Nokia has a new flagship phone. The N97 packs a 3.5-inch, 640 x 360 pixel (that's a 16:9 aspect ratio) resistive touchscreen display with tactile feedback and QWERTY keyboard into this sliding communicator with an "always open" window to favorite internet or social networking sites. Nokia calls it the "world's most advanced mobile computer." To back up the claim they've dropped in HSDPA, WiFi, and Bluetooth radios, A-GPS, a 3.5-mm headjack, 32GB of onboard memory with microSD expansion (for up to 48GB total capacity), and a battery capable of up to 1.5 days of continuous audio playback or 4.5-hours video. 5 megapixel camera with Carl Zeiss glass and "DVD quality" video capture at 30fps, too. The specs are certainly impressive, let's see if the S60 5th Edition OS can support it. The N97 will launch with a retail price set at around €550 ($693) excluding subsidies and taxes, phone to ship in H1 2009.

• Replies 36

Looks like a good fone . One of the reasons i skipped n96 is tat its too similiar to N95 in terms of functions .

yup.. sounds like a good phone from the specs but y Nokia only put in 5mp camera.. Samsung moved on to 8mp redi.. haiz.. using n95 redi with 5mp.. dun c y i need to change to n97 yet...

Pre order for N97 is now out..

Just go to any nokia shops..

can place deposit..

RRP is 1200 - 1300

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

yup.. sounds like a good phone from the specs but y Nokia only put in 5mp camera.. Samsung moved on to 8mp redi.. haiz.. using n95 redi with 5mp.. dun c y i need to change to n97 yet...

Carl Zeiss 5MP wins most of the other higher MP phone cams handdown. If you used it urself and read online reviews.....

Anyway... Noted 1 current bug. Everytime wanna use programs which require internet connection by default always go to GPRS even though WIFI is on...

Weird. Read online forums even pp from Europe encounter this problem.

Crap man. .Force pp to use dataplan....At this point of time, personally feel iPhone is better in this way. Wifi priority unless no network then manual switch to data-roam....

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

when i switch to maps & it prompt me to go online but i select no, is GPRS charges applicable cos it does pin point me to my exact location

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

when i switch to maps & it prompt me to go online but i select no, is GPRS charges applicable cos it does pin point me to my exact location

There is another menu called Positioning where you can set how the GPS locate your position. There is 4 method which the HP can locate your position,

1) Bluetooth GPS - Using another GPS hardware to link up with your HP to act as the main GPS reciever. No need money. Just need to pay to buy the additonal hardware.

2) Assisted GPS - it either using data plan or using the nearby base station to estimate your location. After that the integrated GPS will pin point your location faster. It seems that this is abt the same as 4), which may charge money for data transmission.

3) Integrated GPS - this is the GPS receiver which is built-in the HP. Select this to connect to the satelite for free to locate your position. But can take quite along time to pin point your location.

4) Network based - Almost same as 2)

U can manually choose to off the connection to the internet inside the Nokia Map. Just use the integrated GPS won't get charged. The only trade off is the long time needed to pin point your location.

i tried & tested, its optional to use GPS to connect. will ask u to go online everytime u go in maps & just select no. den options & choose My positions & walla. as kinwei said, sometimes, it takes time to show ur locations. but sometimes its a snap of a finger.

oh btw in setting > phone > application settings > positioning, there an option to choose how u wan ur default gps to be. meaning when u start maps, u wan assisted, bluetooth, etc etc... =)

i tried & tested, its optional to use GPS to connect. will ask u to go online everytime u go in maps & just select no. den options & choose My positions & walla. as kinwei said, sometimes, it takes time to show ur locations. but sometimes its a snap of a finger.

oh btw in setting > phone > application settings > positioning, there an option to choose how u wan ur default gps to be. meaning when u start maps, u wan assisted, bluetooth, etc etc... =)

Using the integrated GPS will takes a long time to link up to the satelite. Especially if you are very far off the last location. Can at times take up to around 10mins. If you are near ur last location, the chances of it linking up is fast.

try liao. its very slow :cry: any idea where can buy e bluetooth GPS & how much?

Integrated GPS take very long est 10mins or more to pin point location.

Why pple use if this takes so long ? coz its FREE

Assist GPS used GPRS. Takes less then 1 min but of coz u pay what u get.

Bluetooth GPS takes somewhat faster then IGPS but not as fast as AGPS.

Con is of coz u need buy another device to connect to maps.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v135/forkie/gif/cbike.gif αll oveR Ür toWή
Integrated GPS take very long est 10mins or more to pin point location.

Why pple use if this takes so long ? coz its FREE

Assist GPS used GPRS. Takes less then 1 min but of coz u pay what u get.

Bluetooth GPS takes somewhat faster then IGPS but not as fast as AGPS.

Con is of coz u need buy another device to connect to maps.

any idea wats e device called & where to purchase?

try liao. its very slow :cry: any idea where can buy e bluetooth GPS & how much?

Wah piang...no need to buy that bluetooth gps receiver la...I used my N79 Nokia map enough to bring me around even to some Ulu place...I used that in Hatyai remember... :angel:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Wah piang...no need to buy that bluetooth gps receiver la...I used my N79 Nokia map enough to bring me around even to some Ulu place...I used that in Hatyai remember... :angel:

i know mine also can use but sibei slow lor... :cry::cry::cry:

the vibration for N97 will just disappear. any bros experiencing tat?

like unlock keypad will vibrate den sometimes there is vibration & sometimes there's none. :cry::cry::cry:

the vibration for N97 will just disappear. any bros experiencing tat?

like unlock keypad will vibrate den sometimes there is vibration & sometimes there's none. :cry::cry::cry:

Hmmm dont have leh.

but i do have some problems with ringtones.

Sometimes phone rings with assigned ringtone. sometimes sot sot ring on default Ringtone.

Think i need to upgrade firmware to solve the problem...

but i just hacked the phone so cant bear to upgrade hehehe :cheeky:

So far anymore complaints abt this phone?

Hmmm dont have leh.

but i do have some problems with ringtones.

Sometimes phone rings with assigned ringtone. sometimes sot sot ring on default Ringtone.

Think i need to upgrade firmware to solve the problem...

but i just hacked the phone so cant bear to upgrade hehehe :cheeky:

same prob here. sometimes will just ring the default lifestyle.

hack? as in? pm me if not convenient to divulge in here...

any one the mini yet?

same prob here. sometimes will just ring the default lifestyle.

hack? as in? pm me if not convenient to divulge in here...

Actually nokia scare of mobile virus thus security in 3rd party sftware are tightened. All installation will need valid cert and key.

A hack is to disable the check for cert/key. which allows u to install any 3rd party sftware without a hassle esp cracked sftwares.

Rigntone prob u might wana try segregate ringtones from mp3s.

Best put ringtones in Main drive C:

I prefer the N97 mini one, very cute for girl. :cheeky:

:) You have to believe in yourself. That's the secret of success. This is irene, keeping to provide you more NOKIA phone, China mobile phones, and Multi-function cellphones at wholesale price, welcome to view my homepage! :cheeky: