Originally posted by silver@Nov 9 2006, 04:59 PM

Hi, Im interested to know how you rigged the power to the usb using the adapter. I found that the GPS consume alot of power when using at night, and i often end up with the last part of the journey with my rechargable battery flat.

Can teach how to connect up? It will be v useful and save on batt.

oh ya, how about in sudden downpour? will the charger be shorted when connected since the gps is exposed?

You will need:-

(1) ciggarette lighter socket (female) - can get from tong aik scooter accessory shop. It comes with a dustcover when not in use. About $18 I think.

(2) ciggarette lighter socket with USB out - can get from Sim Lim Square. Some of those shops that sell hp/PDA accessories. About $9.

(3) USB cable - comes with your GPS package.

(4) 10A fuse - can buy at Sim Lim Tower. About $1

To DIY:-

-Connect #(1) to your bike's battery

-Put #(4) in between #(1) and the battery(+ve)

-Plug #(2) into #(1)

-Plug #(3) into #(2)

-Plug #(3) other end into your GPS

http://www.ahajokes.com/cartoon/hotdog.jpg
  • Replies 2.6k

Originally posted by horizoner@Nov 9 2006, 06:22 PM

Asking a very novice qtn here as I have yet to get a GPS but getting one soon.

How do u instruct the GPS your destination? By keying in a coordinate or point to a place in the map? Also, does the instruction tells u to make a U-turn? Some entrance to small roads do not have right turn from the main road. Gotta make a u turn follow by left turn. Not sure if you guys know what i mean. :cheeky:

You can:-

1) key in the MGR coordinates

2) find a waypoint

3) find a POI

4) do in on mapsource software, then transfer data to your GPS

After which, run the auto-routing function. It will tell u where to turn, how far to the next turn, wats the ETA at your destination, what speed you are travelling at, direction you are heading, etc....

if you need to U-turn to get to the other side of the road, it will instruct you to U-turn.

if you missed your turn, it will re-calculate the next best route to get to your destination. if you again missed the re-calculated turn, then it will again re-calculate the next best route, till u get there (or unless your batt is flat). :p

when u r 'lost' in a foreign ground where petrol is running low, you can do a search on the nearest POI for petrol and it will guide you to the next nearest petrol kiosk from your current position. it tells you the distance and est. time you will need to get there.

amazing device..... useful for touring in msia & thailand. no maps currently for laos & cambodia...... and its almost impossible to ride into myanmar, vietnam & china at present.

Originally posted by 38C@Nov 10 2006, 08:55 AM

You will need:-

(1) ciggarette lighter socket (female) - can get from tong aik scooter accessory shop. It comes with a dustcover when not in use. About $18 I think.

(2) ciggarette lighter socket with USB out - can get from Sim Lim Square. Some of those shops that sell hp/PDA accessories. About $9.

(3) USB cable - comes with your GPS package.

(4) 10A fuse - can buy at Sim Lim Tower. About $1

To DIY:-

-Connect #(1) to your bike's battery

-Put #(4) in between #(1) and the battery(+ve)

-Plug #(2) into #(1)

-Plug #(3) into #(2)

-Plug #(3) other end into your GPS

Ah... i know. thanks for the details.

but Im thinking of getting from ebay USA the ciggarette lighter socket with the USB head that connects directly to the GPS (combining step 2 & 3) as to minimise the connections as well as to retain the original USB cable for PC use.

I just realised something.

Life is not difficult. Its the people around who makes life seems difficult. :|

Oh by the way I have a spare ciggy lighter socket (female) which I ordered from US and have not used at all. Brand new one. $20 cash and carry. PM to deal................thanks.

Picture 1

After reading the thread, I've made enquires on Garmin GPSmap60CSx from STE and this is what they quote:

1) GPSMAP 60CSX, PACIFIC (P/N: 010-00422-03) : S$665.00

Price: All prices are quoted in Sing dollars (SGD), excluding 5% GST and MicroSD Card.

Validity: 2 weeks

Packaging: Suitable for both Air/Sea Freight

Delivery: 4-6 Weeks After Receipt of Order

Warranty: Standard 12 Months After Delivery Date

Payment: Cash or Cheque

CSD, STE (Info-Comm Sys) Pte Ltd

ST Electronics Ang Mo Kio Building

24 Ang Mo Kio Street 65

Singapore 569061

Tel: (65) 64131934; Fax: (65) 64820027

Anyway I purchase mine from STS com at SLS level 3 for S$760nett as the STE reply too late.

Best regards

desauty

We take these risks not to escape from life; but to prevent life from escaping us!

Hi Desauty, u make the right move. I have place order for 1 Garmin GPSmap60CSx from STE on 26 Sept 06, quoted time of arrival 3-4 wks and unit now got now news yet. Have check with the sales person a few times, his reply is, still waiting for reply from OEM (Taiwan Garmin). Likely to cancel the order if stock did not arrive by next week. :angry: :angry: :angry:

Hi all, i jus got my garmin legend CX last nite, can anyonoe teach me how to download the maps into the system ? :help:

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

Originally posted by Nah@Nov 11 2006, 04:45 PM

Hi Desauty, u make the right move. I have place order for 1 Garmin GPSmap60CSx from STE on 26 Sept 06, quoted time of arrival 3-4 wks and unit now got now news yet. Have check with the sales person a few times, his reply is, still waiting for reply from OEM (Taiwan Garmin). Likely to cancel the order if stock did not arrive by next week. :angry: :angry: :angry:

Ya lor i got the same problem but for the 60CSX i hear they have EX-stock....

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

managed to d/l the maps into the GPSr le..tested it out find that the speed difference from 5 to 10 km/h from my bike speed..but the dit. is very accurate. :sweat:

also use a bicycle headlight clip and modify to hold the GPSr on my bike..very stable so far. :cheer:

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

managed to d/l the maps into the GPSr le..tested it out find that the speed difference from 5 to 10 km/h from my bike speed..but the dit. is very accurate.

Yes, normally japanese bikes has speed indicated 5% to10% faster than the exact speed. The distance indicated on the speedometer is usually very accurate.

Trust the gpsr to give a more accurate reading.

also use a bicycle headlight clip and modify to hold the GPSr on my bike..very stable so far.

Can you shoot some picture of how you hook up your gpsr to your bike. Need more ideas for I too want to attached my gpsr to my bike.

Originally posted by Nah@Nov 11 2006, 04:45 PM

Strangely, I called up STE in mid Oct'06 and they had stock for 60CSx. I got mine straight away the next day from them....

guys got question to enquire, can i use my HP cigg. lighter charger to supply power to the GPSr ? i'm using Legend Cx and the USB is a exact fit for the GPSr.

input : 12V

output voltage for my charger : 4V

Originally posted by spin37@Nov 14 2006, 09:42 AM

guys got question to enquire, can i use my HP cigg. lighter charger to supply power to the GPSr ? i'm using Legend Cx and the USB is a exact fit for the GPSr.

input : 12V

output voltage for my charger : 4V

USB is 5V, so should be safe. But check the polarity.

Originally posted by Demon@Nov 14 2006, 11:12 AM

USB is 5V, so should be safe. But check the polarity.

wrong polarity can damaged the electronics; i experienced before.

Also the voltage must be stable. If during stop /start engine ; I wonder if got voltage spikes? I mean if input spikes, output also will spikes. Electrical stuffs like headlights can withstand spikes better, but electronics like GPS I dunno.

Then again, some of the bigger or more expensive bikes may have build-in voltage regulator plus voltage stabilizers plus surge protector etc.

If unsure , I suggest pay a few dollars to get a motorshop trained electrician to test with their meters first before hooking up. I am sure its only a few dollar.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Originally posted by tt6389@Nov 14 2006, 01:51 PM

Also the voltage must be stable. If during stop /start engine ; I wonder if got voltage spikes? I mean if input spikes, output also will spikes. Electrical stuffs like headlights can withstand spikes better, but electronics like GPS I dunno.

Then again, some of the bigger or more expensive bikes may have build-in voltage regulator plus voltage stabilizers plus surge protector etc.

Not to worry too much on the bike voltage stability because the GPS is using a step-down power from 12v to 5v. Moreover, the batteries in the GPS will take over once the external power supply has been cut-off, but you lose the backlight feature. My bike has no fancy battery stabliser or ant-surge device.

Originally posted by tt6389@Nov 14 2006, 01:51 PM

If unsure , I suggest pay a few dollars to get a motorshop trained electrician to test with their meters first before hooking up. I am sure its only a few dollar.

how are they goin to check the output at the USB ???

i dont tink they can do this though..if u are saying the output at the cigg. lighter i can check myself, i have multimeter :cheer:

moreover i fixed a volt meter on my bike.. voltage is stable at 14.3V when ridding, nvr exceed this mark. The charger i have step down from 12/24V to 4V..the cigg. lighter output should be at 14.3V as shown on my voltmeter, max wattage is 12W. So the capacity is:

14.3, 1 Amphere(eng. running)

12V, 1 Amphere (eng. stop)

STE send me a mail today that they have one unit available.

-----Original Message-----

Sent: Monday, November 13, 2006 4:12 PM

To: Gary

Subject: Re: Enquires on Garmin GPSMap60CSx.

Hi Gary,

i have a customer who just change his order and currently i have a unit (GPSMAP 60CSX, Pacific) on hand. Kindly advice if you are interested and will reserved for you. Please revert for confirmation asap.

Thanks & Regards,

ANDY ONG P.S

CSD, STE (Info-Comm Sys) Pte Ltd

ST Electronics Ang Mo Kio Building

24 Ang Mo Kio Street 65

Singapore 569061

Tel: (65) 64131934; Fax: (65) 64820027

E-mail: [email protected]

Best regards

desauty

We take these risks not to escape from life; but to prevent life from escaping us!

Originally posted by lao uncle@Nov 14 2006, 03:00 AM

Yes, normally japanese bikes has speed indicated 5% to10% faster than the exact speed. The distance indicated on the speedometer is usually very accurate.

Trust the gpsr to give a more accurate reading.

Can you shoot some picture of how you hook up your gpsr to your bike. Need more ideas for I too want to attached my gpsr to my bike.

here's my mounting

Originally posted by lao uncle@Nov 15 2006, 03:05 AM

Thank for pictures, can you tell me how much is the cost of bike's mount.

its taken from my old bicycle CATEYE headlight mounting..i only take out the mounting and fix on the GPSr.. :sweat:

the headlight cost abt $20 though..can get at any good bicycle shop :smile:

i tink the original bike mount cost more then $20, :btw: its already very stable forthe mount i modified.. :thumb:

Originally posted by spin37@Nov 15 2006, 08:45 AM

its taken from my old bicycle CATEYE headlight mounting..i only take out the mounting and fix on the GPSr.. :sweat:

the headlight cost abt $20 though..can get at any good bicycle shop :smile:

i tink the original bike mount cost more then $20, :btw: its already very stable forthe mount i modified.. :thumb:

I am using this method to mount by IU.

The new cateye headlight mounting is plastic moulded with the body, cannot be removed like the old type.

Originally posted by Demon@Nov 15 2006, 09:18 AM

I am using this method to mount by IU.

The new cateye headlight mounting is plastic moulded with the body, cannot be removed like the old type.

i see i see..then tink cannot find le loh..

:btw: last time i oso mount my IU this way but cos of the internal batt problem i take it out and fix perm. on the bike.. cos of the batt problem i changed 2 IU in the end.. :sian:

sorry guys :offtopic:

Guest pat8228

Am also on the lookout for a GPS for riding & cycling use. Am looking at Garmin's Venture Cx & Legend Cx models. The GPSMAP60CSx looks very cool but price is really over the top. Not planning to spend so much for a GPS. Waiting for reply from ST Electronics now.

its taken from my old bicycle CATEYE headlight mounting..i only take out the mounting and fix on the GPSr..

the headlight cost abt $20 though..can get at any good bicycle shop

Thank for the information. Think the garmin mount costs around $50 and there is no stock at the moment.