Change lane immediately after signaling, or change lane regardless the traffic coming from behind ?

talk with your instrutor to see the detailed reason.

• Replies 126

I think it's change lane immediately after signalling, TS would have gotten IF if he/she change lane when traffic is coming too close from behind. When you intend to change lane, you need to keep more to left/right, signal on, check mirror and check blindspot and change lane smoothly, you don't turn your handlebar too much else it will look like you are turning left or right and not changing to left or right lane. you have to do it smoothly.

nice, i pass my prac 7 in 3 trys, count myself unlucky... first time got road hazard then the instructor told me i too close when passing, 8 points, then when i stop i stop too near to another instructor who was at the side of the lane, another 8 points, my total points that day for circuit + road is 24, so yeah...second time i got 10 demerit points in total, but my bike stall in the beginning when i moving off, so immediate failure...hais

woah, sometimes this kind of thing happen really dam suay, if i were in ur shoes i also dam shag.

wow! thats incredible! i only managed to pass prac 7 only after 4th try. but i didnt regret that. at least i passed my tp on 1st try. good luck and all the best!

4th time is actually not so jialat, i know one person repeating prac 7 for like 7th time? Really feel bad for him. But as long u are able to get ur license that's all it matters.

i just failed Prac 7 for the 3rd time....penalty points mainly on " changing lane abruptly" ...i just don't get it as i don't feel i did that.

for past 3 lessons, it's been the same instructor .... sigh.

i just don't get what he wanted.

can anyone advise ?

For me if i change lane, for example if i want to change to the right, i would position my motorcycle a little bit to the right but i will still remain in the lane, after that i would check my mirrors for every 3-4 seconds if there's a vehicle on that lane, if the vehicle on that lane is too near i would focus on the road first to maintain my motorcycle position then look at the mirror to see if he's slowing down or speeding up, if it's safe to do so then check ur blind spot and move to the lane smoothly. Honestly speaking on the road u have to be quick to judge the driver/rider so called "Body Language" so i can understand changing lane is a little bit hard, but don't give up so easily, there's some video on youtube that can show u how to change lane smoothly, maybe u could check it out then on the day of the assessment or practice, try to apply ur theory into it. Don't give up so easily man u just left like 2 more lessons!

mm i would go for a sports bike already if my riding skills arent so new, i think i would look really weird riding sports bike but ride so slow, alot of sports bikers i see ride very aggresive one haha. I think cb150r acceleration is higher than the 190r and the abs on 150r is very tempting, but price point is still the biggest factor for me, even though 190r and 150r got better FC than pulsar, i calculated every 1050km you save 10.50sgd, assuming you buy shell95, every month save about 15 dollars.

ahh, i almost forget this is singapore.. money management is tough.

For me if i change lane, for example if i want to change to the right, i would position my motorcycle a little bit to the right but i will still remain in the lane, after that i would check my mirrors for every 3-4 seconds if there's a vehicle on that lane, if the vehicle on that lane is too near i would focus on the road first to maintain my motorcycle position then look at the mirror to see if he's slowing down or speeding up, if it's safe to do so then check ur blind spot and move to the lane smoothly. Honestly speaking on the road u have to be quick to judge the driver/rider so called "Body Language" so i can understand changing lane is a little bit hard, but don't give up so easily, there's some video on youtube that can show u how to change lane smoothly, maybe u could check it out then on the day of the assessment or practice, try to apply ur theory into it. Don't give up so easily man u just left like 2 more lessons!

I'm set for TP test soon .... may I know how's the process like ? does it start with circuit 1st then we go road ?...any other advise ? i'm very nervous ....almost almost there liao...

It's better to have a circuit and road review sessions on the day before the test day to make a last minute check.

Don't stick with the same bike for the review session, try different bike for each review session.

You need to get driving school before 7:00am if you wanted have the warm-up seesion

You could do at least two rounds of the full course route or just do whatever you like with the individual course

You may get your favritor bike if you were the first 10 of testees

After the warsm-up session you will have a short break for breakfast

Pay attention to the instructor's briefing on the test day

If repeated IC wrong for identity confirmation, it may be an immediate failure

Hi all, taking 2B for the second time because of violations on another class.

I notice that the schedule shows available slots even if I'm looking at the same day. Does that mean it's possible to book more than 1 practical in a day through the system? I assume that would be possible for trysell?

Hi all, taking 2B for the second time because of violations on another class.

I notice that the schedule shows available slots even if I'm looking at the same day. Does that mean it's possible to book more than 1 practical in a day through the system? I assume that would be possible for trysell?

Can only take one session per booking, if you want to take 2 sessions in one day, can only hope after you finish the practical lesson someone is try selling their slot, throughout the course of my license i only managed to get one try sell slot on the same day after i finished my morning practical.

It's better to have a circuit and road review sessions on the day before the test day to make a last minute check.

Don't stick with the same bike for the review session, try different bike for each review session.

You need to get driving school before 7:00am if you wanted have the warm-up seesion

You could do at least two rounds of the full course route or just do whatever you like with the individual course

You may get your favritor bike if you were the first 10 of testees

After the warsm-up session you will have a short break for breakfast

Pay attention to the instructor's briefing on the test day

If repeated IC wrong for identity confirmation, it may be an immediate failure

also remember to chiong for the counter when instructor tell you to line up to give your IC at level 5, if not you stuck behind the queue will take quite awhile(really take quite a long time because he has to check a few details for each person) and it will eat into your warm up session, not to mention if you are the first to get to the warm up session you can practice more since no need to wait behind other bikes.

I'm set for TP test soon .... may I know how's the process like ? does it start with circuit 1st then we go road ?...any other advise ? i'm very nervous ....almost almost there liao...

Yes circuit then road, after circuit when everyone come back to the room they will start calling out people who accumulated more than 18 points or have an IF. Then the rest go on the road, after everyone come back same process repeats.

Pro tip: When they call out the people who failed already they go by group, so number 1-10, they will call out like 2,5,9, and if you are number 6 or number 10 you know you pass the section already because he is the one who tabulate the scores for group 1-10 and only 2,5 and 9 failed. Then group 11-20, 21-30, 31-40, and 41-50. i believe its go by groups of 10 or maybe 15, cant remember, just see how they call each group out when the TP test start.

Can only take one session per booking, if you want to take 2 sessions in one day, can only hope after you finish the practical lesson someone is try selling their slot, throughout the course of my license i only managed to get one try sell slot on the same day after i finished my morning practical.

Thanks! Appreciate it. Does that mean it's rare for there to be slots open on the same day?

Hi all

I finally nailed it ! Passed my 2B liao!

I would like to thank you all for your tips and encouragement ... it helps lots!

thank you thank you

I'm so very happy !

Looking forward to 2A journey when the time comes :-)

Meanwhile, I'll ride safe and enjoy my ride

*wink wink*

Thanks! Appreciate it. Does that mean it's rare for there to be slots open on the same day?

yup quite rare, not worth to wait throughout the day to see if someone is try selling their slots on the same day, because if you fail to find try sell slots on same day and go to book for next available lesson date the slots will be gone liao from other people booking it first. so after practical just go down to counter and quickly book is the best choice.

Also i feel that their "Convenience fee" from booking online is really scammy haha, book online should be cheaper than booking at the counter. but none the less i think i spent around 30+ dollars in convenience fees because everytime i went home first to try and find trysell slots, then cannot find have to pay convenience fee for booking lessons online. By the way the counter wont show try sell slots, only online can see trysell slots.

yup quite rare, not worth to wait throughout the day to see if someone is try selling their slots on the same day, because if you fail to find try sell slots on same day and go to book for next available lesson date the slots will be gone liao from other people booking it first. so after practical just go down to counter and quickly book is the best choice.

Also i feel that their "Convenience fee" from booking online is really scammy haha, book online should be cheaper than booking at the counter. but none the less i think i spent around 30+ dollars in convenience fees because everytime i went home first to try and find trysell slots, then cannot find have to pay convenience fee for booking lessons online. By the way the counter wont show try sell slots, only online can see trysell slots.

I actually stay a 15 minutes walk away from SSDC so I think I'll just stick around for a trysell slot, failing which I'll book the next earliest practical.

I saw an online comment about counter not showing trysell slots too! I think it was from you in the 2017 thread haha. Thanks for the heads up!

Edit: Totally see what you mean about not waiting for trysell slots. Had a morning session close up because I hesitated on whether to book it or not lol

Edited by triface
I actually stay a 15 minutes walk away from SSDC so I think I'll just stick around for a trysell slot, failing which I'll book the next earliest practical.

I saw an online comment about counter not showing trysell slots too! I think it was from you in the 2017 thread haha. Thanks for the heads up!

Edit: Totally see what you mean about not waiting for trysell slots. Had a morning session close up because I hesitated on whether to book it or not lol

yup, imagine how hard it is to book slots for cdc which is the only place to learn 2b for the entire of east and central people. my friend came from bedok to ssdc because he want to chiong. im just glad ssdc is in woodlands and just a 20 minute cycle from my house haha.Heard last time ssdc was at ang mo kio before they moved here, likely because they want to be further away from cdc at a location with no driving centers?

Hi all. Can anyone here share details in circuit for 2b. Like from the start to finish.

I mapped out the circuit in Powerpoint with my own notes on certain sections. It doesn't cover every single thing (blind spots, speed for emergency brake, etc) because it's more a "common mistakes" for myself. I ended up not using it much but I hope it's useful for you.

Here's a link to the Dropbox folder.

I passed my TP, and in the time it took to get my license, I made a few observations that I think should be useful to anyone taking their lessons with SSDC. Enjoy the wall of text :p

Booking in SSDC

Circuit revision is available for booking after lesson 3.2, and road revision is available for booking after lesson 4. The instructors will always encourage you to book revision lessons even though it's optional, but IMHO, try to book circuit revision and/or road revision before the appropriate lessons. The instructors will be able to refer to your booklet to see if you have gone for them whenever they are assessing you, and any brownie points in your favour is always going to be helpful. It could be the difference between them closing one eye to an immediate failure or failing you outright.

Booking through the SSDC website will incur a facilities charge of $1.71 if you need to use your debit or credit card, chargeable once regardless of how many slots you book. In other words, you will get charged an extra $1.71 whether you book one slot, or book five slots. Since your student balance will be refunded to you in cash after graduation nyway, I recommend booking a few road revisions (which are the most expensive) once you can do so, and then cancelling them all. This ensures that you have a float in case you need to make multiple bookings at home. For example, I had to book revision lessons separately, and I got hit by the charge twice in the same day.

In most cases, you can check to see whether you've passed the practical by checking to see what practical is available for booking in the website. For example, if you're on lesson 5, and before the instructors inform you whether you have passed, you check the website and notice that it says lesson 6 now, then for sure you have passed. While everyone is still waiting for their results, you can now start to book a slot.

You are prevented from even looking at the timetable as long as you have a practical lesson either in your cart or booked. However, the SSDC kiosk always allows you to look at trysell slots. This, in combination with the previous point, is very significant, because you can reserve a slot in your cart while waiting for your results at level 5, and then once the debriefing is done, you can go to level 3 (while your slot is still safely reserved) to see if there are any trysell slots that you can book.

Try to avoid booking road practicals at peak periods, such as 8.10am or 6.10pm, but it's not a big problem if you have to. Avenue 4 and 9 can get busy, but it's not that bad if you're strategic in your lane changing. I think the nice thing about SSDC is that the roads aren't very congested during peak periods. TP is always at 8.15am, but by the time briefing and circuit test is done, the road test will only start at around 11am.

Not really a tip, but just to preempt anyone who is interested in taking 2B or are currently still at the circuit stage. Circuit lessons are much easier to book, and it's common to be able to book a circuit lesson for the next day. However, road lessons are much harder to book because there's a limit of about 7 to 8 trainees for lesson 5 and 6, and it's 1 to 1 for lesson 7 (hence the expensive fees too). It's super obvious when reading it like this, but somehow I didn't make the connection.

General Riding

Right leg on the ground is taboo. Try to start doing this from lesson 1 onwards so it becomes a habit: I always turn my handlebar to the right immediately before stopping so the centrifugal force will cause me to drop to the left instead.

Plank: Accelerate up the slope and slow down once you're on it. If you try to go slow right from the start, it's very easy to start wobbling and you will fall off the plank, which is an immediate failure. Even if you slow down a quarter of the way into the plank, there is still plenty of time for you to hit the 6 seconds. Worse come to worst you are slightly below 6 seconds, in which case you only get points as opposed to immediate failure.

Figure of 8: It's instinct to want to go through this course upright for fear of falling, but you will be short changing yourself for general riding (since this is designed to let you learn to lean on the bike), as well as for the assessments. Use lesson 3.2 and circuit revisions to see how low you can lean while in the course.

Riding in SSDC

Figure of 8: Keep your bike within the yellow lot and don't worry about positioning your bike while waiting. You are hidden behind a huge pillar right before you enter the course, so you can swerve all the way to the right before entering if it makes it easier for you and you still won't be penalized.

Crank: The exit of the crank course is always very busy and congested. If you're just doing practice, instead of turning right to the traffic junction, I recommend turning left and redoing your crank course while you wait for the road to clear.

Edited by triface

hi all, i just enrolled at ssdc. I have class 3 licence.

May i know why the option of 2b pdl not available at tp website? only class 4 available.

Must i pass RTT or attend circuit orientation 1st?

Do you guys recommend buying personal gear like helmets gloves etc or just use those provided by ssdc?

hi all, i just enrolled at ssdc. I have class 3 licence.

May i know why the option of 2b pdl not available at tp website? only class 4 available.

Must i pass RTT or attend circuit orientation 1st?

Do you guys recommend buying personal gear like helmets gloves etc or just use those provided by ssdc?

pass RTT first then can apply pdl, orientation dont have to go, buying gear depends on you, the helmets at ssdc not the best smelling helmets...

ok thanks

in that case i will try to clear RTT asap

will probably head down to helmetboys soon to buy gear

ok thanks

in that case i will try to clear RTT asap

will probably head down to helmetboys soon to buy gear

They got student promo i believe, can get gloves, pads and helmet for around 50-60 dollars , quite good deal, last time i went down to chong aik to buy was 80+ dollars for everything

yeah, even the theory instructor recommended helmetboys because of their student promos