Originally posted by drumx@Jan 15 2004, 07:35 PM

Hey guys, can anyone take a photo of their butt and post it here?

Hahahaha, sorry. :smile:

I mean a picture of the rear of your bike?

I need some photos of the positioning of the exhust pipe... :confused:

my exhust looked abit too "unusual", needed some verification thus

hope some XJRiders here can help.

Thanks man, finally got my Bike back!! :cheer:

Took more than 1 month but still glad its before CNY!

Errr....if u wan, can meet me, we check check see if everything is back to normal...kekeke.

OpenSource...Empowering the users to freedom of choice......http://www.spreadfirefox.com/community/images/affiliates/Buttons/80x15/white_1.gif

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by joshy8237@Jan 15 2004, 08:09 PM

great...how much is the repair anyway?

Unfortunate it was not disclosed to me.

I fell out with my bike shop cos of some other f*cking issue...

Thus now want to find out also problematic. :mad:

NTUC won't disclose the amount to me.

I can only tell you that I had to pay an excess amount of $525 (inlcuding GST):sian:

I love to ride my bicycle, I love to ride my bike.

Originally posted by chaicka@Jan 18 2004, 02:11 AM

Errr....if u wan, can meet me, we check check see if everything is back to normal...kekeke.

Thanks man, nowadays busy with work.

Don't think can meet up with you. Thanks for your offer.

Maybe some other days, will let you know. Thanks again :smile:

I love to ride my bicycle, I love to ride my bike.

Guest dInG DaNG

Dear Fellow XJR'ers...

Anyone here has changed their air filter ardy....coz mine mileage coming near for the change (ard 13000++)..Hope to have more options beside the original OEM type...Thanks..

By the way...I take this chance to wish all chinese fellow riders HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR & non- chinese HAPPY HOLIDAYS....:cheer: :cheer: :

Originally posted by dInG DaNG@Jan 19 2004, 04:34 PM

Dear Fellow XJR'ers...

Anyone here has changed their air filter ardy....coz mine mileage coming near for the change (ard 13000++)..Hope to have more options beside the original OEM type...Thanks..

ou? 13k abit early rite

me now 26 k i just bought the original 2day

quite exp cos it comes wif the air intake plastic piece together

no noe abt aftermarket ones though maybe chaicka has info :p

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299588_10150540759024129_659464128_11616498_236846498_n.jpg

Anyone encountered any problems with your odometer??

mine have a big problem... now cannot switch between different trip

meters and time at all... stuck with one onli...

Apparently its my buttons cuzing it.... Anyone facing this problem??:bouncefire:

when u press can u feel the small tick sound on ur button

if there is then probably ur chip has spoilt

if there's no sound maybe there's no contact wif the chip button

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299588_10150540759024129_659464128_11616498_236846498_n.jpg
Originally posted by furbykong@Feb 21 2004, 02:15 AM

so does anyone noes how or where can we solve the prob?

its not an essential function but it is irritating to haf sumtink u cant used :mad:

change the whole left odometer

cost around 190 bucks

hey guys,

I'm beginning to find that my fork is getting a little too soft (done about 10,000 km on it so far).

Also the rebound is a little fast, causing the fork to feel rather springy.

Will changing the springs to heavier ones help ? (what are the weights of the stock springs ?)

Will changing the fork oil to a thicker oil slow the rebound rate ? (again, what is the viscosity of the stock oil ?)

Is there any downside to the above actions ?

Any alternative actions to suggest ?

Thanks all

Do the Right Thing and the Rest will follow

Originally posted by The Zombie@Feb 26 2004, 01:40 PM

hey guys,

I'm beginning to find that my fork is getting a little too soft (done about 10,000 km on it so far).

Also the rebound is a little fast, causing the fork to feel rather springy.

Will changing the springs to heavier ones help ? (what are the weights of the stock springs ?)

Will changing the fork oil to a thicker oil slow the rebound rate ? (again, what is the viscosity of the stock oil ?)

Is there any downside to the above actions ?

Any alternative actions to suggest ?

Thanks all

Check with BikeLab....forgotten his nick, but he seems quite good in fork and suspension area.

OpenSource...Empowering the users to freedom of choice......http://www.spreadfirefox.com/community/images/affiliates/Buttons/80x15/white_1.gif

Hi guys. I'm thinking of getting a 97 XJR400R, and I know some of the guys here ride this older version. Basically, I am interested to know whether the spare are hard to get or not? I am also worried about the fuel consumption, cause someone once told me a full tank can go up to 280km - full tank, 18 litre for 280 km? That's even less than 20km per litre...

By the way, where is AutoMachinery exactly? Also, has anyone install frame slider on the XJR before?

... how come everyone like suddenly disappeared? Anyone riding old xjr400r to talk about it? Me got questions leh...:sweat:

initially i find it a bit funny, but after sum time it actually proportionates the outlook of the bike. anyway its beauty in the eyes of beholder, up to individual likes. i got no pic no digital camera, but if u dun mind can cum to my blk carpark on a sun morn to take a look, i will be slping :D

• 9 months later...

Where haff all the pple riding XJR400 gone to??????:confused:

Choose Life. Choose a job. Choose a career. Choose a family.

Choose a F*****g big television.

Choose sitting on that couch watching mind-numbing, spirit-crushing game shows,

stuffing F*****g junk food into your mouth.

Choose rotting away at the end of it all, pishing your last in a miserable home,

nothing more than an embarrasment to the selfish, ****ed up brats you spawned to replace yourself.

Choose your future. Choose life.

I chose not to choose life, I chose something else instead.

not many ard, fewer are active in sbf. mayb ard 8 to 12 haf surfaced b4.

mayb its too few pple riding it or those riding it cant b bothered, :lol: tats why the presence of this fella has fell into oblivion

s Xjr parts expensive? Maintaince cheaper than super four or expensiver?

Cos thinking to buy a xjr400.... can any 1 riding it give some comment??

--======B@bySleep|essW0rlD======--

2002 - Honda Phantom 150cc

2004 - Piaggio X9 Almafi 180cc

2004 - Honda WaveS 125cc

2004 - Honda CB400 Vtec 1 400cc

2006 - Mitsubishi Lancer 1600cc

2008 - Nissan Latio 1500cc

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c105/tz_jie/ayumi.gifhttp://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c105/tz_jie/ayumi.gif

actually if u search the past posts a lot has been compared btw the 2.

not tokng abt issues addressed by the other thread by pierrot, main diff i feel is the oil cooled engine of xjr, meaning no coolant like s4. gd or not its up to u to decide. price wise u dun change coolant every week

the rest from tyres, headlight, odo / speedometer, spark plugs, chain, sprockets, oil filter are nearly the same as s4. engine oil change is 2L or a bit more per change, less than s4. in fact some aftermarket parts used by s4 can be used on xjr.

tyres: front 110/70 rear 150/70, tink s4 stoock rear 140, 150, 160 depending on version or spec 1,2,3, stock front shld be 120. so given the same make of tyres used, not much price diff in tyre usage

spark plug: same unless u are so particular abt tweeny differences

chain: xjr stock 520 s4 stock 525, price no diff

sprocket: not much diff for aftermarkets, even oem oso not much diff in price, anyway u dun change them every week

oil filter: see spark plug

one thing cant deny is u dun find xjr parts as readily as s4, more than half the time u haf to go to hong leong or another 1 or 2 places holding xjr parts

heard a lot of ranges for fuel consumption for s4, but xjr so far heard is ard 20-22km/l region, at the end of the day, see how throttle happy u r

2002 xjr is diff from its old brother, earliest shld be a FV plater for 02 model

wat u mean by different? care to elaborate in wat sense??

Choose rotting away at the end of it all, pishing your last in a miserable home,

nothing more than an embarrasment to the selfish, ****ed up brats you spawned to replace yourself.

appearance wise the pipe is a giveaway. the new 02 model has a flushed pipe, while the old has a tapered pipe.

rear shocks same, striking yellow Ohlins shocks.

took a peep at the old model, they do not haf a digital tripmeter liek the 02 model. whereas the 02 has an digital tripmeter juz below the odometer

no idea abt the tank capacity, but there is a slight diff in shape and cutting, 02 looks more aerodynamic and sleek (personal opinion)

stock 02 model rear tyre is 17 inch 150/70 , but 2 of the old xjrs i seen seems to haf 17 inch 140 for rear. this one is my own speculation based on visual observation, so boh bah kay pt made by me :D

haha hey dude u are really a guru of the Yamaha XJR400.. so when will be the day ur XJR becomes an FJR?? Any idea about the market price of a XJR currently?