Gadget : GPS device on bikes

tt6389

Today 's meeting at the King Albert McDonald, I must apologise for my Garmin dvd - not done properly, so the Australia & Europe map files cannot open. I will redo it & test still it works before i distribute the next time. Hope to get it done before this saturday 's trip. Paiseh paiseh :sweat: :sorry: sorry for the hiccup.

But thanks to Jus101, many people including myself learn lots of new stuff. We also managed to give a short demo on creating a route for touring purpose, also a demonstration on the auto-routing function . Quizesilver was also there to answer queries on his PDA GPS for comparison.

There was also comparison & hand feel of the various GPS models brought by different people, talking about the prices & where to buy for the best deals. etc

We must all says thanks to Jus101. Also thanks to his contribution of very detailed thailand maps for us to copy into our thumb drives. And thanks to Alan_see the ultimate tourer , for his laptop & GPS & deligently downloads maps of many places.

I think all the sharing of tips & exchange is really rewarding, so now I know who is the real expert here; not me definitely ...hehehe

Here's a glimpse of the Europe map which i am trying to burn for you people who came. Notice there are thousands of cities & towns in Europe.

When you zoom down in many levels towards London city , you can see the roads & small lanes also -->

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/Temp%20stuff/1europe.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/Temp%20stuff/2europe.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/Temp%20stuff/3europe.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/Temp%20stuff/4europe.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/Temp%20stuff/5europe.jpg

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/Temp%20stuff/6europe.jpg

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

• Replies 2.6k

Originally posted by Ones_Co@Oct 4 2006, 11:32 AM

Ya Lor yesterday really learn alot ...

Plus found some new stuff to buy ....

MP4 gadget? :confused:

'86 RG125 ~ '88 TZR250 ~ '91 TZR250R ~ '96 EN400 ~ '97 GSXR400 ~ '99 ZX11

'00 ST11 ~ '05 Wave ~ '06 CB400 ~ '07 VFR800 ~ '09 DRZ400SM

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j147/jus101/2008-12-14_024149.jpg

Own a LIFE, not a HELL ~~ RIDE SAFELY !!!

Originally posted by tt6389@Oct 4 2006, 01:43 AM

Today 's meeting at the King Albert McDonald, I must apologise for my Garmin dvd - not done properly, so the Australia & Europe map files cannot open. I will redo it & test still it works before i distribute the next time. Hope to get it done before this saturday 's trip. Paiseh paiseh :sweat: :sorry: sorry for the hiccup.

Tim, thx for organising the meet-up (& evry1 who came) and ur dvd. looking forward for such meetup in future so we could learn from 1 another.

After having some fun with ur dvd, do u know tat ur Australia maps is non-routable? :smile:

Originally posted by quizesilver@Oct 3 2006, 11:49 PM

pai sei have to go back earlier.

hope all gain and share more knowledge

Alamak, while chatting half way cannot find u, thought u mia.. :D

btw, what brand is ur BT receiver? is it Holux or? :smile:

Originally posted by jus101@Oct 4 2006, 01:04 PM

Tim, thx for organising the meet-up (& evry1 who came) and ur dvd. looking forward for such meetup in future so we could learn from 1 another.

After having some fun with ur dvd, do u know tat ur Australia maps is non-routable? :smile:

You are right, I just checked. The australia maps not routable, but the europe one is routable. Guess the aussie one not good.

btw, I wonder why the worldmap mapsource software in my dvdrom is a cracked version - when you can download mapsource software from garmin website free? Is it because the cracked version allows the europe & other garmin maps to be used even though its not unlocked ? Cause this Garmin maps CD has been used by many people successfully - no problem even when its not unlocked.

I also don't see any serial no. or unlock code within the garmin CDrom.

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Originally posted by tt6389@Oct 4 2006, 05:31 PM

btw, I wonder why the worldmap mapsource software in my dvdrom is a cracked version - when you can download mapsource software from garmin website free? Is it because the cracked version allows the europe & other garmin maps to be used even though its not unlocked ? Cause this Garmin maps CD has been used by many people successfully - no problem even when its not unlocked.

I also don't see any serial no. or unlock code within the garmin CDrom.

the worldmap mapsoure software that u had made a copy for us is not cracked version. it's the genuine version. u'll need to installed this before u can do any mapsource software updates where u could download from Garmin's web site.

if one who does not 'owns' the mapsource worldmap or trip & waypoint manager, thinking that by downloading those 'updates' from Garmin site will do the job, I would say "may god bless u if u can get it installed". it'll prompt u a error something like "previous installation not found, blaa blaa blaa......." & quit. :goodluck:

do u still recall I did mention that certain Garmin models doesn't comes bundle with the mapsource software? like the more expensive Nuvi models compared to ours? for those who purchased models that don't come with mapsource, one can either find himself a 'pirated' copy or pay some extra $$ for it. :smile:

*Garmin WorldMap CDrom doesn't have unlock code

Originally posted by jus101@Oct 4 2006, 06:28 PM

the worldmap mapsoure software that u had made a copy for us is not cracked version. it's the genuine version. u'll need to installed this before u can do any mapsource software updates where u could download from Garmin's web site.

if one who does not 'owns' the mapsource worldmap or trip & waypoint manager, thinking that by downloading those 'updates' from Garmin site will do the job, I would say "may god bless u if u can get it installed". it'll prompt u a error something like "previous installation not found, blaa blaa blaa......." & quit. :goodluck:

do u still recall I did mention that certain Garmin models doesn't comes bundle with the mapsource software? like the more expensive Nuvi models compared to ours? for those who purchased models that don't come with mapsource, one can either find himself a 'pirated' copy or pay some extra $$ for it. :smile:

*Garmin WorldMap CDrom doesn't have unlock code

ic ic, thks.

Originally posted by Pauche@Oct 4 2006, 02:26 AM

hey tim, thanks for sharing and organising this get together.

i think i still have a lot more to learn from u guys.

+1 :thumb:

http://www.triumph.co.uk/images/Daytona675_gallery_main_1_2008.jpg

Originally posted by Ones_Co@Oct 4 2006, 11:56 PM

If buy the garmin map cd... will they update the map for us ?? or when the new version come out we have to buy again... ??

ones_co, if u are refering to the Garmin WorldMap CD, so far no. the so call worldmap is back dated in 1999, yes - 7 yrs ago. if I do remember correctly, u'll have to pay for all updates of maps from Garmin.

do take note that Garmin's "City Select Malaysia NT v2" (SG & MY maps) only includes details of SG & JB ONLY! Don't be tricked by its title assuming it covers entire MY. o_O

Originally posted by jus101@Oct 2 2006, 03:57 PM

tbr27, u may want to visit www.malsingmaps.com for more info on gps & free maps for SG & MY. :smile:

Jus101... its me lar... the one we chatted thru pte msg. :cheeky: :cheeky:

wanted to buy 60csx this month... but hand itchy... go and buy hepco becker side box and rack.. hahaha.. got to wait next month. Will pte msg u again when vitamin M is around.

Bikes

Men ride it. Boys dream about it.

Originally posted by tbr27@Oct 5 2006, 11:27 AM

Jus101... its me lar... the one we chatted thru pte msg. :cheeky: :cheeky:

wanted to buy 60csx this month... but hand itchy... go and buy hepco becker side box and rack.. hahaha.. got to wait next month. Will pte msg u again when vitamin M is around.

waaah.. like this oso can arh... kekeke anyway, hope u'll get ur new toy soon. :smile:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....c=94361&st=2100

If you new GPS owners wish to test your GPS, you welcome to join the coming saturday outing. Most of the place in itinerary I never go before, it will be fun finding them the first time with GPS.

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by jus101@Oct 4 2006, 01:07 PM

Alamak, while chatting half way cannot find u, thought u mia.. :D

btw, what brand is ur BT receiver? is it Holux or? :smile:

mine GPS is built in. to my PDA. it is a PDA + phone + GPS in one

Originally posted by quizesilver@Oct 5 2006, 07:49 PM

mine GPS is built in. to my PDA. it is a PDA + phone + GPS in one

ooo... no wonder best of both world... & handy too. :thumb:

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by newdragstar_rider@Oct 6 2006, 10:45 AM

wanna ask if a PDA+GPS is as good as a stand-alone gps ?

cos i have a pda,thinking of having gps in my PDA but dunno how to start.

my PDA is a TREO 650.

appreciate alot if anyone of u guys here can help.

Thanks a million

i am not the sure if there is any map for Palm OS.

wat we are talk abt on PDA = PPC equivalent or WM5

Originally posted by newdragstar_rider@Oct 6 2006, 10:45 AM

wanna ask if a PDA+GPS is as good as a stand-alone gps ?

cos i have a pda,thinking of having gps in my PDA but dunno how to start.

my PDA is a TREO 650.

appreciate alot if anyone of u guys here can help.

Thanks a million

both standalone & pda+gps performs the same.

for Palm OS, u can download Garmin Que for Palm, but it can be used with Garmin GPS receiver only.

with it, u can use any Garmin compatible maps just like what quizesilver is using for his PPC...

Originally posted by newdragstar_rider@Oct 6 2006, 02:34 PM

i see.

if the GPS is to be downloaded into PDA,does it have sound to say turn left or turn right?

u can download Voice Guideance Languages to use with Garmin Que for voice prompt.