• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

oh, thats the same thing i sent mesa, just different website haha

But should disaster be my fate,

Guide me through to Heaven’s gate

03 Cagiva Planet (R.I.P) 21/12/09-06/05/10

05 Aprilia Rs125 10/08/10-10/11/12

02 Honda Hornet 250 10/11/12-

i read somewhere that the later models of the cdi, u hafta drill a hole in the cdi or smth.

http://www.apriliaforum.no/div/RS125-RACE.pdf

take a look at this. theres a step to drill a hole. but it dosent explain much abt the purpose of doing so. anyone can enlighten me.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/162924_10150098222388659_776873658_7311881_1249924_n-1-3.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/184825_10150138083343659_776873658_7941714_3856564_n.jpg

just checked the serial number of my cdi. Its in the 071000-XXXX-XXXXX format as shown in the guide. Gona do the mod today. hope everything goes fine. fingers crossed. wish me luck! shall update on the status of the bike after ive done the mod =)

btw someones selling the twin map CDI on the forums. At quite a steal too. Tempted to get it sia!

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/162924_10150098222388659_776873658_7311881_1249924_n-1-3.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/mesab0ogie/184825_10150138083343659_776873658_7941714_3856564_n.jpg

eh mr boogie, how fast u wanna go sia? 170km/h not enuff 4 u ah?? still wanna unrestrict ur cdi... later c u boogie to e hospital dan u noe =p

the one and only...

-=#BLUE^CHILLED^COLA#=-

LOL. 170 still can kena makan by our sp/kr/tzm frens ah. so still nt enuf :p bt on a serious note. The mod removes that irritating hump at the 5k-6k rpm range. I noe people will say juz ride above that rpm lah. but honestly in sg so much stop n go riding. its impossible to skip that rpm range often enuf. it seems like a simple enuf mod and it promises to get rid of that irritant. so why nt. anyway i alr prepare backup plan ah. alr search for potential cdi replacements on ebay in case i f**k up. lol. bt hopefully all goes well =) furthermore our bro frostscythe did it before so i quite confident.

lol why dont u just purchase a de-restricted cdi and put in into ur system? at least if things get screwed up u can just put ur stock one back.

Selling Aprilia Front, Rear Brakes & Dellorto 34mm Carb !

Selling Aprilia Parts!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/304715-WTS-Aprilia-Front-amp-Rear-Brakes-Full-Set-amp-Dellorto-34mm-Carb!

PM me for more info! :cheeky:

lol why dont u just purchase a de-restricted cdi and put in into ur system? at least if things get screwed up u can just put ur stock one back.

umm... derestricted cdi must pay money... this one $5(cost of that silicon shyt) like i said ah seems like an easy enuf thing to do. And ive read up on quite a few forums quite a number of ppl do. so yeah. juz try lor. if work good ah. if dun work then i buy a replacemnt derestricted cdi off ebay. btw i'll take pics of the thing later while im doing so if it works can post it up here for other bros who wana try.

haha alright. btw i have a derestricted cdi unit spare. havnt installed it into my system. not so soon though. if u want i can lend it to u to try out if it really works.

Selling Aprilia Parts!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/304715-WTS-Aprilia-Front-amp-Rear-Brakes-Full-Set-amp-Dellorto-34mm-Carb!

ok now im an oldbie asking the newbie here.my bike already got arrow,34mm carb,if i do the cdi unrestriction doesnt make any difference?

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

for me after i did it, it removed the 5-6k lag by quite alot, its still there but much lesser than before. thats all it does, but it does make the bike feel better when your going off from a slow speed ie. after a traffic light. btw @liquidy, what you mean by unrestricted cdi? do you mean the aftermarket cdis for example offered from pjme? cause from what i know the stock cdis come with that "flatspot" at 5-6k, which is also known as an environmental dip used to pass emissions. im not sure that theres an oem cdi from aprilia that comes without that environmental dip. pls enlighten me

what i meant was i have an oem cdi that has done the "de-restrict" mod, which includes cutting the back of ur cdi blah blah blah. haha. sorry if i misled anyone.

Selling Aprilia Parts!

I DID IT! hahaha. success! and it wasnt even that hard after all. and guess what. the flat spots gone. well not totally gone but its reduced significantly. i notice nw theres a slight flat spot at 5.5k rpm. bt its much easier to pull thru it than before.

i didnt manage to get pics coz my hands were dirty and i didnt wana spoil my 3 day old WHITE blackberry. but one advice. u dun hafta remove the side tailpiece to get to the cdi. juz remove the pillion seat. i made the mistake of removing the side tailpiece. was a biatch to remove. and took up alot of time. frankly if u juz remove the pillion seat and get it done it will probably take no more than 20mins.

cut abt 1cm deep. u'll see this very prominent straight piece of material. all u haf to do is cut off abit of it so as to disconnect it. then juz silicon the hole and fix it back to the bike. piece of cake. and if u ask me. its worth it, given the riding conditions of our roads in sg ie alot of stop n go.

YAY!! told ya it works haha! but i couldnt get to it from pillion seat maybe hands too fat LOL i removed the side-fairings and the whole pillion tailpiece can be moved up and away thats how i got too it. :D :D dont you feel so good that you made it happen haha

what i meant was i have an oem cdi that has done the "de-restrict" mod, which includes cutting the back of ur cdi blah blah blah. haha. sorry if i misled anyone.

oh, sorry i wasnt sure just asking. no worries :D

just wondering anyone used the polished racing one other than the normal 34mm vhsb? anyone tried both before and the difference? thanks

ur talking abt the flatslide carb rite? if im nt wrng our bro lacrimosae is using that rite.

anyway yeay i feel like damn satisfied. making the bike ride better with my own two hands. wooo! haha.

yea feels good, btw the flatside does it increase consumption from the normal round? whats the difference as well in overall riding capabilities.

any one got rs125 left side mirror to sell? mine is gone yesterday... fall down and damaged....

I have. how much u want to buy it for? mine original. but without the screw to connect.. pic in my fb.

-blast3dGal-

2B since 07/07/08

Aprilia RS125'05 (FBC9258A) 21/08/08 - 31/07/10

Piaggio ______ (FB______) 31/07/10 - ???

so far ive read: A quote: "Some guys swear by flatslide carbs, others at them. They do flow more air but throttle response and midrange tuning has more of an on/off temperament than a round slide type. It's a race piece, great for blasting out of a tight corner, not really intended for seamlessly smooth road manners. Otherwise, the OEMs would spec them for their road bikes. You could get lucky and get a flatslide carb that has just the right fuel curve straight out of the box. If not, it's going to be a ******* to get dialed-in."

also read that there is a higher velocity therefore being more precise at lower throttle openings? but at the same time seem to be harder to tune as there seem to be more flatspots thus creating a not as ideal street rideability with not as smooth low and midrange response?

any pro-carb tuners like lacrimosae give me insight on this? thanks :D

ok qns qns =)

running temp.

wat is e perfect running temp 4 our bikes and do we need to warm e bike up to tt temp be4 moving off or issit ok to embark wif a temp slitely lower.

The optimal temperature our bikes' engines should be at before we move off is about halfway between the time of ignition to it's maximum it's ever gone. Upon starting, my bike is usually 'COLD', and it peaks at 70 deg C, so I usually move off when it hits 45-50 degrees Celsius.

It ensures that everything is nicely expanded and lubricated. If I try to move off when my bike is at about 35-38 deg C its boggy and struggles to accelerate, due to the mixture being too lean.

rpm related to spark plug fouling?

is e reason y we have to keep our engine revs above a certain rpm related to keeping e spark plug from fouling?

Not really. The higher the rpm during idle, the quicker it fouls. It's better to keep the idling rpm as low as possible without stalling. Usually the mixture is too rich (ratio of fuel-air ratio is wrong, has more fuel than required and less air), and thus carries a lot of unburnt hydrocarbons. The fact that most bikes also has an overly high 2T setting also contributes to the build-up of carbon.

MORE 2T DOES NOT MAKE YOUR MIXTURE RICH. IT MAKES YOUR MIXTURE LEAN! *get this fact in your heads, guys.

Nearly every problem linked to carburetion and power is covered in the links I posted.

my incident.

had e fortune of fouling my spark plug on a rainy day, funny thing is, i did'nt have any trouble starting up my bike in e morning. a single push of e ignition started my bike, i warmed it up till ard 40 plus degress n moved off...

it was only until near e end of my journey tt it started dying off... i noticed a drop in engine temp be4 my bike died... running temp was ard average 60-70C be4 dying... juz be4 it died i noticed tt my engine temp dropped to 50+C... tis happened twice.

first time, i managed to start e bike up again after leaving it to sit 4while. e 2nd time it happened i was'nt so lucky... both times i kept my revs ard 7-8k rpm... have had e spark plug 4 abt a gd 2-3 months already... 1st time its fouled on me...

after breakdown i found a near by carpark n continued e rest of e journey on foot. thankfully it was within walking distance... have yet to find e cause but i think it shld b a fouled spark plug...

Comments plz?

A slight change in barometric pressure, air humidity, and air temperature can affect our carburetion. Have you tried a hotter plug?

bro feelicks, i might be wrong but the reason its recommended for our bikes to ride above that rpm is because of the powervalve. We are encouraged to ride at the rpm where the valve is fully open to avoid carbon build up jamming the valve. Correct me if im wrng guys.

Gosh this plug fouling this is so common! haha. ive become so paranoid i carry an extra spark plug and a spark plug remover in my bike nw. juz in case my plug f**ks up again.

Common? I haven't had a plug foul on me for about 5 years now. My plugs stay so clean I change them once a year.

any one got rs125 left side mirror to sell? mine is gone yesterday... fall down and damaged....

Think I have some spares, but you should contact blastedgal.

Anybody has a speedometer drive (odometer gear) for sale? I need to fix my speedo.

Please PM me. Thanks.

Have spares too.

one quick question, can I use any clutch lever from other brands? As mine is broken into two....

Yup. I am currently using the CRG Universal Supersport Clutch.

http://www.bikehps.com/acatalog/Brake_&_Clutch_Levers.html

anyway yeay i feel like damn satisfied. making the bike ride better with my own two hands. wooo! haha.

Welcome to the exclusive club of DIY-ers! Only men allowed.

yea feels good, btw the flatside does it increase consumption from the normal round? whats the difference as well in overall riding capabilities.

The main advantage of a flatslide carb is that there is very little obstructing the flow of air through the carb, allowing more air than a round slide carb for a given venturi size.

Better throttle response (crisper and more precise) from better flow.

The caveat is, this is good only if the carb is in a perfect state of tune.

Edited by lacrimosae

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg