yup mine is just the legend with 8mb on board.did try using my office pc(win xp)to connect with the serial cable but there's nothing shown on pc screen.Do i need A driver for that?or is it just plug n play(serial to set)....I'm so .blur..blur

Do you have mapsource installed in that PC ?

• Replies 2.6k

Do you have mapsource installed in that PC ?

Nope.. it was not given to me?is there a site where it can be dwnload?

The happiest people don't have the best of everything.

They just make the best of everything....yaaa. Right

For older GPS, you need mapsource to manage this process. Malsing maps are required to be installed in mapsource, then you can select the appropriate map(s) to be transferred to your Legend.

Where to get a free copy of map source? My map source CD was lost in a rented car, cos I forget to take it back with me after I loan it to a friend. I using 60cs

Here is how to work around for your free mapsource :

(1) First download the Trainings Center Software.

Click Here : http://www8.garmin.com/support/collection.jsp?product=999-99999-04

(2) Now that the directory is there, get your Mapsource update.

MapSource software version 6.13.7 as of February 27, 2008

Click Here : http://www8.garmin.com/support/download_details.jsp?id=209

(3) Then get your open Malsingmap installer version

GM-Mysin Mapsource Installer (Open)

Click Here : http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=23

and/or

GM-Borneo Mapsource Installer (Open)

Click Here : http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=169

For older GPS, you need mapsource to manage this process. Malsing maps are required to be installed in mapsource, then you can select the appropriate map(s) to be transferred to your Legend.

Hi Demon, need your help again. To view the maps on our computer, what are the files we need to download. I've read thro the wiki thread, still blur blur leh. Me not computer oriented. Can tell me in simple terms how to do it?

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/ll201/bikeyroo/Signature%20dog/cute-moving-puppy.gif
Hi Demon, need your help again. To view the maps on our computer, what are the files we need to download. I've read thro the wiki thread, still blur blur leh. Me not computer oriented. Can tell me in simple terms how to do it?

Use Mapsource.

and/or

When you have successfully completed step (2), when you open Mapsource, you should see this :

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/captured-22.jpg

and/or

Great....i will try to do this step by step when i'm back at work using Pc.many many thanks for the guide.will keep posted once mission is successful.

The happiest people don't have the best of everything.

They just make the best of everything....yaaa. Right

and/or

Thank you Demon, I still have my mapsource in my computer will download the link and keep it as a spare.

hi guys .. anyone using etrex units dat dun haf SD slot? i got a spare battery cover (has an unremovable snap lock behind though) to give away coz it came with the bicycle mount i bought. pm me if u wan. 1st come 1st serve k?

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c98/red_rider_1979/aaa-1.jpg

and/or

Thks for all the help Demon. I'm sure, soon you will be an angel....:angel:

Following the instruction above, I can now see the map on my comp. However the map seems to be too simplified. All the small roads are not there unlike the maps on my gps. So my dear Demon, can tell me where I go wrong?

http://i289.photobucket.com/albums/ll201/bikeyroo/Signature%20dog/cute-moving-puppy.gif

Following the instruction above, I can now see the map on my comp. However the map seems to be too simplified. All the small roads are not there unlike the maps on my gps. So my dear Demon, can tell me where I go wrong?

Can you confirm that you are on Malsing v3.02 ?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot1.jpg

Set details to "highest"

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/ScreenShot2.jpg

how now ?

Hi Demon, there is no rectangular box showing the map version leh. It's missing in my mapsource application. Can it be because I'm using Window XP?

When I was downloading the mapsource version, it stated 'works with window vista'. This could be the reason.

Hi Demon, there is no rectangular box showing the map version leh. It's missing in my mapsource application. Can it be because I'm using Window XP?

Mapsource will work flawlessly with XP home, XP Professional and Vista. i have mapsource on both XP home, and XP Pro.

If there is no map version in the box, it means that no map has been installed in mapsource. Have you done this ?

Click Here : http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/vi....php?f=26&t=23

Okay I got the Mysin Installer V2.27from here: http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=31 The rectangular box is there now showing the map version 2.27. Better than the previous map but still not as detailed.

this is the "locked" version, it can only be used in Mapsource, and it can't be transferred to GPS.

I'm not sure what's your expectation, but this is the level of details you get on malsing maps. For Jerome's maps, you get a more details such footprint of buildings and HDB blocks.

Hi Demon, it's pretty late liao. Don't want to trouble you further. I'll try to do it again tomorrow. Thks for all the help. God bless you! :angel:

the devil is nocturnal http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/Emoticons/devil.gif

Can you confirm that you are on Malsing v3.02 ?

Hi Demon,

Is v3.02 already released for download? I checked the Wiki and the latest I could get was v2.27. Thanks.