but will the batt of PDA get killed very fast?

yeah i would like to have auto routing

of course best would be able to dl free maps

to be use on bikes primarily

2005 July - 2006 July Tzm150

2006 August - 2007 October SpecIII

2007 October - 2009 June R1

• Replies 2.6k

but will the batt of PDA get killed very fast?

yeah i would like to have auto routing

of course best would be able to dl free maps

to be use on bikes primarily

u can use this to power yr PDA - the pack internally is using rechageable AA batteries or disposable alkalines. So no worry yr PDA juice will runs out.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/accessories/PDAcharger.jpg

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

weird

bro how much did u get the etrex legend from perfect watches for? care to share?

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif
weird

bro how much did u get the etrex legend from perfect watches for? care to share?

if my memory served me right i bought it for the price of 400 plus thats with the mounting kit that you can hook up on the handle bar and place your device on top of it..

http://a444.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/108/m_2214c75f5d13197d1009631d8183a033.jpg

The willows green the river shore,

I hear my love singing in a boat.

Its sunny in the east, raining in the west.

It seems the sun is hidden but love is in the air.

(Bamboo Branch Song,by Li yuxi)

myspace.com/Weird_vara

hi bro, nowadays i seldom come to this thread. But if you interested in adventure & exploring, do come to this outing i organized this sat - Pulai Waterfall & Lam Seafood. They are both beautiful scenic places nearby to Spore. You can meet other GPS users & share tips.

See here for details.

dammit i miss it i just saw your msg... shits.... next one man....if you got other plans you can msg me on my hp..

http://a444.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/108/m_2214c75f5d13197d1009631d8183a033.jpg

myspace.com/Weird_vara

The new Vista HCX come out liao

even better than 60csx

ya, the ads say can even work under deep forest too - hyper sensitive.

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

ya lor it is small and senitive prefect for biker.......

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

ya lor it is small and senitive prefect for biker.......

i read that the gps that you were refering has a few diasavamtages like its very sentive to the surrounding and this will caused the signal to interfere with the function...

myspace.com/Weird_vara

i read that the gps that you were refering has a few diasavamtages like its very sentive to the surrounding and this will caused the signal to interfere with the function...

From the spec of the unit

say that it can work well even it is next to some tall building (which causes the mulit path error )

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q207/ones_co/Kg%20Tg%20Buai%2007%20sept%202008/DSC00225-1.jpg

2005 R1(BYE BYE, Miss U) Ones_Co +65 97100565

2008 DRZ (Running) 2008 Busa Cleared.

http://onesco.blogspot.com/

sumthing to share with my bros in this thread....i am using garmin etrex and i lend it to my frends who went for coast to coast touring recently and they claim that the battery is easily die off... after they have return to me i have discovered that there is an option the in folder for you to select what type of battery you used and as far as i know is that "everyday" is mercury and thats not in the opyion bur energiser uses alkaline and it works good and there are a total of 3 options... so select the proper one otherwise the battery life will be dead in no time...

myspace.com/Weird_vara

sumthing to share with my bros in this thread....i am using garmin etrex and i lend it to my frends who went for coast to coast touring recently and they claim that the battery is easily die off... after they have return to me i have discovered that there is an option the in folder for you to select what type of battery you used and as far as i know is that "everyday" is mercury and thats not in the opyion bur energiser uses alkaline and it works good and there are a total of 3 options... so select the proper one otherwise the battery life will be dead in no time...

Dude I dont quite understand what you were tyring to say

Anyway the 3 options are 1-Alkaline 2-NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride) 3-Lithium Ion

Which is the option you chose?

If you are using Energizer then should be Alkaline

If your are using rechargeable batteries then should be NiMH

Unless you are using Lithium Ion rechargeable batteries which is very rare and expensive for AA size batteries then you select that.

Care to elaborate:sian:

http://images.eldo19.multiply.com/image/8/photos/27/500x500/4/%28101%29.jpg?et=GdRdX1gI9xiJc0XF9%2C%2BQ1A

OK i using etrex legend cx, my battery consumption using GP alkaline batteries is pretty good, at least 8 hrs with backlight switched on the whole day at 40% level. I go to Main menu -> Setup -> System . Under battery type, the options are alkaline or NiMH. Mine is Alkaline. I guess when using NiMH rechargeable which is 1.2V, we have to change the setting here. Coz if you stick to alkaline mode, but puts in NiMH batteries, the GPS thot the alkaline is fully drained. My WAAS is selected "enabled" mode (it sucks more battery juice. :smile:

Any GPS meet up or outing recently?

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/New%20Makan%20place%20in%20JB/LiveFiringAreaFlightPark.jpg

I hv been making recce or exploration trip to jb recently with another GPS user Ones_co. JB is not a good place to explore alone. Got to hv at least 2 bikes - coz of recent cases of bike robberies etc.

one place i planning to go is above. I going either next Monday or Tuesday. But we plan to cross Tuas link before 5.30pm. Coz after 5.30pm, there'll be likelihood of traffic jam on bike lane. Our target to look for nice seaview makan places. Last monday, we came across one near Kg Pok.

The places are very near Spore, about half hour to reach. And its very thrilling when searching for new places to makan & chill out.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/New%20Makan%20place%20in%20JB/TanjongPelepas.jpg

Dude I dont quite understand what you were tyring to say

Anyway the 3 options are 1-Alkaline 2-NiMH (Nickel Metal Hydride) 3-Lithium Ion

Which is the option you chose?

If you are using Energizer then should be Alkaline

If your are using rechargeable batteries then should be NiMH

Unless you are using Lithium Ion rechargeable batteries which is very rare and expensive for AA size batteries then you select that.

Care to elaborate:sian:

yeah you got it.... i lend my gps to my frends and they use mercury battery the cheap ones and then it dies off in a few mins... what i am saying is that choose the proper options if anyone were to face the same problem... thanks bro for your reply

myspace.com/Weird_vara

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/New%20Makan%20place%20in%20JB/LiveFiringAreaFlightPark.jpg

I hv been making recce or exploration trip to jb recently with another GPS user Ones_co. JB is not a good place to explore alone. Got to hv at least 2 bikes - coz of recent cases of bike robberies etc.

one place i planning to go is above. I going either next Monday or Tuesday. But we plan to cross Tuas link before 5.30pm. Coz after 5.30pm, there'll be likelihood of traffic jam on bike lane. Our target to look for nice seaview makan places. Last monday, we came across one near Kg Pok.

The places are very near Spore, about half hour to reach. And its very thrilling when searching for new places to makan & chill out.

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i86/tt6389/New%20Makan%20place%20in%20JB/TanjongPelepas.jpg

wah bro, you really have alot of free time... up for your trip man... i wish i could follow you but me working my ass off...

myspace.com/Weird_vara

OK i using etrex legend cx, my battery consumption using GP alkaline batteries is pretty good, at least 8 hrs with backlight switched on the whole day at 40% level. I go to Main menu -> Setup -> System . Under battery type, the options are alkaline or NiMH. Mine is Alkaline. I guess when using NiMH rechargeable which is 1.2V, we have to change the setting here. Coz if you stick to alkaline mode, but puts in NiMH batteries, the GPS thot the alkaline is fully drained. My WAAS is selected "enabled" mode (it sucks more battery juice. :smile:

you got it bro.... thats the reason why my frends kept complaining that it mighgt be spoilt...

myspace.com/Weird_vara

yeah you got it.... i lend my gps to my frends and they use mercury battery the cheap ones and then it dies off in a few mins... what i am saying is that choose the proper options if anyone were to face the same problem... thanks bro for your reply

Oh ok got it then. Thks:thumb:

http://images.eldo19.multiply.com/image/8/photos/27/500x500/4/%28101%29.jpg?et=GdRdX1gI9xiJc0XF9%2C%2BQ1A
There isn't any purpose to enable the WAAS here because that feature isn't availabe outside of North America.

http://www8.garmin.com/aboutGPS/waas.html

hey u right , the WAAS coverage is only north america. Guess i hv wasting battery juice for nothing all these years. Maybe if i switched it off, my battery life can last even longer :smile:

The new Vista HCX come out liao

even better than 60csx

afaik, the eTrex series HCX uses the same chipset as 60cx/csx & 76cx/cxs is using, it's now finally having the same high sensitivity. where as both tim & law's unit is still using the good old garmin proprietary chipset which is less sensitive.

'86 RG125 ~ '88 TZR250 ~ '91 TZR250R ~ '96 EN400 ~ '97 GSXR400 ~ '99 ZX11

'00 ST11 ~ '05 Wave ~ '06 CB400 ~ '07 VFR800 ~ '09 DRZ400SM

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j147/jus101/2008-12-14_024149.jpg

Own a LIFE, not a HELL ~~ RIDE SAFELY !!!

There isn't any purpose to enable the WAAS here because that feature isn't availabe outside of North America.

hey u right , the WAAS coverage is only north america. Guess i hv wasting battery juice for nothing all these years. Maybe if i switched it off, my battery life can last even longer :smile:

yes, WAAS only available in N.America, BUT by disabling WAAS function in your gps, you will not be able to receive signals from EGNOS (europe), GAGAN (south asia) & MSAS (east asia) satellites as well, which provides the same function as WAAS. the choice is yours.

WAAS ... Wide Area Augmentation System

EGNOS ... European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service

GAGAN ... GPS Aided Geo Augmented Navigation

MSAS ... Multi-functional Satellite Augmentation System

'86 RG125 ~ '88 TZR250 ~ '91 TZR250R ~ '96 EN400 ~ '97 GSXR400 ~ '99 ZX11

'00 ST11 ~ '05 Wave ~ '06 CB400 ~ '07 VFR800 ~ '09 DRZ400SM

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j147/jus101/2008-12-14_024149.jpg

Own a LIFE, not a HELL ~~ RIDE SAFELY !!!

Sorry, I have a last min oversea buiness trip will only be back to SG mid July.

If not this will be a good start for me to learn how use my GPS. :cry:

Will join you for the next outing... Tks

mctan

yes, WAAS only available in N.America, BUT by disabling WAAS function in your gps, you will not be able to receive signals from EGNOS (europe), GAGAN (south asia) & MSAS (east asia) satellites as well, which provides the same function as WAAS. the choice is yours.

WAAS ... Wide Area Augmentation System

EGNOS ... European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service

GAGAN ... GPS Aided Geo Augmented Navigation

MSAS ... Multi-functional Satellite Augmentation System

thks for the advice :smile: I always know u the real gps expert here.