Originally posted by oinkquack@Jun 27 2005, 10:29 PM

wah key break.. i better be gentle on mine!.. hehe :sweat:

Not broken exactly, more like dislocated? If it's broken, that's it..... :giddy: Macik can camp at GP Esso. :D

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

• Replies 1.1k

Originally posted by shinkai@Jun 27 2005, 08:00 PM

hi guys! what're the measurements of air pressure for your front and rear tyres?

book is 130 and 180

According to some experience mechanics, 210, 220 cos we're using tubeless tyres.

As for me, I prefer 150 and 200.

.:: HE Who Sow Will Reap ::.

Gilera VXR

Vespa ET8

Originally posted by 2blearner@Jun 27 2005, 10:48 PM

book is 130 and 180

According to some experience mechanics, 210, 220 cos we're using tubeless tyres.

As for me, I prefer 150 and 200.

oh icic, for me it's 200 and 210. hopefully it doesnt harms my tyres haha..

oinkquack: go and feel your tyres and see whether if there're enough air for your tyres? else pop by to any petrol station and :bounce: it

If u're patience in one moment of anger, u will avoid 100 days of sorrow.

I'm new to the scooter forum but have been enjoying my ET8 for a few months now. I bought the red FS plate from Steven.

I was leaving work yesterday and the scooter stopped running. It acted like it was starved for fuel but there is plenty of petrol in the tank. Maybe a filter or the carb? I need to send it to someone to fix.

I live near Holland Village so a place at Alexandra may be the closest for me. Can anyone recommend a good shop there?

Stranded at work,

KevinG

Originally posted by Scarab@Jun 27 2005, 10:33 PM

Not broken exactly, more like dislocated? If it's broken, that's it..... :giddy: Macik can camp at GP Esso. :D

No lah - can pillion back home to get the spare key and take taxi back to GP Esso wat..:) Got so many riders around :p

All I can say is that it is very TRAUMATISING lor... dislocated, disjointed, came off, broken or wat ever you call it...

Happiness - more or less, it's in one's liberty..

Originally posted by KevinG@Jun 28 2005, 09:39 AM

I'm new to the scooter forum but have been enjoying my ET8 for a few months now. I bought the red FS plate from Steven.

I was leaving work yesterday and the scooter stopped running. It acted like it was starved for fuel but there is plenty of petrol in the tank. Maybe a filter or the carb? I need to send it to someone to fix.

I live near Holland Village so a place at Alexandra may be the closest for me. Can anyone recommend a good shop there?

Stranded at work,

KevinG

There're many possiblities. You mean your bike can't start (be it electric or kickstart)? If it's, your battery might be low or your sparkplug is damaged.

The only bikeshop i went to is Aspoon at bukit merah, other than that i have no idea.

Lastly, welcome to ET8 cafe! Have added you to our ET8 list. Cheers! =)

Originally posted by Katzen@Jun 28 2005, 10:53 AM

No lah - can pillion back home to get the spare key and take taxi back to GP Esso wat..:) Got so many riders around :p

All I can say is that it is very TRAUMATISING lor... dislocated, disjointed, came off, broken or wat ever you call it...

Haha.. that really sounds bad!! So how is it now?

Originally posted by shinkai@Jun 28 2005, 12:24 PM

There're many possiblities. You mean your bike can't start (be it electric or kickstart)? If it's, your battery might be low or your sparkplug is damaged.

The only bikeshop i went to is Aspoon at bukit merah, other than that i have no idea.

Lastly, welcome to ET8 cafe! Have added you to our ET8 list. Cheers! =)

You stay in the west?

.:: HE Who Sow Will Reap ::.

Gilera VXR

Vespa ET8

Originally posted by 2blearner@Jun 28 2005, 01:38 PM

You stay in the west?

yeah jurong west. why?

anyway ppl, just found this website with various pictures of designed ET8s

click here

Originally posted by shinkai@Jun 28 2005, 12:25 PM

Haha.. that really sounds bad!! So how is it now?

Havent got the time to get the key fixed but called my bike shop already...

BTW have any of u tried using then kickstart? I don't think mine works..

Originally posted by Katzen@Jun 28 2005, 04:18 PM

u nvr call PSC :confused:

tink 4 strike bike harder kick.. :cheeky:

my mopeds gotta kick a few times then can jalan.. :cheeky:

:angry: Road to Endless Destination is still burning. :angry:

You sure your shop can fix the key? Just bring it to PSC and show to Mr Yap, he should be able to do something for you

Eh Makcik, kick start must have technique one leh, got to ask one of our vespa bros to show you, I know I also cannot make it.

http://www.solidah.com/mystuff/dbsmall.jpghttp://www.solidah.com/mystuff/scootlogo.gifhttp://www.danasoft.com/sig/pharkee01.jpg
Originally posted by Fass@Jun 28 2005, 04:28 PM

You sure your shop can fix the key? Just bring it to PSC and show to Mr Yap, he should be able to do something for you

Eh Makcik, kick start must have technique one leh, got to ask one of our vespa bros to show you, I know I also cannot make it.

Scarab demo for me on Sun nite... but it came on once only - then never came to live anymore... U think PSC can check for me also?

When I told my bike shop owner abt the key he said warranty doesnt cover 'wear and tear'... like helloo?... wat wear and tear??... that blardy thing is only 3mths old.

That's how bike shop are - zero aftersales. Anything, they arrow to agent. that's why the rest of the guys asked you to check with Mr Yap at PSC.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

So glad kat join us as i am sure she overcome a lot of barrier of whom think what is ET8 capable of....:smile:

Originally posted by Mark C.@Jun 28 2005, 06:14 PM

So glad kat join us as i am sure she overcome a lot of barrier of whom think what is ET8 capable of....:smile:

Must say the big guys give the scooter and me a lot of face lor...hehehe.. :cheer:

Can't imagine if the whole group of ET8 go for such a trip... can form a separate convoy trailing the big guys lor:giddy:

Originally posted by ferrex@Jun 20 2005, 04:11 PM

hi, issit still possible to get a et8 from a piaggio dealer?

Yup yup... just went to Piaggio this morning - they still have 3 ET8s left - in silver and black..:thumb:

Originally posted by Katzen@Jun 29 2005, 12:24 PM

Yup yup... just went to Piaggio this morning - they still have 3 ET8s left - in silver and black..:thumb:

So kunci how?

http://www.solidah.com/mystuff/dbsmall.jpghttp://www.solidah.com/mystuff/scootlogo.gifhttp://www.danasoft.com/sig/pharkee01.jpg
Originally posted by Fass@Jun 28 2005, 04:28 PM

Ok guys - continuation of my saga.

Of course shop said go to Piaggio. Mr Yap of Piaggio said this is the 1st time he saw this happened to a key and his solution... superglue... That's right... superglue the two parts together... so the lesson here is KEEP A SPARE KEY HANDY! btw, keys are not under warranty.

The visit to PSC has been fruitful cos Mr Yap was very very helpful. Besides superglue-ing my key, he showed me how to kick start.

Got technique wan - stand parallel to you ET8, put ur right hand on ur box's metal holder and right leg on the kick start. Press hard once - must make sure the swing is completed. And of course your ignition key must be 'ON'. Careful of excessive force cos it can break.

Honestly, the kick-start is more of a decoration.

there's technique for kickstarting et8. for mine, it works most of the time.

go to the back of your et8. hold your hands on the rear and use your left foot to press slightly on your kickstart and push it down smoothly and in a quick pace.

if you have not been using your kickstart, it would take some time i reckon? for me, once in a while i will use it and not electric start.

Must practice lor... otherwise dont know how to use the kick start - I reckon its a good habit to use it instead of the electric start once in a whole.

I saw a red LX today - quite a beauty... I especially like the seat. But the metal at the back and the box bracket - cannot make it.

ET8 is my reigning fav right now.:lovestruck:

Originally posted by Katzen@Jun 29 2005, 01:21 PM

Must practice lor... otherwise dont know how to use the kick start - I reckon its a good habit to use it instead of the electric start once in a whole.

I saw a red LX today - quite a beauty... I especially like the seat. But the metal at the back and the box bracket - cannot make it.

ET8 is my reigning fav right now.:lovestruck:

I love all 3 and I would like to own each and everyone. hahaha...

Originally posted by shinkai@Jun 29 2005, 12:33 PM

there's technique for kickstarting et8. for mine, it works most of the time.

go to the back of your et8. hold your hands on the rear and use your left foot to press slightly on your kickstart and push it down smoothly and in a quick pace.

if you have not been using your kickstart, it would take some time i reckon? for me, once in a while i will use it and not electric start.

no matter how many times i tried, even got my hubby to try, still can get the kick start to work leh....fed up liao :giddy:

Life is not measured by how many breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Originally posted by Krissy@Jun 29 2005, 03:50 PM

no matter how many times i tried, even got my hubby to try, still can get the kick start to work leh....fed up liao :giddy:

hehehe... did ur hubby ended up kicking ur ET8?

Thanks for the reply Shinkai. I found a very detailed thread about work shops and ended up sending it to Tai Hin. The previous owner had it serviced there. They did a good job.

They showed me how to kick start it too. I thought that you had to hold in the brake but you don't for the kick starter. It was very awkward trying to kick start it while holding in the brake lever.

The only trick is to kick starting is to find top dead center on the stroke. Then give a good long kick. You can find TDC by feeling for heavy resistance followed by slack and then a small spot of heavy resistance again. The piston should be at TDC and ready to go. It worked for me.