Hi all, I need some kinda advice from ya all.( Advice nia hor, but feel free to flame me if you feel like it...)

Last month I was caught for drink driving, ( dun bomb me first, pls look at my side of the tale. )

Scenario: I celebrated my birthday at home by drinking til dawn(6 am plus) then I went to sleep til late noon(4 pm plus). As I was feeling hungry, I decided to hop on my ride and head towards AMK for dinner. Along the trip, I met with an accident and bangs on to a motorcycle in front of me. ( The bike in front of me jammed brakes... you know the rest..)Both parties suffered from minor injuries. Then the police came and ask me if I had drink and I admitted that I had drunk til early morning b4 I rode again. They took me back to TP HQ for a breath test and I clock a reading of 0.06Umg.

I would liketo ask if anyone here have been caught in this similar situation and what are my chances of getting off the hook?

Thanks.:shy:

i luv kinder buenos~~~

• Replies 36

well i haven't been in the same situation as you but all i can say is, since you got into an accident with alcohol in your breath, they can still charge you for drink driving ie failure to maintain proper control of your vehicle.

the fact of the matter is, you got into an accident. so you've lost there liao. if it was only a random police stop with no accident involved and they ask you to blow and you are below the limit, then you can ride away scot free.

all the best bro. cheers.

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

0.06u?. congrats. you passed the test..

well anyways, it takes more than 35u to kiss your licence card away.

as for now, you will be assigned to one IO, and i believe only your statement was recorded. they will give you a call anyways.

might take some time too.

For every 7 pounds you lose, you gain one horsepower.

Very unlucky bro.Speedy recovery~

Thanks, Only got a little bit of bak kwa here and there, now all heal liao. hehehe..........:cheers:

i luv kinder buenos~~~

speedy recovery la bro. Dont mean to be suay chwee or curse u whatever. I also understand that u didnt "Drink and drive" on purpose la.

But as far as i know, as long as theres alchohol in your blood, no matter below or above the legal limit, one will still be charged if he cant control the vehicle or get involved in an accident.

Lets hope they dont take the 0.06 into consideration. Best of luck.

STOP ANIMAL ABUSE

speedy recovery la bro. Dont mean to be suay chwee or curse u whatever. I also understand that u didnt "Drink and drive" on purpose la.

But as far as i know, as long as theres alchohol in your blood, no matter below or above the legal limit, one will still be charged if he cant control the vehicle or get involved in an accident.

Lets hope they dont take the 0.06 into consideration. Best of luck.

Thanks for the kind words bro. Ialso hope they drop the charge or change the charge lor.Word of advice to every one out there hor, dun drink liao dun ride or drive hor. Buy a breathanalyser put at home or carry it everywhere with you just to be sure hor. hehehehe... dun tu lan, just some L J words... hehehe:thirsty:

i luv kinder buenos~~~

first thing first.. how did the accident took place?? issit ure tailgate the rider then he jam brake OR ure still drunk n cant fully control ur car?? n if u didnt drink n had full control of ure vehicle, can u avoid the accident??

Sept' 08 - ??????? - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FU *** H)

Sept' 09 - Dec' 09 - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FR **** E)

Mar' 10 - ??????? - YAMAHA RXZ 135 (FS **** E)

**Gif image removed. please do not add a 6mb gif file into your sig as it slows everyone's surfing**

first thing first.. how did the accident took place?? issit ure tailgate the rider then he jam brake OR ure still drunk n cant fully control ur car?? n if u didnt drink n had full control of ure vehicle, can u avoid the accident??

It's actually like this, we were approaching a traffic light and the traffic light just turned amber in my favor, I felt that this rider in front have the intention to cross it, so i follow suit lor. We were travelling on the extreme left side of the left lane. road surface a bit moist(like those conditions when the rain stopped a few hours ago and still a bit wet that type.) Then suddenly this rider just slam his brakes, I also slam lor. but still cannot stop in time. That's how I slam his rear lor. For the alcohol content thingy, I dun think I'm drunk as I had been resting from 6 am in the morning til 4 pm in the noon. so to say lor.

i luv kinder buenos~~~

then i think (in my own opinion), most likely u will not be charge for drink driving since u cn prove that u had full control of ure vehicle n i believe its below the limit..but in other hand, MAYBE u have to worry about following to close to the rider n trying to avoid redlight that cause the accident..good luck to u..anything, just update here..

Sept' 08 - ??????? - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FU *** H)

Sept' 09 - Dec' 09 - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FR **** E)

Mar' 10 - ??????? - YAMAHA RXZ 135 (FS **** E)

**Gif image removed. please do not add a 6mb gif file into your sig as it slows everyone's surfing**

some experience & lesson to share here, but anyway, not sure how minor your injury or bike damage, but in the in 1st place why involve police, shouldn't be better if can settle between both party only?

I also dun know why the other party wans to report police, maybe he wan to make a insurance claim so that he can raise the claim? a lot of ppl like that wan lah, can claim then claim. i

i luv kinder buenos~~~

I also dun know why the other party wans to report police, maybe he wan to make a insurance claim so that he can raise the claim? a lot of ppl like that wan lah, can claim then claim.

i thought that only applies to cars? haha once u hit them from the rear, no matter how small the hole on ur bumper, can claim then claim

:popcorn:

i thought that only applies to cars? haha once u hit them from the rear, no matter how small the hole on ur bumper, can claim then claim

:popcorn:

true enough. people nowdays make money lorr. thats y insurance premiums so high.

Do Not Speed

true enough. people nowdays make money lorr. thats y insurance premiums so high.

Yep, but come to think of it. I rather have a higher premium( not that high lah) than being having to bear the cost of compensation for the other party in cases where you are at fault. After, that's the main basis of having a vehicle insurance policy in force:thirsty:

i luv kinder buenos~~~

Well, the police stated some months ago that you do not need to be over the limit to be charged with drink driving.

If you drank and they think you are imcapable to operating a vehicle safely, you will kena also.

"The Traffic Police highlighted that many motorists are unclear about the drink driving law in Singapore. Under the Road Traffic Act, a person can be convicted of drink driving in two instances.

If the driver is found with more than the legal limit of 35 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millitres of breath, or more than 80 milligrammes of alcohol per 100 millitres of blood, he/she is deemed to have broken the law and it does not matter whether the driver has perfect control of the vehicle, when caught.

Even when the alcohol level is under the legal limit, the driver can still be convicted if it is shown that he/she did not have proper control of the vehicle as a result of alcoholic intoxication. "

Well, the police stated some months ago that you do not need to be over the limit to be charged with drink driving.

If you drank and they think you are imcapable to operating a vehicle safely, you will kena also.

"The Traffic Police highlighted that many motorists are unclear about the drink driving law in Singapore. Under the Road Traffic Act, a person can be convicted of drink driving in two instances.

If the driver is found with more than the legal limit of 35 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millitres of breath, or more than 80 milligrammes of alcohol per 100 millitres of blood, he/she is deemed to have broken the law and it does not matter whether the driver has perfect control of the vehicle, when caught.

Even when the alcohol level is under the legal limit, the driver can still be convicted if it is shown that he/she did not have proper control of the vehicle as a result of alcoholic intoxication. "

Yeah, that's true lah. But in any case, i just hope they dun take the alcohol content into account lor. I mean i also dunno there's still alcohol content in my body after so many hours of rest right? hmmm~~~

i luv kinder buenos~~~

in that case.. if u accident and it was your fault.. then you be charge?..

i think sure got charge wan. just depends how they proceed only. last time i langa other ppl car also kena careless driving. But anyways, it's still better than being charged under drink driving.:cheeky:

i luv kinder buenos~~~

Hi all, I need some kinda advice from ya all.( Advice nia hor, but feel free to flame me if you feel like it...)

Last month I was caught for drink driving, ( dun bomb me first, pls look at my side of the tale. )

Scenario: I celebrated my birthday at home by drinking til dawn(6 am plus) then I went to sleep til late noon(4 pm plus). As I was feeling hungry, I decided to hop on my ride and head towards AMK for dinner. Along the trip, I met with an accident and bangs on to a motorcycle in front of me. ( The bike in front of me jammed brakes... you know the rest..)Both parties suffered from minor injuries. Then the police came and ask me if I had drink and I admitted that I had drunk til early morning b4 I rode again. They took me back to TP HQ for a breath test and I clock a reading of 0.06Umg.

I would liketo ask if anyone here have been caught in this similar situation and what are my chances of getting off the hook?

Thanks.:shy:

Seems like your case has a lot of reason to fight. You should consider getting a lawyer. Comforting answers which sounds appealing to the ear is not going to help. With the current strict laws against drink driving, I honestly think there is a very strong chance the police will not let you go unless you fight the case. Get a lawyer. And All the best.

0.06, that's kind of little

if 35u is the maximum, den 0.06u is only 0.17% of 35u. that's not even 1%

people can have alcohol content if they ate alcoholic chocolates or even jolly shandy. Den, you can tell the TP, i didn't drink, i juz ate alcohol chocolates!!

I think even mouthwash (listerine, colgate, etc) also include certain level of alcohol content.