wah so many questions from new riders..

one more from me. :cheeky:

Firstly, is there any books that covers the maintaining and tweaking of a 2strokes machines?

Additionally.. would you guys mind if i join you guys to kaypo around during the D.I.Y?

i think you can try Haynes manual.... I not sure if they include tweaking but maintaining they definetly cover...

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

wah so many questions from new riders..

one more from me. :cheeky:

Firstly, is there any books that covers the maintaining and tweaking of a 2strokes machines?

Additionally.. would you guys mind if i join you guys to kaypo around during the D.I.Y?

1. Two-Stroke Performance Tuning by A. Graham Bell

2. Two-Stroke Performance Tuning in Theory and Practice by A. Graham Bell

3. Motocross & Off-Road Motorcycle Performance Handbook, 2nd Ed. (CyclePro) by Eric Gorr

4. Two-Stroke Engine Repair and Maintenance by Paul Dempsey

5. Twist of the Wrist: The Motorcycle Roadracers Handbook (Vol 1) by Keith Code

6. A Twist of the Wrist 2: The Basics of High-Performance Motorcycle Riding by Keith Code

7. Sport Riding Techniques: How To Develop Real World Skills for Speed, Safety, and Confidence on the Street and Track by Nick Ienatsch and Kenny Roberts

8. The Essential Guide to Motorcycle Maintenance by Mark Zimmerman

9. How to Repair Your Motorcycle (Motorbooks Workshop) by Charles Everitt

10. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert M. Pirsig

11. Motorcycle Owner's Manual by Hugo Wilson

12. Last but not least (my electrical knowledge is a big fat zero and reading this book will put me to sleep) - Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop) by Tracy Martin

I can't find some of the above-mentioned books. They must be around somewhere. I haven't finished reading all of them yet, and I'm reluctant to lose books I haven't finished, so I recommend you guys buying some of these to read for yourselves.

Eric Gorr, Robert M. Pirsig, A. Graham Bell, and Keith Code are highly recommended. They're the minimum you should start on.

Edited by lacrimosae

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Thank you for consolidating all your questions. It makes it easier for us to answer your queries, unlike Sorrie4u whose scattered questions garnered no response.

This was the only line that referred to you. It was supposed to be a joke, as in, the ha-ha funny kind.

wa lau... wth lo... i also nv keep asking questions alrdy... still wan bring me up for wad?! my parents teach me got doubts comes to your mind then just ask... dun be afraid to ask questions... wad's wrong?

[irrelevant]

...so wad u got the knowledge? u dun deserve respect.

I just mentioned it for a lark. If you have no sense of humour, then you might want to consider not posting before you vet through your post in a level-headed manner, or risk embarrassing yourself.

It shows your upbringing and level of maturity to take offense at a nugatory comment like that.

I also am inquisitive, and I ask a lot of questions. But I have learnt about forum etiquette the hard way. I am not here to cottle you like a baby. Can't deal with your flaky emotions, leave them at the door, or leave.

You don't want me to share, that's ok with me. I'm not here to win fans, be popular, nor make friends. I just want to help people make the right decisions about owning a lemon like Aprilia. I hate seeing riders get ripped off by shops. Those who wish to protect themselves will learn something. Those who love getting ripped off, will continue doing whatever makes them happy.

Life goes on, so don't get your panties in a bunch over nothing. I'm tickled (and confused) by how you actually read my post as an insult. Don't understand, ask me privately in PM. Don't go off at half-c0ck. Very malu one.

Trust me, if I was insulting you, I doubt you'd even know it.

*Go off at half-c0ck

Meaning- Speak or act prematurely.

Origin

half-c0ck Flintlock firearms have a 'c0ck' or striker mechanism, which is held in a raised, sprung position ready to discharge and make a spark to 'fire' the gun. These can be set at half-c0ck, when the gun is in a safe state, or at full-c0ck, when it is ready to be fired. A gun would only 'go off at half-c0ck' by mistake.

The term half-c0ck is as old as flintlock guns and appears in print from the mid 18th century. For example, in John Desaguliers' A course of experimental philosophy 1734–44:

"The gun being at Half-c0ck, the Spring acts upon the Tumbler with more Advantage."

The earliest known citation of the phrase 'going off at half-c0ck' comes from London and Its Environs Described, 1761:

"Some arms taken at Bath in the year 1715, distinguished from all others in the Tower, by having what is called dog locks; that is, a kind of lock with a catch to prevent their going off at half-c0ck."

We now commonly use 'go off at half-c0ck' or, in America, 'go off half-cocked', to mean 'speak or act impulsively and without proper preparation'. This clearly alludes to the sudden discharge of a firearm. Despite that, the first figurative use of the phrase had a completely different meaning. When the 'half-cocked' imagery was first appropriated it was to mean tipsy, or half-drunk. This was the meaning intended in John Shebbeare's novel Lydia, 1786:

"Who should enter unto the company, but young Captain Firebrace, half-cocked... come hither to finish his evening's potation."

There doesn't appear to be any particular link between the mechanics of firearms and drunkenness. Several other 'half' phrases were also used in the 18th century to mean 'half-drunk'. 'Half-seas-over' was a nautical term that is listed in the first slang dictionary BE's Dictionary of the Canting Crew, circa 1700, with the meaning 'almost drunk'. Another example is 'half-and-half', which, in addition to being the name of a mixture of equal parts ale and porter, was also listed as a term meaning 'tipsy'.

This meaning of 'half-cocked' was taken up with particular enthusiasm in Australia. Clearly, they felt they hadn't enough terms for drunkenness and wanted to expand their repertoire. Fergus Hume's Madame Midas: a story of Australian mining life, 1888, explained the term:

"This last drink reduced Mr. Villiers to that mixed state which is known in colonial phrase as half-cocked."

By 1888, the rest of the English-speaking world had opted for the current meaning of 'half-c0ck' and 'half-cocked'. For example, in To-day in Ireland, 1825:

"Master Dillon - never let an insult go off half-c0ck."

Across the Atlantic, The Register of Debates in Congress, 1833, recorded the opinions of Dutee Pearce of Rhode Island:

"I regret that the gentleman from Maryland has gone off half cocked."

Edited by lacrimosae

bro GST is always 7% not 8% . . .

below is the offical site if u want verification . . .

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page04.aspx?id=1852

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/UPSInvoice.jpg

It appears that I have been too nice to everyone and UNDER-CHARGED everyone by 1%.

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, can anyone tell me what is the percentage of S$31.19 out of S$417.03?

Is it 9.397%?

Seems to me it is.

When we are under-charged, we surreptitiously snicker and go on our way. But if we're over-charged by 1%, I'm sure someone will speak up.

Well, how bout that now? Turns out everyone still owes me money. :cheeky:

The S$10 surcharge will always be there and it will affect the percentage charged (GST is still 7%) but add on the ten bucks and its about 8% thereabouts per shipment.

Edited by lacrimosae

wuah ! u are all at least 3 to 4 years older than me .. maybe i should get kup chai instead like chung .. monday 1 kup , tues another kup and so on ..

how old are you? I am 19 :cheeky:

any riders wana hang out?

hey there... we can meet up next week when I back in Sgpore ! :)

I'm 27 this Feb, I still treat myself as a kid. :p

As for your questions, its not that they're not valid, but this thread is over 800 pages long, 50posts per page. So do you think that people before you have not faced the problems you faced before? I've said it once(even if its not directed to you), I'll say it again, Try doing a search on the thread. At the top of the page, there's a tab that says Search This Thread. Have you done that first before asking questions?

On a lighter note,

Posting & You

[yt]

[/yt]

ENJOY :D

Wah.....nice one....whr u managed to find this?:angel:

wa lau... wth lo... i also nv keep asking questions alrdy... still wan bring me up for wad?! my parents teach me got doubts comes to your mind then just ask... dun be afraid to ask questions... wad's wrong? i did try to ask all in one shot but after having the answers i got other questions poping out ma... if this forum rule is not to ask questions one by one then state it! u dun like it then u dun answer la... why have to insult me like that. i noe u good with ur bike ur knowledge power, u older this and that... but dont have to be so cocky... i didnt do anything wrong k! yes i didnt go for meetups.. so im wrong? im a jerk? for not going meetups? u think only u guys 30 wad yrs old above are adults? im 24 ok... wad is the matter with u? everyone below ur age are kids? teens? immature?

i dono u in person and u do not noe me in person... i hope u wont do this kind of childish thing again... im jus hoping to find answers for my doubts... NOT THESE KIND OF CRAP INSULT. the next time i ask... u can dun answer me... i can wait for others to answer... if no one else want to answer me... then i will go to my mech to ask for answer... sg mech sucks? at least they wont insult u when u ask questions.. at least they wont act big like boss and tok big like boss...

in this forum i have always looked up to u.. but now u totally destroy that image... jus another older guy hu thinks he is too great for noobs... so wad u got the knowledge? u dun deserve respect.

Hi bro...relax lah....everyone just joking only lah....learn to take thing easy. Accept what is benefit to you, discard what is useless to you. Sometime, we need to learn thru different way.:thumb:

Real life is more cruel....you have more to go.....:dot:

look for u soon spiderman bro! nice meeting u at pg on sun. never intro myself though. paiseh riding a kup chai using full face. LOL!

Oic. haha. din know which was u even though ice told me u were there.

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/UPSInvoice.jpg

It appears that I have been too nice to everyone and UNDER-CHARGED everyone by 1%.

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, can anyone tell me what is the percentage of S$31.19 out of S$417.03?

Is it 9.397%?

Seems to me it is.

When we are under-charged, we surreptitiously snicker and go on our way. But if we're over-charged by 1%, I'm sure someone will speak up.

Well, how bout that now? Turns out everyone still owes me money. :cheeky:

The S$10 surcharge will always be there and it will affect the percentage charged (GST is still 7%) but add on the ten bucks and its about 8% thereabouts per shipment.

Bro . . . the post is a kind intention since there is a mistake in the GST and no other intended motives.

There r others beside us viewing the threads there is a possiblitiy tat others might misunderstood and think otherwise . . . maybe next time u can be more specific in the posting . . .

In any case I should have given u a PM instead of posting it in public . . . my apologizes bro . . .

A Concealed Attraction Awaits The Beholder

http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/5792/09082009110.jpghttp://img62.imageshack.us/img62/1/10629165876059427788669.jpg

wa lau... wth lo... i also nv keep asking questions alrdy... still wan bring me up for wad?! my parents teach me got doubts comes to your mind then just ask... dun be afraid to ask questions... wad's wrong? i did try to ask all in one shot but after having the answers i got other questions poping out ma... if this forum rule is not to ask questions one by one then state it! u dun like it then u dun answer la... why have to insult me like that. i noe u good with ur bike ur knowledge power, u older this and that... but dont have to be so cocky... i didnt do anything wrong k! yes i didnt go for meetups.. so im wrong? im a jerk? for not going meetups? u think only u guys 30 wad yrs old above are adults? im 24 ok... wad is the matter with u? everyone below ur age are kids? teens? immature?

i dono u in person and u do not noe me in person... i hope u wont do this kind of childish thing again... im jus hoping to find answers for my doubts... NOT THESE KIND OF CRAP INSULT. the next time i ask... u can dun answer me... i can wait for others to answer... if no one else want to answer me... then i will go to my mech to ask for answer... sg mech sucks? at least they wont insult u when u ask questions.. at least they wont act big like boss and tok big like boss...

in this forum i have always looked up to u.. but now u totally destroy that image... jus another older guy hu thinks he is too great for noobs... so wad u got the knowledge? u dun deserve respect.

relax bro . . . everybody r frds here no enemy . . . :angel:

Edited by ~YoShiKi~

http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/5792/09082009110.jpghttp://img62.imageshack.us/img62/1/10629165876059427788669.jpg

Hi bro...relax lah....everyone just joking only lah....learn to take thing easy. Accept what is benefit to you, discard what is useless to you. Sometime, we need to learn thru different way.:thumb:

Real life is more cruel....you have more to go.....:dot:

ya bro . . . life sucks when u grow older . . . :sian:

Edited by ~YoShiKi~

This was the only line that referred to you. It was supposed to be a joke, as in, the ha-ha funny kind.

I just mentioned it for a lark. If you have no sense of humour, then you might want to consider not posting before you vet through your post in a level-headed manner, or risk embarrassing yourself.

It shows your upbringing and level of maturity to take offense at a nugatory comment like that.

I also am inquisitive, and I ask a lot of questions. But I have learnt about forum etiquette the hard way. I am not here to cottle you like a baby. Can't deal with your flaky emotions, leave them at the door, or leave.

You don't want me to share, that's ok with me. I'm not here to win fans, be popular, nor make friends. I just want to help people make the right decisions about owning a lemon like Aprilia. I hate seeing riders get ripped off by shops. Those who wish to protect themselves will learn something. Those who love getting ripped off, will continue doing whatever makes them happy.

Life goes on, so don't get your panties in a bunch over nothing. I'm tickled (and confused) by how you actually read my post as an insult. Don't understand, ask me privately in PM. Don't go off at half-c0ck. Very malu one.

Trust me, if I was insulting you, I doubt you'd even know it.

*Go off at half-c0ck

Meaning- Speak or act prematurely.

Origin

half-c0ck Flintlock firearms have a 'c0ck' or striker mechanism, which is held in a raised, sprung position ready to discharge and make a spark to 'fire' the gun. These can be set at half-c0ck, when the gun is in a safe state, or at full-c0ck, when it is ready to be fired. A gun would only 'go off at half-c0ck' by mistake.

The term half-c0ck is as old as flintlock guns and appears in print from the mid 18th century. For example, in John Desaguliers' A course of experimental philosophy 1734–44:

"The gun being at Half-c0ck, the Spring acts upon the Tumbler with more Advantage."

The earliest known citation of the phrase 'going off at half-c0ck' comes from London and Its Environs Described, 1761:

"Some arms taken at Bath in the year 1715, distinguished from all others in the Tower, by having what is called dog locks; that is, a kind of lock with a catch to prevent their going off at half-c0ck."

We now commonly use 'go off at half-c0ck' or, in America, 'go off half-cocked', to mean 'speak or act impulsively and without proper preparation'. This clearly alludes to the sudden discharge of a firearm. Despite that, the first figurative use of the phrase had a completely different meaning. When the 'half-cocked' imagery was first appropriated it was to mean tipsy, or half-drunk. This was the meaning intended in John Shebbeare's novel Lydia, 1786:

"Who should enter unto the company, but young Captain Firebrace, half-cocked... come hither to finish his evening's potation."

There doesn't appear to be any particular link between the mechanics of firearms and drunkenness. Several other 'half' phrases were also used in the 18th century to mean 'half-drunk'. 'Half-seas-over' was a nautical term that is listed in the first slang dictionary BE's Dictionary of the Canting Crew, circa 1700, with the meaning 'almost drunk'. Another example is 'half-and-half', which, in addition to being the name of a mixture of equal parts ale and porter, was also listed as a term meaning 'tipsy'.

This meaning of 'half-cocked' was taken up with particular enthusiasm in Australia. Clearly, they felt they hadn't enough terms for drunkenness and wanted to expand their repertoire. Fergus Hume's Madame Midas: a story of Australian mining life, 1888, explained the term:

"This last drink reduced Mr. Villiers to that mixed state which is known in colonial phrase as half-cocked."

By 1888, the rest of the English-speaking world had opted for the current meaning of 'half-c0ck' and 'half-cocked'. For example, in To-day in Ireland, 1825:

"Master Dillon - never let an insult go off half-c0ck."

Across the Atlantic, The Register of Debates in Congress, 1833, recorded the opinions of Dutee Pearce of Rhode Island:

"I regret that the gentleman from Maryland has gone off half cocked."

u relax too bro . . . sometime words can be interpreted in a different ways though u may just joking posted it . . . relax bro . . . :cheeky:

Long time reader of this forum, never really got posting because I dont have anything good to contribute, but I've got a problem now and not sure what to do.

I got into an accident recently, and damaged some parts. Bike is 99% fixed already pending the front brake lever. The one I have is bent, and the workshop is not comfortable bending it back, they are also unable to source for one. I'm sort of new to aprilias, so not really sure where to find a replacement lever in KL.

As some of you guys might know, the main malaysian aprilia dealership is in limbo right now, so they cant really help me.

Any guides would be helpful. Even better if any of you have a spare brake lever that can fit a 09 RS125 and would like some change for it? I cant wait to get back on the bike, so it will be great if I can get the parts quick.

YC

Long time reader of this forum, never really got posting because I dont have anything good to contribute, but I've got a problem now and not sure what to do.

I got into an accident recently, and damaged some parts. Bike is 99% fixed already pending the front brake lever. The one I have is bent, and the workshop is not comfortable bending it back, they are also unable to source for one. I'm sort of new to aprilias, so not really sure where to find a replacement lever in KL.

As some of you guys might know, the main malaysian aprilia dealership is in limbo right now, so they cant really help me.

Any guides would be helpful. Even better if any of you have a spare brake lever that can fit a 09 RS125 and would like some change for it? I cant wait to get back on the bike, so it will be great if I can get the parts quick.

YC

I got the parts and many more stuff to clear :angel:

hahahaha good one! should post this in the Clips and Motion section.sometimes questions that noob ask really headscratching.like the 1 in chatterbox "is bike p plate same as car?" WTF dude.im a noob last time too but i dont ask these kind of questions.

WTF?? Hahahahahaha

Wah.....nice one....whr u managed to find this?:angel:

This vid was posted long time ago. I think its at least 4yrs old already. First spotted when I was hanging out in gaming forums alot. The video really made alot of sense. People these days are selectively blind. Like car drivers who selectively chose to not see bikers on the road. Same thing in the forums.. People selectively chose to be blind when it comes to the word SEARCH BUTTON or anything related to it, be it in a post or not. :faint:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v652/IZECUBEZ/Motivational/Determination.jpg

just to let you know that my bike has been sold and that I am no longer the proud owner of an '06 RS125.

At the same time, as I was poring through the garage sales and bike sales page, I noticed that there are some owners who are selling REALLY cheap RS125s.

As a piece of advice, do not let bike shops control how much your bike is worth in the market. You can buy a 2003 RS125 at 3k for example, but it does not mean that you can't sell it for more the very next day.

Do check your log card and note what the OMV value of your vehicle is. OMV = Open Market Value. This is the value of the bike that is preset by the dealers who brought the vehicle in by paying a certain amount of tax on it to the government. Hence, as this value does not change, it is also an indication of the MINIMUM amount the vehicle is worth at ANY ONE TIME.

If your log card states that the OMV of your bike is 6k, and you're selling it at 4.5k, it means you're making a loss of 1.5k as legally stipulated by the log card.

I got this information from a ex car dealer, about OMV. Thought it might be good information for you guys here to determine how much your bike is really worth.

Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici - By the power of truth, I, while living, have conquered the universe.. - Faust

Beneath this mask, there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask, there is an idea, and ideas, are bulletproof - V

Safe? Definately. Not necessarily slow, but safe.. - Seraph Tan

just to let you know that my bike has been sold and that I am no longer the proud owner of an '06 RS125.

At the same time, as I was poring through the garage sales and bike sales page, I noticed that there are some owners who are selling REALLY cheap RS125s.

As a piece of advice, do not let bike shops control how much your bike is worth in the market. You can buy a 2003 RS125 at 3k for example, but it does not mean that you can't sell it for more the very next day.

Do check your log card and note what the OMV value of your vehicle is. OMV = Open Market Value. This is the value of the bike that is preset by the dealers who brought the vehicle in by paying a certain amount of tax on it to the government. Hence, as this value does not change, it is also an indication of the MINIMUM amount the vehicle is worth at ANY ONE TIME.

If your log card states that the OMV of your bike is 6k, and you're selling it at 4.5k, it means you're making a loss of 1.5k as legally stipulated by the log card.

I got this information from a ex car dealer, about OMV. Thought it might be good information for you guys here to determine how much your bike is really worth.

Thanks for the info and Hope to see you soon with another Aprilia ! haha

shutup brandon :p

Hmm that day u mentioned there's some head cowling that looks like a pig ... Which bike is it?

Cagiva Mito SP525..

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA~~~~~~LOL!!!!

I can not stop my laugh when i saw this one:cheeky:

Nice job bro!

***only 1 img allowed***

http://ots1jg.blu.livefilestore.com/y1pZd4ExNZoYU5inWSyhHro2Om_JwSvEXDXYD1XWjARxDmm9HyKKJAhykIaqV9sgng0NzcSaTBqDyE/sign.jpg

Never stop trying to be faster!!!