GP too near...maybe want to travel further up...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

Me only tis Sun off, next week Sat off Sun working...U guys decide lor, if next Sun then count me out liao

this sat i got stocktaking ....... OT >..... $$$ woohooo...

Sun maybe okie.. heheheh

Anyway.. CHAOCHAO.. sick of S4 liao issit?

hahahahahaha

DL650 only got new one @ Loois.. go check see if still got stock.. .if not next batch coming in confirm more expensive......

Current price

650 17,5 OTR

1000 21,5 OTR

Both depending on ya age will add on bit more for the insurance...

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Can you guys advice me on whats the comfortable cruising speed on the Vstrom 650?

Comfortable as in good fuel economy, engine not stressed, rider sitting comfortably, not buffetted by wind etc...

CS and Ano.

I order 3 sets of handguards. Its about $40 USD per handguard and the shipping charges and all, US to borderlinx and from there back to singapore... I get it from another vendor, well, i checked out suzukiparts outlet, i think its about the same price + - abit different. Ok for this shipment, each handguard comes up to about ~$100, will split equally. Let me know if you are keen. Else, I'll open up to fellow forummers for the handguards.

ASAP.

This sunday I'm out riding to sungei kenaboi. For pangkor island, the organiser is renting a tongkang to ferry the bikes across. allocation for 70 bikes only. So better book early.

nEO.

Chasing haya at 160-180 cost us 11Km/L. Its terrible fuel consumption. even chasing DL1k its about that much. In fact at this speed the consumption is the same as the 1k.

140-160km/h mileage is about 15-18km/hr

Generally per 200km 1k will need 3-4 litres more

Buffetting is worse at 140 for me.

Singapore road

I did trunk roads in malaysia

good suggestion...

so 2nd, 9th or 16th ?

i'm working on the 2nd...

but then...GP too near...maybe want to travel further up...

hi chief,

any gathering try to stay away from weekends - sat or sun.

friday late nite would be the best, after 10pm.

just a suggestion. :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

Hi Strommers,

May I ask if anyone here would know which bike shops still carries DL650 VStrom (new or used)? I heard bike makers stop producing this model and only have 1000cc (which is too large for me).

looi's motor. mr. lee tel: 67431072. :cheeky:

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

Hi Strommers,

May I ask if anyone here would know which bike shops still carries DL650 VStrom (new or used)? I heard bike makers stop producing this model and only have 1000cc (which is too large for me).

the difference between the 1k and 650 is only the engine. no difference in length, width, height. the 650 is also lighter in weigth. only the 1k has stop production.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Can you guys advice me on whats the comfortable cruising speed on the Vstrom 650?

Comfortable as in good fuel economy, engine not stressed, rider sitting comfortably, not buffetted by wind etc...

note: my vstrom 650 does not have a pannier system. only a 45-litre givi top box. my current suzuki windshield is 3 inches taller and wider than the stock one. handle bar has been changed to african twin + 1-inch handle bar riser. add on a set of handguard, h&b crash bar, main stand, hella horn.

my comfortable cruising speed from 120-150km/h.

fuel consumption: 22-25km/l (120-140km/h), 19-21km/l (141-150km/h), 16-18 (151-160km/h), 14-15km/l (>161km/h).

instead of saying the engine is being stressed at high speed, i would say that the windshield, helmet, rider, fairing, top box are rather stressed at above 160km/h. full throttle at 180km/h.

the stock windshield is bad in term of tackling the wind in high speed. otherwise, it is a good looking piece of art.

the handle bar with the wide seat gives a tall riding position second to none. with a dowco tailbag, it serves as my back rest for long distance riding. great comfort.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

This sunday I'm out riding to sungei kenaboi. For pangkor island, the organiser is renting a tongkang to ferry the bikes across. allocation for 70 bikes only. So better book early.

nEO.

Chasing haya at 160-180 cost us 11Km/L. Its terrible fuel consumption. even chasing DL1k its about that much. In fact at this speed the consumption is the same as the 1k.

140-160km/h mileage is about 15-18km/hr

Generally per 200km 1k will need 3-4 litres more

Buffetting is worse at 140 for me.

Singapore road

I did trunk roads in malaysia When you are back, can you take some pictures of the turns? The last time I went there, there were hardly any signs to indicate where to turn. Luckily for me, my uncle was the driver. :cheeky:

Thanks for the info on fuel consumption :thumb:

the difference between the 1k and 650 is only the engine. no difference in length, width, height. the 650 is also lighter in weigth. only the 1k has stop production.
Actually there is a slight difference in height i think of about 1 inch. :cheeky: For short farts like me, every inch counts.

Rebuilding my dreams. But first, the gears

1) WP RS Taichi riding jacket

2) WP riding pants

3) Titanium riding gloves

4) Garmine Nuvi 550 GPS (US$259)

5) WP Komine riding boots

6) Arai Helmet

7) The BIKE of course! :cheeky:

CS and Ano.

I order 3 sets of handguards. Its about $40 USD per handguard and the shipping charges and all, US to borderlinx and from there back to singapore... I get it from another vendor, well, i checked out suzukiparts outlet, i think its about the same price + - abit different. Ok for this shipment, each handguard comes up to about ~$100, will split equally. Let me know if you are keen. Else, I'll open up to fellow forummers for the handguards.

~100 sing$ i take. :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Actually there is a slight difference in height i think of about 1 inch. :cheeky: For short farts like me, every inch counts.

it's ok lah. our weight will sink the seat height in no time. :angel:

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

130-150? Hmmm.

Even on my ZX14, my usual comfortable cruising speed is 140-150, bike returns 16km/litre.

Alrighty, thanks for the info~!

Ano > I guess you know what I"m looking for next. But it might not happen for the next coming year yet. :D

130-150? Hmmm.

Even on my ZX14, my usual comfortable cruising speed is 140-150, bike returns 16km/litre.

Alrighty, thanks for the info~!

Ano > I guess you know what I"m looking for next. But it might not happen for the next coming year yet. :D

i reckon you will get better milage than what was stated due to your weight. those mileage/liter quoted should be heavy weights champions like me, bike needs to work harder.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

Yar, I will certainly miss the speed, acceleration, cornering, and turning long bends into corners. :D

But problem is once I cross over to Thailand, I wish I was on something slower and less sporty.

Then again. .u be Surprise...... in corners..... V-engine beats Line4 anytime....

Both my old bb and ur 14rrrrrrr are good in NSHW only... once into trunk road....

Strommy be DAMN HAPPY....

that is NOT the corners I am talking bout earlier.. but the REAL CORNERS as in twisties.. hehehehe

u be damn happy .. .wohoooo

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

If u want good fuel economy cruising speed then anything below 5000rpm is good. So max is ard 110-120kmh. Sitting posture wise I still feel quite comfy when going at 140kmh and I can go on whole day at this speed quite comfortably. Wind buffeting, u sure to get it left right centre if using the stock screen. I changed to a shorty screen and no more such buffeting, max out to 200kmh :p

Btw, I got the best fuel economy when riding in Sg when keeping the revs below 5000rpm getting between 27-28km/L

Spot no differences on the '09 models ek. Outlook the same, same spec & still no ABS on DL1k. I guess they are new just to pass the Euro emission regulation.

"Only a Biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window."