Hi Khaitronic,

I'm afraid I can't meetup with you guys tonite. My vee is in Hospital for a major ops !

I hope Dr.Cliford will fully cure my vee's illness.

Whatever the case, the first and last buying from the shop.

I REALLY hope its not your coil adn rectifier but logically speaking if u just change e batt and few days and the bike still can't start. The coil not doing its job and your batt suck dry. This happened to me too with just changing to new batt for 1 day and my bike still couldn't start. Found out the coil and rect. kaput... New bike and a year later this **** happened.

After that problem, my game plan is to minimise "power" usage on the bike so the coil work less on the battery. I noticed bike during "idling" the voltage drop "fast" from average 12.8ish to 12.2ish.. Then I isolate the 2 big headlight, found the voltage " stabilize" at 12.7ish. This I done to diff revving positions and with voltage at peak 14.7ish, the voltage will drop "fast" to 12++. I hate to calculate but conclude the headlite took a big chunk of the voltage. This I assume make the coil works hard to supply "continuosly"..

And I dun know why my brain keeps popping this theory on why the headlight is "on" 1st before we crank the bike. I keep thinking its like the bike or coil or batt were sleeping suddenly kena force to work hard starting the engine and on the light. Haahahaha. My Electrics SUCKS!!!!

Anyway Now I did the isolation switch and only "on" the light from 7pm-7am or on bad weather. 2 odd years later, I still using the same batt with looonnnnggg lasting coil I HOPE... BTW, I know very little bout electricals so this is my OWN conclusion. Some say the isolation is irrelivant. But as long it works I dun care.

• Replies 9.9k

Thank you all veterans for your well wishes and advises.

I was told by K&T that I need to leave the bike there for a few days. Will keep all updated once I figured out what are the causes to my vee's problem.

Best regards,

Dave

Bikes owned past & present:

Yamaha YZR125 / Kawazaki KDX200 / Honda XR400 / Honda Steed 400 / Honda Transalp 400 / Honda Super4 Spec II / Suzuki VStorm DL1000

Honda NC750XA

Yeah 2nd what Chewbakka says... do make a additional switch for our lights... Our light really sucks electric...esp when the radiator fan is on... i will usually switch the light off when im idling for sometime...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/khairul/siggy%20editor/Yishundam.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE - http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Just to let those who are keen to know.

Went down earlier to visit my vee. K&T has confirmed that I need to change the magnetos and perhaps the rectifier as well. When dismantle, the magnets dropped out.

Monday's evening will come the final medical report . Any guys want to join me there to share your opinions ?

Best regards,

Dave

Yamaha YZR125 / Kawazaki KDX200 / Honda XR400 / Honda Steed 400 / Honda Transalp 400 / Honda Super4 Spec II / Suzuki VStorm DL1000

Honda NC750XA

Went down earlier to visit my vee. K&T has confirmed that I need to change the magnetos and perhaps the rectifier as well. When dismantle, the magnets dropped out.

Monday's evening will come the final medical report . Any guys want to join me there to share your opinions ?

Lol..... I had the same misfortune ... prepare close to 1k for the medical. while you are at it, ask clifford to install a headlight switch. you might want to install it in a way it switches both the headlights, or just a single one (up to ur preference).

you might wanna make an engine oil change as well. you might not know whether the seller shop really did an eo. which for my case, they didnt.. hur hur hur. try the readline oil. great oil imho. if u got the spare cash do the necessary tbs(throttle body sync) etc. this way, you will collect the bike in pink health and hopefully nuthing to worry in time to come.

Edited by reddy

Come original, u gotta come original...

Saw your windshield. If I did not get the power bronze, I would have gotten yours. Lol

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

I might be free. You can be very sure that you Vee will be as good as new once it is out of Clifford.

My Wee.... My Journey.... My Adventure....

http://i870.photobucket.com/albums/ab262/mafitra/shukor_fhdrMedium.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

Dave

Why didn't u go back Loois and bang table since less than a month?

mafitra

Powerbronze not as power la..

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif

mafita, thanks for your advice. I will be doing the throttle sync as well. The light switch already has it when I bought.

chrislayer, I did went back on Friday's afternoon to highlight that there are something wrong with the bike and I have changed the battery because my vee cannot start. The old man just brushed away my claims. He did told me to come back on Monday though, but what is the pont? If he is genuinely sincere, he would have told me to leave the bike there and do a check. Come back Monday ? He think everyone so free no need to work !

Firstly, he told me that he will be providing the first time servicing before delivery the vee to me. He didn't , the oil was as black as my face now!

Secondly, he told me off that I should test ride the bike before buying ! What a joke ! when he was the one who sweared by it that the bike is in good condition and belongs to his friend etc etc etc. I went there with strong recommendations from my friends and with his reputation, i thought I could trust his words.

Thirdly, with all the above. What is the point to go back and bang the table when I know I gain nothing out of it? They are no longer trust worthy a bike shop in my own opinion. First and last time I will go there for anything.

Anyway, maybe its an isolated case. I won't want to look back at it cursing and swearing. I just want to RIDE ! :)

Best regards,

Dave

Honda NC750XA

btw guys if you digital clock keeps resetting itself , it may be an indicator that the battery is kaput-ting time to change new one

ks selling at $60 stk battery diy

Hi May I know where is ks as I need to get a new battery for my 650 K7 abs. Thanks

mafita, thanks for your advice. I will be doing the throttle sync as well. The light switch already has it when I bought.

chrislayer, I did went back on Friday's afternoon to highlight that there are something wrong with the bike and I have changed the battery because my vee cannot start. The old man just brushed away my claims. He did told me to come back on Monday though, but what is the pont? If he is genuinely sincere, he would have told me to leave the bike there and do a check. Come back Monday ? He think everyone so free no need to work !

Firstly, he told me that he will be providing the first time servicing before delivery the vee to me. He didn't , the oil was as black as my face now!

Secondly, he told me off that I should test ride the bike before buying ! What a joke ! when he was the one who sweared by it that the bike is in good condition and belongs to his friend etc etc etc. I went there with strong recommendations from my friends and with his reputation, i thought I could trust his words.

Thirdly, with all the above. What is the point to go back and bang the table when I know I gain nothing out of it? They are no longer trust worthy a bike shop in my own opinion. First and last time I will go there for anything.

Anyway, maybe its an isolated case. I won't want to look back at it cursing and swearing. I just want to RIDE ! :)

same thing happened... i was in the same similar boat as u. i went straight to knt after that. now that is a genuine and sincere motor shop.

Hi May I know where is ks as I need to get a new battery for my 650 K7 abs. Thanks

somewhere along the row of shophouses opp regina.

Dave ur case surprisingly similar to Reddy...

Mon i will be coming to KnT too... Changing back to stock handle bar... see u there if u still ard... Mafitra u coming KnT too?

Edited by khaitronic

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/khairul/siggy%20editor/Yishundam.jpg

VSTROM SINGAPORE - http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=125329690831574&v=photos#!/group.php?gid=125329690831574&ref=ts

I will be at K&T at about 6.30pm

Best regards,

Dave

Honda NC750XA

hmmm... mine's was SOMEHOW similar to yrs.

my NEW vee also cannot start (due to faulty rectifier, a lemon) on the 1st day after 100km of riding, i went back the next working day & Lee arrange for me to go back GH for warranty.

I can SOMEHOW sense that he's trying to play Tai-Chi (shifting the responsibility away), but at least he put it in a polite & friendly tone.

BUT I'm still glad that although Looi's dun replaced for me, they offer me a solution.

This is what I encounter:

1) Lee tell me FREE OIL & labour for 1st 3 servicing but mec try to charge me =( Of cos I didn't paid for it in the end.

2) 1st time I'm charged $22 for OEM oil filter by the OLDER chinese mec, 2nd time Ahmad (did I get his name right) charged me only $16!!!

double post

Wah V-stroms so many problems even with 1st-hand ones.

ya lor...

should have got the Super Tenere.