Originally posted by Krissy@Aug 3 2005, 04:08 PM

My Piaggio sign at the front of my ET8 dropped off!!!!! :cry: :cry:

how...you tink super glue back will be enough? lucky it din drop off while i was riding...if not :cry:

The guy at the shop took out mine too when he drill hole for the IU unit....

I think u'd better use industrial glue cos the elements (like rain lar sun lar) will cause the super glue to crack and the logo come undone again...

Happiness - more or less, it's in one's liberty..

• Replies 1.1k

my exhaust pipe is rusty!!! anywya to make it look nicer??

do your exhaust pipes get rusty??

"Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed" --Proverbs 16:3

Most scooter pipes get rusty after a while. Just need to remove it and respray.

Of cos prior to then you might wanna remove the rust first and add a primer.

Remember to use high temp spray.

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Brought the bike to the highly recomended (based on some SBF threads) Ah Huat (AMK Industrial Park 1) to respray the top box and do some touching up.

I asked him about rust removal and spraying the exhaust pipe but the advice he gave me is to replace the pipe with a new one if I can't stand it anymore. He told me that spray paints will not work on exhaust pipes due to the heat. I'm not sure if this is good advice or not. Any comments?

Personally, I like the look of the LX. It has a retro feel to it and I read that the fuel consumption is supposed to be very good (37km/l as stated in Paggionale).

However, I know a few scooterists that say that they dun like the "squarish" back of the LX.

I dun think there're many people here that own or have even ridden the LX before as it is so new. You could be the pioneer!

Originally posted by entity@Aug 7 2005, 11:38 AM

I asked him about rust removal and spraying the exhaust pipe but the advice he gave me is to replace the pipe with a new one if I can't stand it anymore. He told me that spray paints will not work on exhaust pipes due to the heat. I'm not sure if this is good advice or not. Any comments?

rubbish, thihnks his tring to earn only, that's all. Rusty pipe after spraying will look as gd as a new one. (of cos after awile, prob a few mths, it will turn rusty agn..) But muz really use a high temp spry. Usually bike shops ones are high temp spray, not to worry too much.. :smile:

Honda Freed

Honda XL 200

Suzuki DR200

Yamaha Fino

Piaggio LX150

Suzuki Lapin

Yamaha TW 200

Gilera VXR 200

Piaggio ET8 200

The strange thing is, this fella doesn't change parts of the scooter. He only does spray painting of bikes. So I dun think he is trying to earn. In fact, I think both of you are on the same page. So currently, to my understanding, any spray painting (even the high temperature ones) are only temporary ie. last only a few months before they get rusty again.

dats the whole pt of spraying wat, to cover the rust, not permernantly of cos!

any bike repair shop will have spray

Honda Freed

Honda XL 200

Suzuki DR200

Yamaha Fino

Piaggio LX150

Suzuki Lapin

Yamaha TW 200

Gilera VXR 200

Piaggio ET8 200

Originally posted by entity@Aug 8 2005, 02:12 AM

Personally, I like the look of the LX. It has a retro feel to it and I read that the fuel consumption is supposed to be very good (37km/l as stated in Paggionale).

However, I know a few scooterists that say that they dun like the "squarish" back of the LX.

I dun think there're many people here that own or have even ridden the LX before as it is so new. You could be the pioneer!

I saw an ang moh guy riding a baby blue LX... He said he bought it when it first came out, at machine price of $6k...on top of that got $400 voucher for accessories.

You are right abt the chrome mirror - very very very nice. But I still prefer the ET8 rounded feel. Again preference is subjective.

Kele, go with what YOU like and not what other's like - cos I feel a Vespa is more a reflection of one's lifestyle...very personal

Hepi riding...

Originally posted by glorygoh@Aug 8 2005, 04:21 AM

dats the whole pt of spraying wat, to cover the rust, not permernantly of cos!

any bike repair shop will have spray

Haha. I'm really a newbie at this. Dun know much about bikes yet. Thanks for clarifing.

Originally posted by Kele@Aug 8 2005, 01:24 AM

hihi.. just wondering if you guys have any comments on LX150.. i'm planning to buy that, with the chrome thingy! :lovestruck:

get yourself a LX 150, i second that! it's damn nice and i simply love the look and further more it has enhanced features which make it double wow!!

saw one few days ago at a bungalow along siglap road (i think that's the road name).

love the seat, love the headlight, love the tail and love everything about LX.

If u're patience in one moment of anger, u will avoid 100 days of sorrow.

Alright! thanks everyone for the help!! :smile: I shall look ard and buy it soon! btw, are the prices like ard the same? do i have to like hop ard some shops b4 buying? Shloud be ard $6k right?

hmm.. ok.. i'll go spray my exhaust soon... so ugly :p

i don't like LX leh.. ehhe.. personally lah... et8 looks better. :)

"Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed" --Proverbs 16:3

Originally posted by Kele@Aug 8 2005, 11:51 PM

Alright! thanks everyone for the help!! :smile: I shall look ard and buy it soon! btw, are the prices like ard the same? do i have to like hop ard some shops b4 buying? Shloud be ard $6k right?

Kele, its better for you to ask around and do the legwork urself. So that you'll make an informed decision ...

On top of the machine price, you will have to pay the road tax, insurance (depends on 1st/ 2nd/ 3rd party and ur age) and whole jazz. Please check what freebies the shops throw in like free helment/ box/ IU/ rain jacket/ cover - You better ask for it if they keep mum.

Pick up the phone and call these shops before going down... and please don't be rushed into a decision. Better still bring an experienced friend along cos the process can be quite overwhelming for the 1st time.

Also if you planning to pay by installment, check out the interest rate charged per store...

I learnt this the hard way - trust me... Good luck!

hi guys...i juz gt my license and i'm in love with et8....but a new one would cost me

6-7kplus....its too ex...where can i find a 2nd hand et8, me personally like the one with pearl white original paint...any good shop to recommend or frens selling????:smile:

Dreams are only dreams, but working towards your dream will no longer be just your dream. It will be reality

I've been looking at a few threads in singaporebikes.com and also the classifieds section and it seems that suddenly there're a lot of people looking for ET8s and there're none for sale!

Heehee....now yellow pages is what you need, call the bike shop and ask.:sweat:

also noticed the sudden increase in demand for ET & GTs...

Honda Freed

Honda XL 200

Suzuki DR200

Yamaha Fino

Piaggio LX150

Suzuki Lapin

Yamaha TW 200

Gilera VXR 200

Piaggio ET8 200

Originally posted by entity@Aug 18 2005, 03:56 AM

Mark C, I'm not looking for an ET8 cos I'm the proud owner of one! I am just amused at the sudden increase in interest in ET8s.

oh! I C...:thumb:

Hope to see all ET8 have an outing soon, good to know more riders and friends. :lovestruck:

Then it better be after 15th Sep. Cos thats my TP date. Dun even dare to ride my ET8 around cos the risks of waiting for 1 year compared to 1 month is not worth it.